• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The standard of service from the civil/government services

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Allow court-appointed deputies to hire professionals to submit online reports​

2022 12 19

I am one of three court-appointed joint deputies for a relative who is incapable of managing her financial and other affairs. Two of us belong to the Pioneer and Merdeka generations.
We have been dutifully submitting the annual deputy report to the Office of the Public Guardian (OPG), with the help of an accountant. This has gone smoothly for the past eight years.
However, the OPG informed us on Nov 14 that all reports must be submitted online, using the Singpass account of one of the joint deputies. When we asked the OPG if we can appoint a professional to do the submission on our behalf, we were told that we cannot.
I appreciate that as a Smart Nation, we should try to digitalise most of our transactions with government agencies. But although this may be simple and convenient for most citizens, Pioneer and Merdeka generation seniors often find it a challenge just to use a computer, let alone submit documents electronically.
The new system has additional reporting requirements which make our job as deputies more burdensome. They are more complicated, and require coordination between multiple parties online before submission.
I fail to understand why deputies cannot hire professionals to prepare and file these reports on their behalf. Deputies would be able to discharge their duties more efficiently, leaving professionals to navigate the complexities of online reporting. Even for private matters such as income tax submission, professionals can be hired to submit the tax returns.
In trying to safeguard the interests of the incapacitated, the OPG should not impose superfluous reporting requirements on deputies. Unpaid deputies are already overstretched in having to provide daily care for their charges, over and above their families’ needs and their own.

Chung Sook Yee

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Why require extra steps when giving feedback on OneService app?​

Dec 28, 2022

Heavy traffic develops almost daily during morning peak hours along the Tampines Expressway slip road towards Loyang Avenue. The gridlock is further aggravated by inconsiderate drivers who do not join the queue of waiting cars, and cut across the double white lines to get ahead of other vehicles. This not only adds to the frustration of other motorists, but is also dangerous.
I gave feedback on this situation via the OneService app, but was asked to lodge a police report before action would be taken against the errant drivers.
The aim of the OneService app is to provide the public with a one-stop platform to give feedback without needing to know which government agency to contact. It doesn’t seem to be serving its function if the public has to take extra steps to do that.

Donny Ho Boon Tiong

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Equip polyclinics to make more accurate diagnoses for eye care emergencies​

Dec 30, 2022

I recently experienced floaters in my left eye over the Christmas period, and I visited Ang Mo Kio Polyclinic immediately after the holiday.
The doctor was very informative and asked a number of questions to determine whether mine was an emergency case.
She made an urgent referral to Tan Tock Seng Hospital for an appointment. She also advised me that if my condition worsened or if I experienced light flashes, I should immediately go to the accident and emergency department, as it could mean that I had a retinal tear.
I appreciated the doctor’s explanation but was aware that the polyclinic did not have an optical scanner.
I then decided to consult a private specialist, who found that there was a retinal tear and immediately performed laser surgery to repair it. I ended up with an expensive medical bill.
This made me wonder if polyclinics are appropriately equipped. Why is there no eye scanner there so that a more accurate diagnosis can be made?
It has been a few days since my consultation at the polyclinic, and I still have not been given an appointment at the hospital.

Lui Poh Choo

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Long wait to convert foreign driving licence to local one​

Dec 30, 2022

I am a Singaporean who is returning after several decades of driving experience overseas.
The Traffic Police allow the conversion of a foreign licence to a Singapore licence after the holder passes the basic theory test.
However, the test is outsourced to three commercial driving centres, which require me to make an appointment online to visit the driving centre, where I then have to set up an account before selecting a test date.
In my case, I waited for two months for the earliest appointment. The wait would have been four months at a different driving centre.
At the driving centre on Tuesday, I had to pay to enrol as a student and set up an account before I could select the next available date for the basic theory test, which is in late February 2023.
After passing the test, I will have to take the proof of passing to the Traffic Police headquarters in Ubi to convert my foreign driving licence to a Singapore one.
I did not expect this endeavour to take three separate trips and a total wait time of at least four months. If Singapore is to welcome talented individuals from overseas to work and live here, would it not make sense to expedite this unnecessarily lengthy process?

Why does it take so long just to book an appointment and test date for the basic theory test, especially since these tests are computerised and could easily be scheduled more frequently?

