• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Words that are offensive to ginfreely and will result in post deleted.

Status
Not open for further replies.

I agree with you Sam.

Do people say fuck in real life? Knnbccb? Yes.

So whats wrong with peopel saying it here?

Personally when I see someone use those words I think they use it in real life too. And there is nothing wrong with people saying it in real life. So whats the problem saying here?

That's the problem supposing I say "OK no vulgarities" where does it start and where does it end. no "fuck"? what about "shit"? what about just "knn"? or "knnb"

I tried something like this many years ago it was simply impossible to implement impartially. Some people are vulgar in a humorous way whereas some are vile and nasty. So I then have to make a judgement call and choose the member I like and ban the one I dislike. But then the member I dislike posts some gems when he's not cursing someone so do I give him some leeway too?

dredd

That's the problem supposing I say "OK no vulgarities" where does it start and where does it end. no "fuck"? what about "shit"? what about just "knn"? or "knnb"

I tried something like this many years ago it was simply impossible to implement impartially. Some people are vulgar in a humorous way whereas some are vile and nasty. So I then have to make a judgement call and choose the member I like and ban the one I dislike. But then the member I dislike posts some gems when he's not cursing someone so do I give him some leeway too?
Many forums recognise the word fuck and that's why you notice I spell mine "fark" or "mudderfarker". An old habit cultivated from posting from past forums I guess...

Exactly so what's the point. Everyone knows what f#$k means.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Exactly so what's the point. Everyone knows what f#$k means.
This reminds me of when my kids started saying fuck.

The grandparents were horrified.

I said nothing wrong with them knowing there is such a word. They will hear it in school. They will hear it in life.

The word fuck isnt going away.

What I would teach my kids is fhe word is offensive and should be used appropriately. Use it when you mean it. Not lightly.

Whats wrong with people typing fuck here?

Posting pictures of nipples being clamped and labia majora....that one I think not normal lah. Real life you dont see these things daily.

Fuck? You sit MRT will hear liao.

Posting pictures of nipples being clamped and labia majora....that one I think not normal lah. Real life you dont see these things daily.

Fuck? You sit MRT will hear liao.

The problem is periodically post some graphic porn too so I can't very well ban other members for doing the same. :smile:

pvtpublic

Furthermore, I'm sure the majority of forumers here are the sensible and self-disciplined type. Only those minorities who misbehave will get the dump. Of course, they can return with clones, but we dump them as we see them returning and see who will win in the end.
just want to point out this is very divisive type of thinking, us vs them. to implement strict rules to control the behaviour of a minority at the expense of the majority... doesn't this sound terribly familiar to you? or do I need to be more explicit?

Anarchism doesn't mean No Governance, but Self-governance.

This forum here is a perfect chance for you to exist, albeit temporarily, in a state of Self-governance.

let's stop asking others to govern us.

winners

What I would teach my kids is fhe word is offensive and should be used appropriately. Use it when you mean it. Not lightly.

Whats wrong with people typing fuck here?
Brother, you are contradicting yourself here.

yinyang

I have never controlled what the mods do. All I have done is provide guidance which involves the technical aspects and nothing much else.

For example I have advised not to delete whole threads because it results in a lot of dead links in google searches. I also advised against excessive merging of threads because the same thing happens ie dead links to threads that have been merged with another thread.

I get absolutely no pleasure from all the strife here. I wish that everyone could just get along. However I have adopted the stand that the forum is what members collectively make of it. There are very few places on the internet where you can let off steam the way you can here.
Crux is, yours is a laissez-faire attitude and forum handling

winners

just want to point out this is very divisive type of thinking, us vs them. to implement strict rules to control the behaviour of a minority at the expense of the majority... doesn't this sound terribly familiar to you? or do I need to be more explicit?

Anarchism doesn't mean No Governance, but Self-governance.

This forum here is a perfect chance for you to exist, albeit temporarily, in a state of Self-governance.

let's stop asking others to govern us.
I never say to disallow the use of vulgarities. If they are used on the subject in discussion, with nobody being offended, it's okay. But you don't go around spewing vulgarities at other forumers. Otherwise, you would still call this Self-governance?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Brother, you are contradicting yourself here.
My point is it is not the words.

It is the intent and objective.

Someone who is hell bent in attacking and insulting someone they dislike could do it without swear words. They could make threats with words that are non vulgar.

Meanwhile people swear a bit here and there in jest.

The words not so important.

Anyway @winners I have read some past exchanges with you.

I have changed since then. But you have not.

You are correct. I am contradicting myself.

I have no idea what I am talking about.

You still living in JB?

winners

I have changed since then. But you have not.
You have changed only recently, especially after some bad episodes (which I don't know what exactly) that you have experienced with your work and possibly family matters in Canada. I was indeed very surprised that you started to praise Singapore. Whether sincere or not, I don't know.

nayr69sg

Staff member
The problem is periodically post some graphic porn too so I can't very well ban other members for doing the same. :smile:
Actually you can and should.

There is a big difference between someone posting graphic porn for entertainment or sharing or discussion vs someone posting violent porn to suggest it is a forum member they dislike being tortured.

You know what I mean lah.

They are not the same. I think there should be some line drawn when there are threats of violence.

Put it this way if anyone had attacked claire with the same stuff ginfreely had faced and claire PM you that she feels those posts are graphic violence towards her (she does not retaliate like gin) would you say nah.....other members post graphic porn too so i will allow it.

I know you Sam. You will delete it.

@winners I think my answer to you on this vulgarity issue would be not to retaliate. If you feel something is just too much then let me know. I can look into it. But i woudl say the bar is set quite high.

For example if you search past exchanges between yourself and me you had accused me of being a fake doctor as well. And you did not believe that I was living in Canada. And said I was lying.

I upset you with things I posted and disagreed with you before. Thats why you got angry. And when you got angry you attacked me too.

It is quite common. And with no restraints we all will do it especially in a forum where we are supposedly anonymous.

I have changed. I no longer want to have any disagreements with anyone or make anyone upset.

I view my life to be at its end. Perhaps this is one reason I have changed.

dredd

I never say to disallow the use of vulgarities. If they are used on the subject in discussion, with nobody being offended, it's okay. But you don't go around spewing vulgarities at other forumers. Otherwise, you would still call this Self-governance?
You have been here for quite a while and can be considered an old bird. Surely you know all of this is fun and games. People fark you, fark them back lah! :biggrin: :biggrin:

nayr69sg

Staff member
You have changed only recently, especially after some bad episodes (which I don't know what exactly) that you have experienced with your work and possibly family matters in Canada. I was indeed very surprised that you started to praise Singapore. Whether sincere or not, I don't know.
Yes I have changed.

Sincere.

A big reason is because my own sisters and parents came to Canada and then decided Singapore is better and have gone back.

Also talking to my classmates in sg I realise they are much better off than I am here.

Work wise the CPSA here is even worse than SMC. Canadians are passive aggressive. And even those who are aggressive we still have fo give in to them.

To the extent a red deer dr got killed in the consult room by a patient not too long ago.

https://www.todayville.com/edmonton...th-first-degree-murder-of-dr-walter-reynolds/

I regret very much becoming a dr. I will never forgive myself for this. And I will take this to my grave.

In the end a person as stupid and cowardly as myself deserves to die

winners

You have been here for quite a while and can be considered an old bird. Surely you know all of this is fun and games. People fark you, fark them back lah! :biggrin: :biggrin:
I have never initiated any vulgarities against any forumer without first being attacked with the same because we are not and should not behave like Hooligans.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Actually @winners You have been doing that. You do fight back. And you are quite fierce too.

Status
Not open for further replies.