• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Yankee AMDK Pays $8k Monthly Rent To Stay In Ghost Town Sentosa Cove!

If solitude and silence are part of high living, then some Sentosa Cove residents are getting more than they bargained for.

When The Sunday Times visited the Cove on Thursday night, many units of the private estates there were dark.

At The Residences at W, a 228-unit development completed about five years ago, an online search shows 209 units are up for rent.

At The Coast - a 249-unit development - 45 units are listed for rent. At 200-unit The Berth by the Cove, online listings show 25 units are up for rent.

A resident of The Residences at W, who wanted to be known only as Robert, says: "There are usually more people around in the day. At night, the place does feel quite empty when the non-residents return home.

"If I just look at my block alone, I'd say it is probably around 70 per cent occupied."

The 41-year-old American expatriate moved into his rental four-bedroom unit early last year and pays around $8,000 a month.

In the Core Central Region (CCR), which includes Sentosa, the private home vacancy rate at the fourth quarter last year was 9.6 per cent, according to data from the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

This number is derived from the utility consumption levels of all completed private residential units in the CCR.

Mr Wong Xian Yang, head of research and consultancy at OrangeTee, says this is the closest indication of the vacancy rate in Sentosa.

HOLIDAY HOME SYNDROME

Many Sentosa Cove residences would be left empty for most of the year as they are holiday homes for the owners, so Sentosa would likely have a higher vacancy rate than the rest of the CCR.

MR WONG XIAN YANG, head of research and consultancy at OrangeTee, on the number of unoccupied units in Sentosa as compared with the Core Central Region.
But he offers another reason why so many units are unoccupied.

"Many Sentosa Cove residences would be left empty for most of the year as they are holiday homes for the owners, so Sentosa would likely have a higher vacancy rate than the rest of the CCR," he says.

Based on his observations, International Property Advisor chief executive Ku Swee Yong estimates about 30 per cent of units in the Cove are vacant.

Says Mr Ku: "Assuming a 70 per cent occupancy, that would mean around 650 units of the 2,200 homes and apartments there are empty."

Sentosa Cove had a poor 2016 - 15 out of the 21 resale transactions last year ended up in the red, with the 15 transactions making an average loss of $1.35 million, according to data from property portal SRX.

A unit at Sentosa Cove condo Turquoise went for $3.8 million last year. The seller had bought it at $7.16 million in 2007.

Another apartment at Seascape was resold at $6.35 million last October. That owner had paid $11 million in 2011.

But the area remains popular with visitors. Restaurant staff at Quayside Isle, a marina-front dining enclave in the middle of the luxury homes, say business is brisk despite the small residential population.

Says Ms Rachel Guerra, manager of Miska Cafe: "There are still residents and non-residents, as well as guests at the nearby hotel coming to eat here. Right now, we're still doing well."

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/quiet-nights-and-dark-homes-at-sentosa-cove

Nice this is a prophecy of SG future,I hope to see one day to look across the block and see 40% of the flats dark and empty.

You rather dark and empty or occupied but sinkie owners all negative equity? Same as CPF. All PRs withdraw money left no more for sinkies! :eek:

$8000 rent wtf.this expats are living the higher life than John tan.wtf do they even do?

I am living a good expat-style life with my family. Nice bungalow in Bukit Timah surrounded by lush greenery, drinking lemonade in our garden while being served by our native brown-skinned serfs.

Cottonmouth

Where got Ghost Town, he can go next door to fuck Sun Ho's holy pussy if that stupid Kong Hee ever gets convicted.

Annunaki

This fucking ang moh no fight with Finian tan

image.jpg

image.jpg

You rather dark and empty or occupied but sinkie owners all negative equity? Same as CPF. All PRs withdraw money left no more for sinkies! :eek:

its alright,i hope to save future sinkie generations from the hdb ponzi,would u rather spend ur entire life paying for a million dollar pigeon hole,or have half a million dollars in ur savings which can be used to improve ur quality of life,pay for ur childrens higher education,used for outside investment purposes to generate a nest egg for ur retirement and still have a cheap ass pigeon hole to live in.......just because something is very expensive doesnt mean u are rich,it just mean u have less for consumption and

extramarital

Nothing wrong for the Ang Moh to pay $8K a month for his unit as long as he's paying with his own money. He can choose how to spend his money because SG is not a socialist (aka semi-communist) country.

FYI, $8k a month is a bargain compared to renting a presidential suite in a 5-star hotel which can easily cost more than $10K a night. Those ultra luxurious presidential suites, which comes with butlers and chefs on call 24/7, are usually rented by visiting heads of states from overseas courtesy of their countries' taxpayers footing the bill. Now, these high ranking politicians are the parasites sucking money from their peasants living a lavish and extravagant lifestyle calling them official state visits.

Nothing wrong for the Ang Moh to pay $8K a month for his unit as long as he's paying with his own money. He can choose how to spend his money because SG is not a socialist (aka semi-communist) country.

FYI, $8k a month is a bargain compared to renting a presidential suite in a 5-star hotel which can easily cost more than $10K a night. Those ultra luxurious presidential suites, which comes with butlers and chefs on call 24/7, are usually rented by visiting heads of states from overseas courtesy of their countries' taxpayers footing the bill. Now, these high ranking politicians are the parasites sucking money from their peasants living a lavish and extravagant lifestyle calling them official state visits.

