• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

what will you do if someone stare at you?

cheowyonglee

heh regarding about the recent case of one guy hacked by 3 gangster to death,
i think we need to really talk about this openly and let everyone know why we stare and what make us stare and what to do if we kana stare and any good solution to avoid been stare and also, what pre-caution must we take if we already kana stare!!!

my experience is, i did encounter kana stared by gangster before.but what i did was, i act blur.look somewhere else.then when i tried to see if they were still staring, they did not stare already.lucky me!!!

maybe next time i think we need to wear dark glasses to avoid all these stupid misunderstanding....!!!

KNNBCCB

Nice thread ! :biggrin:
Act blur loh.. don't make life so complicated.
Believe in karma... :biggrin:

cheowyonglee

Nice thread ! :biggrin:
Act blur loh.. don't make life so complicated.
Believe in karma... :biggrin:

i always act blur when someone stare at me.example recently when i was eating with my friend, got 2 ah beng stare at me.i did not want to stare back but i just feel uneasy when i feel someone looking at me.i make a quick glance and indeed they stare at me as if i am the one staring at them.

i quickly ask my friend to eat finish fast and fark off from the place.i am sure this type of stare stare stupid thing, alot of people sure kana before.i hope everyone can share your experience here and tell us how you avoid the misunderstanding.
lastly, any solution beside the one i mention, wear dark sun glasses going out???

i got one more solution, that is carry pepper spray.if really suey suey kana stare and confront by these stupid idiot so called ah beng, since maybe 1 or 2 outnumber to so many, and if we cannot find any help, the best way is to use strong pepper spray and spray at their eyes fast and sudden.then quickly make for the escape!!!

i got one videos on how to make pepper spray.it's good for self defense against these bullies!!! warning..., don't use this for evil thing.

heh regarding about the recent case of one guy hacked by 3 gangster to death,
i think we need to really talk about this openly and let everyone know why we stare and what make us stare and what to do if we kana stare and any good solution to avoid been stare and also, what pre-caution must we take if we already kana stare!!!

my experience is, i did encounter kana stared by gangster before.but what i did was, i act blur.look somewhere else.then when i tried to see if they were still staring, they did not stare already.lucky me!!!

maybe next time i think we need to wear dark glasses to avoid all these stupid misunderstanding....!!!
If you saw someone looking at you and you looked again, and he was not looking anymore, he was not staring.

Wearing dark glasses will not prevent someone from staring at you. In fact, if you wear dark glasses indoors or at night, it would probably encourage it.

DOM the Clown

Quickly give that someone a nice pose!

images

If you never stare at them how you will know they staring at you ? So the best thing is not to stare at ppl lor. You can't be carrying a pepper spray wherever you going. Also by wearing sun glasses at coffee shop will invite more troubles.

silverfox@

If ah beng say why you stare at him, you tell him, he is very handsome.
If ah lian say why you stare at her, you tell her, she is very pretty.
If lau beng say why you stare at him, you tell him he look very macho.
If lau lian say why you stare at her, you tell her, she forgot to zip up. And you should quickly run. :p

mako65

I dun really recall of any staring incident till now! Too normal a guy to be stared or just say nothing outstanding! Your face tells alot abt u...some girls hve the "cfm" looks n some guys hve the "cwm"(come whack me) looks! Heng arrrrh...

Kid278

If you saw someone looking at you and you looked again, and he was not looking anymore, he was not staring.

Wearing dark glasses will not prevent someone from staring at you. In fact, if you wear dark glasses indoors or at night, it would probably encourage it.

Concurred, there's a difference between looking and staring. Dark glasses at the wrong time, at the wrong place makes one looks cocky. Sometimes people stare out of curiosity while sometimes out of hostility. Either way it's bad, curiosity kills the cat so avoid it, if out of hostility then one must know where one stand and see what is coming.

Most funny personal staring incidence I've come across personally.

One day after off-duty from nightshift, early morning about 9 a.m. I was outside Bras Basah McD waiting for a colleague for a breakfast appointment. 3 young punks were talking loud and spewing vulgarities nearby. I inadvertently look a second glance, but heck, I was off duty, not my problem. Not a real big public problem anyway.

Unexpectedly, they approached me and asked, siao eh, kgua simi lanjiao? Early morning 9 a.m. and they haven't got over their hangover from last night? I didn't identify myself as police since I didn't want trouble off duty. So I just said, you're mistaken, I'm just waiting for a friend and looking whether he arrived.