Evan Lau

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Deputyship report submission more tedious with online system of Office of the Public Guardian​

Dec 30, 2022

I refer to the letter from the Public Guardian, “Deputies can get help to submit online reports to Office of the Public Guardian” (Dec 27).
I am a joint deputy who was appointed in early 2020, and I filed annual reports manually in 2021 and 2022. My next report is due in early 2023.
The Office of the Public Guardian (OPG) no longer accepts manual reports; all reports must be filed through the Office of the Public Guardian Online System (OPGO).
I ran into several frustrating issues when I tried the OPGO.
First, there is a section for me to update my personal particulars. After I did this, the status still showed “in progress” although it took most of the information from the MyInfo service.
There is also a “nationality” field where I needed to select an option from a drop-down menu. But I was not able to make a selection. OPG has said it is a known bug.
Second, the system requires me to update the different Central Provident Fund (CPF) account balances as at the beginning and end of the reporting period. I did not have to do this when I filed manually.

This makes the reporting more tedious, as I need to request the statement of account from the CPF Board. I also do not see the need to include the information, as I am looking after only property and affairs.
The Finance Tracker is even more tedious to use.
Previously, I just needed to attach 12 bank statements to show all the income and expenses for the entire year in one scanned document.
In the OPGO, I have to attach a document for each transaction, without which the system will not capture the transaction.
For example, if in a month there are four transactions, say, for salary, Workfare, bank interest and bank account fee, I would need to attach the same bank statement four times, just for one month.
This is a waste of time.
While I support the use of an online system, I expected it to be simpler and more efficient. This is not the case for the OPGO.

Keh Eng Song

LITTLEREDDOT

Nightly illegal parking of vans, lorries outside some migrant worker dorms​

A52Y2880_0.JPG

Over a 500m distance on both sides of Woodlands Road, mini-lorries and vans were seen parked illegally on the pavement and grass verge. ST PHOTO: ZAIHAN

1672546225962.png

Vans and mini-lorries illegally parked in Woodlands Road, as seen by ST since December 2022

MOHAMED YUSOF
zaihan_mohamed_yusof.png

Zaihan Mohamed Yusof

Jan 1, 2023

SINGAPORE - Mini-lorries and vans parked illegally on pavements in Woodlands Road have damaged kerb surfaces and grass patches, which have become water-filled ruts.
Similarly, in Seletar Link – close to Marina Country Club – and in North Coast Avenue off Admiralty Road West, parking violations have been noticed every night since early December.
Throughout the month, The Sunday Times has observed illegally parked vehicles in Woodlands Road outside Kranji Lodge 1, near Kranji MRT station.
Drivers of light goods vehicles mount kerbs and park on the grass verge along a 500m stretch on both sides of the road, affecting cyclists and pedestrians.
Cyclist Emily Chia said she avoids the area, adding that many heavy vehicles ply Woodlands Road.
Ms Chia, 42, said: “We (she and her cycling buddies) used to ride our ‘foldie’ bicycles on the pavement there. But with illegally parked vehicles on the pavement, we are forced to get back on the road for that stretch.”
Some migrant workers living at the nearby Kranji Lodge 1 who are transported back to the dormitory on these heavy vehicles risk injury – they have been seen jumping off the rear of lorries as the vehicles mount the kerbs at a bus bay nearby. Sometimes, the vehicles are parked on the pavement close to the bus stop or at the bus bay.

Construction worker M. Suresh, who regularly sits on grass patches in the area to eat his meals, said he is often forced to get up while eating and walk away when vehicles park illegally there.
Mr Suresh, 28, a resident of Kranji Lodge 1, said: “Every day, between 8pm and 11pm, we have to move to safer areas like under the stairs of the overhead bridge (to avoid the returning vans).”
It is illegal to park near traffic lights, filter lanes, grass verges, footways and bus stops. Vehicles are also not allowed to park abreast on roads. First-time offenders can be fined $70 for parking on a grass verge or in roads with double yellow lines. Light vehicles that park abreast face a $120 fine.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Friday that 142,497 parking violations were issued in 2019 to all vehicles. From January to November 2022, 86,036 summonses were issued, compared with 112,065 in 2021.
The Sunday Times had asked LTA on Dec 13 how many summonses had been issued to drivers for illegal parking in Woodlands Road and what could be done to curb illegal parking there.
A52Y4060_0.JPG

