• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat What sort of city would you like Singapore to be?

Vibrant film industry here like in HK and China. Mediacorp actresses act in all sorts of movies, from oscar to porn.

ghost town,
no traces of prc,shitskins or pinoys anywhere,
everywhere i go i want to see wide open spaces,be it the shopping mall,the park,on the bus or mrt.
i want to sit on the bus and be the only person on the bus,
sit in the theatre and be the only person in the movie theatre.

Just be like Norway or Sweden can already.

not too good when it's too cold to sleep outdoors.

image.jpg

not too good when it's too cold to sleep outdoors.

View attachment 28196

u havent seen those comforters/quilts the homeless in australia have,them looks deliciously warm and thick.just give them a digeridoo and they can be part time street musicians.i would love to sleep homeless rent free on the streets and be a bum,just get a folding bed from ikea for $100 and a laptop we are good to go.

lifeafter41

u havent seen those comforters/quilts the homeless in australia have,them looks deliciously warm and thick.just give them a digeridoo and they can be part time street musicians.i would love to sleep homeless rent free on the streets and be a bum,just get a folding bed from ikea for $100 and a laptop we are good to go.

Being a bum for a day or 2 and always knowing you have the comfortable bed waiting and a roof over your head is totally different from being a bum everyday, not knowing where to sleep, whether will kena rob or run over by vehicles, while sleeping on the street. And not knowing where your 3 meals is going to come from.

Not that many have to sleep outside. And it is out of choice. Welfare in those two countries are good enough for decent survival. All safety nets will still have people slipping through it.

you are now awarded the medal for being the biggest sinkie apologist of the scandinavian welfare system. congrats!

Wunderfool

A city with garden and lake. A city that is safe. A city where the air is clean. A city with a rich culture and history. A city where people live happily. A city that is stress-free.

What would the main economic activity be because in order to achieve your vision it would require that every inhabitant be comfortably well off performing an essential economic activity which adds considerable value to the world economy.

Yamato

It's more about people for me. Where people are more caring and civic mindedness. Where people are not over materialistic. Where people care more for the environment like cycling more or taking public transport more instead of persuing to own a car. Where parents can spend more time with their kids and also kids not pressured with academic pursue only. Of course all these we will required good and efficient infrastructures and sound pro-people, pro-family and pro-social policies which Singapore is still very lacking.

yellowarse

Population of about 2.5 mil ('70s). Universal literacy, healthcare and pension. Affordable housing and cost of living due to sound land pricing. People working shorter hours, < 35 hrs a week. More time for each individual to explore and fulfil his creative side, be it landscaping a garden, writing a novel, designing a boat or making music. One common language, English, hence no more job discrimination based on language.

Again the question has to be answered regarding what the mainstay of the economy would be in order to sustain this sort of lifestyle.

Any suggestions?

I ask because I can't think of any that are within the capabilities of true blue sinkies.

yellowarse

Again the question has to be answered regarding what the mainstay of the economy would be in order to sustain this sort of lifestyle.

Any suggestions?

A general answer would be to tap the entrepreneurial spirit of Singaporeans. For too long our economy has hinged on two things: MNCs/GLCs, and rentier activity like property and financial speculation. SMEs contribute only 30% of the GDP, unlike HK, Taiwan and Korea where SMEs account for more than 70% of the economy and 90% of jobs.

Lower the cost of doing business. One place to start would be to revamp land pricing. Another would be to remove onerous indirect taxes.

Reform the education system to produce thinking creative adults who will segue into the knowledge economy and drive innovation and design rather just be producers and manufacturers.

Early Singapore was built on the backs of enterprising Singaporeans, especially the Chinese and Indians. The qualities are still there, we just need the right environment to bring them out.

Thick Face Black Heart

Forget PAP, WP etc. Forget politics. This is an apolitical discussion. Just describe what sort of city you would like Singapore to become regardless of who runs the country.

My ideal Singapore would be one where the population is 1.5 million, the whole Island is enclosed in an air conditioned bubble set at 21 DegC and the scourge of Singlish has been wiped out.

My ideal Singapore is one where anyone can set up a sex shop or escort agency anywhere and not get prosecuted. Returning political power to the people would also be a bonus. A more level political playing field and better laws that protect the people rather than the incumbent government would also be a bonus.

More realistically however, these are my immediate (non-political) wishes:

(a) Freedom to innovate and less stigma attached to failure
(b) More support for small businesses and sole proprietors

Any suggestions?

I ask because I can't think of any that are within the capabilities of true blue sinkies.

if the government stop stealing the returns of sinkies' CPF,we would have been living in paradise long ago.and we wouldnt need all of these fucking fts except the bare minimum just to construct the housing and facilities we need,and nothing like the over construction that is going on in sg now.

it is estimated that since 1981,nearly 180 billion of citizen's cpf returns has been siphoned off by the PAP.god knows how many billions have been siphoned off to feed the profits of the glcs,the salaries of the jiak liao bee ministers,mps,generals and the gigantic administrative and bureaucratic structure they have in the government and civil service and military,and the construction of white elephants and billions of investment losses or non performance.this is treachery and grand larceny of a national scale,PAP should be rounded up and shot like one of the public executions in north korea.

Thick Face Black Heart

That's just a compilation of good ideals. In practice how are you going to achieve all that at once, in the face of conflicting needs such as the need for defence expenditure, the need for workers here to be more productive (you want people to work shorter hours each week) so as to stay ahead of the global competition, and how to address our falling birth rate?

Any suggestions?

running hfj's and getting sizable cuts from mei mei's forte of bouquet sales at these joints seem to be a thriving enterprise in sg. this will definitely sustain a lavish lifestyle in sg. champagne sales and floral arrangements should also be hot on the list of sinkie capabilities.

image.jpg