• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

world class mrt gets rails cracked

Re: SMRT track crack - another proof that our infrastructure can't take any more peop

I don't know much about Auckland but in Spore the MRT sytem is critical for us "lesser mortals". For many living in NZ they can always chose to get a car but in Spore the PAP has made it prohibitively expensive to own one.

A large number of Aucklanders depend on the trains too. Cars are cheap here but downtown parking costs an arm and a leg and very few can afford to park there the whole day. It would cost a day's wages.

maxxi

Re: SMRT track crack - another proof that our infrastructure can't take any more peop

Problem started when they neglected the trasnport business by going into land-lord business.

Should have used some of that money to repair and upgrade (not expand) the existing MRT network.

Instead, the money was used for HDB upgrading. :rolleyes:

winners

It'll be a matter of time before an MRT train jumps track (derailed) and crashes onto the wall of the underground tunnel, leading to numerous deaths and injuries. What that happens, LTA will sure to kena jialat jialat.

Every darn thing also cracked under PAP. This party better go jump river and don't dirty our reservoir.

Singapore fucking SMRT is worse than this, at least this one has no rail cracks and run faster than our train.
[video=youtube;dbElLRkDXIA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbElLRkDXIA[/video]

watchman8

Could be a case of overuse, under maintenance. The train tracks are meant to be used for a certain number of train trips and load. Ever since population exploded, the train frequency and train loads increase significantly. Maintenance may not have caught up yet.

Raiders

Latest: Red line towards woodlands from bishan is stopping intermittently between stations. Track too slippery because raining? :biggrin:

watchman8

Latest: Red line towards woodlands from bishan is stopping intermittently between stations. Track too slippery because raining? :biggrin:
This has been happening almost daily. It seems like the tracks exposed to weather and heavy loading are affected. I wonder if property values from woodlands to bishan will be negatively affected?

Raiders

This has been happening almost daily. It seems like the tracks exposed to weather and heavy loading are affected. I wonder if property values from woodlands to bishan will be negatively affected?

Some thing is definitely wrong with this stretch of rail. It is actually faster to go Woodlands-Jurong East-Cityhall than to go Woodlands-Cityhall every morning.

watchman8

Some thing is definitely wrong with this stretch of rail. It is actually faster to go Woodlands-Jurong East-Cityhall than to go Woodlands-Cityhall every morning.
Its the most stressed stretch of mrt tracks, exposed to weather and very heavy load between woodlands and bishan. Plus this is the very first stretch of mrt line open to public.

Can we expect the same problems to crop up on east west line soon?

Don't worry, 6.9 million population will take care of any drop in property prices. :wink:

Of course, there may be a stampede or deaths inside the MRT trains and stations, but who cares as long as the GDP goes up? :rolleyes:

Its the most stressed stretch of mrt tracks, exposed to weather and very heavy load between woodlands and bishan. Plus this is the very first stretch of mrt line open to public.

Can we expect the same problems to crop up on east west line soon?

For goodness sake, the CEOs and executives of SMRT are supposed to be a bunch of elites ....can't they even do things right? Ok, I forgot, in sinkapore, there is no pay for performance if you are an elite. Once there, the PAP will give you everything as long as you do their bidding. Damn, why didn't I study hard when young!

It'll be a matter of time before an MRT train jumps track (derailed) and crashes onto the wall of the underground tunnel, leading to numerous deaths and injuries. What that happens, LTA will sure to kena jialat jialat.

Did any heads roll when the Nicoll Highway collapsed?

Did Wong Kan Seng apologize or step down when the Mas Selamat fiasco happened?

If there's something the pappies lack, it is a sense of shame. There's no integrity or accountability.

If fatalities occur in MRT trains, nincompoops such as Lui Tuck Yew will still keep their cushy job. I'll tell you what will happen: a committee of inquiry with the usual people will be set up to 'investigate'. After a long period of time the blame will be pushed to some minion in the civil service or contractor. Paltry compensation will be paid to the affected families, grudgingly.

That how it is in Singapore.

watchman8

Did any heads roll when the Nicoll Highway collapsed?

Did Wong Kan Seng apologize or step down when the Mas Selamat fiasco happened?

If there's something the pappies lack, it is a sense of shame. There's no integrity or accountability.

If fatalities occur in MRT trains, nincompoops such as Lui Tuck Yew will still keep their cushy job. I'll tell you what will happen: a committee of inquiry with the usual people will be set up to 'investigate'. After a long period of time the blame will be pushed to some minion in the civil service or contractor. Paltry compensation will be paid to the affected families, grudgingly.

That how it is in Singapore.
Nonsense. The pappies knew very well the sense of shame ... of having a normal govt salary. Hence they have rectified it a while ago.

What an outright lie. Small wonder the Pappies are forcing websites to register. The number of falsehoods perpetuated on the internet is rising exponentially by the day.

It is human to lie, & inhumane to shoot every liars...look, even if you duct tape every mouth....the eyes still LIE!! GET THE POINT!

watchman8

For goodness sake, the CEOs and executives of SMRT are supposed to be a bunch of elites ....can't they even do things right? Ok, I forgot, in sinkapore, there is no pay for performance if you are an elite. Once there, the PAP will give you everything as long as you do their bidding. Damn, why didn't I study hard when young!
Once again you are barking up the wrong tree. The issue may not be the current execs of MRT. It is the sudden increase in loading that the train system is not designed for. SMRT only has less than 5 hours of maintenance time every night, with a maintenance crew that has not grown much. There is only so much they can maintain and replace every day.

If you want to blame, go all the way up to the PM who sanctioned the sudden influx of immigrants since 2005.

Once again you are barking up the wrong tree. The issue may not be the current execs of MRT. It is the sudden increase in loading that the train system is not designed for. SMRT only has less than 5 hours of maintenance time every night, with a maintenance crew that has not grown much. There is only so much they can maintain and replace every day.

If you want to blame, go all the way up to the PM who sanctioned the sudden influx of immigrants since 2005.

It is the correct tree ...they are all joined up in one way or the other. SMRT CEO could have told LHL that trains cannot tahan so many trips ...no, he (previously she) keeps quiet because $1 million salary is more important.
If it is a different tree, this tree would tell LHL that he can't do it.

mass rapid train service going in the direction of sf via the transbay tube is being affected today as 2 maintenance trains collided this morning at 2am while doing maintenance work and moving along the tube. apparently the collision caused the 3rd rail on one track to be displaced. trains going to sf from fremont, richmond, pleasanton, and pittsburg/bay point will be single-tracked through the transbay tube throughout most of the day. delays are estimated to be anywhere from 30 minutes to 1 hour for sf commuters. meanwhile, freeways going into sf are jammed as commuters learned of the news this morning and decided to head for work in the city in their vehicles instead.

rails crack and wear down frequently in the bart system, and that's why there's daily maintenance. rails are replaced constantly on a weekly basis. but when you have too much maintenance too frequently, accidents among maintenance crews happen. there's a fine line between the two. you can't have it both ways, i.e. have your cake and eat it too. sinkies seem to possess the latter attitude. one little issue, and it's endless kpkb. :rolleyes: