• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Today is Bruce Lee's 43rd Anniversary.

trump

If lee was just a braggart why did so many ppl wish so many accolades on him and if getting injuries = good fighter according to you then that's the most retarded reasoning.

of course injuries are part and parcel of fighting but your hero appears to be so invincible and never sustained a single injury before, and u know why? thats becos he never fought in a real fight before! haha and wat accolades u talking? given by who? accolades for his loud mouth given by a bunch of his canto cronies and movie fans like u..for his constant bragging on the 1960s black and white tv selling his prowess like a snakeoil salesman, always giving demos by punching the air and imaginary opponents and thin pieces of wood. and all the fake fights in those few movies he appeared in.
he has never even fought in a real fight in his life. many experts back then said chuck norris 7 times world karate champion with countless real fights to his name will easily destroy him but out of giving face to him they never engaged. mohammad ali has proven to be the greatest, having defeated many tough opponents many were also champs...and not to mention all those were traditional martial artists, whereas nowdadays mma fighters are a new breed of much more highly skilled fighterd, your fake hero will be crushed easily like a bug. real fighters dont talk, becos they are busy fighting real fights and they most definitely dont act in movies staging fake fights all the time. bruce lee spent almost his whole life cheographing staged fights in movies. if he were alive today u can expect him to run his usual boast of being too good to challenge anyone in the ring. he has never stepped into the ring back then and he wont step into the ring today becos he is just an empty braggart. and thats why his legacy is just one big hoax and hype but u are obviously blindly sold onto him by the black and white media of those days..lol

trump

If lee was just a braggart why did so many ppl wish so many accolades on him and if getting injuries = good fighter according to you then that's the most retarded reasoning.

there are many opinions but most fighters today generally agree bruce lee wont stand a chance against any mma fighters...this is just 1 example analysis

Title: Bruce Lee in MMA?? I have recently read an article of how Bruce Lee would get destroyed in MMA.

Here are the reasons Lee gets a lot of flack (not "slack" as you say):

-He never fought top competition. Or really any competition. In an era where he could have competed in boxing, wrestling Judo, karate, Muay Thai, or anything else, he basically had some high school boxing matches, some scuff-ups, and did some sparring with point-fighters. Even then, guys like Gene Lebell and Hayward Nishioka were able to rag-doll him, and according to Dan Inosanto, he fought much more like Joe Frazier than the artistic guy you see in the movies. He got hit in sparring. He wasn't untouchable and balletic. Contrast this with MMA. The guys in the UFC, in many cases, are world-class athletes who have competed at the world level. Damien Maia is one of the best BJJ guys in the world because he's beaten the best in the world. Randy Couture was a three-time Olympic alternate. Sam Stout is the Canadian kickboxing champ. They have all faced better trained, better conditioned fighters than Lee ever did. They have the experience with facing guys who fight for a living, the best fighters in the world in many cases. Lee just had a bunch of guys in his back yard.

-As mentioned, Lee got tooled by grapplers on a regular basis. The UFC is filled with grapplers. Even those that come from a striking background have more grappling knowledge than Lee had at the time of his death. You can be beaten by something you don't know, and pure grappling beats pure striking most of the time.

-Lee was physically smaller than nearly everyone in the UFC. Like it or not, size matters. Moreover, the conditioning that fighters go through is more advanced than what Lee was doing back in the 1960's. Lee, after all, hurt his back doing improper lifts.

Now to address some specific points:

"Let's see how Broc Lesnar beat Frank Mir the last time? he did hammer fists!!!! my little girl cousin knows the hammer fists."

This argument is stupid. Just because someone knows an instinctive move doesn't make it bad. Let me turn it around on you: you know what Bruce Lee showed in his books? Kicks to the groin!!!! Eight year olds know how to kick people in the groin. See how easy that was?

"Compare his intelligence to that of Clay Quida? or someone else like Cain Velasquez? Bruce was really smart, he was so smart that he invented his own way of fighting."

I don't even understand what you're trying to say here. Are you saying that Lee was smarter than Velasquez and Guida? Because there's no evidence of that. If nothing else, Velasquez has accomplished something Lee never did: he got a bachelor's degree. Lee dropped out of college.

Also, he didn't "invent his own way of fighting". His base was Wing Chun, to which he added boxing punches and kicks from other martial arts like Taekwondo; throw in some fencing principles and you've got JKD. That's no different than what every other martial artist who studies two or more martial arts does. GSP, Couture, Guida, Akiyama, etc. all have "their own way of fighting" but they, like Lee, haven't done anything revolutionary.

MMA means you study two or more martial arts and combine them in a full-contact, limited-rules fashion. And being able to wrestle, punch and kick basically means being able to fight, because that's what a fight is.

And by this you demonstrate your ignorance. If you can't understand the technique they use, maybe you should spend more time in martial arts. But I'm sure a lot of your perception is colored by the fact that you expect a real fight to look like something out of the movies. Guess what: they don't! Real fights are sloppy, except if you completely outclass your opponent. And since the UFC tries to have competitive fights, you don't see one guy getting dominating too often.

This is a fact: we can't say how good Lee was at the stand up because he didn't compete. But we CAN say that in a composite fight, with striking and grappling allowed, MMA fighters haven't been beaten by one-dimensional fighters. We can say that size matters in a fight, because it's been repeatedly demonstrated. We can say that simple techniques, like those they do in MMA, stand a higher chance of success than fancy stuff, and if you actually paid attention to what Lee did, you'd realize that he shared that opinion.

I get that you like Lee. So do I. But unlike you, I don't let hero worship cloud my reasoning.

callsignfuzzy

Comments 1 1
I love Bruce Lee movies and I idolized him when I was younger, but to think that a 130 pound man who is not really a pro fighter can beat pro fighters is just absurd

Balls2U

of course injuries are part and parcel of fighting but your hero appears to be so invincible and never sustained a single injury before, and u know why? thats becos he never fought in a real fight before! haha and wat accolades u talking? given by who? accolades for his loud mouth given by a bunch of his canto cronies and movie fans like u..for his constant bragging on the 1960s black and white tv selling his prowess like a snakeoil salesman, always giving demos by punching the air and imaginary opponents and thin pieces of wood. and all the fake fights in those few movies he appeared in.
he has never even fought in a real fight in his life. many experts back then said chuck norris 7 times world karate champion with countless real fights to his name will easily destroy him but out of giving face to him they never engaged. mohammad ali has proven to be the greatest, having defeated many tough opponents many were also champs...and not to mention all those were traditional martial artists, whereas nowdadays mma fighters are a new breed of much more highly skilled fighterd, your fake hero will be crushed easily like a bug. real fighters dont talk, becos they are busy fighting real fights and they most definitely dont act in movies staging fake fights all the time. bruce lee spent almost his whole life cheographing staged fights in movies. if he were alive today u can expect him to run his usual boast of being too good to challenge anyone in the ring. he has never stepped into the ring back then and he wont step into the ring today becos he is just an empty braggart. and thats why his legacy is just one big hoax and hype but u are obviously blindly sold onto him by the black and white media of those days..lol

MMA is also a joke! Rojak art!

trump

MMA is also a joke! Rojak art!

then u go and challenge any of them here, there are so many around. they love challenges and like to approach those traditional arts schools like tkd, karate, kungfu, judo etc...from wat i know many of the senseis and sifus masters back down from their challenges becos they know they wont stand a chance and will only lose face in front of their students. this is a wrong concept, thats why many of these so call tradtional arts are still stuck in their myth of invincibility whereas modern mma is constantly improving by taking on real fights and opponents with little rules

zeebjii

What the fark are these 2 clowns doing? Even my 8 year old nephew can fight better than them anytime! And where's the kung fu instructor? :kma:

Even an 8-year old wouldn't believe this shit. The MMA fighter looks like a fighter, the opponent looks and fight like a drunkard.

Anyway it's not absurd for bruce lee to brag that he could kill anyone. There are many youtube videos that show his insane hand speed and kicking. In a fight not bound by rules, his speed is alone to blind both eyes of his opponent, or crack his opponent's balls. Not a lot of strength is needed, but judging from his looks of his physique alone, he should have enough power to do both.

I'd dare say bruce lee's form of martial arts has more in common with krav maga than conventional fight sports. To maim and kill, not to see who's better.

Bruce lee is well respected in the west not just in the east nigger.

Bruce lee is dead and he lived quite a long time ago making up these types of assumptions like he will win or he will be crushed is pointless. It's just like the NBA slamdunk. Jordan's slamdunk by today's standards is probably nothing great since they do all sorts of tricks nowadays but MJ is still considered the best player and one of the best dunkers around.

Even an 8-year old wouldn't believe this shit. The MMA fighter looks like a fighter, the opponent looks and fight like a drunkard.

