• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's Former President A WW2 War Hero! Survived 3 Gunfire Wounds! Medal Pls!

“And so I entered the employment of the Japanese civilian police (Keimubu), in which I stayed for the rest of the war, until the Japanese surrender,” wrote S R Nathan in his book, “An Unexpected Journey, Path to the Presidency”. His loyal service with the Nips would see him go through three inspector-generals of police (IGP).

working-for-Japanese-police-640x357.jpg

At the police headquarters in Johore Bahru, a report was received stating that the Malayan People’s Anti-Japanese Army (MPAJA) had attacked and occupied Segamat town for a few hours.

In late 1944, Nathan was asked by the IGP to accompany him on an inspection visit to a police post deep in the Kota Tinggi-Kluang triangle. Escorted by a platoon from the Special Police force, the Tokubetsu Keisatsu Tai, they arrived at the operational headquarters of the MPAJA Independent Regiment only to find it had been vacated earlier. On the return trip, there was an exchange of gunfire near Kangkar Sisir, the designated launch pick-up point. While washing up with the river water, Nathan thought the sting on his neck was an insect bite.

It was at the Johore Bahru General Hospital a few days later, where he had sought medication for a cold, that the examining doctor told him the “bite” was a gunfire wound: “My boy, you are damned lucky. Had it been half-an-inch different you would have been dead.” Three bullets had grazed his neck.

Informed, the IGP said he must have been the intended target, as Nathan was standing just behind him. As compensation, he was rewarded with an envelope of money and cartons of cigarettes which, said Nathan, fetched more than a month’s salary in the black market.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/05/08/nathan-had-a-close-shave/

looneytan

Re: Singapore's Former President A WW2 War Hero! Survived 3 Gunfire Wounds! Medal Pls

The other one was your Ah Gong... this one is your what?

Re: Singapore's Former President A WW2 War Hero! Survived 3 Gunfire Wounds! Medal Pls

The other one was your Ah Gong... this one is your what?

This one is a Singapore hero. He suffered under gunfire, just like any patriot fighting to defend his land from enemies. Singapore is so lucky that he moved from JB. I hope he would be given due recognition for the bravery he displayed during WW2.

looneytan

This one is a Singapore hero. He suffered under gunfire, just like any patriot fighting to defend his land from enemies. Singapore is so lucky that he moved from JB. I hope he would be given due recognition for the bravery he displayed during WW2.

fighting fuck leh! he was hiding, pooping when it happened ...
Sure, he will be given due recognition, someone oreddy wrote he expected to see prata walking east coast during the seventh month

Sideswipe

fuck you lah. he suffered under gunfire as a running dog of the Imperial Japanese Army and a traitor of Singapore.

That's your grossly misguided opinion.

Singapore doesn't think this way. Singapore honoured S R Nathan with the 'Order of Temasek' medal, a medal given out to only 7 people so far.

ST_20131111_PSAWARD11_3917469e.jpg

He was with the civilian police and with the special police went hunting for anti japs forces.
Which part is not traitor?
Ask the older folks who are the ones who join the japs? Anyone with any self respect would not want to have anything to do with the japs then.....and this chap was practically sleeping with the enemy

Sideswipe

That's your grossly misguided opinion.

Singapore doesn't think this way. Singapore honoured S R Nathan with the 'Order of Temasek' medal, a medal given out to only 7 people so far.

I really don't understand why Prataman and LKY were so proud to tell Singaporeans that they worked as traitors for the Japanese invaders then. if I was them, I would be so ashamed that I will never say a word of those traitorous wrongdoings to my family members let alone wrote books and happily tell the whole world about it. Traitor Prataman should be arrested, charged for ww2 treason and be executed at Major General Lim Bo Seng's grave.

That's because they are honest men. At least they dare to tell the people about their controversial past. It is then up to the people to decide whether to move on, lynch them or charge them in court. The sinkies in the 1950s and after that, decided to move on and let bygones be bygones. They voted in LKY for 10 consecutive GEs despite know that he worked for the Japs in WW2. The Singapore government also decided let S R Nathan rise through the ranks of the civil service despite him working for the japs. There was no public backlash.

Most sinkies have this same mindset; as long as you can provide jobs, security and overall better living conditions, sinkies will support you. LKY understood this basic truth about human behaviour, while morons like Chee and JBJ are forever yapping about "human rights" and "freedom".

palden

So black also Kenna hit. Lao lee Bo por bi?

Sideswipe

That's because they are honest men. At least they dare to tell the people about their controversial past. It is then up to the people to decide whether to move on, lynch them or charge them in court. The sinkies in the 1950s and after that, decided to move on and let bygones be bygones. They voted in LKY for 10 consecutive GEs despite know that he worked for the Japs in WW2. The Singapore government also decided let S R Nathan rise through the ranks of the civil service despite him working for the jobs. There was no public backlash.

