• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"Smoke Break" is an entitlement??

Wang Ye

Next time just start the meeting without him. Your job is to inform him of the meeting not cater the meeting to his convience.

suteerak1099

Hmmm, this brings me back to my Chao Recruit BMT days

Chao Recruit: Sergeant, can go for chop chop 5min smoke break???
Sergeant: Knock it down 20 first
Chao Recruits: YES SERGEANT!!!!

Suddenly from Zero Fighter on the chin up bar, i did 8 pull ups after smoke break training.

Sergeant: Smokers who don't get gold 1 week cannot have smoke break in camp!
Chao Recruit: wah!!!! "starts to jog everynight"

IPPT comes: Wah biang, from 15min for 2.4km become gold standard!!!
:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
hhahahaha... army daze. i've got another version to share too.

LCP: encik, we finished area cleaning liao, permission to go for canteen break?
CSM: ccb! i owe u one is it? how many extra u wanna sign? knn, limpeh still gotta attach 1 sect comd escort u all go canteen.
LCP: erh... ok ok... then how about smoke break?
CSM: ah... smoke break can! as long as within company line! make sure inside yellow box, if nt this wkend u all confine for area cleaning!
LCP: yes encik! (signals to platoon mates for smoke break)

eRRoRist

well, under the MOM guidelines, i dont think anything's stated about smoking/ toilet/ pantry breaks. basically, regardless if its a vice or not, it's not a given right.

if u gotta do it, if u gotta go, just go.... in the working world, there's no need to raise hands & seek permission to excuse 1self for watever reasons. we're all adults & can decide when we wanna give ourselves a break. n i dont think there's anything legit to justify reason/cause for 1's actions - for as lil as a 5min break.

so, tell us, wats so wrong about taking 5?

I have lost count of how many times I have to repeat myself, it's about the attitude of these smokers that is the topic of discussion.

This is exactly 1 of the smoker's attitude that needs to be question, "People need to go to toilet, I need to smoke, they go toilet whenever they need to, I go smoke when I need to. I am addicted to cigarette, I have no choice but to go when the urge comes. 5-10 mins only what, why so calculative??"

You tell me if there is anything wrong with this statement.

The reason smokers was brought up instead of, I don't know what serial toilet goer or chatty auntie or whatever, because I believe many people can relate to this, especially the non-smokers as to the smoker, it's perfectly normal and acceptable nothing to talk about. So don't need to be so defensive and pull in law, MNC practices, start comparing with other people or whatever you can think of and turn this into another "Woes of a tirak thread" :p As what we are discussing is the mindset, behavior and the not a big deal attitude.

Big Sexy

Smoking should be Ban... it doesn't do any good to human.
if we can ban the sale of chewing gums.. i dont know why we allow cigarette to be sold... AH LOONG... if u are reading this.. BAN IT..

We dislike 2nd hand smoke..:mad::mad: let;s have a smoke free city.. :biggrin: :biggrin:

this message is brought to you by someone who smoke up to 80 sticks a day..but have since quitted it.

Wang Ye

Smoking should be Ban... it doesn't do any good to human.
if we can ban the sale of chewing gums.. i dont know why we allow cigarette to be sold... AH LOONG... if u are reading this.. BAN IT..

We dislike 2nd hand smoke..:mad::mad: let;s have a smoke free city.. :biggrin: :biggrin:

this message is brought to you by someone who smoke up to 80 sticks a day..but have since quitted it.

Noooooo! We should increase the tax on cigarettes! I suggest a health tax! :biggrin:

Big Sexy

actually imo.. one of the reason why the government dont want to totally ban smoking is because of the tax from the cigarettes.. the tax must be something like more than 300%.. what other product can they put so much tax on????
Smokers still gong gong give so much tax to the government.. :biggrin: :biggrin:

this is only my opinion hor ah loong.. and i am most likely to be wrong.. :biggrin: :biggrin:

Noooooo! We should increase the tax on cigarettes! I suggest a health tax! :biggrin:

suteerak1099

I have lost count of how many times I have to repeat myself, it's about the attitude of these smokers that is the topic of discussion.

This is exactly 1 of the smoker's attitude that needs to be question, "People need to go to toilet, I need to smoke, they go toilet whenever they need to, I go smoke when I need to. I am addicted to cigarette, I have no choice but to go when the urge comes. 5-10 mins only what, why so calculative??"