Anyway it's not absurd for bruce lee to brag that he could kill anyone. There are many youtube videos that show his insane hand speed and kicking. In a fight not bound by rules, his speed is alone to blind both eyes of his opponent, or crack his opponent's balls. Not a lot of strength is needed, but judging from his looks of his physique alone, he should have enough power to do both.

I'd dare say bruce lee's form of martial arts has more in common with krav maga than conventional fight sports. To maim and kill, not to see who's better.

There's a problem though. Bruce lee is Chinese. You see ppl are bias towards Chinese therefore they will always find any opportunity to put him down. If Bruce lee was ang moh you won't find so many bias ppl.

Lesson number 1: Many ppl don't judge by actions/achievements of the person involved.

trump

please man, he is nothing more than a theory martial artists, good at giving demos on the screen, punching imaginary opponents. no real track record watsoever, sure he had a couple of street fights but who hasnt? and who the hell are his opponents? just a bunch of unknowns, bet many of whom are made up just to hype himself up as a bogey man. and talking abt his speed..haha totally overated, any fighter today can attain that kind of theory speed by punching the air, the diff is they can kill him easily. please lah wat blind a human? he hasnt even gone on record to hurt a real fighter with record. many mma fighters had their share of news and record of fighting multiple street thugs armed with knives even guns, u can google the news. this is call real understand, as oppose to your fake hero and his bullshits

trump

haha u sound like as if he has killed so how many people..when the only people he has ever killed are those on his movies. even jet li and donnie yen has killed more than him lah....hahah

trump

Bruce lee is dead and he lived quite a long time ago making up these types of assumptions like he will win or he will be crushed is pointless. It's just like the NBA slamdunk. Jordan's slamdunk by today's standards is probably nothing great since they do all sorts of tricks nowadays but MJ is still considered the best player and one of the best dunkers around.

all the opinions expressed are not by laymen but experienced fighters. if u are a practising fighter u will know his fancy amd flashy punches and kicks are for movies only, in fact your cousin tony jah does it better, haha...fact is nobody fights like that tkd style spinning and turning, he will get killed in an instant by any mma guy.

trump

There's a problem though. Bruce lee is Chinese. You see ppl are bias towards Chinese therefore they will always find any opportunity to put him down. If Bruce lee was ang moh you won't find so many bias ppl.

Lesson number 1: Many ppl don't judge by actions/achievements of the person involved.

nobody is biased on his race, the opinions given are by experienced fighters who made objective comparisons based on his fighting style albeit no proven track record to back them up. fictitious fights dont count hor

trump

its common in the martial world to make comparisons among fighters for eg even though mike tyson had not fought mohd ali but many experts and boxers believe ali will kick his ass, one factual assumption is based on ali's opponents like shavers and frazier being heavier punchers than tyson. sure tyson is a heavy puncher himself but everybody unanimously agrees ali outclasses him in every other aspects of skillsets and thats why he is call the greatest. maybe bruce lee is also the greatest but the greatest bullshit...lol

kulgai

nobody is biased on his race, the opinions given are by experienced fighters who made objective comparisons based on his fighting style albeit no proven track record to back them up. fictitious fights dont count hor

No, I don't think his race matters at all. Having said that, obviously everyone is entitled to his own opinions.
Bruce was well respected and is still very well respected today especially in the west. In fact more westerners are still talking about him today than Asians.
The reason he's so well respected is because he brought kung fu to the western world and they are grateful for that because at that time kung fu was pretty much confined to asia. But Bruce was also ahead of his time in that he didn't see kung fu as a superior art form. In fact he once said kung fu is too flowery in its movements to be effective. I cant agree more. Bruce being a very pragmatic person thought it best to learn various martial arts and pick those that suit your individual personality. That's how Jeet kune Do came about. In effect, he was talking about MMA. We could safely say Bruce initiated the idea of MMA then.
Todays MMA fighters are made of steel so to speak. Like Bruce said, if you wanna learn to fight you fight. There's no easier way. That is the flaw of traditional kung fu where shadow boxing instead of full contact sparring makes up the bulk of training. Like Bruce said, " I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times" That brings to mind Muay Thai where techniques are pathetically few compared to kung fu yet could beat most kung fu exponents.
If Bruce were to live in today's era, I'm sure he'll make a great fighter since he's athletic, intelligent and fast . Size will not be an issue since we have weight classes in MMA. My opinion is he'll do well in his weight class but may or may not be the best in his weight class. We cant say for sure. Definitely will not be the best fighter in the world. Nobody can be the best fighter in the world for long. A better fighter always comes along.
Bruce was certainly a great fighter in his era but like all legends have been grossly exaggerated. That's how we pay tribute to the dead isn't it? :smile:

