• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Security Guards Here Are Paid Peanuts And Work 12 Hours A Day.

Kohliantye

My recent conversation with a 56 years old Singaporean security guard in a private condo brought up alarming facts.
Security-guards here are poorly paid and are made to work up to 12 hours of work per day.
There is no welfare for them and many of them are left on their own.
Many are bullied and looked down by the members of the Condo Committee that employs them.
Their agencies are of no help either. The aim of the agencies is only to fill up the vacancies at the assigned areas.
The SIRD, a police department that overlooks their (security guards) registration and term of employment offers no help either.
Security agencies takes out misleading advertisements in the papers to snare would be applicants by "attractive salaries per day".
The claim that $80/- per day would be paid usually ends up as a miserable sum of only $40/- per day.
If these are ultra-vires rules and regulations, the SIRD or MOM should step in and put a stop to such modern-day slavery.
One way is to insist that security companies ONLY employ Singapore citizens and NOT foreigners.
This may give security guards a better edge.

They do employ locals only. Don't you know?
Are sinkies like you willing to fork out more for management for your condo?
Are sinkies willing to be more polite to these security guards?
The solution is in your hands.

The definition of 'work' with regard to a security guard is laughable. Beside routine filling in of log books and taking routine strolls to check whether doors are locked, security guards just sit inside a guardroom.

To pay me a salary and ask me to do nothing, I won't take it. I'm someone who prefers to work work work. Time passes faster this way.

Dont come here and smoke lah.
Security industry employs malaysians just like Cisco and Ateos....other nationalities i dun dare say.

Security guard is just one of a long list of jobs that sinkies work long hours for a pittance.

Dont come here and smoke lah.
Security industry employs malaysians just like Cisco and Ateos....other nationalities i dun dare say.

Security guard is just one of a long list of jobs that sinkies work long hours for a pittance.

I see only local guards everywhere condo I went, never Malaysians.

I know that Police also take in PRs now.

any jobs still remain exclusively for sinkies? i kow taxi drivers are....

Hello uncle, i have seen PRC and Myanmar taxi drivers before.

The only job exclusively for sinkie is our NS.

what about civil serpents? foreigners also?
parliament lah......parliament all pink ICs

Thats good, I hope we can have more so that cost of living can be lowered with better service

You are very naive and ignorant.. There's used to be a Malaysian Keling workin as a security guard in my office building.. Malaysians Kelings are every where workin as guards in Spore.. Go and do a check..

basically a security guard are being paid $40 a day siting down doing nothing

You are very naive and ignorant.. There's used to be a Malaysian Keling workin as a security guard in my office building.. Malaysians Kelings are every where workin as guards in Spore.. Go and do a check..

I am very suprised and saddened by the postings from this Kinana, maybe he/she is trying to be EXTREMELY sarcastic in a way?

I have worked in many jobs, even worked as a security guard before years back when i was struggling to make ends meet before NS. Back then, already so many Malaysians, more than half of the guards at condos, factories and major shopping centres like Anchor Point, Bugis were 80% from Malaysia. Even most of the Cisco guards were from Malaysia.

The sheer ignorance (if its really true and i really hope not) is more than mind boggling. Its award winning.

Most security guards are paid around 1.2K every month.. Supervisors are paid slightly more.. Many of them do tiring clockings, writing down plate nos of vehicles comin in and out of a building.. They do 12 hrs job.. Some do a permanent 12 hr day or night shift.. Guards at my workplace are one lucky bunch.. There are 4 local Sinkie Uncles.. 2 Malay and 2 Chinese....Used to have a young Keling from Malaysian but he kena sacked by his agency.. During nite time, some of them would even bring their laptops and surf the net in their guard post.. At times I would buy them Kopi O and chat with them outside the Guard post.. 2 of these Guards used to be from SPF.. Another one was from the Prisons Service..

basically a security guard are being paid $40 a day siting down doing nothing

Based at condo yes and especially at the airconditioned entry/exit point or those in the factories. These are old men though so i certainly will not fault them for sitting there. Not those based in shopping centres though. At some, one cannot even sit down for lunch without informing the fire command post or security command twice sometimes as some nasty shop owners will call the command post and asks, why your guard eating/drinking during working hours? Places like Bugis was always full of "activity". Those who claim Singapore is very safe, crime free relatively should try to be a guard at Bugis Junction. The radio chatter is always very interesting. In the 3 months i was there, i heard so many cases it made me avoid the place permanently thereafter.

I know some who will just go to toilet to hide, staircase etc. There are also responsible guards and sadistic security officers who make patrols so difficult. There are those who have to stand in the sun and the rain to open the gates as some areas don't even have a guard post nor an umbrella to take shelter from. Have to run in and out in the rain and stand 11 hours in the sun (minus the lunch time)

Most security guards are paid around 1.2K every month.. Supervisors are paid slightly more.. Many of them do tiring clockings, writing down plate nos of vehicles comin in and out of a building.. They do 12 hrs job.. Some do a permanent 12 hr day or night shift.. Guards at my workplace are one lucky bunch.. There are 4 local Sinkie Uncles.. 2 Malay and 2 Chinese....Used to have a young Keling from Malaysian but he kena sacked by his agency.. During nite time, some of them would even bring their laptops and surf the net in their guard post.. At times I would buy them Kopi O and chat with them outside the Guard post.. 2 of these Guards used to be from SPF.. Another one was from the Prisons Service..
imagine old uncles cannot retire got to stay awake work graveyard shift......all for 1.2K pittance.
12 hours work thru the night......where got any time left to lead a quality life? this is sinkieland......hand to mouth existence.......hand stop mouth stop