Wah, they were still not happy and pushed me, warned me next time don't anyhow stare. I got hot also, flashed my warrant card and asked them to hand over their ICs. They were stunned. More stunned when my friend timelily appeared behind, flashing his warrant card also. No-pay OT. We arrested them for criminal intimidation and called for a police van. Those days there was no mobile phone and even we police officers off duty without walkie talkies had to use a public phone. Better still for the IO, all three were screened wanted for various cases from AWOL to housebreaking.

silverfox@

I dun really recall of any staring incident till now! Too normal a guy to be stared or just say nothing outstanding! Your face tells alot abt u...some girls hve the "cfm" looks n some guys hve the "cwm"(come whack me) looks! Heng arrrrh...

When I was 13 yrs old, was near my friend's house with him and were on the way back to his house. 1 group of ah bengs surrounded us, at least 12 of them, aged at least 15,16yo asked why both of us stare at them, we say don't have. The leader said don't apologise, we are going to get beaten. My friend told me to say sorry and told me quietly we are outnumbered. I eat my pride and say sorry. Went back to my friend's house, my friend told his father and his father took his warrant card and went down to void deck. Then he told me his father is police.

When his father came back, he said he saw that group and took down all their details and school they in, warned them of gang activities and reported them to their school on the next day. No wonder my friend tell me say sorry sure no wrong one. :o

Most funny personal staring incidence I've come across personally.

One day after off-duty from nightshift, early morning about 9 a.m. I was outside Bras Basah McD waiting for a colleague for a breakfast appointment. 3 young punks were talking loud and spewing vulgarities nearby. I inadvertently look a second glance, but heck, I was off duty, not my problem. Not a real big public problem anyway.

Unexpectedly, they approached me and asked, siao eh, kgua simi lanjiao? Early morning 9 a.m. and they haven't got over their hangover from last night? I didn't identify myself as police since I didn't want trouble off duty. So I just said, you're mistaken, I'm just waiting for a friend and looking whether he arrived.

Wah, they were still not happy and pushed me, warned me next time don't anyhow stare. I got hot also, flashed my warrant card and asked them to hand over their ICs. They were stunned. More stunned when my friend timelily appeared behind, flashing his warrant card also. No-pay OT. We arrested them for criminal intimidation and called for a police van. Those days there was no mobile phone and even we police officers off duty without walkie talkies had to use a public phone. Better still for the IO, all three were screened wanted for various cases from AWOL to housebreaking.

Ramseth: Sounds more like verbal threat and not criminal intimidation. But if you are making an arrest, I understand why. End of the day, was it still Section 506? Or the old 13f? Given the other cases, it could well be TIC.

after reading this thread, it made me realised staring incidents happen so frequentlyin sg. Our school education systems should teach kids how to handle staring incident properly as it can cause death no joke.

Before this incident, you can walk away or stare back. After this incident, when confronted by a similar scenario, call 999 and tell them you need to be escorted home. If the other group has many people, tell the police to activate our Special Ops Command and if need be, our STAR team.

What if they stared and than
ROLLED THEIR EYES at you?

I have seen too many such people, usually girls like to act "high mortal" and foreigners thought we owe them something here.

Usually, people with substance don't really care about all these gritty nitty things. They have more important things in their hands or minds to even think about staring or gossiping. Only people who acted 'CLASS" do such stupid things and worse, resort to killings. Brainless morons!!

Ramseth: Sounds more like verbal threat and not criminal intimidation. But if you are making an arrest, I understand why. End of the day, was it still Section 506? Or the old 13f? Given the other cases, it could well be TIC.

Holding charge 503 Penal Code lah. Anyway, not material after screening, as they're wanted for higher charges. Verbal threat can be and is criminal intimidation. I told James Gomez he didn't believe me until he was held up at the airport.

Before this incident, you can walk away or stare back. After this incident, when confronted by a similar scenario, call 999 and tell them you need to be escorted home. If the other group has many people, tell the police to activate our Special Ops Command and if need be, our STAR team.

By then it will be too late to activate our SOC. Better call 990 for ambulance instead :p

Agree. Maybe too late when SOC arrives. Perhaps the safest route out to safety is to go over, introduce yourself and tell your starer he is your idol and you want to be his "gee na". That would sure make his day! Just joking, bro.