You tell me if there is anything wrong with this statement.

The reason smokers was brought up instead of, I don't know what serial toilet goer or chatty auntie or whatever, because I believe many people can relate to this, especially the non-smokers as to the smoker, it's perfectly normal and acceptable nothing to talk about. So don't need to be so defensive and pull in law, MNC practices, start comparing with other people or whatever you can think of and turn this into another "Woes of a tirak thread" :p As what we are discussing is the mindset, behavior and the not a big deal attitude.
hehehe talk about attitude/mindset? well, i think the same logic applies to all regardless if smoker taking smoke breaks, or serial toilet goers... etc. :p

suteerak1099

..... this message is brought to you by someone who smoke up to 80 sticks a day..but have since quitted it.
80stix a day? u bought cigarettes by the cartons or by the containers?

bottomline, to smoke or not to smoke, i think each has his own capacity. be it really deep pockets that can make 1 a mobile chimney, and/or expendable health that can permit accelerated suicide via cigarettes.

suteerak1099

actually imo.. one of the reason why the government dont want to totally ban smoking is because of the tax from the cigarettes.. the tax must be something like more than 300%.. what other product can they put so much tax on????
Smokers still gong gong give so much tax to the government.. :biggrin: :biggrin:

this is only my opinion hor ah loong.. and i am most likely to be wrong.. :biggrin: :biggrin:
perhaps tapping on condoms would be the next source for profiteering taxation? who knows, it just might help to increase child births.... except maybe more shotguns than from legit marriages. :eek:

banova888

I simply don't understand why smokers think it's their god given right to just go off on "smoke breaks" at work. We've all seen it, 10 extra mins after lunch, bring a cup of coffee/can of drink out in the middle of work, after/before meetings...etc...

So is this right?? While everyone is at work, being an addict entitles them to go off whenever they feel like it, so that they can drink, smoke and chat with their smoking buddy?? Sometime disrupting or delaying other people's work. Must we be considerate to these kind of people and don't be so calculative?? Should smokers be thankful for other people's consideration and treat it as a privilege instead of an entitlement??

This is just the work aspect, there are plenty of another things to talk if we want to open up this can of worms. :o

This is a war between smokers and non smokers. Smokers will have thousands of excuses as to why they smoke. Non smokers wilolo come with thousands of reasons against them.

So far, non smokers are winning as smoking is banned in a lot of places. Working place is one of them. If you are not happy with smokers taking too many breaks and suspect that some non smokers acting like smokers in order to enjoy these breaks, why not allow smokers to smoke in their working place?

banova888

No, I am discussing the issue fairly rationally. All workers (smoking or non smoking) take breaks. E.g. toilet breaks, coffee breaks etc. And whatever these breaks are, both smokers and non smokers take them. The difference is that smokers take one additional type of break- smoking break. And they can do this several times in the course of the work day.

The poster is just asking why is this allowed? That is a very valid question.

Then create an environment where smokers and non smokers can work in peace. Just like in coffeshops, there is an area for smokers. Create a section for smoking workers and then you will see who takes more toilet breaks:rolleyes:

banova888

Actually, if there are people who don't mind sitting in the vicinity of smokers, that's fine. Tables should not be "reserved" for smokers. The yellow zone simply mean that smoking is allowed there. It does not mean that only smokers can sit there or those who sit there must definitely smoke. Tell your friend this. In any case, I find it incredibly silly and inconsiderate to sit around and smoke after a meal. Especially if there are people waiting for your table.

I have also seen people smoking WHILE they are eating. That's the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen in my life.

Whether people smoke or not, they never stand up and leave immediately after eating.

Smoking area is meant for smokers. If you are a non smoker, stay away from the smokers area. Non smokers have 80% of the space in any coffeeshop allocated to them. What are they trying to prove by sitting in designated smoking areas? Are these the same people who steal parking lots allocated for handicap people?

Smokers are not handicaps; but if smoking is so bad, why not ban it in Singapore?

banova888

Of course taking any breaks excessively is wrong. But smoke break is "special" cos smokers DIE DIE have to take them. And that is presumably on top of whatever other breaks their non smoking colleagues take. Do you see the point the poster is trying to say?

