• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's hidden history

This case involving Freddy Lee shattered the myth of old man's whiter than white reputation. It was a start of what became an evoving relationship with the stock broking fraternity, the marriage of another brother with Gloria Lee, the Ong Beng Seng connection.

Freddy was placed there because Old Goat was too big a volume player in the stocks market to conceal his total involvement. All his trades go thru Freddy and ballas, and Freddy is there to jagar his accounts and maintain his privacy. he and Freddy don't really get along anyway. I heard Freddy had to make appointments with his secretary to see him. Hahaha. His own brother has to make an appointment, like some subordinate. What is not known is during the first stock market crash in Singapore in the 70s, he ordered the stock exchange to suspend trading due to the fact his portfolio was taking a bad hit. Must be nice to be omnipotent.

Bro, better not write any book. Your information is always incorrect. If you want to write, just write about your time in the Navy.

The dead chap was not a customs officer or even the head. He was one of 3 directors of a HK company that bribed British American Tobacco and HK Customs officers to remove cigarettes from bonded warehouse for smuggling. The chap was a resident of Singapore when he was approached by local authorities and ICAC to turn on his partners. He did not want to lose his residency and his Singapore home and family. He thus agreed to cooperate. He was not brought to Singapore by ICAC to hide. Neither did he steal the money and the goods. He just caved in and gave a statement implicating his partners.

The hit was then ordered and his body was found floating off Clifford Pier. He was abducted from his car, beaten up, bound and gagged including his face wrapped with masking tape and put in a laundry bag and padlocked. While still alive, he was thrown into the sea. The recovered body also had the name card of an Intelligence Senior Officer of a Singapore body.

In his recovered car, 3 keys were place in a triad configuration for betrayal. It was the sign of a smaller triad gang called Wo On Lok. A clear message to all.

It was the first time a hit was carried out by the HK Triad in Singapore. Previously there were skirmishes such as the Dynasty Hotel when they rounded up.

The victim was the Director of Customs in HK when he got involved with the cigarette smuggling syndicates...... he double-crossed them by taking their money and their goods :p

When the word spread there is a contract out on his head and what he had done.... the ICAC brought him in and he turned prosecution witness and took cover in Singkieland but eventually the triads caught up with him.

Poor guy.... he never got to enjoy his ill gotten gains. :p

It was not the Japanese Yakuza. The Japanese business community had grown very big by the 80s, with ventures in shipbuilding, oil, factories in Jurong and appealed to the Govt to provide Niteclubs to serve Japanese clients as they found the local clubs not to their taste.

The first attempt failed. Subsequently it was setup rightly and they had string of clubs and the head office was in Raffles Place and their bankers were Chase Manahattan Bank. It was facilitated by EDB to keep the Japanese businessmen happy. The owners are Japanese.

The Japanese Yakuza oso tried to make entry via nightclub business in the Shopping Complex (now demolished) beside the Rolex building in Orchard back in the early 80s....... nightspot was all ready to start operations but the approval never came...... after waiting for almost a year still no approval they aborted the plans. :wink:

When the company realised that wit automation and online, their fees was going to drop, sold to DBS and the brother pocketed a cool $50 million.
Freddy was placed there because Old Goat was too big a volume player in the stocks market to conceal his total involvement. All his trades go thru Freddy and ballas, and Freddy is there to jagar his accounts and maintain his privacy. he and Freddy don't really get along anyway. I heard Freddy had to make appointments with his secretary to see him. Hahaha. His own brother has to make an appointment, like some subordinate. What is not known is during the first stock market crash in Singapore in the 70s, he ordered the stock exchange to suspend trading due to the fact his portfolio was taking a bad hit. Must be nice to be omnipotent.

It was the first time a hit was carried out by the HK Triad in Singapore. Previously there were skirmishes such as the Dynasty Hotel when they rounded up.

Speaking of Dynasty Hotel, I recall a bomb going off there during the construction phase, in the car park, if I recall. I don't think they solve that one either.

We met before? I was part of the team shadowing the army sergeant..... and then monitoring his case until his conviction :biggrin:

Maybe our paths crossed in the past. Not sure if the case was solved. I am aware the mastermind is now living in an ASEAN country. Very influential man who goes around in shabby clothes and Japanese slippers. But, terribly loaded with cash. Deceased was pregnant when kena the bomb.

It was not the Japanese Yakuza. The Japanese business community had grown very big by the 80s, with ventures in shipbuilding, oil, factories in Jurong and appealed to the Govt to provide Niteclubs to serve Japanese clients as they found the local clubs not to their taste.

The first attempt failed. Subsequently it was setup rightly and they had string of clubs and the head office was in Raffles Place and their bankers were Chase Manahattan Bank. It was facilitated by EDB to keep the Japanese businessmen happy. The owners are Japanese.

Aurora? Arabesque? I think they had a Jap restaurant too.

A bit?

If you must know..... with the 2 IRs here.... even our local gangsters are working for them now..... they are raking in millions just from their junket operations and there is nothing the local authorities can do about it..... I suspect they may not even be aware of its existence given the incompetence of our world class poodles. :o

From my limited knowledge, foreign gangs have not appeared. The junkets are predominantly locals. M'sians are there too.

While the CRA and CCIB are overly zealous in all matters related to casino crime, both casinos close both eyes to the junkets operating in the VIP rooms.

