• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP: “We’ve no ball to talk SMRT strike becos we’ve no ball to politicize the issue."

tanwahp

Re: WP: “We’ve no ball to talk SMRT strike becos we’ve no ball to politicize the issu

I used to think that way - kick out a few more white scum out every election. But I'm now more than ever convinced things in Singapore will NEVER change unless there's a regime change. Gaining one GRC or 2 SMCs every 5 years will not get you a regime change - it will just be tokenism that paradoxically makes MIW look good in the eye of international observers.

To topple the regime, the opposition must combine to deny PAP a 2/3 majority in the next election, and then aim for a coalition govt in GE2021 with a combined minimum of 44 seats.

Imagine the SDP and NSP in total winning 50 seats outright in the next GE. You might get your gratification of not having a PAP as government, that's all.

Whether the person elected can be a good parliamentarian is not just based on the yardstick of speaking up. That's too simplistic. Many politicians in history did not mean what they say in the end. On top of that, the minor details that the SDP type politician (and some forummers) dismiss as what WP is only good at doing might actually be your key for survival, such as paperwork, admin, systems and managing your own internal people. And if you become minister, you need to turn your vision into reality. That means that even one HDB officer misunderstands and miscarries one step in your NOM scheme due to lack of understanding or write an address wrongly, you would have lost many votes.

The difficult part is not having the PAP out. The difficulty is the opposition coping. The ropes need to be learnt slowly.

yellowarse

Re: WP: “We’ve no ball to talk SMRT strike becos we’ve no ball to politicize the issu

Imagine the SDP and NSP in total winning 50 seats outright in the next GE. You might get your gratification of not having a PAP as government, that's all.

After 5 decades of oppression, I think Singaporeans are ready for a change. Of course there's no guarantee that the next govt might be more capable, but the option of having an alternative is far preferable to sticking with the status quo.

The lack of choice and the status quo has brought Singapore to the untenable situation today where a host of socio-economic issues plague many Singaporeans (sandwiched middle-income class & lower income group) but they have little recourse to asserting their views and rights because of the authoritarian structures in place. E.g. the PRC strike saga puts into stark relief the lack of labour rights here for both local and foreign workers, as well as the undesirable effects of heavy reliance on foreign labour. But how much say do we have? You seriously believe that our grouses are being heard and acted upon in the National Conversation?

Whether the person elected can be a good parliamentarian is not just based on the yardstick of speaking up. That's too simplistic. Many politicians in history did not mean what they say in the end. On top of that, the minor details that the SDP type politician (and some forummers) dismiss as what WP is only good at doing might actually be your key for survival, such as paperwork, admin, systems and managing your own internal people. And if you become minister, you need to turn your vision into reality. That means that even one HDB officer misunderstands and miscarries one step in your NOM scheme due to lack of understanding or write an address wrongly, you would have lost many votes.

All the more reason why all opposition parties with their different strengths should unite together and pool their talents for the benefit of Singaporeans in an alternative government - SDP with its parliamentary thrust, WP with its heartland connection, NSP with its organizational skills, etc ... An alliance without WP is as toothless as WP going it alone. It will still be the same fragmented opposition in the SDA vs WP vs NSP vs SDP style of yesteryear, with last-minute horse-trading one month before polling day and post-election bad blood and finger-pointing.

SgParent

The difficult part is not having the PAP out. The difficulty is the opposition coping. The ropes need to be learnt slowly.

The ministries are mostly handled by the permanent secretaries. The Ministars are doing and contributing next to nothing.

Just look at how people like Lui *uck Y**, $8 Malaysian Cow, etc, etc, could hop around and you would hardly notice any difference in the substandard service/performance of the ministries.

yellowarse

The ministries are mostly handled by the permanent secretaries. The Ministars are doing and contributing next to nothing.

Right. In the Westminster system, the civil service handles the day-to-day running of the ministries. It is non-partisan; it answers to and works with the elected administration of the day, whoever the ruling party is. Hence the requirement that all civil servants have no party affiliations.

tanwahp

Just look at how people like Lui *uck Y**, $8 Malaysian Cow, etc, etc, could hop around and you would hardly notice any difference in the substandard service/performance of the ministries.

I am not talking about PAP here, but it's simplistic to think that a minister does nothing related to a good government. They may not need to do the work, but they need to think how the work can be done.

Even permanent secretaries don't run the day-to-day operations. They need to replicate the minister's job scope, except at the next level. Then go down to division heads, department heads, team leaders. How well the utmost top people do will have an impact on the day-to-day operations.

skponggol

I used to think that way - kick out a few more white scum out every election. But I'm now more than ever convinced things in Singapore will NEVER change unless there's a regime change. Gaining one GRC or 2 SMCs every 5 years will not get you a regime change - it will just be tokenism that paradoxically makes MIW look good in the eye of international observers.

