• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Videos of Alleged beating of PRC SMRT drivers by SPF

aurvandil

Initially I was skeptical of the allegations. It was SPF's reaction that caught my attention. These guys have made videos and posted it on the Internet. And SPF responds by politely asking them to file a complaint?

Reviewing the videos, it would appear that SPF was trying to establish that they knew each other and organized the strike together. This is key since the the position has been taken that the 4 are being charged because they are ringleaders. The PRC are maintaining that they did not know each other prior to the strike and they just joined in like the other drivers who have been since been released. SPF better have some rock solid evidence to back up the charges. AGC's greatest nightmare will be to prosecute the case with shoddy investigative work that do not comply with statutory requirements (e.g. "forgot to update station dairy).

The primary purpose of such interrogation is to determine who the ringleaders are or if there are foreign influence at work. The accused's culpability is not the primary concern. There is also the issue that unlike locals who you can detain until the authorities are satisfied, time is of the essence. Interrogation has to be extra persuasive to get results. But they have to be careful not to leave marks as embassy officials must have access.

Any information "coughed up" will be compiled and intelligence dossiers built to follow up.

Unfortunately these drivers are wondering why they were treated in such a manner for a simple act of not turning up for work. Their anger will continue and allegations fly, with salt and pepper added. No different to Teo Soh Lung's complaints

The western democracies do the same when national interests are concerned. The only difference is their area of national interest is not as wide as Singapore.

moolightaffairs

Busy with work in casino. Not hangflowers lah.

Yes, CCTVs are all over but not at strategic places. My office had no CCTV. Can assault in my office. Interrogation rooms also not equipped with CCTVs.

Once assaulted an accused for a High Court trial. Knna, even the judge did not believe a person in my position would assault an accused. I am a very decent looking chap machiam professor!

yah! funnily corridors and lock up got cctv. but offices and interrogation rooms no cctv. those were the good days when accused brought in will kena whack at charge office, lock up and last at IO office. 3 times. when they walk out, they will not want to come back and kpkb about police man abusing power. but this deter them from breaking the law.

aurvandil

This has now made it to Yahoo news which have included the video interviews where the allegations were made.
---
Charged bus drivers allege “slapping, punching” by police

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/charged-bus-drivers-allege-“slapping--punching”-by-police-033810625.html

Civil society groups and individuals have come forward to urge the Ministry of Home Affairs to conduct an inquiry into allegations by two former SMRT bus drivers that police officers abused them.

Charged for their involvement in a strike late last November over unequal pay, two of the four, He Jun Ling and Liu Xiangying, said that they were physically abused and threatened by their interrogators when in police custody in the days after the strike, which was later deemed by the government to be illegal.

A collective statement from the groups and individuals said the allegations "cast serious doubt on the credibility and veracity of the ex-drivers' statements to the police and the entire investigation process".

"As matters pertaining to the Singapore Police Force fall under the jurisdiction of the (MHA), we urge them to take the workers' allegations seriously and conduct a full and independent inquiry," it said.

The statement also noted that the four drivers had previously filed a police report over harassment from unidentified persons that occurred in the wake of their release from custody.

"In the spirit of fairness and transparency, we hope the police will respond to this letter, and a dialogue can be started on the treatment of migrant workers as well as the processes involved in police investigations," it said.

Speaking in taped interviews to documentary filmmaker Lynn Lee on 9 January, 32-year-old He, who faces two charges for engaging in a conspiracy to incite an illegal strike, said he was punched in the stomach by a police officer during his interrogation.

“They locked me in a small room,” he says in Mandarin in the video clip, which Lee uploaded to video platform Vimeo on Monday evening. “At the time, a police officer handcuffed me, and after that he punched me in the stomach.”

In a separate interview, 33-year-old Liu Xiangying was recorded saying that a police officer had threatened to bury him alive, where “no one will be able to find (him)”. According to He and Liu himself, the latter was slapped many times by his interrogators.

“He (the interrogation officer) said, ‘Do you know I can dig a hole and bury you? No one will be able to find you.’ Those were the police’s actual words,” he said. In another instance, Liu said the officer told him “I have ways to make you confess”.

