• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why no dual citizenship for Singaporeans?

laksa

I think it is highly unlikely that the Singapore government checks with other countries when you apply for a passport.

The issue is more like if you want to make a false declaration on the Singapore government forms. Most people would prefer not to and live a peaceful life without any fear.

laksa

the Indian chaps case, highlights the whims and fancies of the PAP. In Oz even criminals who are PRs can get citizenship due to the human rights assholes. Me thinks this indian fella was denied as he is odd job worker,,,the sort singkieland wants to get rid off,,,however the shit is, there are heaps of odd job labourers crap and prostitutes from 3rd world shitlands that have never serve NS and are given citizenship for doing fuck all. That is what makes singkieland shit...

It would seems pretty lame if Singapore govt don't give him back the citizenship. His case was just forgetfulness, not that he obtain citizenship else where.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/The+New+Paper/Story/A1Story20090104-112246.html
WAYS YOU COULD LOSE YOUR CITIZENSHIP

1 Those who hide past criminal records when applying for citizenship.

2 Someone who is considered to be a security threat.

3 Those whose birth or citizenship status was not registered by their parents or guardians.

4 A child born to a parent or parents who are foreigners and not legally married at the time.

5 A person born in Singapore who uses travel documents under a different nationality.

6 A person whose citizenship the government cannot establish from its database, and who has no documents to prove it.

john_nyc_71

It would seems pretty lame if Singapore govt don't give him back the citizenship. His case was just forgetfulness, not that he obtain citizenship else where.

3 Those whose birth or citizenship status was not registered by their parents or guardians.

4 A child born to a parent or parents who are foreigners and not legally married at the time.

5 A person born in Singapore who uses travel documents under a different nationality.

6 A person whose citizenship the government cannot establish from its database, and who has no documents to prove it.

Is this reliable? It sounds strange - someone born in Singapore may not even be a citizen of Singapore, and conversely, there are Singapore citizens not born in Singapore ...

kingrant

See the operative word is "uses", and not "holds" or "possesses".

So that if you have a foreign passport, never use it to enter or exit Singapore. Reserve that for entering or exiting the country that issued the passport.

SgGoneWrong

What do u guys think about getting dual citizenship but not renewing sg passport? If so, one will not have to risk making a false declaration at ica, still get to retain sg citizenship and travel with a foreign passport?

For the point a person born in sg but uses travel documents under a different nationality, how could they track one if one can choose not to state one country or place of birth?

Charlie99

I believe that it will be fair and just for the SG govt. to re-instate his citizenship.

john_nyc_71

See the operative word is "uses", and not "holds" or "possesses".

So that if you have a foreign passport, never use it to enter or exit Singapore. Reserve that for entering or exiting the country that issued the passport.

Therein lies the dilemma for those on this board who have foreign passports but whose SG passports have expired: how to answer the question when renewing the SG passport.

I must have missed the point. Why have dual nationality when u can have all the benefits of working in singapore without the obligations by being a citizen elsewhere?

john_nyc_71

The question then is why do you want to keep both passports? If you love the foreign country so much, then give up the Singapore passport as long as dual citizenship not allowed. But if you love Singapore more, then don't apply for citizenship in the foreign country, just stay on as PR.

It can be complicated. For example US imposes inheritance taxes if both spouses are not citizens. There were a number of British women living in NY who lost their American husbands in the Sept 11 terrorists attacks. Not only did they have to cope with the tragedy, they has to sell the house to pay the inheritance taxes. If they had taken proper advice they would have been advised to take US citizenship.

A lot of times there are practical concerns like these; it isn't always about which country one loves.

blindswordsman

You wanna give up Singapore without a fight to invaders?

Dual citizenship is for people with no allegiance to any country. Tee gor liang, tee gor chor. Spore cannot give citizenship to such nomads. You either with us or you not with us. One people, one nation. Period. Singapore forever, not PAP forever.

tate

What do u guys think about getting dual citizenship but not renewing sg passport? If so, one will not have to risk making a false declaration at ica, still get to retain sg citizenship and travel with a foreign passport?

For the point a person born in sg but uses travel documents under a different nationality, how could they track one if one can choose not to state one country or place of birth?

You can keep your dual citizenship as long as you do not renew the SG passport and do not return to Singapore, in theory.

If you choose to return to Singapore on a foreign passport and did not renounced your Singapore citizenship, you will lose your Singapore Citizenship and you will be prosecuted. Your foreign passport has a Place of Birth field, that would flag you as a person of interest. Your name will also be flagged as you previously enter/exit as a Singaporean. You would have made a false declaration in the Visitor Embarkation Card about your country of birth and previous visits to Singapore. That false declaration would incur more charges on you.

Bie5oyh.jpg

Singapore embarkation card

tate

does the neh gets cpf back then? since he is stateless? not a bad deal

I think in the Indian case, he should be able to get his citizenship back because his case for forgetting to take an oath of renunciation and not one of the 6 listed causes for losing citizenship. Need to get his MP to help.

rushifa666

You wanna give up Singapore without a fight to invaders?

Dual citizenship is for people with no allegiance to any country. Tee gor liang, tee gor chor. Spore cannot give citizenship to such nomads. You either with us or you not with us. One people, one nation. Period. Singapore forever, not PAP forever.

you siao. you think dual citizenship is so easy? it is not for the ah beng and ah lian. do not confuse our open leg policies with that of others. some countries even insist on 10-15years working there before they will even consider giving it. i dont know what you mean by fight when its already over. if the next ge shows no result i am gone

What's the logic when so many countries allow it? Sinkies who feel trapped get more pissed off with pap. Those who retained their sg citizenship and become pr elsewhere may get so pissed off that they continue to vote against pap. Be allowing these Singaporeans to become citizens elsewhere give them more options and maybe more grateful.

because sinkies like to wait for 2016. nobody respect a ball-less coward.