• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The official Ng E JAY discussion thread.

cleareyes

Re: Shafie, Isrizal, JOhn Tan go to jail. NG E JAY?????

Anybody knows where is the humsup lawyer and the flirtatious fishmonger wife with 2 kids ?

Seems like they have MIA from this new forum.

I can see now who is the biggest threat to all of you that you have to spend so much time putting his name now.

No wonder you will never get a chance to even join any political grouping.

ektay

Re: NG E Jay kakis Wayang Madmen now backstab Tan Kin Lian

Wayang party leader stinko change-t-shirt-then-plead-guilty NG E JAY is a real STINKO. His name so STINK he not dare show face at SDP meetings liao.

LOL!

You right. His politic career is OVER!

Who want to vote for a sabo king??

Ng E-Jay have any in the first instance? hahaha.

this fucker is only good at posting fuck reports in geylang.

Re: The official Ng E JAY bashing thread.

he's the clonemaster who can take on many characters. if he dun make it as phd, he could always be an actor. u will see him appearing soon. count from 1 to 20 :smile:

guavatree

he's the clonemaster who can take on many characters. if he dun make it as phd, he could always be an actor. u will see him appearing soon. count from 1 to 20 :smile:

unemployed chao ah kwa PAP dog

why are you so jealous of him?

LOL

guavatree

NERRY X'MAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!:smile::cool:

still got merry and happy meh?

ripbob_sim.png

ngejay should be very proud. 3k+ postings. obviously, he's notoriously inteteresting to attract such a following:smile:

Porfirio Rubirosa

Does Ng E-Jay Expect Local Lawyers To Work For Free Or For Peanuts InMinibonds Case

I think Ng E-Jay may have gone abit too far in this article of his.

On what reasonable fair equitable basis does Ng E-Jay think justifies the Lehman Minibonds/Structured Products retail investors to Free or Heavily discounted legal advice?

In any event, I would be surprised if the retail investors would not be able to avail themselves of a top independent Senior Counsel if they were willing to Pay for his professional services, and rightly so I should add, because presently I see no reasonable fair justification for any local legal counsel to provide 'National Service' to this group of retail investors.

Btw Ng E-Jay, if you want a name of a top independent Senior Counsel, I would look no further than the present Singapore law society president himself, Michael Hwang SC
:wink:

Tan Kin Lian’s final rally for investors at Speaker’s Corner: The authorities have done little to help investors
December 27, 2008 by admin
Filed under: Current Affairs, Financial Matters

Written by Ng E-Jay
27 December 2008

At the final rally for investors at Speaker’s Corner, Mr Tan Kin Lian lambasted MAS for doing scant little to assist investors, many of whom have lost their life savings. Financial institutions have also given very little compensation to investors, and frequently have dragged the cases and not even bothered to give investors a satisfactory reply.

Addressing a rally of around 150-200 people, Mr Tan Kin Lian gave a brief overview of the actions he has taken thus far. He has submitted a total of 4 petitions over the past three months, of which 3 were presented to MAS. The petitions were aimed at:

asking the Government to look into any possible wrong doings by the financial institutions, in particular, whether the Financial Advisers Act and the Security and Futures Act had been breached,
asking the MAS to investigate the sales training given by the financial institutions to their representatives, and
asking the MAS to review the complaint handling process of the financial institutions, to set up an independent unit to receive and process the complaints, and to encourage the financial institutions to adopt a collective approach in offering fair compensation to the investors.
However, MAS has insisted that it cannot respond to Mr Tan or any individual investor directly, and would only communicate its intentions via official press releases. To date, Mr Tan has not received any communication on whether the specific requests contained in the petitions has been considered or implemented.

Mr Tan Kin Lian also went through the results of the survey which he conducted. The results are posted here.

Out of 16 investors who replied to the survey, the financial institution had rejected 9 cases. Compensation was offered for 1 case, where the amount invested was $20,000 and the investor was younger than 62 years. The rest of the cases are still pending.

Of those decisions already made, the decision were provided after an average of 6 ½ weeks. This is significantly longer than the 4 week period stipulated by MAS.

Out of the 16 cases, 2 have been lodged with Fidrec. One case could not go to Fidrec as the amount of compensation asked for was over $50,000.

Overall, investors expressed discouragement and disappointment at the complaints process.

According to Mr Tan Kin Lian, he estimates that around 95% of the complaints which were received by the financial institutions and which have been given a response have been rejected outright. There are still many cases outstanding which have yet to be given a response, despite MAS’ stipulation that financial institutions should respond to complaints within 4 weeks of receiving them.

Of the few cases that have been submitted to Fidrec, even fewer have received any response whatsoever. It is clear the authorities are pussyfooting and dragging their feet on the matter.

Over the past three months, not much action has been taken by the authorities to address investors rights and concerns, and there is a growing impatience on the ground. The case for a class action lawsuit is getting clearer by the day, despite Mr Tan’s repeated insistence that it should only be used as a last resort.

