• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Jacky Chan looked older than Bruce Lee?

Thank you Uncle Ram. My point exactly. ;)

What we show remember Bruce Lee by are the one-to-one fight scenes. The one-to-ten fight scenes are there to work up the appetites of cinema goers for the climatic scene of duel between last 2 fighters standing which is all that matters. It's part and parcel of any movie-making techniques. Jackie Chan's had plenty of that too and in fact one-to-fifty or hundred such fight scenes. But what's missing are the one-to-one memorial fight scenes. The reason is simple, Jackie is no martial art exponent and so is not up to it, he's just an acrobatic feigning some martial art moves.

Possible

images

Some people mentioned 1 versus ten. It's only possible if ... that's all I need to say.

Re: Possible

images

Some people mentioned 1 versus ten. It's only possible if ... that's all I need to say.

At that kind of gymnastic stance, she could be easily grounded and raped by any man. The word about fight isn't about stance. It's about ground. Arnold Schwazenegger or Sylvester Stallone would be at your mercy too if they're grounded by you, even if you're just 1.5m teenager. Question still, can you ground him?

It's about the inch punch. You don't swing your fist to punch. The action of swing gives your opponent the time to prepare defence.

To deliver that without swinging your fist, you need strength. I also think Bruce Lee overtraining contributed to his premature demise.

An inch punch when carried out is very swift and spectacular. You can't see the fighter swinging his fist at all and in split second, the opponent is down.

Wow! You indeed have an in-depth knowledge of Bruce Lee's form or martial arts. What you described is an accurate account of the inch punch. You've my respect, bro.

Bruce Lee was a disciple of Ip Man. When asked about Bruce Lee in his later years, Ip Man praised Bruce Lee for not being dogmatic about the art of Wing Chun but was ingenious to mix it with other art forms to develop into something invincible.

Wow! You indeed have an in-depth knowledge of Bruce Lee's form or martial arts. What you described is an accurate account of the inch punch. You've my respect, bro.

Bruce Lee was a disciple of Ip Man. When asked about Bruce Lee in his later years, Ip Man praised Bruce Lee for not being dogmatic about the art of Wing Chun but was ingenious to mix it with other art forms to develop into something invincible.

Google is also Ah Ram's favorite companion. :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_inch_punch

It's about the inch punch. You don't swing your fist to punch. The action of swing gives your opponent the time to prepare defence.

To deliver that without swinging your fist, you need strength. I also think Bruce Lee overtraining contributed to his premature demise.

An inch punch when carried out is very swift and spectacular. You can't see the fighter swinging his fist at all and in split second, the opponent is down.

i think one inch punch is bullshit . he is actucally using his body weight to push that punch rather then his fist ( if you see the video of his one inch punch you will see his body pushing forward ) .the reason why ppl swing before punching is to transfer the speed into energy so that the punch will be stronger . im 100% sure if he is still alive and young ..he still cant beat today MMA fighter ...trust me . hes overrated by the chinese and angmo ;)

NUh i doubt it and bruce lee is always learning new stuff. He's the only one that's willing to learn new stuff. He would have adapted. The thing is why in the hell would ang mohs overrated bruce lee a chinese? Seriously back in those days they won't even choose a non white man to be a lead or praise him highly and a chinese nontheless. Even today can you name me one asian guy that's like a leading man in hollywood movies that isn't a foreigner like jackie or jet li?

For bruce lee to have made it to hollywood as a chinese during the 70s shows that he was super special.

It's not really whole bodyweight. That'd be do or die streetfighting style. The power of the inch punch comes from the waist as the lower body (the legs) stand steady. The legs holding and standing steady are the most important in a fight. Grounded and you'd be at the mercy of your opponent.

Zhao Yun

20100611150224330.jpg

At that kind of gymnastic stance, she could be easily grounded and raped by any man. The word about fight isn't about stance. It's about ground. Arnold Schwazenegger or Sylvester Stallone would be at your mercy too if they're grounded by you, even if you're just 1.5m teenager. Question still, can you ground him?

No lah. I just need a photo to fill the top space. :D

Because the technique I use for building ... has to be kept as a secret.

When I first learned TKD, I found out many inappropriate training methods which led me to give it up half way to learn other forms of fighting technique other than using ONLY the legs. Karate (from a friend) and Aikido (another TKD member) were quite fascinating (an eye opener). Judo is used as a close combat or wrestling down your opponent using mechanical advantage.

Ground fight is important but you have no time for that. What about the other nine ? That's why I murmured when I saw how Zhao Yun or Guan Yu did the fighhting. That wasn't possible - fictitious.

NUh i doubt it and bruce lee is always learning new stuff. He's the only one that's willing to learn new stuff. He would have adapted. The thing is why in the hell would ang mohs overrated bruce lee a chinese? Seriously back in those days they won't even choose a non white man to be a lead or praise him highly and a chinese nontheless. Even today can you name me one asian guy that's like a leading man in hollywood movies that isn't a foreigner like jackie or jet li?

