• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where have all the SG males gone ?

head-in-sand

Take a trip on MRT or on the bus. watch the crowds in the malls, the fast food joints, Starbuck outlets, bus interchange, MRT stations.

You see a common sight. The females far outnumber the males. watch the lunch time crowds in Raffles place or Shenton Way. You soon notice the great imbalance in the genders.

Watch a family outing with kids. Most likey the kids are girls.
There appears to be a demographic unbalance that one cannot escape noticing. It seems Singapore has a serious lop sided birth pattern, with girl babies outnumbering males by a big factor. Only the government knows the right figures.

If you study the regional population configuration in Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia etc, the females outnumber the males by more than a factor of 2. Some one said that the figure could be as high as 5 in some areas,

Now look at the coffee shops in Singapore.
Most of the male customers are elders. Grey hair, withered faces and aging looks. The passengers on a bus or a MRT also reflect the same picture. Most of the men seen are older looking..above 45 and on.

Will we have a situation soon where there are simply not enough men to do the tough work in Shipyards, construction and other heavy industries. Where it will be a common sight to see males who are only above 50 ?

And what happens to the women work force ?. If more women are educated and adopt the new trend of single women , or who prefer the nice society life courtesy, chose rich male sponsors, rather than have to compete fiercely for men who are few in numbers and most likely to be old and graying. Or simply marry and migrate.

In 20 years, there could be a serious situation.

Ash007

Its ok, soon with stem cell technology you don't need a guy's sperm to produce a baby. Lesbians, in a stable relationship, can opt to have either one of their skin cells turn into a sperm and "impregnate" the other partner. Of course, the resulting baby would be a girl as you need the Y chromosome from the male. Maybe the MIW will legislate lesbian partnership as being legal as long as they produce babies for them. :wink:

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/01/090127090732.htm

Skin Cell Into Sperm Or Egg? Human Induced Plurtipotent Stem Cells Reprogrammed Into Germ Cell Precursors
ScienceDaily (Jan. 28, 2009) — For the first time, UCLA researchers have reprogrammed human induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells into the cells that eventually become eggs and sperm, possibly opening the door for new treatments for infertility using patient-specific cells.
See Also:
Health & Medicine
Stem Cells
Prostate Cancer
Brain Tumor
Science & Society
Bioethics
Ethics
Public Health
Reference
Embryonic stem cell
Somatic cell
Neural development
Stem cell treatments
The iPS cells were coaxed into forming germ line precursor cells which include genetic material that may be passed on to a child. The study appears January 27 in the early online edition of the peer-reviewed journal Stem Cells.
"This finding could be important for people who are rendered infertile through disease or injury. We may, one day, be able to replace the germ cells that are lost," said Amander Clark, a Broad Stem Cell Research Center scientist and senior author of the study. "And these germ cells would be specific and genetically related to that patient."
Theoretically, an infertile patient's skin cells, for example, could be taken and reprogrammed into iPS cells, which, like embryonic stem cells, have the ability to become every cell type in the human body. Those cells could then be transformed into germ line precursor cells that would eventually become eggs and sperm. Clark cautioned, however, that scientists are still many years from using these cells in patients to treat infertility. There is still much to be learned about the process of making high quality germ cells in the lab.
In another important finding, Clark's team discovered that the germ line cells generated from human iPS cells were not the same as the germ line cells derived from human embryonic stem cells. Certain vital regulatory processes were not performed correctly in the human iPS derived germ cells, said Clark, an assistant professor of molecular, cell and developmental biology.
So it's crucial, Clark contends, that work continue on the more controversial human embryonic stem cells that come from donated, excess material from in vitro fertilization that would otherwise be destroyed.
When germ cells are formed, they need to undergo a specific series of biological processes, an essential one being the regulation of imprinted genes. This is required for the germ cells to function correctly. If these processes are not performed the resulting eggs or sperm, are at high risk for not working as they should. This has significant consequences, given that the desired outcome is a healthy child.
"Further research is needed to determine if germ line cells derived from iPS cells, particularly those which have not been created by retroviral integration, have the ability to correctly regulate themselves like the cells derived from human embryonic stem cells do," Clark said. "When we looked at the germ cells derived from embryonic stem cells, we found that they regulated as expected, whereas those from the iPS cells were not regulated in the same way. We need to do much more work on this to find out why."
Clark and her team plan to examine more iPS cell lines and evaluate the resulting germ cells derived from them to determine if the incorrect regulation remains a problem.
Creating germ cells from embryonic stem cells is challenging and the resulting proportions are low – about 10 percent of embryonic stem cells go on to become germ cells. Clark said creating germ cells from iPS cells proved just as challenging. Putting the iPS cells in an environment where germ cells thrive naturally, among fetal gonadal cells, proved to be the key.
Infertility affects about 15 percent of Americans. Current treatments include donor eggs and sperm and surrogacy. If germ cells can be derived from a patients own adult cells using reprogramming followed by germ cell differentiation, this adds an important strategy into the tool box of options currently available to treat infertility, Clark said. A man with a low sperm count, for example, may be able to have more of his own sperm generated to fertilize his partner's egg.
The study took about 2 ½ years, first focusing on growing germ cells from human embryonic stem cells and then from iPS cells. It took just seven days to get germ line precursor cells from the iPS cells, once Clark and her team landed on the appropriate culture environment.