Balls2U

then u go and challenge any of them here, there are so many around. they love challenges and like to approach those traditional arts schools like tkd, karate, kungfu, judo etc...from wat i know many of the senseis and sifus masters back down from their challenges becos they know they wont stand a chance and will only lose face in front of their students. this is a wrong concept, thats why many of these so call tradtional arts are still stuck in their myth of invincibility whereas modern mma is constantly improving by taking on real fights and opponents with little rules

You obviously have yet to see the real stuff like Baji Quan, Xingyi Quan etc. I once witnessed a ya ya papaya ang mo MMA practitioner challenging a Baji Quan instructor in Taipeh, and fell flat on his face in less than 5 seconds. His lips was bleeding when he got up. But the old school chaps are now rare and few. Most are in their late 60s. Very few successors to carry on the art. Young punks these days prefer their Pokemon Go and hip stuff like MMA than training in old established real kung fu.

trump

No, I don't think his race matters at all. Having said that, obviously everyone is entitled to his own opinions.
Bruce was well respected and is still very well respected today especially in the west. In fact more westerners are still talking about him today than Asians.
The reason he's so well respected is because he brought kung fu to the western world and they are grateful for that because at that time kung fu was pretty much confined to asia. But Bruce was also ahead of his time in that he didn't see kung fu as a superior art form. In fact he once said kung fu is too flowery in its movements to be effective. I cant agree more. Bruce being a very pragmatic person thought it best to learn various martial arts and pick those that suit your individual personality. That's how Jeet kune Do came about. In effect, he was talking about MMA. We could safely say Bruce initiated the idea of MMA then.
Todays MMA fighters are made of steel so to speak. Like Bruce said, if you wanna learn to fight you fight. There's no easier way. That is the flaw of traditional kung fu where shadow boxing instead of full contact sparring makes up the bulk of training. Like Bruce said, " I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times" That brings to mind Muay Thai where techniques are pathetically few compared to kung fu yet could beat most kung fu exponents.
If Bruce were to live in today's era, I'm sure he'll make a great fighter since he's athletic, intelligent and fast . Size will not be an issue since we have weight classes in MMA. My opinion is he'll do well in his weight class but may or may not be the best in his weight class. We cant say for sure. Definitely will not be the best fighter in the world. Nobody can be the best fighter in the world for long. A better fighter always comes along.
Bruce was certainly a great fighter in his era but like all legends have been grossly exaggerated. That's how we pay tribute to the dead isn't it? :smile:

he spent his whole life bragging and making movies, while real fighters were fighting real fights in the rings and out in the streets, bouncers, etc.. the truth is he never had any real fights and opponents, zero track record to speak of. but hes very good at punching the air and breaking pieces of cardboards in front of a tv audience, demonstrating how fast he is, haha..much like those korean tkd jumping idiots. and thats how he fooled many people into thinking he is some invincible mythical warrior

trump

Quora: What's Bruce Lee fight record? Who did he fight in real life?

his so called most famous fight on record was with some fellow hongky guy Wong Jack Man who is just some rubbish chinese kungfu guy....big fucking deal lah!.. go check out the records of todays mma fighters, real fights, deadly opponents, KO after KO, real killers from brazil and russia

G Wheeler, Practiced Kyokushinkai, Judo, Aikido and Ninjutsu since 1976
2.3k Views · G Wheeler has 60+ answers in Martial Arts
I looked into this a while ago. There is no record of Bruce having any ‘real’ fights. He scrapped as a kid, and sparred, but never competed, or had a real fight with another school - with one exception.

He fought a fellow Wing Tsun stylist, Wong Jack Man, in San Francisco. Details are sketchy, but Bruce was seen as arrogant in his setting up his school (we would call it advertising), Wong was already established, and after an incident where Bruce effectively challenged everyone in a theatre after his 1″ punch went wrong (Bruce was a hot-head at times), Wong sent a letter saying he would spar with Bruce.

Wong saw it as a friendly sparring match, Bruce saw it as a street fight. During the fight Bruce got increasingly angry, until at one point Wong lost his footing and Bruce pounced and Wongs men separated him (as Bruces temper was so high - he didn’t quite have ‘emotional content’ yet!). The fight wasn’t supposed to go to the ground. So depending on who you listen to, Bruce won or was disqualified.

Bruce visited Wong later, and said ‘I was just trying to advertise my school’. Wong sent flowers when Bruce died.