They need these junkets, especially RWS. Even their CCTVs in certain rooms are strategically placed to avoid capturing junket activities. I read in the papers that RWS was given a warning recently for violating the positioning of some CCTVs.

Bro, better not write any book. Your information is always incorrect. If you want to write, just write about your time in the Navy.

The dead chap was not a customs officer or even the head. He was one of 3 directors of a HK company that bribed British American Tobacco and HK Customs officers to remove cigarettes from bonded warehouse for smuggling. The chap was a resident of Singapore when he was approached by local authorities and ICAC to turn on his partners. He did not want to lose his residency and his Singapore home and family. He thus agreed to cooperate. He was not brought to Singapore by ICAC to hide. Neither did he steal the money and the goods. He just caved in and gave a statement implicating his partners.

The hit was then ordered and his body was found floating off Clifford Pier. He was abducted from his car, beaten up, bound and gagged including his face wrapped with masking tape and put in a laundry bag and padlocked. While still alive, he was thrown into the sea. The recovered body also had the name card of an Intelligence Senior Officer of a Singapore body.

In his recovered car, 3 keys were place in a triad configuration for betrayal. It was the sign of a smaller triad gang called Wo On Lok. A clear message to all.

Thanks. Isn't it scary that such things can happen here? To exacerbate matters, our police could do nothing! I don't think it takes a genius to solve this case. If police's ground intel is solid, the people involved are still around.

Our problem is that the men on the ground do not operate like they used to. Nowdays its a 9 to 5 job and then drive back to HDB flat, Condo or landed property. No intel, no local knowledge, no connections etc. Imagine the killers were bold enough to identify their gang association.

Imagine SIS involved in investigating the case involving Seelan, his girlfriend Rachel and the flabby harmless Jarrod.

Thanks. Isn't it scary that such things can happen here? To exacerbate matters, our police could do nothing! I don't think it takes a genius to solve this case. If police's ground intel is solid, the people involved are still around.

Our problem is that the men on the ground do not operate like they used to. Nowdays its a 9 to 5 job and then drive back to HDB flat, Condo or landed property. No intel, no local knowledge, no connections etc. Imagine the killers were bold enough to identify their gang association.

Imagine SIS involved in investigating the case involving Seelan, his girlfriend Rachel and the flabby harmless Jarrod.

The old-timers are retired. They were useful in the past coz they associated with the 'right' people. The young ones today are like babies, sucking their mummies' breast for milk. Those with some seniority on ground matters presently dare not associate with dubious characters for fear of disciplinary action.

Such sources of valueable info are always in the gambling dens, massage parlours, fuckshops in Geylang, nightclubs etc. Policemen today fear their own shadows. They fear associating with these characters. And with all the young men in their intel services, how to 'link' with the old-timers from the SS and triads. They treat these youngsters like their sons! There is a big gap.

Recently, Shan assured SL our intelligence agencies are doing ok when SL queried him on the recent spate of stabbing and slashing cases related to street corner gangs. He was talking cock! There again, he has always been talking cock like Ling How Doong, the goondu.

When something major happens, the top wants info. They fail to realise that sources only give you info when they are adequately taken care of. They are not prostitutes - pay for info. Trust must be present for someone in-the-know to disclose critical info. There is always danger being an informer of critical info.

What we have today is the blind leading the blind. Honestly, how can the top lead when they know zero what is happening after 6pm in S'pore? They are more involved in how to score points to climb the ladder. You have scholars who put up papers which work in theory but never in reality.

The positive is the departure of KBH. While I have yet to hear anything positive on the current CP, he should be able to fare better than his predecessor.

Windsor

Sorry to make a slight correction here. My limited knowledge tells me that the junket/s you specifically refer to means a catered travel trip for gamblers to casinos usually arranged by junket companies. My brother-in-law often takes these free trips to Oz for gambling and golfing. People who goes on a junket are called junketeers. Not that it is important, but just for your information. For a group of junketeers, there is no such word.

From my limited knowledge, foreign gangs have not appeared. The junkets are predominantly locals. M'sians are there too.

While the CRA and CCIB are overly zealous in all matters related to casino crime, both casinos close both eyes to the junkets operating in the VIP rooms.

They need these junkets, especially RWS. Even their CCTVs in certain rooms are strategically placed to avoid capturing junket activities. I read in the papers that RWS was given a warning recently for violating the positioning of some CCTVs.

soikee

You've got it all wrong for the old fucker was never involved in the stock-market.

In 1973 when the S'pore stock-market was going through a bull run, it was he who sent the stock-market to crash. And this was
what he said, "the stock-market bubble must burst!" The STI plummeted from 650 points to 120 points in less than a year.

BTW the first time the S'pore stock market ever to suspend trading in its history was in 1981 for three days during the Pan El fiasco.

Sorry to make a slight correction here. My limited knowledge tells me that the junket/s you specifically refer to means a catered travel trip for gamblers to casinos usually arranged by junket companies. My brother-in-law often takes these free trips to Oz for gambling and golfing. People who goes on a junket are called junketeers. Not that it is important, but just for your information. For a group of junketeers, there is no such word.

Thanks for the added info. The term junkets is commonly used to refer to people or companies who bring in the gamblers to the casinos.