• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Blue Chip Stocks performance

nayr69sg

Staff member
@winners bro read what you said about your investing and trading history
Happy for you. You doing well. You should be proud of yourself.

Cheers.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Regrettably, I had missed out on the privatization opportunities of Capitaland and SPH even though I had bought these shares last year. As I've said before, I'm a short term trader nowadays.
You doing well enough lah.

Just continue.

I am still struggling.

Gallego99

Stay nimble if you are a short term trader. Technical and fundamental analysis are great tools to stay on top of the curve. Long term trades are not for me. If you're looking for casino type trades, the Nasdaq is the perfect fit.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I am more of long term. I like the canadian bank stocks. Good dividends. Dividend growth. And alao some capital gains.

pvtpublic

I am more of long term. I like the canadian bank stocks. Good dividends. Dividend growth. And alao some capital gains.
if you like long term, can consider berkshire. owning it is as exciting as watching paint dry. it doesn't pay out dividends, so no need to pay US taxes on dividends. checkout Berkshire past 12 years performance vs the SGX index. also it's like investing in an ETF without having to pay the management fees and commission.

I find its a good place to park spare liquidity.

fun fact: Berkshire's single biggest holding is Apple, comprising around 40% of the value of it's total portfolio.

vamjok

all the pros..

I am the boring kind that just buy ETF using RoBo and forgets about it.

AAXJ (Chee bye recently crashed thanks to xi jin ping)
SnP500 VOO (even Warren Buffett says dunno anything just buy this regularly and forget about it, stable regularly make money but boring)
iShare Russell Mid-Cap Growth ETF (rollar coaster lol)
Dow Jones REIT ETF (RWR) (rollar coaster lol)

kiasi portfolio that exposed to the whole world market, both China and US market. good for noob like me ba

nayr69sg

Staff member
The way I see it is the bankers basically manage the world's money.

Central bankers and the respective banks.

So just buy bank stocks. Cant go wrong.

We talk about sectors.

Tech sector. Oil. Commodities. Tourism. Media.

Any of these sectors collapse the money system still ok.

If entire banking sector collapse means the end liao.

Canada big 5 banks is monopoly. Similar to sg top 3.

How not to make money?

Bankers got the inside tips too.

I recently got emails from a bank offering "stock market" GIC 3 years 1.5% max 6.6% if stocks fund does well. Principal guaranteed. 5 years 2.5% max 12.7%.

https://servus.ca/life/investing/investment-products/gics/stock-market-gics

The following GICs are available from July 5 to September 18, 2021

I think bankers are getting ready funds to invest if there is a correction coming this Sept or Oct.

They are confident enough if it happens they can make way more with my money to give 6.6 or 12.5% over 3 or 5 years.

So get ready!

Charlie99

if you like long term, can consider berkshire. owning it is as exciting as watching paint dry. it doesn't pay out dividends, so no need to pay US taxes on dividends. checkout Berkshire past 12 years performance vs the SGX index. also it's like investing in an ETF without having to pay the management fees and commission.

I find its a good place to park spare liquidity.

fun fact: Berkshire's single biggest holding is Apple, comprising around 40% of the value of it's total portfolio.
I agree.
Years ago, I was going to buy the Class B share at about US$80, and recently it is at $285.

100% guaranteed strategy..... Auntie Ho buys you sell and vice versa. You'll win every single time.

FYI...

Blue chip stock in Chinese is 蓝筹股, 蓝筹 sounds like 'lanjiao'. :biggrin:

Might as well call it blue bird stock. :roflmao:

pvtpublic

I know very very little about the SG stock market, because I have been a non resident for decades, and I have little interest.
don't worry, you didn't miss anything at all :laugh:

hope you're having a nice time in Canada. if fate would have it, I will retire there too one day. a nice cabin by the lake in salt springs.

I just happened to check up on how some blue chip SG stocks are doing.

Singtel
SPH
Sembcorp Marine
Sembcorp
Keppel Corp
DBS
UOB
OCBC
Capitaland
SIA
SGX
SPH

It is quite surprising how poorly they are doing. Some are at the price levels during 2008 crisis. Many never move much from that price level.

So what have been the hot stocks in Singapore? Any? REITs?

Banks doing so so.

Not a good reflection of SG economy?
Sinkies still considered as " emerg8ng market". The hot place now is well street.

JackyCheung

can forget about STI, except bank shares and Reits. other are mostly rubbish.
heng, invest few years net net still earn around 100k...
now switch to Hk n us stock.
buy Etf is safer. SnP 500 etf yearly yield close to 10%-12% and nasdaq etf around 15-20%
and u dun need to worry which company goes wrong . the etf is always there.

JackyCheung

During 1Q 2020, my daughter advised me to buy Zoom. She said many of her schoolmates and herself were moving onto Zoom for lessons. By 1H 2020, I've bought Square and Tesla too.

For US stocks this year, during the meltdown, I bought some Palantir and Snowflake. My tech savvy kids tell me that AI is going to be the next big thing. I also bought some Shake Shack because their burgers tastes good.

During this time of uncertainty in chink tech stocks, I bought some Alibaba and Tencents. These two companies represent chinkland economy very well.

As for SGX stocks, I'll wait for OCBC to drop back to around $8 before buying yet another round. It's a pity that I missed iFast. I've scolded my broker and told him that I'll bring my business elsewhere if he continues to overlook rare gems on the SGX.
Palantir what price u bought?
me also holding palantir...

hahaha