To topple the regime, the opposition must combine to deny PAP a 2/3 majority in the next election, and then aim for a coalition govt in GE2021 with a combined minimum of 44 seats.

If the PAP fails to win a majority, there will not be a regime change.

Instead, the Vichy WP eunuchs would be roped in to help PAP form a "National Reconciliation" Coalition government, with the exclusion of other Opposition parties.

Hammerrhoid zombies are always so predictable...Talking about "Opposition Unity" to one ear, while slamming and smearing other Opposition parities to the other ear. But gone berserk when their political masters are being criticised.

Any talk of "Opposition Unity" by Hammerrhoid zombies is all lies, intending to shield their political masters from any criticism while they continue to attack other genuine Opposition parties.

yellowarse

Instead, the Vichy WP eunuchs would be roped in to help PAP form a "National Reconciliation" Coalition government, with the exclusion of other Opposition parties.

This was what Pritam Singh alluded to at an IPS forum in July 2011, for which he got a lot of flak from non-WP opposition supporters:

“It may be a case in future whereby the PAP only wins 36 (seats) and we may have to form a coalition government. There is only a finite number of individual parties they want to work with. So it’s not a case of either PAP government or opposition government.”

skponggol

This was what Pritam Singh alluded to at an IPS forum in July 2011, for which he got a lot of flak from non-WP opposition supporters:

“It may be a case in future whereby the PAP only wins 36 (seats) and we may have to form a coalition government. There is only a finite number of individual parties they want to work with. So it’s not a case of either PAP government or opposition government.”

Not only that....There are many instances of Vichy WP "National Reconciliation" with the PAP regime.The most blatant example of PAP-Vichy WP collaboration is the Ministers' Million Dollar Salary.

Are Singapore Ministers still the highest paid in the world? Yes. Are they still deserved to be paid for so obscenely. NO!

But Vichy WP has effectively helped their PAP puppet master to defuse and neutralise that issue by coming up another proposal that is almost identical to that of PAP, paying Ministers their undeserved Million Dollar Salary (most probably another example of shameless plagiarism from PAP proposal since most Vichy WP eunuchs are bunch of notorious serial copycats).

Thanks to Vichy WP toady collaboration, Minister Million Dollar Salary has ceased to be a hot potato for the PAP regime.

How many times have those Vichy WP eunuchs help PAP regime to rubber-stamp almost every single PAP legislations in the parliament? There is not even a simple token abstention from these gutless eunuchs.

Now, we all know what “First World Parliament” is all about….. Another Ponzi scheme by Vichy WP to hoodwink Opposition.supporters to support PAP rule

wwabbit

What Pritam Singh says make sense. Let's say in GE2012, we give all the opposition parties an extra 12% of the votes, this would be the result:

PAP 37
WP 23
NSP 17
SPP 6
SDP 4

These are the possible coalitions that can form a majority government
PAP + WP
PAP + NSP
PAP + SPP + SDP
WP + NSP + SPP
WP + NSP + SDP

The thing is, Pritam Singh never said which one will happen or which one he thinks will or should happen. He just said that in this situation, a coalition government will have to be formed, and the coalition has to comprise of parties that are willing to work with each other. So I'm not sure why people are whacking him for that.

yellowarse

These are the possible coalitions that can form a majority government
PAP + WP
PAP + NSP
PAP + SPP + SDP
WP + NSP + SPP
WP + NSP + SDP

The thing is, Pritam Singh never said which one will happen or which one he thinks will or should happen. He just said that in this situation, a coalition government will have to be formed, and the coalition has to comprise of parties that are willing to work with each other. So I'm not sure why people are whacking him for that.

He was whacked because options (1), (2) & (3) would be considered no regime change at all. Coming from a key opposition leader this statement is considered treasonous to the opposition cause in the context of Singapore's unique illiberal democracy and longstanding authoritarian repression.

Only (4) & (5) would be acceptable to the vast majority of opposition supporters (including some WP supporters).

tanwahp

He was whacked because options (1), (2) & (3) would be considered no regime change at all. Coming from a key opposition leader this statement is considered treasonous to the opposition cause in the context of Singapore's unique illiberal democracy and longstanding authoritarian repression.

Only (4) & (5) would be acceptable to the vast majority of opposition supporters (including some WP supporters).

Things can change within each party depending on the share of parliament each party is awarded by voters.

To be somehow irked by the lightning logo or the name "People's Action Party" or "PAP" is unrealistic. The people running PAP now will be 100% different from those running PAP in 50 years time because of the natural laws of age and death. A future PAP hanging at the balance of power may be a good one. Look at the KMT of Taiwan as an example.

If you put Chee in charge of PAP, you get a PAP that is more like SDP now. That's not impossible, you know.

SDP supporters have also asserted that SDP is changing despite the fact that 3 things - SDP's name, logo and Chee - remain intact.

SgParent

I am not talking about PAP here, but it's simplistic to think that a minister does nothing related to a good government. They may not need to do the work, but they need to think how the work can be done.

