• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Singaporean Needs A Western Name?

pallkia

Why do Singaporean need a European/Western Names?Are Singaporean lack self confident to use their Asian names?Lack self confident to use their natives language?Lack confident to practice their borned to be religion?

Are Singaporean (unlike Japanese) simply followers of their European Masters?

cass888

Why do Singaporean need a European/Western Names?Are Singaporean lack self confident to use their Asian names?Lack self confident to use their natives language?Lack confident to practice their borned to be religion?

Western names are as much part of Singaporean history as are Asian names.

Besides, you don't want your nice Chinese name mutilated by non-Chinese speakers who have no sense of intonation.

What are suggesting?, we change Sentosa back to Pulau Blakang Mati....Resorts world, will say..."CHOY!".

Shunfa to SOON HOCK
Bishan to Pek San
Yishun to NEE SOON
Funan to Hock Lam

SINkingpore to Temasek?..sorry that name is copyright..registered trade mark...can't use..to SINgapura!.

Besides, you don't want your nice Chinese name mutilated by non-Chinese speakers who have no sense of intonation.

It's not just Sinkies. The majority of Chinamen admire the west so much that they don't just adopt western names.... they ape the west in almost every way possible.

QXD

There are a growing number of Ang Moh professionals turning to Fengshui masters and Cultural academia in China to give themselves an auspicious Chinese name.

So time to move out of your little pond called Singapore and open your eyes.

pallkia

If u r a singaporean,this is another sign of lack of self confident.There are so many European names,non- European cannot pronounce,so do the Confident European care?They simply dont care,in their minds,they will say to u Asian,JUST FOLLOW ME

i_am_belle

japanese also have western names what ... robert kiyosaki ...

commoner

we still have Bugis, muhamad sultan, geylang, aljunied, potong pasir and a mix of other angmo, malay, chinese street names,,,,

then we have many christians (some say 15% or more), so we have that many people with christian names, and also many young kids and their parents that watch too much MTV,,,,,,,,,,,,,

nothing much to do with confidence per se

yellow_people

It's not just Sinkies. The majority of Chinamen admire the west so much that they don't just adopt western names.... they ape the west in almost every way possible.

I've asked the same question before. 9 out of 10 Chinese, very likely more, have Western names. They simply do not like to be addressed by their Chinese names (E.g.: Ah Kow or Ah Seng, etc) at all. A serious case of an inferiority complex if I've ever seen one.

If you want to piss of a Chinese, just address him by his Chinese name. :biggrin:

pallkia

I've asked the same question before. 9 out of 10 Chinese, very likely more, have Western names. They simply do not like to be addressed by their Chinese names (E.g.: Ah Kow or Ah Seng, etc) at all. A serious case of an inferiority complex if I've ever seen one.

If you want to piss of a Chinese, just address him by his Chinese name. :biggrin:

This is obviously a Problem to the Chinese!

If you want to piss of a Chinese, just address him by his Chinese name

tis angmo oso got chinese name wat! ...

so he got lack of confidence, ah? ... or he follow wat masters? ...

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/6rRdaN7EVt8&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Sideswipe

That Ang Moh above, he has appeared in every TVB drama that require a Ang Moh for 10+ years.

He working in TVB or what?

That Ang Moh above, he has appeared in every TVB drama that require a Ang Moh for 10+ years.

He working in TVB or what?
fr wiki ...

河國榮(Gregory Charles Rivers,1965年-),香港澳洲人,曾為香港無綫電視合約藝員,會說流利粵語。

他亦是資深的Mac用戶,活躍於在香港舉行的有關Mac的活動。他曾是醫科生。河國榮是家中唯一的男孩,有兩個妹妹。

click this link 4 mor ...

SARS_orchard

That's what I will fully agree. We must de-westernize Asia. Kick the western cultures OUT and AWAY.

Wang Ye

Nothing wrong with having a western name considering Singapore's dual lingo. In most cases the western name is either to be hip or for convience. Do note some have even taken up westernised Japanese names (only the girls thought). These days it has more to do with being different hence no more Tom Dick and Harrys but names like Beckham etc.