Singapore lawyers do NOT dare to represent investors
Mr Tan Kin Lian recounted with very grave disappointment that he experienced tremendous difficulty procuring legal assistance for investors. (This is in stark contrast to Ms Sylvia Lim’s assertion at the IBA Conference in 2007 that WP has no problem finding lawyers — perhaps Ms Lim should step forward to help rope in lawyers for Mr Tan Kin Lian.)

Many senior lawyers whom Mr Tan spoke to were too afraid to step forward to provide legal aid or to represent investors because of their ties with the financial institutions. They were fearful of offending the banks, thinking that if they helped investors, the banks might cut them off.

Other lawyers whom Mr Tan has known personally for 10-20 years have also responded negatively to him, citing issues with compensation. These lawyers would not spend the time to read the prospectus and research into the case without first receiving payment, which can be very expensive.

My response is: Has civic-mindedness and social responsibility gone completely out of the window? Are Singapore lawyers so afraid for their livelihood that they do not dare to assist fellow citizens in times of need, or are they so materialistic and caught up in the rat race that they refuse to even spend a little time researching the cases to see if they can be fought in Court?

The attitudes of Singapore lawyers are truly disappointing. With our legal profession having castrated itself, no wonder the authorities dare to wayang and deny Singaporeans their basic rights.

The Minibond group in particular had spoken to 6 or 7 lawyers concerning their case, but none of them were willing to take it up.

Finally however, there was one lawyer who expressed willingness to step forward to represent the Minibond investors. He is Mr Leonard Loo. So far, Mr Loo has managed to contact around 200 investors for possible legal representation. The maximum amount that each investor would have to pay in the event a class action lawsuit is initiated is $4,800.

There are some Minibond investors who are concerned Mr Loo may be too young and inexperienced to take on such a complex case, but Mr Loo assured investors that he is receiving assistance from some senior lawyers on the matter.

So far, Mr Loo is the only lawyer in the whole of Singapore who has not only expressed willingness to represent investors in a class action lawsuit, but has already begun the process of researching into the cases and proactively reaching out to investors.

Mr Leonard Loo will give a briefing to Minibond investors next Tuesday. The details are:

Date: Tuesday 30th December 2008
Time: 7 to 9 .30 pm (registration starts at 6 pm )
Venue: Singapore Polytechnic Graduates Guild House
1010 Dover Road Singapore 139658
Admission: Free (Register online here)

Photo of Mr Leonard Loo at Speaker’s Corner, 27 Dec 2008:

Another lawyer has also come forward to offer some assistance, but he does not know the products very well and is too busy to study them in detail. This lawyer has approached a Queen’s Counsel to seek his opinion on whether a class action lawsuit is feasible. Mr Tan Kin Lian will ask someone to pay the initial consultation fee for the Queen’s Counsel, which will come up to around $10-$20K.
In Mr Tan’s opinion, the entire legal process, if it really does go through, can take a very long time. The bank will also likely lodge an appeal in the event of any ruling in favour of investors. Hence, Mr Tan is of the opinion that investors should carefully consider any settlement offered by the banks.

The banks are unlikely to offer full compensation as they only receive 3-5% commission for selling the product. However, 50% compensation would be deemed fair.

Furthermore, in Mr Tan’s opinion, the banks are only likely to offer compensation to investors who participated in the class action lawsuit.

To wrap up, Mr Tan Kin Lian said that in the past three months of campaigning, the results have been discouraging, but he has done his best. He encouraged investors to join their respective investor groups.

After Mr Tan spoke, Mr Leonard Loo spoke briefly to the crowd, urging them to seek legal help if they have not been fairly compensated. When seeking legal help, investors should get ready the following documents which they exchanged with the financial institutions:

application form for the original product
risk profile analysis
prospectus of the product
Mr Loo also reiterated Mr Tan Kin Lian’s advice that investors should seriously consider any out-of-court settlement offered by the banks.

Re: Does Ng E-Jay Expect Local Lawyers To Work For Free Or For Peanuts InMinibonds Ca

may we know why suddenly NGEJAY is now your favorite topic? for bashing, for discussion or is there something that need to be revealed here?:rolleyes:

guavatree

Re: Does Ng E-Jay Expect Local Lawyers To Work For Free Or For Peanuts InMinibonds Ca

may we know why suddenly NGEJAY is now your favorite topic? for bashing, for discussion or is there something that need to be revealed here?:

bapok fake monk PAP dog

don't be jealous lah!

your only other life apart from sucking PAP lanjiaos

is to prostitute yourself in cyberspace!

yep!! ngejay is probably reading this and reacting with gusto!:smile:

[On what reasonable fair equitable basis does Ng E-Jay think justifies the Lehman Minibonds/Structured Products retail investors to Free or Heavily discounted legal advice?]

