• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yet another racist tirade - Amy Cheong style.

yellowarse

This is known as Chinese privilege, and it is a problem in Singapore. Certain tuition agencies have the temerity to tell applicants that they want to work only with Chinese tutors.

It is similar to Malay privilege in Malaysia, only there it is far worse because it is institutionalized through the constitution and through government policies and Malaysian leaders are allowed to attack Chinese racially fearing without consequence.

The elephant in the room: how the hell did we ever get to this stage of hypersensitivity and intolerance to the each other's cultural and religious differences and the way we celebrate our festivals and rites?

Growing up in the '60s and '70s there were never any complaints of noisy Malay weddings or Chinese funerals or putrid curries or Indian jagahs or Malay Ahmads, even though most of us lived in crowded – okay, maybe less so than today – HDB estates and kampungs. We ate at the same table, got invited to one another's homes, spoke each other's patois, and no one bothered to look for the 'halal' label on snacks and restaurant signs.

Something went wrong along the way. I suspect this rising inter-ethnic tension and racism to be emblematic of a much deeper problem than just mere primordial instincts at play. And I suspect the finger points, again, to you-know-who.

There was seldom an issue in the past because most people came from kampungs, villages and government provided quarters which were all pretty packed. People were understanding. After all it was going to used by everyone sometime in their life.

It was not only cost issue, it was also convenience issue such as funerals where family members are close to their homes and are ready to come down and meet visitors.

The main issues however when void decks were wanted at the same time and thus to alleviate the problem, pavilions stated to be built. People familiar with town councils will tell you that many prefer to have their funerals and weddings at the void deck as opposed to pavilions. Its that communal feelings I suppose.

Funny that Sporeans are attacking each other. As I see it , the main problem is that the PAP has been packing too many sardines into a limited space.
You rarely hear the wealthy complain because they can hold their weddings in hotels or their large bungalows. Of course you need $

These are problems caused by high density living & the PAP want to invite even more people into Spore. A couple of million more:eek:

no_faith

As usual, anything spoken against dig m&d is racist.
Dig m&d very sensitive race.:biggrin:

And yes facebook again.

Malay weddings are horrible, Chinese funerals are a nightmare and Indians are a pain without having to do anything whatsoever. Their mere presence is offensive.

Burmese are the best.

The fact you can hear them means

1. Your hearing are ok
2. You are still alive.

So b grateful.

The elephant in the room: how the hell did we ever get to this stage of hypersensitivity and intolerance to the each other's cultural and religious differences and the way we celebrate our festivals and rites?

Growing up in the '60s and '70s there were never any complaints of noisy Malay weddings or Chinese funerals or putrid curries or Indian jagahs or Malay Ahmads, even though most of us lived in crowded – okay, maybe less so than today – HDB estates and kampungs. We ate at the same table, got invited to one another's homes, spoke each other's patois, and no one bothered to look for the 'halal' label on snacks and restaurant signs.

Something went wrong along the way. I suspect this rising inter-ethnic tension and racism to be emblematic of a much deeper problem than just mere primordial instincts at play. And I suspect the finger points, again, to you-know-who.

because sinkies tolerate too much thats why they become intolerant,scientist have shown that humans have only limited amounts of discipline and tolerance,when sinkies tolerate too much,they become hypersensitive and snap more easily......instead of letting out steam directly and their anger and frustration the old fashion way in the form of fights and riots in the 60s,they have been taught by their PAP masters to repress their feelings and keep things inside,as a result,over the decades sinkies become submissive and passive agressive........fast forward to today u have a race of sissy guniang sinkies when faced with confrontation or any wrongdoing from foreigners or strangers,they immediately stomp their feet or stare passive aggresively and immediately threaten to call police and wait for the authorities to come solve this injustice and misgrievance,while taking photos and selfies of the perpetrators for evidence and going online to write melodramtic and tear inducing prose and poetry expressing his supremely hurt feelings and bruised ego.some sinkies become so passive and submissive they enjoy being slapped around in the office and being paid $500 as an intern.

instead of doing what the ang mohs and other alpha male races do,immediately drop everything and slug it out mano el mano(man to man) and engage in fisticuffs and landing punch after punch on your enemy's face even on the steps of the Supreme courts of justice.

