• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What HDB didn’t tell you about Punggol (and Pasir Gudang)

chittychitty

With Singaporeans oversubscribing the Punggol HDB projects in the Aug 2018 BTO sales launch, it would seem that the two main concerns about living in the North-eastern tip of Singapore — namely the bad traffic conditions to the CBD and the air pollution from Pasir Gudang petrochemical complex across the Straits of Johor — have been put aside. In this article, we take an in-depth look at Pasir Gudang, to find out what we haven’t been told about the petrochemical hub.

For those who don’t know yet, Pasir Gudang is an industrial district in Johor, Malaysia with a large concentration of petrochemical industries such as refineries (similar to Singapore’s Jurong Island). The zone dedicated to heavy industries is about 20 square kilometres (sq km) in current size, larger than the areas of Punggol and Sengkang combined (16.5 sq km).

Using Google Maps, we ascertained the distance between the Punggol Point Cove and Punggol Point Woods BTO projects to be about 2.5 to 3km from Pasir Gudang factories closest to the Malaysian shore. Previous BTO projects such as Northshore Cove (Feb 2017 launch) are situated even nearer to Pasir Gudang’s petrochemical plants. Johor Port, where hazardous petrochemical products are shipped to and from Pasir Gudang, is located directly opposite Punggol Point Jetty (the tip of Punggol) and just over 1km away.

YsD9Ftu.png

Something in the air

Because of the concentration of petrochemical activities in Pasir Gudang, Singaporeans living in the north-east have at various times reported “chemical smells”. What they are smelling is actually a mixture of sulfur dioxide and volatile organic compounds (VOCs). The odour can be acrid and gas-like, and residents — some from as far as Ang Mo Kio due to north-easterly prevailing winds — have reported experiencing headaches, eye irritation, itchy throat and other respiratory conditions that correspond to symptoms experienced during and after exposure to airborne chemicals. Exposure to airborne VOCs has also been known to trigger asthma attacks in sufferers.

And no, these reactions aren’t psychological. A 2015 Detailed Environmental Impact Assessment by Lotte Chemical Titan, which operates one of the largest petrochemical facilities in Pasir Gudang, found that the measured values of some VOCs within the plant’s premises exceeded “odour threshold values”, owing to the large number of similar oleochemical plants in the area. During the inter-monsoon months and the Northeast Monsoon (October through to May every year), prevailing winds from the north means that Punggol residents are directly subject to the odour of the higher-than-threshold VOCs from Pasir Gudang, the health impact of which we’ll further examine later.

XeqMyq5.png

Petrochemical plants also frequently perform “flaring”, the controlled burning of waste gases generated during the petrochemical production process. For Punggol residents, blazing flames from chimneys lighting up the night sky and faint roars from the chimney stacks are common sights and sounds. The by-products of flaring — large amounts of carbon dioxide — do not necessarily pose an immediate health hazard, although residents are probably witnessing global warming in motion.

What the Singapore government says

Airborne VOCs in high enough concentrations can be toxic to humans who inhale them. Although Singaporeans affected by the stench have repeatedly expressed their worry that the gases might be harmful to health, the Singapore National Environment Agency (NEA) has so far dismissed any reason for alarm. For the chemical smell reported in September 2017, the NEA assured the public that its air monitoring stations “detected only low and safe levels of volatile organic compounds (VOCs)” that are “well within international safety guidelines”. No figures were given, nor were the safety guidelines elaborated upon.

More at

KuanTi01

With Singaporeans oversubscribing the Punggol HDB projects in the Aug 2018 BTO sales launch, it would seem that the two main concerns about living in the North-eastern tip of Singapore — namely the bad traffic conditions to the CBD and the air pollution from Pasir Gudang petrochemical complex across the Straits of Johor — have been put aside. In this article, we take an in-depth look at Pasir Gudang, to find out what we haven’t been told about the petrochemical hub.

For those who don’t know yet, Pasir Gudang is an industrial district in Johor, Malaysia with a large concentration of petrochemical industries such as refineries (similar to Singapore’s Jurong Island). The zone dedicated to heavy industries is about 20 square kilometres (sq km) in current size, larger than the areas of Punggol and Sengkang combined (16.5 sq km).

Using Google Maps, we ascertained the distance between the Punggol Point Cove and Punggol Point Woods BTO projects to be about 2.5 to 3km from Pasir Gudang factories closest to the Malaysian shore. Previous BTO projects such as Northshore Cove (Feb 2017 launch) are situated even nearer to Pasir Gudang’s petrochemical plants. Johor Port, where hazardous petrochemical products are shipped to and from Pasir Gudang, is located directly opposite Punggol Point Jetty (the tip of Punggol) and just over 1km away.

