• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Young PAP member quits over offensive remarks on Facebook

CheesePie

Young PAP member quits over offensive remarks on Facebook
By Esther Ng,
TODAY
| Posted: 17 November 2011 2111 hrs
phpBnQY8b.jpg

SINGAPORE: A Young People's Action Party (YP) member who posted "insensitive" remarks - in his own words - on his Facebook page has resigned, following an online furore.

Mr Jason Neo has also issued an apology on his Facebook page.

He had posted a religiously and racially offensive caption to a photograph which he uploaded onto the social networking website. The posting went viral recently.

In Mr Neo's apology, he said the post was out of a "moment's folly" and did not, in any way, represent the view of the PAP or the YP.

He said: "I hereby offer those within our Muslim community and anyone else offended my most sincere and unreserved apology."

Mr Neo, a volunteer at Meet-the-People sessions in Sembawang who joined YP in June, had posted the offensive caption and photo sometime in February.

Mr Neo's action was condemned by YP leaders, including YP chairman Teo Ser Luck who wrote on his Facebook page: "We will have to take action. Such acts must be condemned."

In a statement on YP's Facebook page on Thursday, its vice-chairman Zaqy Mohamad reiterated: "YP's and PAP's position is clear. Racism has no place in Singapore, and certainly not in the ranks of the PAP. The party has always upheld the core values of meritocracy and multiracialism.

"As a minority and from a race and belief targeted in the post, I found it very offensive, and I am certainly disappointed that it came from one of our activists."

Mr Zaqy stressed that the YP executive committee regularly updates members on its informal guidelines - online or otherwise.

"One of the fundamental prohibitions is that the party does not condone malicious racist remarks," Mr Zaqy said. In light of this episode, "more regular reminders" will be made to YP members, he added.

Nevertheless, the incident raises question marks on the screening process carried out by political parties on potential members.

Veteran PAP Member of Parliament Charles Chong told TODAY that it would be "difficult" to vet those joining YP or PAP.

"They may profess to have the same ideology as the party and have a clean record, but even with psychometric tests, there is a small possibility of mistakes or missteps," said Mr Chong.

On his Facebook posting, Mr Zaqy acknowledged that questions were raised about membership in the YP as a result of the incident.

He said: "They would have demonstrated a certain level of interest and commitment towards the party before they would be referred by a trusted comrade for membership."

Speaking to Today, Mr Zaqy added that typically, potential members are "judged by how they perform or act as volunteers first before they are brought into the party".

-CNA/ac

In a statement on YP's Facebook page on Thursday, its vice-chairman Zaqy Mohamad reiterated: "YP's and PAP's position is clear. Racism has no place in Singapore, and certainly not in the ranks of the PAP. The party has always upheld the core values of meritocracy and multiracialism.

"As a minority and from a race and belief targeted in the post, I found it very offensive, and I am certainly disappointed that it came from one of our activists."

Tell Zaq to fly kite, fuck spider and sue me. What's HDB quota GRC quota for if not for racism. My point is not to encourage derogatory and self-destructing racism. My point is recognize it as a fact for life and let's live harmoniously and sometimes even hilariously togethher. Artiifical denial is no solution except viewed as suppression by all sides.

The party has always upheld the core values of meritocracy and multiracialism.

... and this comes from a party that will never give foreign Muslims PR/citizenship [while dishing it out willy nilly to PRC whores], imposes racial quotas in its housing policies and disallows certain races from occupying the upper echelons of the SAF!!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Hypocrisy has certainly been taken to new heights.

lee6100

... and this comes from a party that will never give foreign Muslims PR/citizenship [while dishing it out willy nilly to PRC whores], imposes racial quotas in its housing policies and disallows certain races from occupying the upper echelons of the SAF!!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Since when have they walked the talk? 12-year deferments, ang mos only getting fines for serious crimes, calling people quitters when their own family members are living overseas, ad nauseum. They are masters at practising double standards.

wikiphile

This fella is a lawyer and he and his lawyer pals are probably thinking of how to slime away from this. They pretty much know the process and how they will be treated and the loopholes in our justice system. So what if a police report has been made, end of the day it is up to the AG to decide whether or not there is a case.

He'll get a warning at most and the earth will still revolve tomorrow as it did today and yesterday. Too bad, so sad.

so Mr Zaqy. What are you going to do about it?

I am very sure if this was any of the oppositions young members, the person will charged under the ISA for inciting racial violence, since this is an immortal pedigree club, they will just give him, 'six of the best' and shoo him away & hopefully, we all will forget. The sun will still shine & it will still rain in the afternoon.:rolleyes:

wikiphile

I read that 3 police reports has been lodged against him. No way he is going to get away scott free.

And Tin Pei Ling had just about the same number of police reports made against her too, look what happened. It's not gonna fly while PAP is the ruling party

@rmadill0

And Tin Pei Ling had just about the same number of police reports made against her too, look what happened. It's not gonna fly while PAP is the ruling party

TPL has an FB admin whom she can "credit" that post to. This Jason idiot has no such luxury.

If i am a rich Muslim, i will certainly choose Mudland / Indon over Singapore...

Airlib

I agreed lor... Most prob just a warning lah.... It's they are serious about the 3 police reports, they would have invited him to ISD for kopi and some air-con to cool him off liao lah.
Member sure comes with its benefits.

I agreed lor... Most prob just a warning lah.... It's they are serious about the 3 police reports, they would have invited him to ISD for kopi and some air-con to cool him off liao lah.
Member sure comes with its benefits.

Don't leave home without it!

If pap members have to quit over offensive remarks, there's one particular clown who would have had to quit long ago.
Come to think of it, there are several.

freedalas

If pap members have to quit over offensive remarks, there's one particular clown who would have had to quit long ago.
Come to think of it, there are several.

While I personally do not condone racially sensitive remarks for the sake of a harmonious and peaceful country, jw5 had indeed made a good observation. To add to jw5 comment, some of those offensive remarks by "senior PAP members, some very senior in fact" were made of neighbouring countries incurring their wrath towards ordinary citizens like us the innocent victims.

groinroot

Any punitive action against Jason Neo would be unfair because a precedent had been set.

In March 1992, during a Parliamentary debate, PAP MP Wee Choo Khiang derided the Indians by saying: "One evening, I drove to Little India and it was pitch dark but not because there was no light, but because there were too many Indians around." No PAP minister or fellow MPs took him to task. It was left to Chiam See Tong to discipline him by demanding him to apologise. However, the PAP did not sack him.