Most sinkies have this same mindset; as long as you can provide jobs, security and overall better living conditions, sinkies will support you. LKY understood this basic truth about human behaviour, while morons like Chee and JBJ are forever yapping about "human rights" and "freedom".

to betray your country and people to the enemy is the worst act of wrongdoing in any race/culture. LKY lacked the morals to be the leader of Singapore in the first place. what honesty ? did LKY really come clean about his ww2 traitorous past with Sinkies in the 1950s ? did he tell them during the election rallies that he was a hanjian then ? if he did that, he will never be elected to public office.

looneytan

see! how prata made eye contact with the woman behind :rolleyes::rolleyes:

It has to do with the drug trade monopolized by the evil your colonial master Brit. All fingers point to this period of British industrial revolution expansions to fin cheap and evil money finance their expansion and target China and SEA region. The Japs invasion did something for the SEA to rid of evil drug lord Brit?

Africa was targeted for slavery to build America and China and SEA for cheap money through drug money to finance their industrial innovation. Without cheap illegal money the Brit economy of industrial innovation will collapse and bankrupt Brit, Brit ruled the wave no more.

The Japs came to eradicate the Malaysian from colonial drug Lord British. Those who joined Japs would be helping to killed many opium smokers drug addicts.

New Markets
As China tightened her borders, Britain pinned her hopes on her other Asian colonies. Opium production in the Straits Settlements (Singapore, Penang, Malacca, Labuan) rose from 353,938 pounds in 1916 to 370,688 pounds in 1920, in spite of Britain’s promise at the Hague Convention to limit opium sales. In 1918, 60% of Britain’s Asian income was derived from opium sales. In 1925, opium accounted for 48% of Singapore’s revenue, and 100% of North Borneo’s. At the 1923 Opium Conference, Mr. Campbell admitted that the British Indian government was determined to maintain high levels of both internal consumption and export, and that they,

“controlled the production, distribution, sale, possession – every possible practical question which could arise in connection with opium—in the strictest possible manner—They had built up a complicated and highly efficient administrative system which started from the time the poppy seed was put into the ground, and did not relinquish control of the drug until it was in the hands of the consumers, or till it was actually exported.”

Some wits noted wryly that the Crown did all but light the addicts’ pipes.

The Japanese Opium Experience
Japan was, as far as I know, the only colonial power to execute faithfully the principles of opium suppression set forth at the Hague Convention in 1912, for Japan had been fighting opium addiction, at home and in her colonies, for decades. Japan persistently argued that drug trafficking was not only immoral but, in the long run, unprofitable.

One of Japan’s top priorities after taking Taiwan in 1895 was to end opium use. European smugglers were impotent against the Japanese’ efficient police organization and tight surveillance and investigation. Opium-related deaths in Taiwan plummeted from 215,476 in 1908 to 38,000 annually by 1923. Japan also suppressed opium smuggling into Korea.

At the Second Opium Conference, Mr. Sugimura of Japan complained that it “was beneath a nation’s dignity to derive so much revenue from opium,” and he urged Western powers to view the problem not just from a humanitarian viewpoint but from an economic one, noting that in Taiwan,
“Even from the economic and financial point of view, a sacrifice of revenue from opium was in reality a gain, since the productive power of the nation increased.”

Britain protested Japan’s attacks on ‘the justice and fairness of the British government,” but the Polish delegate agreed with the Japanese. He said that because of the smokescreen of rhetoric clouding Western opium monopolies, the world was further from eliminating opium in 1924 than it had been in 1913.

Lord Cecil finally dismissed mounting criticism by arguing that opium was “purely an Indian question…it does not appear to me to be a matter for international interference at all.”

Britain clung to her Hong Kong opium monopoly right up until 1945, when postwar profits no longer justified the embarrassment.

http://www.amoymagic.com/OpiumWar.htm

Getting rid of the Evil Brit drug lords were the right thing to do.

“And so I entered the employment of the Japanese civilian police (Keimubu), in which I stayed for the rest of the war, until the Japanese surrender,” wrote S R Nathan in his book, “An Unexpected Journey, Path to the Presidency”. His loyal service with the Nips would see him go through three inspector-generals of police (IGP).

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/05/08/nathan-had-a-close-shave/

So unfortunate the Japanese missed....or else it would have saved us millions, feeding that tub of dark ghee....

Mascherano

What have u been smoking? :rolleyes:

So unfortunate the Japanese missed....or else it would have saved us millions, feeding that tub of dark ghee....

He's just another dog. Had he been shot dead, LKY would have picked another stooge to do his dastardly deeds.

enterprise2

Wow! He's better than Wolverine!

Read carefully lah, opposition IB! Mr Nathan was serving the Japs. He performed very well in their civil service. Why would they shoot him? It was anarchists and troublemakers that were targeting the Japanese civilian police.

steffychun

I rather trust "the Terminator" than him.

Mascherano

As usual not a fuck was given