SneeringTree

If you study the regional population configuration in Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia etc, the females outnumber the males by more than a factor of 2. Some one said that the figure could be as high as 5 in some areas,

You are so completely, amazingly wrong here.

Sinkie males have gone to search for their balls. hardly to be seen anywhere.

Soul_Reaper

Take a trip on MRT or on the bus. watch the crowds in the malls, the fast food joints, Starbuck outlets, bus interchange, MRT stations.

You see a common sight. The females far outnumber the males. watch the lunch time crowds in Raffles place or Shenton Way. You soon notice the great imbalance in the genders.

Not true leh...... every week I have dinner at geylang and I see the males outnumber the females :p ...... ditto when I proceed to KTV / Nightclubs after dinner for some relaxation :biggrin:

When I go JB...... almost every SG plate car at the causeway has male occupants only :p

Queen Seok Duk

Most men in Sg men are unemployed, which is why you don't see many in Shenton Way and MRT.

I have no problem making lady friends in terms of mutually reciprocated romantic interests and activities whether local or foreign without going to Geylang. Not just me, many other Singaporean men too. The sound you hear is the sound of Singaporean men who failed in courtship and relationship whinning too loudly. The sound you can't hear is the sound of sex in hotel rooms and bedrooms with doors closed and soundproofing. If you want sex with women, learn how to get it for your own goodness' sake. Otherwise, go Geylang and pay for it. There're no such thing as "sinkie" men failing to get women or missing and gone. There're only men who get it quietly, men who don't get it and complain loudly, and men who simply pay for it.

head-in-sand

I have no problem making lady friends in terms of mutually reciprocated romantic interests and activities whether local or foreign without going to Geylang. Not just me, many other Singaporean men too. The sound you hear is the sound of Singaporean men who failed in courtship and relationship whinning too loudly. The sound you can't hear is the sound of sex in hotel rooms and bedrooms with doors closed and soundproofing. If you want sex with women, learn how to get it for your own goodness' sake. Otherwise, go Geylang and pay for it. There're no such thing as "sinkie" men failing to get women or missing and gone. There're only men who get it quietly, men who don't get it and complain loudly, and men who simply pay for it.

the thread is about the apparent mismatch in population demographics and also the large number of grey haired males.

The men are in NS, in ICT, and on open mob. That's why u dun see them. Theyhave to protect all FTs and PAP lackeys, and angmo loving SPGs, mah

Baimi

I go to bowling alley and billiards saloon,
want to peek at one girl also difficult.

If you go to the malls or take public transport during the day, there are indeed more females, because most of the males are at work. Those who are not at work are either sleeping, in the military camps, on their computers, looking for work or as you said, idling at coffee shops.

I don't agree that the females outnumber the males in the lunchtime crowd in town or in the kids with parents, but I respect your view and observation.

If the family owns a car, it's likely that the male is using it. Hence there are more females using public transport.

Why are there more ageing males at coffee shops? Because that's what ageing males like to do. Ageing females don't spend their time at coffee shops, probably because ageing males gather there. :smile:

Even if there's a growing inbalance, I'm not worried.
You can always use foreign talent, as our ministars have already done.
The local women can always marry chinamen, there are loads of them looking for wives.

head-in-sand

If you go to the malls or take public transport during the day, there are indeed more females, because most of the males are at work. Those who are not at work are either sleeping, in the military camps, on their computers, looking for work or as you said, idling at coffee shops.

I don't agree that the females outnumber the males in the lunchtime crowd in town or in the kids with parents, but I respect your view and observation.

If the family owns a car, it's likely that the male is using it. Hence there are more females using public transport.

Why are there more ageing males at coffee shops? Because that's what ageing males like to do. Ageing females don't spend their time at coffee shops, probably because ageing males gather there. :smile:

Even if there's a growing inbalance, I'm not worried.
You can always use foreign talent, as our ministars have already done.
The local women can always marry chinamen, there are loads of them looking for wives.

maybe its a good idea to check out by observation.
you will see the striking gender imbalance.
weekdays, weekends, peak hours or lean hours.