“I said, what do you want me to confess? All I’m saying is what I did on the 26th (the day the strike occurred) and who I talked to, because he was asking me about the 26th and I told them who was present then. He didn’t believe me,” he added.

Liu also said he was asked if he knew He, and when he said he did not, he was slapped repeatedly on the left side, behind his neck and shoulder blades.

“I said I don’t know him (He). Because I didn’t know He Jun Ling he beat me. He said ‘You know him!’; I said, ‘I don’t’, and then he hit me,” he said. “He hit me hard. If he wasn’t using a lot of force, He Jun Ling wouldn’t have heard it.”

Lee, who spoke to all four of the drivers as part of research she was doing for a documentary, said in a blog post on her website that she felt compelled to share the clips from the interviews she did with He and Liu, as they are “serious allegations that need to be addressed urgently”.

Speaking to Yahoo! Singapore on Tuesday morning, she said she had written to the Singapore Prison Service, seeking a response to the drivers’ allegations, but had yet to hear back from them.

“I think everyone will agree that it is unacceptable for the police to hit anyone,” she said, adding that she had reason to believe that they were not lying because they were interviewed separately, at different times, and were not present at each other’s interviews.

“I hope the relevant authorities will respond,” she said. “It will be good to hear from them.”

When contacted for comment, a police spokesperson acknowledged the seriousness of the accusations He and Liu had made.

“They should file a police report so that we can investigate into them. Their lawyers can also raise this matter in court when the case against them is heard,” she said.

Lawyers acting for He have not yet said whether they plan to contest the voluntariness of the drivers' statements given in court, should they go to trial.

The four are next expected in court for a pre-trial conference on Friday afternoon.

Watch the interviews here:

Capano2121

Just some PRC dog barking!
Francis Seow, a person of power back then also kena shiok shiok!
What is the point of showing a completely unharmed PRC dog?
SPF just empty threats!

wendychan

This has now made it to Yahoo news which have included the video interviews where the allegations were made.
---
Charged bus drivers allege “slapping, punching” by police

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/charged-bus-drivers-allege-“slapping--punching”-by-police-033810625.html

Civil society groups and individuals have come forward to urge the Ministry of Home Affairs to conduct an inquiry into allegations by two former SMRT bus drivers that police officers abused them.

Charged for their involvement in a strike late last November over unequal pay, two of the four, He Jun Ling and Liu Xiangying, said that they were physically abused and threatened by their interrogators when in police custody in the days after the strike, which was later deemed by the government to be illegal.

A collective statement from the groups and individuals said the allegations "cast serious doubt on the credibility and veracity of the ex-drivers' statements to the police and the entire investigation process".

"As matters pertaining to the Singapore Police Force fall under the jurisdiction of the (MHA), we urge them to take the workers' allegations seriously and conduct a full and independent inquiry," it said.

The statement also noted that the four drivers had previously filed a police report over harassment from unidentified persons that occurred in the wake of their release from custody.

"In the spirit of fairness and transparency, we hope the police will respond to this letter, and a dialogue can be started on the treatment of migrant workers as well as the processes involved in police investigations," it said.

Speaking in taped interviews to documentary filmmaker Lynn Lee on 9 January, 32-year-old He, who faces two charges for engaging in a conspiracy to incite an illegal strike, said he was punched in the stomach by a police officer during his interrogation.

“They locked me in a small room,” he says in Mandarin in the video clip, which Lee uploaded to video platform Vimeo on Monday evening. “At the time, a police officer handcuffed me, and after that he punched me in the stomach.”

In a separate interview, 33-year-old Liu Xiangying was recorded saying that a police officer had threatened to bury him alive, where “no one will be able to find (him)”. According to He and Liu himself, the latter was slapped many times by his interrogators.

“He (the interrogation officer) said, ‘Do you know I can dig a hole and bury you? No one will be able to find you.’ Those were the police’s actual words,” he said. In another instance, Liu said the officer told him “I have ways to make you confess”.