the same reason they were using that "righteous" lawyers should stand out and fight for the 18 TBT clowns - probably for free or at a special rate per hour....definitely not $300 per hour but maybe $30/hr:p or best of all - FREE OF CHARGE so that they could go against the laws more frequently.

lockeliberal

Dear Porifirio

And he has a personal bug bear against SL seeing as how he seems to want to bring her IBA's comments into every other issue. Note nothing wrong with half the top lawyers being on retainer with the top banks and stock brokers, banks being rich would naturally in the scheme of things have top lawyers working for them on many on going cases distinct from the mini bonds. Nothing wrong with the other half demanding compensation or talking about payment, they are legal sharks after all, pay peanuts get monkeys, free lawyers for human rights activists , free lawyers for ripped off investors grin whats next lawyers working for free for peanuts love and fresh air ?

Though he should know, sometimes when u get a "free lawyer" he might abandon the case after one or two press conferences and a public appeal for donations to his personal bank account, complaining about excessive work.

Locke

or you can have very sophisticated lawyer who runs away with either your cash or ur wife or both.:p

BobKHSim

or you can have very sophisticated lawyer who runs away with either your cash or ur wife or both.:p

bapok you're more sophisticated leh

so many temples you stole money only one temple asked you to fuck off!

Porfirio Rubirosa

Ng E-Jay appears to be disingenuous here and in this regard I am being quite polite.

It is obvious and natural that big, medium size and even some small law firms would have ties and links one way or another with the FIs, we live in a free market capitalist system afterall so you cannot blame these law firms for the obvious conflict.

Be that as it may, there appears to be more than enough other law firms out there with senior lawyers of more than 15 years and above call with appropriate experience and expertise to take on this case. Furthermore like I said in my initial post above, there also appears to be afew top independent Senior Counsel out there who should have no problems spearheading such a case, first off the bat would possibly be Michael Hwang SC.

All is required is the $$$ to pay for their legal fees. And I see no reasonable fair reason to justify why legal counsel should not be paid their going rate in such a case.

This purported aggrieved retail investor group needs to be told loud and clear that there is no such thing as a pro bono free lunch unless they can provide a reasonable fair justification and thus far I cannot see one.

Ng E-Jay's apparent attack on the legal profession appears to be misconceived and based on flawed logic at the very minimum. He would be better advised to continue to keep his guns pointed at more possible culpable parties like MAS instead.

Dear Porifirio

And he has a personal bug bear against SL seeing as how he seems to want to bring her IBA's comments into every other issue. Note nothing wrong with half the top lawyers being on retainer with the top banks and stock brokers, banks being rich would naturally in the scheme of things have top lawyers working for them on many on going cases distinct from the mini bonds. Nothing wrong with the other half demanding compensation or talking about payment they are sharks after all, pay peanuts get monkeys, free lawyers for human rights activists , free lawyers from ripped off investors grin whats next lawyers work for peanuts ?

Ouch....

Though he should know sometimes when u get a "free lawyer" he abandons the case after one or two press conferences and a public appeal for donations to his personal bank account complaining about excessive work.

Locke

wayangbaobao

Singapore lawyers do NOT dare to represent investors, like you-know-who did not dare to face trial. He never mention his deed???

Perspective

I think Ng E-Jay may have gone abit too far in this article of his.

On what reasonable fair equitable basis does Ng E-Jay think justifies the Lehman Minibonds/Structured Products retail investors to Free or Heavily discounted legal advice?

While I think it is not quite reasonable to expect lawyers to work for free, I do pity these investors because they deserve a non-financially taxing legal services and may not be able to afford hiring lawyers at usual rates.

If they hire a lawyer at basic rates, the sum may run up to nearly as much as what they invested, yet expecting lawyers to do pro-bono may be asking for too much.

I also think it may not be fair to say that the lawyers are afraid. It is not because they are afraid but, according to TKL, most senior lawyers have been hired by financial institutions and cannot represent two sides in the same trial. I wonder if anyone has seen a lawyer acting as a prosecution lawyer and defendant lawyer at the same time.

Perspective

Dear Porifirio

And he has a personal bug bear against SL seeing as how he seems to want to bring her IBA's comments into every other issue. Note nothing wrong with half the top lawyers being on retainer with the top banks and stock brokers, banks being rich would naturally in the scheme of things have top lawyers working for them on many on going cases distinct from the mini bonds. Nothing wrong with the other half demanding compensation or talking about payment, they are legal sharks after all, pay peanuts get monkeys, free lawyers for human rights activists , free lawyers for ripped off investors grin whats next lawyers working for free for peanuts love and fresh air ?

Though he should know, sometimes when u get a "free lawyer" he might abandon the case after one or two press conferences and a public appeal for donations to his personal bank account, complaining about excessive work.

Locke

I do not think it is fair to ask Sylvia Lim to do anything as I am not even sure if she still has her law license. For that matter, I understand that there are several lawyers in the opposition fraternity, such as M Ravi.