In North Coast Avenue, vans and mini-lorries are parked illegally on the road, which is close to North Coast Lodge dormitory. ST PHOTO: ZAIHAN MOHAMED YUSOF
LTA said it was aware of the situation in Woodlands Road and that it uses closed-circuit television and parking wardens as enforcement tools. It also receives feedback from the public.
An LTA spokesman said: “We take a serious view of illegal parking and will continue to enforce against such offences to ensure the safety of road users. We urge all motorists to adhere to prevailing rules and do their part in fostering a safer road environment.”
A construction company owner, who has 40 foreign workers living at Kranji Lodge 1 and at a dormitory in Tuas, said illegal parking in Woodlands Road has been going on for months. He owns three lorries to ferry workers and equipment to work sites.
The 51-year-old, who gave his name only as Mr Mohamed, said: “By the time my workers finish their work at night, there would normally be no parking spaces at the dorm. To ask our drivers, who stay at the dorm, to drive back to the company to drop off the lorry and then return to the dorm is unfair to them.”
A52Y2748_0.JPG

A pedestrian in Woodlands Road passing spots where illegally parked vans and mini-lorries have damaged kerbs and left deep ruts on grass patches. ST PHOTO: ZAIHAN MOHAMED YUSOF
The more than 70 parking spaces at Kranji Lodge 1 are usually filled by 9pm.
Mr Mohamed said the authorities should consider allowing vehicles to be parked at night in Woodlands Road as most of them would leave by 7am, when the workers go to work.
But the same road is often clogged by heavy vehicles returning to Malaysia via the Causeway.
The two-lane road towards the Causeway has double yellow lines to indicate that parking is disallowed at all times. The closest Housing Board carparks are more than 2km away in Marsiling.
A52Y4150_0.JPG

On both sides of Seletar Link, vehicles are parked illegally over a 450m stretch. ST PHOTO: ZAIHAN MOHAMED YUSOF
But the most blatant disregard for road safety and traffic rules occurs in Seletar Link outside S11 dormitory. In the dimly lit area, vans and mini-lorries are parked illegally along a 450m stretch. Some are parked four abreast, leaving only one lane for cement trucks to pass.
Retired LTA planner and transport consultant Gopinath Menon said such conditions make it difficult to spot pedestrians.
A52Y4062_0.JPG

At Seletar Link outside S11 Punggol dormitory, four mini-lorries and vans are parked abreast, leaving only one lane for cement trucks to pass. ST PHOTO: ZAIHAN MOHAMED YUSOF
He added: “If even one vehicle is parked illegally, it might be hard for (passing) drivers to spot pedestrians. If there are four vehicles parked abreast, chances are you can’t see pedestrians crossing the road. And that’s very dangerous.“
But when there is a shortage of parking spaces within the dorm premises, there is little that dormitory owners or operators can do, said Mr Menon.
In such cases, the authorities can be contacted and they may step in to offer solutions, he added.
SBS Transit said its bus drivers alert its operations control centre (OCC) when they see vehicles parked illegally in bus bays.
Mrs Grace Wu, vice-president of customer experience and communications at SBS Transit, said: “If our bus drivers encounter instances of illegal parking within the bus bay that prohibit them from safely entering and/or exiting the bus stop, they will alert our OCC, which will inform the Land Transport Authority for enforcement action.
“Concurrently, our OCC will activate our mobile traffic inspectors to the ground to assist our bus drivers.”

LITTLEREDDOT

Smokers flouting rule at coffee shop​

Dec 23, 2022

Smoking has been banned at coffee shops, except in designated areas, but one can easily find people flouting the rule. Just look at the cigarette butts littered on the floor.

Despite having made reports to the National Environment Agency, I still see smokers at the no-smoking zone or at the sheltered walkway near the coffee shop close to my home. Current enforcement is not deterring them from lighting up.

I urge the authorities to look into snuffing out this persistent problem.

Tan Eng Kim

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Make MRT stations more wheelchair-friendly​

DEC 22, 2022

I refer to the report, “New SBS Transit programme helps wheelchair users navigate routes with travel buddies as guides” (Dec 19).
I applaud SBS Transit for helping wheelchair users navigate travel routes.
As our society ages, more seniors may have walking difficulties and require a wheelchair. Private-hire transport is expensive for wheelchair users.
We should make Singapore a more wheelchair-friendly society.
We can start with some of the MRT stations that the elderly frequent such as Chinatown MRT station. The station’s exit D leading to People’s Park Centre does not have a lift or wheelchair ramp.
Small changes in our environment can make a big difference in the life of the elderly. Let’s make Singapore a more accessible country.