“I said, what do you want me to confess? All I’m saying is what I did on the 26th (the day the strike occurred) and who I talked to, because he was asking me about the 26th and I told them who was present then. He didn’t believe me,” he added.

Liu also said he was asked if he knew He, and when he said he did not, he was slapped repeatedly on the left side, behind his neck and shoulder blades.

“I said I don’t know him (He). Because I didn’t know He Jun Ling he beat me. He said ‘You know him!’; I said, ‘I don’t’, and then he hit me,” he said. “He hit me hard. If he wasn’t using a lot of force, He Jun Ling wouldn’t have heard it.”

Lee, who spoke to all four of the drivers as part of research she was doing for a documentary, said in a blog post on her website that she felt compelled to share the clips from the interviews she did with He and Liu, as they are “serious allegations that need to be addressed urgently”.

Speaking to Yahoo! Singapore on Tuesday morning, she said she had written to the Singapore Prison Service, seeking a response to the drivers’ allegations, but had yet to hear back from them.

“I think everyone will agree that it is unacceptable for the police to hit anyone,” she said, adding that she had reason to believe that they were not lying because they were interviewed separately, at different times, and were not present at each other’s interviews.

“I hope the relevant authorities will respond,” she said. “It will be good to hear from them.”

When contacted for comment, a police spokesperson acknowledged the seriousness of the accusations He and Liu had made.

“They should file a police report so that we can investigate into them. Their lawyers can also raise this matter in court when the case against them is heard,” she said.

Lawyers acting for He have not yet said whether they plan to contest the voluntariness of the drivers' statements given in court, should they go to trial.

The four are next expected in court for a pre-trial conference on Friday afternoon.

Watch the interviews here:
Doubt it will make any difference even if the world' s press carries it. They will just be told this is an internal matter and not for foreigners to meddle.... As usual

moolightaffairs

Just some PRC dog barking!
Francis Seow, a person of power back then also kena shiok shiok!
What is the point of showing a completely unharmed PRC dog?
SPF just empty threats!

PRC shouldn't be so demanding on our SPF. they should try their own police 公安 and see how they will kena from them!

†††††

KNN, these fxxking ah tiong are unappreciative, if its the PRC policemen, he would have disappear from the public view for months.

later the PRC police will issue a statement saying he had committed suicide during lockup.

aurvandil

This would be true if they are Singaporeans. Unfortunately they are from PRC.

Doubt it will make any difference even if the world' s press carries it. They will just be told this is an internal matter and not for foreigners to meddle.... As usual

aurvandil

From the video interviews, it appeared that SPF was trying to gather evidence the 4 PRC had instigated the strike. The 4 PRC refused to provide such evidence and alleged that SPF beat them to try and get the evidence.

Now it emerged that AGC had offered them a deal. If they PG, they would amend the charge to taking part in the strike as opposed to leading it.

The 4 PRC have refused and are claiming trail.

AGC's offer is interesting. If the evidence against the 4 PRC had been rock solid, there would have been no need to offer them a deal to PG. The fact that such a deal was tabled suggests that the evidence is perhaps not so good. We are therefore likely to be in for a treat when this case goes to trail.

----

Former SMRT bus drivers refuse to plead guilty

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Crime/Story/A1Story20130202-399590.html

SINGAPORE - The four alleged ringleaders of last November's illegal bus strike look set to go to trial after they rebuffed the prosecution's earlier offer to amend their charges and refused to plead guilty on Friday.

Their lawyers will meet prosecutors in chambers next Friday to set trial dates.

If they had accepted the offer, the four men, Gao Yue Qiang, 32, Liu Xiangying, 33, Wang Xianjie, 39, and He Jun Ling, 32, would have been accused of taking part in the Nov 26 illegal strike, rather than instigating it.

But both the offences still carry the same maximum penalty of a year in jail and a $2,000 fine.

The four men are among 171 drivers from China who took part in the strike on Nov 26 and the 88 who stayed away again the following day. All four were at the pre-trial conference at the Subordinate Court yesterday, along with Chinese Embassy officials.