Sry to correct tou but I face many guniang all too keen to put road blocks on my works. Instead of common goals n goods. These motherhood statement have been plagued by a self interest corrupted governance of shrinking responsibility.

i think partly its because of the overcrowding effect and the alienating effect when u are surrounded by hordes of people that u dont know but are forced to coexist with,each human being starts to withdraw into his own bubble and focus on solitary activities to avoid the excessive stimuli.

i believe there was a experiment conducted on mice on overpopulation in the sixties.

[video=youtube;0Z760XNy4VM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Z760XNy4VM[/video]

gingerlyn

malay got to look at themselves.
after SG50, most of the chinese and indians have money to hold wedding at restaurants,
why malay still squad at multipurpose halls and have cheap wedding lunch? where is the human decency and value?

In the old days all the chinks could speak Kampung Malay and everyone got along well conversing in the National Language of the country. Then the Chinese became more and more obnoxious with each generation and insisted on speaking Mandarin even when Malays were present.

The Malays felt excluded and got pissed off so they stopped inviting the chinks to their homes. They took refuge in their religion and became more pious and the rest is history.

yellowarse

In the old days all the chinks could speak Kampung Malay and everyone got along well conversing in the National Language of the country. Then the Chinese became more and more obnoxious with each generation and insisted on speaking Mandarin even when Malays were present.

The Malays felt excluded and got pissed off so they stopped inviting the chinks to their homes. They took refuge in their religion and became more pious and the rest is history.

Good summary. Guess who told them to 'speak Mandarin'?

yinyang

malay got to look at themselves. ..most of the chinese and indians have money to hold wedding at restaurants,
why malay still squad at multipurpose halls and have cheap wedding lunch? where is the human decency and value?
Beg to differ. It's not question of money, affordability. Just cannot relate to your last bit, questioning "human decency and value"

The elephant in the room: how the hell did we ever get to this stage of hypersensitivity and intolerance to the each other's cultural and religious differences and the way we celebrate our festivals and rites? Growing up in the '60s and '70s there were never any complaints of noisy Malay weddings or Chinese funerals or putrid curries or Indian jagahs or Malay Ahmads, even though most of us lived in crowded – okay, maybe less so than today – HDB estates and kampungs. We ate at the same table, got invited to one another's homes, spoke each other's patois, and no one bothered to look for the 'halal' label on snacks and restaurant signs.
Fair comment. Think internet explosion and social media are no help either, what with senseless outbursts as par for the course.
Those days, can only kpkb in private :p

Good summary. Guess who told them to 'speak Mandarin'?

They were told to speak Mandarin instead of dialects. They were never instructed to shun the Malay language.

Malay was made the National Language of the country precisely because of its importance in the region. However the damned chinks thought that Singapore was somehow superior compared to the their neighbors so they spurned the language and the culture that had graciously accommodated them for more than a century.

If the chinks want to speak Mandarin instead of Malay, they should fuck off back to China.

They were told to speak Mandarin instead of dialects. They were never instructed to shun the Malay language.

Malay was made the National Language of the country precisely because of its importance in the region. However the damned chinks thought that Singapore was somehow superior compared to the their neighbors so they spurned the language and the culture that had graciously accommodated them for more than a century.

If the chinks want to speak Mandarin instead of Malay, they should fuck off back to China.

i think the speak mandarin campaign came much much later,probably during the rise of china when a certain old fart thought it was necessary to begin kissing china's ass.the generation that spoke malay was my grandmother's generation which was fitting cause she didnt speak any english, and melayu and tamil was the only way she could communicate with the other races.that was before the sixties before PAP came to power.after which Old fart embarked on a journey to anglicise Sinkies and begin the campaign of whitewashing sinkie culture to building his vision of the aryan race.

Malay weddings are horrible, Chinese funerals are a nightmare and Indians are a pain without having to do anything whatsoever. Their mere presence is offensive.

Burmese are the best.

Burnese food and house on stilts, pointing using yr thumb instead of fingers and lowering oneself when walking in front of someone sitting are burmese traits that are similar to malays.

She is stating a fact tat void deck weddings r noisy n disrupts the living environment of the residents. It should be banned anyway. And why have void deck wedding? Singkieland cool enough to hang outside? And is it really tat much cheaper than a wedding at CC or restaurant? Sounds like penny wise pound foolish n a major disruption to the residents lives.