Even permanent secretaries don't run the day-to-day operations. They need to replicate the minister's job scope, except at the next level. Then go down to division heads, department heads, team leaders. How well the utmost top people do will have an impact on the day-to-day operations.

I was responding to your comment about Oppo needing to learn the ropes slowly. With the PS they already have an experience assistant to guide them along.

As for Ministers needing to think about how the work is done, no. Lui *uck Y** and $8 Malaysian Cow are perfect examples of how Ministers do not even need half a brain, when they hop around the different ministry at the blink of an eye.

SgParent

Hammerrhoid zombies are always so predictable...Talking about "Opposition Unity" to one ear, while slamming and smearing other Opposition parities to the other ear. But gone berserk when their political masters are being criticised.

Any talk of "Opposition Unity" by Hammerrhoid zombies is all lies, intending to shield their political masters from any criticism while they continue to attack other genuine Opposition parties.

Disagree, somewhat

If the White Scums have 49.99% of the seats, it only makes sense if WP or whatever-P form a coalition with the White Scums to avoid having a minority government or for the nation to go to the poll again.

Even having said that, the above scenario is very much a big "if" for many reasons. One of them being we have fake Oppo supporters stirring conflict, sowing discord, etc, etc. So you can bet come year 3016 the White Scums will still enjoy convincingly strong mandate.

SgParent

http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=67427.3
WP 'gearing up to form govt'
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1139857/1/.html

>
Said Mr Singh: "There are 87 seats in Parliament. How many do we have right now? We've got six ... we will not be ready to form a government till we got 44 good candidates, who are elected by the people."

He added: "So, is that something we are working toward? Well, I think the short answer is yes. But at the end of the day, with respect to that decision, it will not be made by the Workers' Party, it will be made by the people of Singapore."

Mr Singh, who was speaking on a panel at the Institute of Policy Studies forum alongside National Solidarity Party secretary-general Hazel Poa and People's Action Party (PAP) first-term MP Vikram Nair, also mooted the possibility of a coalition government.

Said Mr Singh: "It may be a case in future whereby the PAP only wins 36 (seats) and we may have to form a coalition government. There is only a finite number of individual parties they want to work with. So it's not a case of either PAP government or opposition government."
<

Based on my extremely limited understanding of the English language, Ah Singh was at most giving an example of the White Scums only winning 36 seats and WP has 6 to illustrate a coalition

I have been asking many people what is so uncommon to be non committal especially in politics

So far nobody has offer any answer

SgParent

....Not only that....There are many instances of Vichy WP "National Reconciliation" with the PAP regime.The most blatant example of PAP-Vichy WP collaboration is the Ministers' Million Dollar Salary.

Are Singapore Ministers still the highest paid in the world? Yes. Are they still deserved to be paid for so obscenely. NO!

But Vichy WP has effectively helped their PAP puppet master to defuse and neutralise that issue by coming up another proposal that is almost identical to that of PAP, paying Ministers their undeserved Million Dollar Salary (most probably another example of shameless plagiarism from PAP proposal since most Vichy WP eunuchs are bunch of notorious serial copycats).

Pls lah. The principle and spirit of arriving at the final pay is different. Geez

Or you were paying too much attention to what the White Scums had to say and missed out that part?

wwabbit

Pls lah. The principle and spirit of arriving at the final pay is different. Geez

Or you were paying too much attention to what the White Scums had to say and missed out that part?

Worker's Party proposal for ministerial salary was actually about 37% lower than what was proposed by the review committee. Part of the proposal was to cut away all the bonuses (except for 13th month) that the ministers get, which is why Vikram Nair (the White Scum you mentioned) tried to deflect the issue by saying that the Worker's Party proposal is the about the same as the committee's if you look at the monthly wages. Totally ignoring the important fact that the committee's proposal includes 10 month bonus.

Funny that some retards here ignore the whole story and continue to use Vikram Nair to attack the Worker's Party. The sad thing is this isn't the first time said retard has been rebutted with the truth, but will continue to attack with Worker's Party with the same lies sometime soon in the future.

SgParent

Worker's Party proposal for ministerial salary was actually about 37% lower than what was proposed by the review committee. Part of the proposal was to cut away all the bonuses (except for 13th month) that the ministers get, which is why Vikram Nair (the White Scum you mentioned) tried to deflect the issue by saying that the Worker's Party proposal is the about the same as the committee's if you look at the monthly wages. Totally ignoring the important fact that the committee's proposal includes 10 month bonus.

How very true

Funny that some retards here ignore the whole story and continue to use Vikram Nair to attack the Worker's Party. The sad thing is this isn't the first time said retard has been rebutted with the truth, but will continue to attack with Worker's Party with the same lies sometime soon in the future.

So these fake 40% in this forum are also of the lowest standard, so fast running out of ideas? Aiyoway

How disappointing.