Emily Yap Yong An

LITTLEREDDOT

Singpass service resumes after 2½-hour disruption affects some users trying to claim CDC vouchers​

hzcdc03122a_5.jpg

The intermittent Singpass problem also affected access to other government online services. PHOTOS: SARAH KOH, ST FILE
Sarah Koh

Jan 4, 2023

SINGAPORE – Some Singaporeans trying to redeem the $300 Community Development Council (CDC) vouchers on Tuesday could not do so for about 2½ hours after encountering intermittent errors using Singpass.
A yellow banner on the CDC voucher redemption website was put up as early as 12:30pm, prompting users who tried to log in with Singpass to try again later if they are unable to claim their vouchers.
In response to queries from The Straits Times, a spokesman for the Government Technology Agency (GovTech), which operates the Singpass system, said preliminary investigations did not suggest any correlation between the Singpass service disruption and issues with CDC voucher redemption.
The spokesman said the Singpass service was intermittent for users logging in to Singpass via QR code, with the disruption confirmed at 12.23pm.
Log-ins to Singpass via shortcuts or by using ID and password were not affected.
“This disruption was caused by the malfunction of a component that manages the session when users log in using QR code. Service resumed at 2.41pm,” the spokesman added.
The technical team continued to monitor the system’s performance, performed necessary testing and ensured the stability of the system before informing the public of service resumption at 3.56pm, the spokesman said.

At around 3pm, GovTech put up a notice on Facebook acknowledging the problem with Singpass.
“Some users may have encountered an error message when accessing digital services with #Singpass. We are working to resolve the issue. Please try again later,” the agency said, adding that it will provide an update when service resumes.
svcdc030123_13.jpg

A yellow banner at the top of the CDC voucher redemption website prompted users to try again later. PHOTO: CDC
A service disruption pop-up message was also shown on the Singpass mobile app, informing users of possible difficulties they might experience accessing digital services using the app.
The intermittent Singpass problem also affected access to other government online services.
At around 4pm, GovTech posted another Facebook update stating that the Singpass problem has been fixed. According to the post: “#Singpass service has resumed. We are monitoring it closely. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.”

LITTLEREDDOT

Typical reactionary action from government bodies. NPark will step up monitoring in response to recent complaints.
But when the monitoring is reduced, the errant cyclists will be at it again.
Till the next compaints.

Forum: NParks monitoring situation at Rail Corridor, Rifle Range Nature Park​

Jan 7, 2023

We thank Ms Ng Suan Eng for her letter, “Cyclists ignoring rules and endangering others on shared paths” (Jan 5).
The Rail Corridor and newly opened Rifle Range Nature Park are designed to be inclusive and safe shared spaces for everyone to enjoy.
The National Parks Board (NParks) urges all visitors to adhere to safety guidelines and advisories on signs displayed in these green spaces, and to be gracious to fellow users.
For the safety of all visitors, we would like to remind cyclists that cycling is not allowed at Rifle Range Nature Park. Cyclists are also not allowed to ride on designated hiking trails in our nature reserves and other nature parks, which can be easily identified by the “No Bicycles” signs.
Cyclists using the Rail Corridor are reminded to ride safely and look out for others. They should slow down and give way to others, especially in crowded areas, and dismount and push their bikes when approaching narrow stretches, such as along the old railway bridges.
NParks will continue to monitor the situation at the Rail Corridor and Rifle Range Nature Park. We conduct regular operations to engage errant cyclists, and will take enforcement action where necessary.

Lim Liang Jim

Group Director, Conservation
National Parks Board

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Town councils need to be more proactive to tackle estate problems before they worsen​

Jan 14, 2023

Growing up, I saw the town council as an entity which made living in a Housing Board estate easier, and kept the surroundings clean to make life happier for residents.
However, in recent times, I am starting to see some cracks beneath the facade.
It seems the town council is heavily dependent on complaints and feedback to get things done. In my estate, I do not see the cleaner coming by as often as before.
Town councils should work towards becoming more proactive when they do their rounds to check on the estate’s condition and see how they can improve the lives of residents.
By walking in the shoes of residents, they would be able to notice the things residents do, for instance, if there is dog poo in a certain area, if riser cabinets are filled with clutter, or if a wall has mould or dirt.
They could then implement solutions, and follow up regularly to ascertain if the solutions are working or if they need to take other steps to rectify the issue.
While town council meetings with Residents’ Networks are good for garnering feedback, it would be better if the town council takes the initiative to catch problems before they become major issues, rather than merely react to complaints.

There are certainly some town councils that do fantastic jobs and go above and beyond their duties.
All town councils should have a set of common standards to set and manage expectations, such as how often block cleaning will be done.

