• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tough decisions

zack123

A group of children were playing near two railway tracks, one still in use
while the other disused. Only one child played on the disused track, the
rest on the operational track.

The train is coming, and you are just beside the track interchange. You
can make the train change its course to the disused track and save most of
the kids. However, that would also mean the lone child playing by the
disused track would be sacrificed. Or would you rather let the train go
its way?

Most people might choose to divert the course of the train, and sacrifice
only one child. You might think the same way, I guess. Exactly, I thought
the same way initially because to save most of the children at the expense
of only one child was rational decision most people would make, morally
and emotionally. But, have you ever thought that the child choosing to
play on the disused track had in fact made the right decision to play at a
safe place?

Nevertheless, he had to be sacrificed because of his ignorant friends who
chose to play where the danger was. This kind of dilemma happens around us
everyday. In the office, community, in politics and especially in a
democratic society, the minority is often sacrificed for the interest of
the majority, no matter how foolish or ignorant the majority are, and how
farsighted and knowledgeable the minority are. The child who chose not to
play with the rest on the operational track was sidelined. And in the case
he was sacrificed, no one would shed a tear for him.

The great critic Leo Velski Julian who told the story said he would not
try to change the course of the train because he believed that the kids
playing on the operational track should have known very well that track
was still in use, and that they should have run away if they heard the
train's sirens. If the train was diverted, that lone child would
definitely die because he never thought the train could come over to that
track! Moreover, that track was not in use probably because it was not
safe. If the train was diverted to the track, we could put the lives of
all passengers on board at stake! And in your attempt to save a few kids
by sacrificing one child, you might end up sacrificing hundreds of people
to save these few kids.

While we are all aware that life is full of tough decisions that need to
be made, we may not realize that hasty decisions may not always be the
right one.

"Remember that what's right isn't always popular... and what's popular
isn't always right."

Everybody makes mistakes; that's why they put erasers on pencils.

kansas

For a dramatisation of sacrifition, watch "Hart's War" (Bruce Willis).

There are two cases of sacrifition in the movie. :smile:

ST_IMAGES_SHRALLY17.jpg

Ooi! Dun try to imitate me leh!

ahbengsong

Reminds me of the spiderman movie where he has to save his gal and a car carriage with people.... and also batman 1 saving Robin and his lady of the night....

beng

zack
Interesting dilemma.
Can I clarify something: Is it a definite either or, i.e. either the lone kid is sacrificed or the bunch of kids are sacrificed? Or is there a possibility that the bunch of kids may not be hurt, albeit a small possibility?
Interesting comment from the critic to sacrifice the many who made the wrong decision.

For me, it would be interesting if I knew the characters of the kids and their parents. That would determine who I choose to sacrifice.

A group of children were playing near two railway tracks, one still in use
while the other disused. Only one child played on the disused track, the
rest on the operational track.

The train is coming, and you are just beside the track interchange. You
can make the train change its course to the disused track and save most of
the kids. However, that would also mean the lone child playing by the
disused track would be sacrificed. Or would you rather let the train go
its way?

if u really were in dat type of situation, u where gt time 2 tink so much? ... u would hv done wat comes 2 ur mind 1st ... u may even b in a state of shock n ur mind juz freeze, can tink so much meh? ... :cool:

of course, critics wil take their own sweet time n analyse various possibilities n criticise u left, rite, centre, upside-down after dat, irrespective of wat u hv done or did nt do ... :rolleyes:

if u hv ze luxury of time 2 tink n analyse, ur answer wil of course b different ... :cool:

zack123

The question is whether to sacrifice 1 to save a few who were wrong and at the same time endangering those already in the train due to possibility of derailment.

Many have revolved around the question not wanting to touch it.

... This kind of dilemma happens around us
everyday. In the office, community, in politics ...
in ze office, ze big bosses wil take ze action dat wil keep their rice bowls intact ...

in politics, ze politicians wil take ze action dat wil keep their power intact ...

in ze community, 10% wil follow wat their bosses say ... 10% wil tcss over it @ sbf ... ze remaining? heck care! buy 4d ... :p

hughgrant

every man for himself. where got people die for others? maybe for loved ones yes, for strangers definitely no

Whole world inflation just for the investor to make quick money by sacrifice comsumer. But in the end the whole world economy in jeopordise and trouble.

splintuh

All things equal, I'd just yell at the kids.
Even if they can't hear me, I'd assume they'd hear the train coming.

Assumptions may kill. But so do kids who play on train tracks.

toolanliao

disused tracks are probably disused for a reason. the train may derail, so to save the kids, it'll cost the lives of those in the train.