Then smokers should get lower pay than non smoker.[/QUOTE]

If you allow smoking in the workplace, there is no excuse for a smoker to take a smoke break.

banova888

perhaps tapping on condoms would be the next source for profiteering taxation? who knows, it just might help to increase child births.... except maybe more shotguns than from legit marriages. :eek:

Good idea. They can start by increasing the price of condoms in Singapore; just like they did with cigarettes. Bringing condoms from other countries is illegal (same as tobacco). Fine for illegal condoms should be the same as tobacco.

if anyone can invent cigarettes without smell & smoke, than pls smoke til u die for all i care..

if not, pls find a secluded corner and smoke..

silverfox@

What I'm trying to address here is is their attitude. They think it's their god given right. So next time if you ask someone to do something or go for a meeting, he say wait 10 mins I need to smoke first, like it's their entitlement, so we must be considerate??

So if I'm a non-smoker, but I feel like taking a break so I just take the lift down, buy a drink and walk around for 10 mins a few times everyday, what would my boss think of me??

maybe you can look at it this way. they take 10 mins off their work to finish 5 minutes of their life with a stick:o

I think i rather not be in their position.

silverfox@

hehehe talk about attitude/mindset? well, i think the same logic applies to all regardless if smoker taking smoke breaks, or serial toilet goers... etc. :p

What eRRoRist means is what gives a smoker the right to take 10 minutes off his work just because he smokes?

1 Smoker vs 1 non-Smoker.
both get paid the same. Same time go to work, same time knock off. same period of lunch breaks, tea breaks, but if the smoker goes smoke 1 stick takes 10 mins off, 1 day smoke 5 sticks, takes a 50 minutes off.

As for toilet goers, its a call of nature. Not everybody smokes, but everybody have to pang jio and pang sai.

If let's say you set up your own company and not working for others, and you have 30 workers. 1/3 are smokers and each take 10 mins off work to smoke a stick, 1 day 50 mins each at least. Do you think somewhere or somehow there must be a limit?

maybe you can look at it this way. they take 10 mins off their work to finish 5 minutes of their life with a stick:o

I think i rather not be in their position.
Silverfox
Seems from what you say here that you are a non smoker.
How then do you handle the cigarette smoke that you encounter in the casinoes? The terrible pollution is one of the reasons I don't like going to casinoes. Losing is probably the bigger reason. :smile:

silverfox@

Silverfox
Seems from what you say here that you are a non smoker.
How then do you handle the cigarette smoke that you encounter in the casinoes? The terrible pollution is one of the reasons I don't like going to casinoes. Losing is probably the bigger reason. :smile:

There is the non-smoking section:p

suteerak1099

What eRRoRist means is what gives a smoker the right to take 10 minutes off his work just because he smokes?

1 Smoker vs 1 non-Smoker.
both get paid the same. Same time go to work, same time knock off. same period of lunch breaks, tea breaks, but if the smoker goes smoke 1 stick takes 10 mins off, 1 day smoke 5 sticks, takes a 50 minutes off.

As for toilet goers, its a call of nature. Not everybody smokes, but everybody have to pang jio and pang sai.

If let's say you set up your own company and not working for others, and you have 30 workers. 1/3 are smokers and each take 10 mins off work to smoke a stick, 1 day 50 mins each at least. Do you think somewhere or somehow there must be a limit?
call of nature can also be induced my fren. in my yrs of experience, i've witnessed plenty who conduct their own water parade, so much so that they visit the toilet excessively. on avg, each visit to & from the desk to the pantry takes avg 5min, and the toilet visits can vary between 10~15min (total avg: 15~20min). smokers likewise have the habit of taking 5 or 10min... bt at the end of the day, regardless how many times each takes their self declared "god given" breaks, if they dont produce results, they've got some answering to do come the next appraisal.

at the end of the day, there's no written rule to restrict any from taking how many min during the 8-9 working hours in the "letter of appointment/contract". each is entitled the same rights to manage their own time vs deadlines vs projected targets/deliverables.

me being an employer? i personally dont have discrimination to whoever takes more breaks than another. for it is an invisible rule, that if 1 fails to complete the day's load of work, he/she/they shall have to put in the extra hours to get the work done.