For bruce lee to have made it to hollywood as a chinese during the 70s shows that he was super special.

adapt yes but logic no . i seriously dont think his one inch punch is that powerful , i personally have learn muaythai and mma for years . its impossible that his one inch punch can bring down a person . yes , i agree that back in those days its difficult for non-white man to become big in angmo country . ...the only reason i could think of why bruce lee can make it to hollywood is because he speak english and he using his PR skill to get into hollywood . of course he do have some fighting skill ....

No. I meant this: "...A fight Bruce Lee and..." I think you forgot some words.

Strength is important, but so is technique, if not more so. Good technique imparts extra force. To minimise wastage of strength, the fist is completely relaxed until the point of contact, and without a high level of technique, this is virtually impossible to achieve.

Also important are the development of sensitivity, knowing where to hit, and how to apply leverage. Remember, this particular style was invented by a woman - technique takes precedence over brute strength. Effective application of leverage can diminish a superior force and
unbalance your foe, and knowing the body's weaknesses and being able to easily reach them
(short or inch punches) means your strikes cause greater damage. Wing Chun has "iron rings" training to strengthen the arms; it has other forms of physical conditioning too. However, one should regard Wing Chun as more technique than brawn.

If a drunken ah tiong could land kicks on three poodles, it is not impossible for a very well trained fighter to beat off five people. If Cung Le took on five ordinary Sinkie poodles, my money would be on the former.

Re: You Mean Calefare ?

You mean calefare or bit-role actor. A strange word. I dono how this word came about.

Movie extras. Compare Sammo Hung's role and Jackie in Enter the Dragon movie.

Sammo Hung was Bruce Lee's opponent in the first fight scene.

Jackie was the villain's henchman for only a few seconds. :D

If a drunken ah tiong could land kicks on three poodles, it is not impossible for a very well trained fighter to beat off five people. If Cung Le took on five ordinary Sinkie poodles, my money would be on the former.

Yes, it's possible of course. Not everybody can be like Bruce Lee, or me.

One Inch

[video=youtube;fPUch_LfqeE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPUch_LfqeE&feature=player_embedded[/video]

Good to learn this.

It's not really whole bodyweight. That'd be do or die streetfighting style. The power of the inch punch comes from the waist as the lower body (the legs) stand steady. The legs holding and standing steady are the most important in a fight. Grounded and you'd be at the mercy of your opponent.

using waist power will not get you that kind of power swinging punch have . in a fight theres nothing more important then the other things ...everything is equally important ... speed , able to take punch , able to deliver a good punch , aiming ..ect .

Punching Bag

MMA%20Polycanvas%20Heavy%20Bag%20by%20Everlast.jpg

My advice to those who wanna be a boxer. Try to use the top knuckles. But, if you fail to do it, it may be more damaging to you than to your opponent. I will rather use the L-shape part on my hand for impact.

I discovered another way of using the hand as the third leg instead of punching. It works ! Because, it always moves the bag.

using waist power will not get you that kind of power swinging punch have . in a fight theres nothing more important then the other things ...everything is equally important ... speed , able to take punch , able to deliver a good punch , aiming ..ect .

If you want to talk aiming at eyes or nose etc. OK, you win, happy? You're most handsome and best fighter. When I next go Japan, please don't beat me up.

adapt yes but logic no . i seriously dont think his one inch punch is that powerful , i personally have learn muaythai and mma for years . its impossible that his one inch punch can bring down a person . yes , i agree that back in those days its difficult for non-white man to become big in angmo country . ...the only reason i could think of why bruce lee can make it to hollywood is because he speak english and he using his PR skill to get into hollywood . of course he do have some fighting skill ....

Well the problem is you aren't there to physically experience it yourself so of course you won't be able to comment on it but the fact of the matter is many ppl are looking at bruce lee and so far nobody has come out to say his 1 inch punch is not powerful as it is. Well every since bruce lee has there been another asian martial arts star like him? In fact any at all even the ang moh ones? The answer is no. I'm sure some asian has been thinking yeah if only i could get some white director to observe my skills just like bruce lee and i can make it big in hollywood like bruce. Well has there? Look if it was just down to PR skill there would have been someone else emulating bruce lee but has there? The answer is no. This proves that bruce was 100% talent, skill and dedication. Something like michael jordan. You don't see any random black b-ball player with skills and mind you in the us there are tons and tons of that around becoming like mj. Seriously many ppl have questioned about bruce lee but so far if he's just show and not really skill why not you see someone emulate him?

Regardless of the advancement in photographic and cinematographic technology since the 1970s, nobody has been able to reproduce or match the Bruce Lee fight scenes.

True but have you ever wonder why they had to do the fight scenes in slow motion? Imagine what it would be like in normal. :D

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7NDXWHlkcag?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>