Brian Seah

LITTLEREDDOT

Jurong-Clementi and Pasir Ris-Punggol town councils flagged for administrative errors: MND​

dw-jurong-clementi-221207_3.jpg

The non-compliances were first-time administrative oversights that have been rectified, said MND. ST PHOTO: KELVIN CHNG
adelinetan.png

Adeline Tan

DEC 7, 2022

SINGAPORE – Two town councils – Jurong-Clementi and Pasir Ris-Punggol – were flagged for non-compliance with town council rules, in the latest governance report released by the Ministry of National Development (MND) on Wednesday.
These non-compliances were first-time administrative oversights that have been rectified, said MND.
For the quarter ending June 2021, Jurong-Clementi Town Council had under-transferred the amount that was due to the sinking and lift replacement funds’ bank accounts because of a computation error. The shortfall was rectified in the next quarterly transfer.
For the quarter ending September 2021, Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council had incorrectly allocated a portion of the lift replacement fund matching grant to residential property instead of commercial property. The accounting records were rectified in October 2022.
Both of these incidents were considered to be of “low-severity”, said MND.
The town councils were given green ratings for corporate governance, as the total score for each was 0.5 point. Town councils that score less than one point will be given a green rating, while those that score one to less than two points will be given an amber rating. Two points and above would mean a red rating.
For the financial year 2021, the other town councils were also given green ratings for corporate governance, MND said.

It added that it had completed its review of the town councils’ audited financial statements and their auditors’ reports, as well as checks on the town councils’ declarations of compliance.
The audited financial statements for the 17 town councils have been presented to Parliament, and the town councils will also be publishing them on their websites.
MND added that while the town councils generally reported surpluses for the 2021 financial year, they also faced significant cost pressures due to higher energy prices, manpower costs and higher costs for maintenance services.
“Cost increases, such as energy price increases, are not unique to Singapore, but the Government takes steps to partially cushion the impact on residents,” said MND.
It added that the Government has been providing various grants to town councils and rebates on service and conservancy charges to Housing Board residents to help them cope with the increase in the cost of living. The Government will also continue to monitor the town councils’ financial positions.
From financial year 2021, the annual Town Council Management Report has been split into two reports.
The operational report, published in the mid-year period, covers four indicators – estate cleanliness, estate maintenance, lift performance and service and conservancy charges arrears management.
The governance report assesses whether the town councils have sound corporate governance and internal controls.

LITTLEREDDOT

‘Why did it take so long?’ Marsiling Rise residents to finally get lift upgrading, slated for 2026 completion​

ryanyflift-2.jpg

Blocks 115 and 119 in Marsiling Rise were selected for HDB’s lift upgrading programme in December 2020. ST PHOTO: RYAN CHIONG
kokyufengg.png

Kok Yufeng
Transport Correspondent

JAN 15, 2023

SINGAPORE - Two 13-storey Housing Board blocks in Marsiling will finally get direct lift access on every floor after years of complaints from residents and lobbying by politicians, including during the 2020 General Election.
Blocks 115 and 119 in Marsiling Rise, which have lifts that stop only on the first, fifth, ninth and 12th storeys, were selected for HDB’s lift upgrading programme (LUP) in December 2020.
The project was then put to an official poll in late December 2022, and about 95 per cent of residents voted in favour of it – well beyond the 75 per cent of votes needed.
With the voting done, HDB said works will start in the first quarter of 2023, with the upgrading expected to be completed in the first quarter of 2026.
The works include diverting underground cables and pipes to make way for new lift shafts, which can take six months to a year.
Residents were told about the news during an informal gathering held on Jan 6 by Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC MP Zaqy Mohamad. Printed circulars were also given to each household.
Speaking to The Sunday Times at the gathering, Mr Zaqy said the LUP vote was pushed back slightly, partly due to the Covid-19 pandemic, which shut the construction sector down for a period of time.

“Even if we wanted to award the tender, we couldn’t. No one was going to bid, or they would have put in very high bids. So it was not feasible,” Mr Zaqy said.
The Senior Minister of State for Manpower and Defence also cited his experience with LUPs in his previous constituency – Chua Chu Kang GRC – as to why he was able to push the project through.
With another LUP in his ward at Block 176 Woodlands Street 13 set to go to a vote in February, he added: “It was about building trust and getting residents on board.”