It's OK because he's spending his own money?How many sinkies will get to experience that in their lifetimes?Spending 8k a month on rent?And these expats are walking around a dime a dozen like the high caste shitskins at East coast tan Jong rhu Marine parade condos.i know this sinkie investor with 3 million dollar portfolio 600k CPF 200k a year passive income,ak71 assi,even I don't think he dares to spend 8k a month on rent.and these ftrash is walking around living it up in our country spending 8k a month on rent at age 41!!!!!

extramarital

It's OK because he's spending his own money?How many sinkies will get to experience that in their lifetimes?Spending 8k a month on rent?And these expats are walking around a dime a dozen like the high caste shitskins at East coast tan Jong rhu Marine parade condos.i know this sinkie investor with 3 million dollar portfolio 600k CPF 200k a year passive income,ak71 assi,even I don't think he dares to spend 8k a month on rent.and these ftrash is walking around living it up in our country spending 8k a month on rent at age 41!!!!!

You can't compare the sinkie rich investor that you know who don't dare to spend 8K a month on rent with the Ang Moh as they are 2 different persons. Each person has a choice on what sort of lifestyle he wants to live unless we are living in socialist or communist country where living the good life is a crime.

FYI, the Suites Class in most SIA flights are usually occupied by Ang Mohs as they know how to enjoy their flights. It's more about paying for the extra large space on board, more privacy, using of The Private Room lounge at Changi Airport, fine dining and wines on board and at the lounge, extra attentive service from the flight attendants and ground staff, priority boarding and deplaning, priority baggage handling, special check-in and immigration sections separate from the peasants at Changi Airport, and etc.... In other words, they are paying for the experience.

As for most Asians, those who fly Biz Class are usually paid by their companies when they are on Biz trips. Otherwise, they usually fly Economy Class or Budget Airlines no matter how rich they are because they see flying as getting from Point A to Point B instead of an experience. I'm not saying there's anything wrong with this because each person has a choice on how he spends his own money.

You can't compare the sinkie rich investor that you know who don't dare to spend 8K a month on rent with the Ang Moh as they are 2 different persons. Each person has a choice on what sort of lifestyle he wants to live unless we are living in socialist or communist country where living the good life is a crime.

FYI, the Suites Class in most SIA flights are usually occupied by Ang Mohs as they know how to enjoy their flights. It's more about paying for the extra large space on board, more privacy, using of The Private Room lounge at Changi Airport, fine dining and wines on board and at the lounge, extra attentive service from the flight attendants and ground staff, priority boarding and deplaning, priority baggage handling, special check-in and immigration sections separate from the peasants at Changi Airport, and etc.... In other words, they are paying for the experience.

As for most Asians, those who fly Biz Class are usually paid by their companies when they are on Biz trips. Otherwise, they usually fly Economy Class or Budget Airlines no matter how rich they are because they see flying as getting from Point A to Point B instead of an experience. I'm not saying there's anything wrong with this because each person has a choice on how he spends his own money.

i thought sinkie chinks love to splurge?on 100k weddings,on renovations they cant afford,on condos that are out of their budgets,on 100k coes and 200k mercedes and bmws,on expensive holidays they cant afford?and those are just the sinkie peasants,now u telling me that the steoreotype is most chinks are frugal and stingy and take budget or economy and stay pigeon holes and eat 3 meals at hawker center?zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz......

now lets used a little bit of logic and common sense here,we all know the typical person here regardless of their race or where they live around the world would not spend their entire paycheck on their rent/mortgage alone,its gotta be a acceptable and comfortable amount for them,for example the high caste shitskins living at tanjong rhu estate condos might pay 3 to 4k rent a month,but they are making way more than that like 7 to 9k a month at least....the typical amount people spent on housing would be about 20 to 40 percent of their income...this mean the 41 yr old expat here has to be making at least 4 to 5 times that of his rent,hes making at least 30k to 40k a month......and hes just one of the 600k expats here living the high life.....u think given a choice sinkies wouldnt want to live at pebble bay tan jong rhu waterfront estate or work at city hall or marina bay financial district?15 years ago that place used to be a chink ang moh haven,now its a shitskin infestation hellhole.

every morning at 7 do u know how many legions and armies of shitskin in suits and ties taking bus no 11 to stadium mrt to get to their workplace at marina bay or city hall?why sinkies no want be bankers and lawyers?why they want be taxi drivers?the shitskins even have their own private SBS bus route from the condos to the mrt.....10 years ago there was no such thing.

OrLanChowHorFun

I am living a good expat-style life with my family. Nice bungalow in Bukit Timah surrounded by lush greenery, drinking lemonade in our garden while being served by our native brown-skinned serfs.

and so free hor..............to hang around at this Mickey Mouse forum................

extramarital

i thought sinkie chinks love to splurge?on 100k weddings,on renovations they cant afford,on condos that are out of their budgets,on 100k coes and 200k mercedes and bmws,on expensive holidays they cant afford?and those are just the sinkie peasants,now u telling me that the steoreotype is most chinks are frugal and stingy and take budget or economy and stay pigeon holes and eat 3 meals at hawker center?zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz......

Sinkie Chinks love to splurge mostly on expensive weddings, luxury cars like Mercs/BMWs/Audis, jewelries, private condos, expensive renovations, luxury goods like Rolex watches & LV/Gucci/Prada bags, etc. In other words, they like to splurge on things that are tangible so that other people can see. This gives them face.

But when it comes to flying which is less tangible and can only last for hours, I very rarely see them in the Suites Class and First Class sections of SIA as that part of the plane is predominantly populated by Ang Mohs. They may join a luxury tour group when they travel in Europe but the way they get there (aka the journey) is usually by Economy Class.

Suites Class & First Class on SIA flights, and The Private Room at Changi Airport T3 are some of the best places to avoid kiasu Sinkie Chinks!