YsD9Ftu.png

Something in the air

Because of the concentration of petrochemical activities in Pasir Gudang, Singaporeans living in the north-east have at various times reported “chemical smells”. What they are smelling is actually a mixture of sulfur dioxide and volatile organic compounds (VOCs). The odour can be acrid and gas-like, and residents — some from as far as Ang Mo Kio due to north-easterly prevailing winds — have reported experiencing headaches, eye irritation, itchy throat and other respiratory conditions that correspond to symptoms experienced during and after exposure to airborne chemicals. Exposure to airborne VOCs has also been known to trigger asthma attacks in sufferers.

And no, these reactions aren’t psychological. A 2015 Detailed Environmental Impact Assessment by Lotte Chemical Titan, which operates one of the largest petrochemical facilities in Pasir Gudang, found that the measured values of some VOCs within the plant’s premises exceeded “odour threshold values”, owing to the large number of similar oleochemical plants in the area. During the inter-monsoon months and the Northeast Monsoon (October through to May every year), prevailing winds from the north means that Punggol residents are directly subject to the odour of the higher-than-threshold VOCs from Pasir Gudang, the health impact of which we’ll further examine later.

XeqMyq5.png

Petrochemical plants also frequently perform “flaring”, the controlled burning of waste gases generated during the petrochemical production process. For Punggol residents, blazing flames from chimneys lighting up the night sky and faint roars from the chimney stacks are common sights and sounds. The by-products of flaring — large amounts of carbon dioxide — do not necessarily pose an immediate health hazard, although residents are probably witnessing global warming in motion.

What the Singapore government says

Airborne VOCs in high enough concentrations can be toxic to humans who inhale them. Although Singaporeans affected by the stench have repeatedly expressed their worry that the gases might be harmful to health, the Singapore National Environment Agency (NEA) has so far dismissed any reason for alarm. For the chemical smell reported in September 2017, the NEA assured the public that its air monitoring stations “detected only low and safe levels of volatile organic compounds (VOCs)” that are “well within international safety guidelines”. No figures were given, nor were the safety guidelines elaborated upon.

More at
Wow! Excellent expose with solid scientific evidence! HDB like PAP tells you only the good bits. Irresponsible and callous about other people's health!

What ever happened to plants being the first line of chemical defense? Sensitive detection devices to monitor when we're more well off?

JustLikeThis

Actually a big problem in downtown punggol and punggol central is the noisy air force jets that takes off from Paya Lebar airbase.
Gotta put up with that for another ten years plus before the airbase moves.

congo9

I think Punggol and Sengkang is a bad place to stay. Traffic is bad, roads in and out are so limited. The high density of the place make is less then perfect place to stay. Every building is build close to one another.

So, I don't care, since I am a smoker.

https://www.prolificcrap.com/forum/...idn-t-tell-you-about-punggol-and-pasir-gudang
But bear in mind that none of these findings would matter if…
  • You are a smoker
  • You work at a petrol station
  • You work in any profession that is frequently exposed to VOCs (e.g. a renovation contractor)
Because your benzene and VOCs exposure would’ve eclipsed anything Pasir Gudang can throw at you.

Then good luck to my idiotic clown ex colleague who boasted that he can buy a nice big flat in Punggol compared to a small flat in mature estate. Lol

congo9

If we can build the bridge between Pasir Gudang all the way to Punggol.
This would be wonderful.

More people from Malaysia will be able to travel down to use our World Class airport.

Kopi0Kosong

"WE" look after your health costs & needs. " WE" give PIONEER subsidies, now MEDERKA subsidies..."WE" are so good, "WE" look after you. YOU VOTE FOR US, "WE" WIL, WE WILL ..."SHAFT" YOU!. PLEASE VOTE FOR PAP!, they are the best!!

Well deLEEvered. Vote for the PAP and walk with the deviLEEsh sAINT or the saintLEE dEVIL...to where else but...PAP's HELP to HELL.

cocobobo

sinkees where got care about all that.

as long as tomorrow got food, got job, got cpf, got broadband, they don't care

The RSAF should launch an airstrike into the jiuhu oil refinery. That would put an end to our air pollution problems in punggol.

Can you make it happen please? With your powerful contacts and grassroot connections, I am sure it would not be much of a problem. And make it look like the Americans did it.

Kopi0Kosong

Most sinkees are stupid. They are willing to pay so much more to live in an area that has air pollution issue.

"...but that clever LEE uncle come out TV say the place very good. He show got this and got that so I trust him. He can fly here fly there. He also speak Malay so he good good no trick people one. So I pay lor. What air pop pop tion? LEE uncle show got river, plenty water, got green green trees and colourful flowers, got clean clean air. Listen to uncle LEE no wrong one. Buy house make money. My RC people teach me. Buy then children and grandchildren no worry. I die happy happy."

Singapore is a greying country. There are many elderly Singaporeans who need guidance and support. They need a compassionate and caring Government. Please...