When The Sunday Times visited Blocks 115 and 119, the mood was mixed.
While there was much joy and relief, the years of inconvenience and the length of time it took – and will take – for the blocks to get the much needed upgrade have left a bitter taste.
Block 115 resident Fathima Zohra, a quadriplegic, said it was great news that the authorities are upgrading the lifts, but she hopes it can be done more quickly.
Currently, the 26-year-old takes 20 to 30 minutes just to safely make her way down two flights of stairs to get to the lift located one storey below her flat.
Ms Zohra suffered a spinal cord injury in a car accident in 2017, and her family used to have to carry her and her wheelchair down the stairs. A staircase climber gifted to her last year has made the process easier.
However, without direct access to a lift until 2026, Ms Zohra, an inclusive employment recruiter at social enterprise Inclus, said she is considering moving away as she cannot be as independent as she would like to be. “I work full-time, and I am not someone who usually stays at home. So having to be carried all the time is extremely inconvenient,” she said.
ryanyflift-1_0.jpg

The lift upgrading will improve accessibility to the blocks’ residents. ST PHOTO: RYAN CHIONG
At Block 119, a 65-year-old resident who wanted to be known only as Madam Cheng recalled the painful decision she had to make, putting her 89-year-old mother, who has mobility issues, in an old folks’ home as her flat does not have lift access.
Another Block 119 resident, who wanted to be known only as Mrs Ali, said she injured her right knee and shin in a fall while climbing down the stairs to her flat just a few weeks ago. “I am very happy that there will be a lift near my doorstep. But I am also sad that it took so long,” the 65-year-old housewife said.
Residents also said that they felt cast aside and frustrated when other blocks in the neighbourhood got new lifts. The lack of communication from the authorities did not help, and the reasons given for not upgrading the lifts of the two blocks were unconvincing, they added.
In a 2020 report by Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao, former Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC MP Ong Teng Koon had said that the layout of the two HDB blocks and the site terrain would have led to upgrading costs that exceeded HDB’s cost cap of $30,000 per household.
For Block 115, for instance, the cost of upgrading would be higher as it sits on a hillside and has a unique architectural design, Mr Ong said in response to a petition started by the Singapore Democratic Party in January that year that got about 500 signatures.
The opposition party also raised the lift upgrading issue on the campaign trail for the 2020 General Election.
Residents of Blocks 115 and 119, including one who wanted to be known only as Mr Nga, said they were willing to pay more for the lifts, and the authorities should have given them more options in terms of cost-sharing.
“We have people here with a real need,” said the 77-year-old engineer, recounting how a family member had to be carried down the stairs during a medical emergency as the ambulance crew had trouble accessing his flat.
“Tell me what technical issues cannot be solved in this day and age? If we had to pay, then we would do it. But there was little consultation,” Mr Nga added.
When asked why Blocks 115 and 119 were selected for the LUP only now and how the site challenges will be overcome, HDB said only that it had exercised flexibility after reviewing appeals from the grassroots adviser and residents.
It did not say how much the lift upgrading would cost, but National Development Minister Desmond Lee said on Tuesday in a written parliamentary reply to Jurong GRC MP Ang Wei Neng that some LUPs may cost more than $200,000 per household.
ryanyflift-5_0.jpg

Residents of Blocks 115 and 119 said they were willing to pay more for the lifts, and the authorities should have given them more options in terms of cost-sharing. ST PHOTO: RYAN CHIONG
HDB said the Government subsidises up to 90 per cent of the cost of LUPs, while the town council pays a portion of the remainder.
Hence, Singaporean households that benefit from LUPs pay up to only $3,000, depending on their block configuration and flat type. Permanent resident households must pay the full upgrading cost.
HDB also said that the LUP solution at Blocks 115 and 119 is more complicated because they are segmented blocks. These are HDB blocks designed to offer greater privacy, with two units sharing a common floor landing, or segment.
Consequently, new lift shafts and lift openings have to be added to every segment of the blocks, HDB said. In addition, one of the two existing lifts will be upgraded, while the other lift will be shut down.
There are also fewer benefiting units within the two blocks – 48 at Block 115 and 53 at Block 119 – than with other LUPs.
“Given the magnitude of the LUP and the number of residents involved, HDB has the responsibility to ensure that the lift solutions are practical and economically viable,” a spokesman told The Sunday Times.
More generally, HDB said it has adopted “innovative technical solutions” over the years, including using lifts that do not have a machine room at the top of the shafts and smaller “home lifts”.
There are still about 140 HDB blocks where it is not possible to implement the LUP due to high costs, or existing technical and site constraints, HDB added.
But it said it will continue to explore new methods to bring down LUP costs, as well as other alternatives to improve accessibility for residents living in flats without direct lift access.