The 3 main policies that seems to have upset the balance and the understanding amongst the races were the introduction of the Mandarin campaign which the chauvinist used to push their agenda, HDB race policy and the creation of the self help group. All three served the PAP as they needed to ensure that the Chinese chauvinists in the left do not re emerge.

The Malayan Chinese and Indians were very comfortable with the Malay language which was easily picked up and used in a ubiquitous manner. Romanised script made it easier to pick up the language for those who were serious.

Look at the young, 80% cannot even write a single paragraph to save themelves. They even struggle with the tenses and gender. One can argue that this was purposely done so that it will a small coterie of Singaporeans that have excellent command of the languages and remain dominant.

And PAP ended up dividing and conquering something which the British colonial masters were notorious for. At least they made sure the English language was thought to all in the right manner.

malay got to look at themselves.
after SG50, most of the chinese and indians have money to hold wedding at restaurants,

auntie, u think malay wedding at voiddeck cheap huh.... a simple and basic voiddeck wedding already can cost the newly weds $25-30k. that has only for the makan and the setting at the voiddeck hor. a good reputable karaoke ok rental company together with DJ can cost $2-5k. The malays like to do wedding at voiddeck not because it cheap but because the space available for whole kampong to come. Function rooms at hotel too small already. Many of the companies doing malay wedding have chinese towkays. Next time u go expo, look out for the malays wedding exhibition, look at the advertisments first before u say malays wedding are cheap.

The 3 main policies that seems to have upset the balance and the understanding amongst the races were the introduction of the Mandarin campaign which the chauvinist used to push their agenda, HDB race policy and the creation of the self help group. All three served the PAP as they needed to ensure that the Chinese chauvinists in the left do not re emerge.

The Malayan Chinese and Indians were very comfortable with the Malay language which was easily picked up and used in a ubiquitous manner. Romanised script made it easier to pick up the language for those who were serious.

Look at the young, 80% cannot even write a single paragraph to save themelves. They even struggle with the tenses and gender. One can argue that this was purposely done so that it will a small coterie of Singaporeans that have excellent command of the languages and remain dominant.

And PAP ended up dividing and conquering something which the British colonial masters were notorious for. At least they made sure the English language was thought to all in the right manner.

what u mean by chinese chauvinist?u mean communist?arent we all chinese chauvinist to one extent or another?are malays and indians allowed to be chauvinists?

i agree with ur strategy of divide and conquer....sinkies are a divided people.....so many generation gaps,so many language barriers,some dialect,some mandarin some english.all with varying degrees of mastery.how can sinkies be united as one people like the hong kies?no wonder our ranks are rife with japanese translators and han jians and race traitors and gaijin lovers.

yellowarse

The 3 main policies that seems to have upset the balance and the understanding amongst the races were the introduction of the Mandarin campaign which the chauvinist used to push their agenda, HDB race policy and the creation of the self help group. All three served the PAP as they needed to ensure that the Chinese chauvinist in the left do not remerge.

Yes, the three divide-and-conquer policies. Not just to clip the wings of the powerful Chinese dialect clans, but to forestall the development of strong ethnic enclaves voting along racial lines – in particular the Malays who tend to bring their kampung into the urban setting.

The 4th, the GRC system, ostensibly to ensure minority representation in Parliament, was actually implemented to raise the barrier to opposition entry, after Chiam became the 2nd opposition member to win an election.

Little wonder we're more racially divided today than during the early post-Independence years.

The speak Mandarin campaign after a while turned out to have political sinister overtones. It was the more than dog whistle politics. It wrecked a whole generation and the collateral damage is huge. The rich could afford to send their kids overseas. Other were not lucky. There were Indian, Malay and Eurasian kids that even took Mandarin only to complain years later in the ST forum pages that employers who advertised Mandarin were referring to ethnic Chinese.

It was just a Hakka chap that decided that he did not want the Hokkeins, the Teochew and the Cantonese to have an advantage when it came to politics and he conveniently used China as excuse to introduce Mandarin. And in this respect he never had to face another Lim Chin Siong on a national level. And he was right when Low took Hougang using Teochew dialect.

None of this was done to benefit the country. Look at Hong Kong and Taiwan. Any speak the Mandarin campaign? And they have gone into China big time and they dominate among the foreigners.