• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Advice Needed - Snail Mail

Raiders

Hi, I understand that most forummers here are oldies. Some of us might have went through the stage of making friends through snail mail penpals.
In this current world of making friends through social websites, immediate exchange of communication through onsite messaging, online messaging tools or even leaving behind mobile phone number, how many of us are still interested of making friends(local/international) using the good old way of exchanging snail mail?

I, for one loves receiving a letters with handwritten words. I miss the days as a teenager exchanging letters from friends in Taiwan and in Australia.

Please contribute your views. Thank you in advance.

How does finding a new friend works through snail mail?

You never had penpals before? Basically in today's society of fast fast fast, making friends fast through social websites like Facebook, Friendsters are super easy and convenient. BUT out of every 10 friends you make there, I can say 5 are looking for sex, 4 are forgotten after a while when the "freshness" factor sizzle out. Such is the problem of making friends fast and get forgotten fast. I still prefer the slow old way of exchanging letters and making friends.

Good nostalgia, Raiders, now this deserves points from me. In the good old days, we have free pen pal adverts on student magazines and comics columns. Then we reply to each other and started chains of friendships. The longest snail mail waiting time was about five days, for letters to or fro USA. http://youtu.be/fQrIKOhIclo

Thanks brother. I'm actually preparing to start a website/forum for this. Whether it fails or succeed, does not matter. At least it will be a good experience for me.

You never had penpals before? Basically in today's society of fast fast fast, making friends fast through social websites like Facebook, Friendsters are super easy and convenient. BUT out of every 10 friends you make there, I can say 5 are looking for sex, 4 are forgotten after a while when the "freshness" factor sizzle out. Such is the problem of making friends fast and get forgotten fast. I still prefer the slow old way of exchanging letters and making friends.
Dun think I tried it when young, closest thing was writing on the table during primary and a gal wrote me back on her afternoon class, for a few times, haha..

Thanks brother. I'm actually preparing to start a website/forum for this. Whether it fails or succeed, does not matter. At least it will be a good experience for me.

Those days, we had loveletter chains and even smuggling rings to get American boys to send us Playboy and Penthouse. They usually sent five mags in one pack by sea mail (air mail too expensive) and that took at least two weeks to arrive. The wait was worth the while since I could sell the mags at S$10 each. :D

Dun think I tried it when young, closest thing was writing on the table during primary and a gal wrote me back on her afternoon class, for a few times, haha..

No wonder you're such a nerd. A girl in your class room is not a pen pal. She's a potential date and girlfriend. Just walkover and try to date her.

I have to agree in this point :D

A girl in your class room is not a pen pal. She's a potential date and girlfriend. Just walkover and try to date her.

but this is how she is like, now
20120412.152938_michelletay.jpg

Those days, we had loveletter chains and even smuggling rings to get American boys to send us Playboy and Penthouse. They usually sent five mags in one pack by sea mail (air mail too expensive) and that took at least two weeks to arrive. The wait was worth the while since I could sell the mags at S$10 each. :D

Please lah you 2, I morning she afternoon leh, primary school simi bf gf? Pengz

Couple of attractions of sending snail mail
1. Stamps from all over
2) the art of writing
3) penning limericks and poems
4) Nostalgia
5) keeping to a operating rhythm like a swinging pendulum, can be quite comforting.
6) recording down the events of the day, penning your thoughts and reflecting on it. A blog but on the old system.

Hi, I understand that most forummers here are oldies. Some of us might have went through the stage of making friends through snail mail penpals.
In this current world of making friends through social websites, immediate exchange of communication through onsite messaging, online messaging tools or even leaving behind mobile phone number, how many of us are still interested of making friends(local/international) using the good old way of exchanging snail mail?

I, for one loves receiving a letters with handwritten words. I miss the days as a teenager exchanging letters from friends in Taiwan and in Australia.

Please contribute your views. Thank you in advance.

the waiting and anticipation...the arrival of the letter . Those contributed to the fun and beauty of the snail mail pen pal days.

I had a pen pal from Baguio in the late 60s.....still remember her name......Zenaida Kwong.

Couple of attractions of sending snail mail
1. Stamps from all over
2) the art of writing
3) penning limericks and poems
4) Nostalgia
5) keeping to a operating rhythm like a swinging pendulum, can be quite comforting.
6) recording down the events of the day, penning your thoughts and reflecting on it. A blog but on the old system.

hahah 1968 till about 1971 ....pics all gone la bro....gone since about 1986 when my dad passed away and my mum sold the place.

Cant bring such stuff to my flat and hope to get away with it. Wife will not be impressed with any reason i may give if see i still keep

such pics.

npnt! ... ... ...

Please lah you 2, I morning she afternoon leh, primary school simi bf gf? Pengz

Different sessions nevermind, there's still the night time date. No wonder you're a nerd...zzz...

... my mum sold the place.

Cant bring such stuff to my flat and hope to get away with it. Wife will not be impressed with any reason i may give if see i still keep

such pics.
ya, man! ...

weneva shift haus, sure throw lotsa tings ...

much o tings juz gone ... juz gone lidat ... :o

just like throwing away a part of yourself...feeling is accentuated if by nature you are a sentimental person.

ya, man! ...

weneva shift haus, sure throw lotsa tings ...

much o tings juz gone ... juz gone lidat ... :o

I love the old fashioned way..Years back, I used to write love letters and mail it to this gal even though she's staying at Bedok... I would send her Birthday cards, Christmas Greeting cards... It has been many years now, for sure lah she would have thrown away all those letters and greeting cards.... :o :D :o :D

Always looking forward in my old estate mail box for my pen pals letters, sometimes got perfume on it. Teenage, teens magazine are the way to go for new friends, gosh, 30 over years back.

I love the old fashioned way..Years back, I used to write love letters and mail it to this gal even though she's staying at Bedok... I would send her Birthday cards, Christmas Greeting cards... It has been many years now, for sure lah she would have thrown away all those letters and greeting cards.... :o :D :o :D

Those days, my pen pals were mostly Americans, Canadians, British or Australians. The postage stamp alone per letter was S$1, big sum for a schoolboy unless got sideline income. Locals? I wasn't interested as pen pals after the first exchange of letters, postage very cheap, just 10c. Interested, just meet up and see how.