LITTLEREDDOT

Your picture: Don’t let home owners obstruct pavement in front of their homes​

SmartSelect20230115175829WhatsApp.jpg

PHOTO: TEO KIAN BOON

Jan 17, 2023

There needs to be easy and unblocked access to common walkways and public areas in case of emergencies such as fires.
In recent years, within the estate I live in, I have seen more landed home owners using items such as flowerpots, trash bins, and even garden furniture and swings, to block off access to the pavement outside their property.
This makes the stretch of pavement directly outside their main gate an almost-private access point to their homes.
The items block the public pathway, and pedestrians need to walk along the road instead. Pushing a pram through is impossible as well.
I reported this issue through the OneServices app last November. The authorities checked the site and advised the residents not to place articles that would obstruct pedestrians. The items outside some houses were then removed. But after a few weeks, the items were back.
Pedestrians forced to walk on the road instead of the pavement are at risk of being hit by vehicles. The home owners’ practice of blocking the pavement also poses a danger to themselves and their neighbours should a fire occur.
The authorities should take sterner action before an accident happens.

Teo Kian Boon

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Take steps to protect people walking below from high-rise littering​

JAN 16, 2023

An area that was not highlighted in the report on the proposed change to the law on high-rise littering (Proposed law on littering puts onus of proof on flat owners, Jan 10) is the danger posed by objects that fall from a height to the people walking below. The danger is even greater if we add in the risk of falling windows and air-conditioning units.
The National Environment Agency said there may be more cases of high-rise littering with more flats, which are taller and denser, being built. This would be a disturbing trend.
How are we going to protect the people who are walking below? Deterring flat residents from littering is not enough, and action must be taken on the ground to reduce the possibility of injury from falling objects.
I proposed in a previous letter that people walking in and out of void decks should be channelled away from window openings, and that awnings should be built for protection if regular passages have to go under the window openings (Take more steps to protect those walking below from falling objects, Dec 20, 2021).
If this is not feasible, what other physical measures can be taken? We should take concrete action now before more people are hurt.

Foo Chek Boon

Bacccarat

KNN

You email them.
They don't read your contents carefully.
They will just anyhow, like a chimpanzee, choose a template to reply you,
which is totally irrelevant to your query.

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Problem persists two years after feedback was given​

Jan 19, 2023

I agree with Mr Bernard C.G. Law that action needs to be taken quickly to resolve complaints made to town councils (Town councils and residents must aim for happier living spaces, Jan 17).
In March 2021, I wrote about the potential hazard posed by Housing Board flat residents who had placed potted plants on their window ledges (Do more to remove potential killer litter, March 6, 2021).
The HDB responded, and said it had contacted the residents to remove those plants, and that they had since repositioned the plants safely (Residents play role in maintaining safe environment, March 19, 2021).
But almost two years later, the problem persists.
It sometimes feels like people like myself who bother to give feedback have wasted their time by doing so.

Mohamad Nurhafiz Mohd Noor

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Illegally parked trailer still there despite repeated feedback​

Jan 25, 2023

I reported the illegal parking of a flatbed trailer alongside the kerb in Tuas South Avenue 9 through the OneService app on Jan 11 (Fewer vans, mini lorries parking illegally at hot spots in Woodlands, Jan 15).
I received a reply from the Land Transport Authority that a parking warden visited the reported location and that action was taken against the motorist.
However, the same trailer is still there. I reported it again on Jan 13, and received the same reply. This made me wonder whether I was receiving automated replies, and whether any action had ever been taken.
I am very concerned about such illegal parking as a colleague of mine will need to use a wheelchair for the rest of his life after driving into the back of a flatbed trailer that was also parked illegally in a different spot at night. There was no hazard or warning light on the vehicle, and the road was poorly lit.
The authorities should take stern action against the company that owns the trailer before another accident happens.

Mariah Ng Lai Keng

rodent2005

Forum: Equip polyclinics to make more accurate diagnoses for eye care emergencies​

Dec 30, 2022

I recently experienced floaters in my left eye over the Christmas period, and I visited Ang Mo Kio Polyclinic immediately after the holiday.
The doctor was very informative and asked a number of questions to determine whether mine was an emergency case.
She made an urgent referral to Tan Tock Seng Hospital for an appointment. She also advised me that if my condition worsened or if I experienced light flashes, I should immediately go to the accident and emergency department, as it could mean that I had a retinal tear.
I appreciated the doctor’s explanation but was aware that the polyclinic did not have an optical scanner.
I then decided to consult a private specialist, who found that there was a retinal tear and immediately performed laser surgery to repair it. I ended up with an expensive medical bill.
This made me wonder if polyclinics are appropriately equipped. Why is there no eye scanner there so that a more accurate diagnosis can be made?
It has been a few days since my consultation at the polyclinic, and I still have not been given an appointment at the hospital.