He's lawyer Choo Zheng Xi told reporters after the meeting that he needed more time to consult his client and had requested that the Feb 8 pre-trial conference be pushed back but this was turned down by the judge.

He disclosed that he was in the midst of translating some 200 pages of messages in Chinese that were posted by about 100 SMRT bus drivers, including He, on Chinese social networking portal QQ to get more information to prepare his defence.

"It is just not possible to complete the process by Feb 8," he said.

When asked about He's allegation of being punched when he was in police custody, Mr Choo said he might refer to them in court if the trial goes ahead.

Liu's lawyer Mark Goh said yesterday his client is likely to still plead not guilty and claim trial.

Separately, Gao discharged his lawyer Tan Wen Hsien and is said to be looking for another lawyer to represent him.

From CNA:

SINGAPORE: Police said two defendants who had been charged for their roles in an SMRT bus strike in November 2012 have made serious allegations in a video online that they been assaulted while in police custody.

Police said in a statement on Tuesday night that they are aware of the video interviews.

They urged the two men, 32-year-old He Jun Ling and 33-year-old Liu Xiang Ying, to make a police report so that they can investigate the case.

Police said the defendants' lawyers can also raise this matter in court when the case against them is heard.

Police added that as the case is currently before the court, it is not appropriate for them to comment on it.

- CNA/ck/fa

Thanks bro. SPF made the right statement. Since case is before the court, any alegation of threat, inducement or promise can be challenged in a trial within a trial. Complainants also more than welcome to lodge complaint with the appropriate department in MHA.

Kinana

Thanks bro. SPF made the right statement. Since case is before the court, any alegation of threat, inducement or promise can be challenged in a trial within a trial. Complainants also more than welcome to lodge complaint with the appropriate department in MHA.

And what else can they say?

From the video interviews, it appeared that SPF was trying to gather evidence the 4 PRC had instigated the strike. The 4 PRC refused to provide such evidence and alleged that SPF beat them to try and get the evidence.

Now it emerged that AGC had offered them a deal. If they PG, they would amend the charge to taking part in the strike as opposed to leading it.

The 4 PRC have refused and are claiming trail.

AGC's offer is interesting. If the evidence against the 4 PRC had been rock solid, there would have been no need to offer them a deal to PG. The fact that such a deal was tabled suggests that the evidence is perhaps not so good. We are therefore likely to be in for a treat when this case goes to trail.

Quite common for AGC to offer deal. They do it all the time and to S'poreans too. For instance, if you are charged for sec 148 but accused not seriously hurt, AGC will likely offer sec 147 if you PG. The Sub Court has too many cases to handle. AGC more incline to lower charge or number of charges if one is going to PG. In this case, there are political considerations and therefore even more likely for AGC to nudge the accused to PG.

One thing I know is this. AGC will not acquiesced if they are challenged. Face factor.

Imo, all the accused will be found guilty even if they hire SCs.

aurvandil

Fully agree they will be found guilty if AGC go for the lesser charge of patricipation. Not quite so sure if AGC proceed with the more serious charge of instigation.

Prob with lesser charge is they released everyone else who took part and publicly stated they are charging the 4 for instigation. It is feasible to proceed with lesser charge on the basis of plea bargaining but it is going to raise issues of double standards.

It will boil down to evidence. I don't believe that the evidence is strong for instigation. Understand your point about the need to manage resources. However for sensitive cases like this, sky is the limit. Politically, the correct way to play is to show the rock solid evidence so that it is easy for the PRC side to sell the story domestically that these 4 are clearly in the wrong.

Given the above, I am quietly hopeful that the investigative work was shoddy and the evidence is weak. Looking forward to a good show.

Quite common for AGC to offer deal. They do it all the time and to S'poreans too. For instance, if you are charged for sec 148 but accused not seriously hurt, AGC will likely offer sec 147 if you PG. The Sub Court has too many cases to handle. AGC more incline to lower charge or number of charges if one is going to PG. In this case, there are political considerations and therefore even more likely for AGC to nudge the accused to PG.

One thing I know is this. AGC will not acquiesced if they are challenged. Face factor.

Imo, all the accused will be found guilty even if they hire SCs.