Lui Poh Choo
Which part of "immediately go to accident and emergency department" does she not understand?

LITTLEREDDOT

North-South Corridor: 3 key gripes from residents and how LTA is dealing with them​

20220426416495456431e2da-079e-4217-b68b-325bd51bce7e_2.jpg

The North-South Corridor construction along Ang Mo Kio Ave 6. ST PHOTO: THADDEUS ANG
kokyufengg.png

Kok Yufeng
Transport Correspondent

Jan 25, 2023

SINGAPORE - Noise, vibrations and traffic diversions. These are the three major bugbears that residents and businesses near the upcoming North-South Corridor (NSC) have about the construction work that has been going on right at their doorsteps.
The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said that efforts are being made where possible to minimise these inconveniences.

Noise and vibrations​

Currently, the NSC works are largely centred on building diaphragm walls for the 12.3km of underground road tunnels that will be part of the integrated transport corridor.
The construction of these reinforced concrete walls – which form the foundation and permanent walls for the tunnels – is the main source of noise and vibrations that the residents have complained about.
These works are critical to safety, as the diaphragm walls protect existing structures and ensure the stability of the construction site. Hence, they must be completed in a continuous manner without stopping, said LTA.
This is why, even though the plan is for other noisy work to end by 10pm, diaphragm wall construction is often carried out late into the night.
LTA said the diaphragm walls are typically built in 6m segments, and it takes about a week to complete each panel, depending on the ground conditions.

The process involves excavating a trench, filling it with a stabilising fluid, inserting a steel cage, and then pouring in concrete to form the wall panel.
For the NSC, the diaphragm walls are being built to a depth of 20m to 50m, equivalent to seven to 16 storeys underground.
If there are hard rock layers to be excavated, more time and energy are needed, which in turn lead to more noise.

Vibrations may also be induced when the trench excavation for the diaphragm walls reaches the underground rock layer, the authority said.

Mitigation​

LTA said that it carries out daily real-time vibration and noise monitoring, and that pre-condition surveys are conducted by specialists before works begin so that these disturbances can be managed before and during construction.
Meanwhile, the physical measures put in place to reduce construction noise include the erection of temporary noise barriers near surrounding buildings.
Noise enclosures and mufflers are also fitted onto construction machinery to tackle the noise issue at the source.
Inflatable noise barriers are added where feasible.
However, these preventive measures have their limits.
For instance, the noise barriers cannot be built too high as taller barriers require larger foundations, and the machines cannot be completely enclosed as this poses a risk of overheating.

Traffic diversions​

The NSC is being built in densely built-up areas, which means there is limited space for LTA and its contractors to manoeuvre. Road traffic has to be diverted as a result, to make room for the construction works.
For instance, traffic junctions in Novena have been reconfigured twice already – in October 2020, and again in October 2022.
LTA said such traffic diversions are implemented during off-peak hours to minimise disruptions. They are planned such that traffic is passable in all directions throughout the duration of the construction works.
The impact of the diversions is also monitored continuously, and adjustments are made to the traffic scheme and traffic light timings, if necessary, LTA added.
“We constantly have to compete for space to do our work safely but, at the same time, not disrupt traffic too much. So, it is a delicate balance,” Mr Ang Mau Koon, an LTA deputy director for the NSC project, said.
202212236932190846e35d0f-5bea-4462-8ea8-82a361e52f10_2.jpg

The North-South corridor construction along Thomson Road on Dec 23, 2022. The physical measures put in place to reduce construction noise include the erection of temporary noise barriers near surrounding buildings. ST PHOTO: KEVIN LIM

Engagement​

For Mr Ang and the NSC project team, talking to affected residents, businesses and other stakeholders has also been a major aspect of their work.
He said LTA collects feedback through engagement with stakeholders and makes improvements where possible.
For instance, if there are new products that can better shield against the construction noise, LTA will encourage NSC contractors to use them.
LTA said it also works closely with residents to inform them of upcoming works.
This is done through circulars, regular project updates to grassroots advisers and community leaders, as well as LTA’s social media platforms.
Other engagement efforts include door-to-door visits, town-hall meetings and roadshows.
Mr Ang said: “Stakeholder management is very important. Thankfully, most people are quite understanding.”