• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Siglap

whoami

there was a similar chinese kampong in Siglap too ...teochew fisher folks mostly along the sea side before the reclamation as marine parade ...ducks and chickens including Barisan socialis kindergarten ...had some friends there ..

Shiok kan kampung days. Oh ya....the army camp still around opp my kampung. So were those seafood rest.

Merl Haggard

President Yusof Ishak did live in Opera Estate but the exact location is not clear. Some say its on upper stretch of Fidelio Street, off the Jalan Khairuddin area. The photo is dated as 1955 but Opera Estate as we know it today was not fully developed yet so I have my doubts about the Jalan Khairuddin version.
https://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonli...-details/a5edf8d1-1162-11e3-83d5-0050568939ad

His Widow, Puan Nor Aishah still lives nearby in the Jalan Keris area (site of the former Cathay studios).

I remember Rahim Ishak as an MP back when Siglap was Siglap and not part of some GRC or Joo Chiat SMC. Didn't know he lived in Aida Street.

MP & Minister of State, Rahim Ishak's house was at 35 Aida Street, Opera Est.

Another Minister of State, Lee Koon Choy was living at 30 Tosca Terrace, Opera Est before he moved to Third Ave, Bkt Timah.

They were big bungalows with servants' quarters. Further up to Bedok were houses for mistresses and second or third wives at the beach. First sea-food restaurant to be converted near army camp. Used to live next to St Pat and went to swim/partied there and caught remis at the beach.
Those were the days!
Yeah, Runme Shaw had one of those very big bungalows, lots of land. Opposite the old Chai Chee Secondary school

nato33

MP & Minister of State, Rahim Ishak's house was at 35 Aida Street, Opera Est.

Another Minister of State, Lee Koon Choy was living at 30 Tosca Terrace, Opera Est before he moved to Third Ave, Bkt Timah.

Learn something new today !

Pap had an Opera Estate Branch Office in mid 1960s. It was at 87 Fidelio Street. Opera Estate was quite a happening place then. Even had a policeman killing himself in Aida Street and cows falling into monsoon drains.

2014-06-12 15.42.53.jpg

• 2014-06-12 15.46.31.jpg
    2014-06-12 15.46.31.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 123

Nice-Gook

Yeah, Runme Shaw had one of those very big bungalows, lots of land. Opposite the old Chai Chee Secondary school
talking about big bungalows and houses in katong

there were 2 huge ones ,I recall
1. was about bigger than a football field, near to Fowlie and Seraya primarily schools ..behind Katong Shopping Centre ...I would guess minimum of 2 acres ..it belonged to an Indian family buisnees people..I think ,the they had a company called Bombay Trading .
a company of more than 100 years standing ...it was the first company in singapore with timber treatment plant ,I reckon

on the other side of the road where the Rose Garden apartments now is, there use to be a Kampong Amber, a Malay kampong actually Buoyanese ,at the end of Amber road.

2 .the other largest house was in Karikal Lane along Karikal road ,the road name itself is named after the town in India where the owner originated ..the owner ,I heard was the biggest live stock trader in SEA ,an Indian Muslim..the story goes he was so powerful that he shot a British officer and thus hanged

the house is not only incredibly huge and big ,bit the architecture is really no where to be found in singapore ..when marine parade was reclaimed Still Road was extended right into this house and yet huge portions were standing on both sides

nato33

Soy Eu Tua is in middle of pix. The row of old shophouses with brick & zinc roof has been replaced by Crescendo Bldg (Lai Huat Seafood, Royal Cafe, Health Partners etc)

Soy Eu Tua.JPG

talking about big bungalows and houses in katong

there were 2 huge ones ,I recall
1. was about bigger than a football field, near to Fowlie and Seraya primarily schools ..behind Katong Shopping Centre ...I would guess minimum of 2 acres ..it belonged to an Indian family buisnees people..I think ,the they had a company called Bombay Trading .
a company of more than 100 years standing ...it was the first company in singapore with timber treatment plant ,I reckon

on the other side of the road where the Rose Garden apartments now is, there use to be a Kampong Amber, a Malay kampong actually Buoyanese ,at the end of Amber road.

2 .the other largest house was in Karikal Lane along Karikal road ,the road name itself is named after the town in India where the owner originated ..the owner ,I heard was the biggest live stock trader in SEA ,an Indian Muslim..the story goes he was so powerful that he shot a British officer and thus hanged

the house is not only incredibly huge and big ,bit the architecture is really no where to be found in singapore ..when marine parade was reclaimed Still Road was extended right into this house and yet huge portions were standing on both sides

The other big house sitting on big land was down the road from Katong Shoppin centre. Owned by Dr Chan and his family. They called the house Chans Ville.

Nice-Gook

The other big house sitting on big land was down the road from Katong Shoppin centre. Owned by Dr Chan and his family. They called the house Chans Ville.
yes,Dr Chan house along mounbatten rd ,whose daughter Pat Chan the national swimmer ..but those 2 Indian businessmen houses were far too bigger

than this story ..use to visit a friend in Geylang whose father quite chummy with me...he took me to anothet house in Geylang,where this Indian lady ,a spinster ,had cage for her dog right on the hall itself ...than we all went for a makan along the shop houses along East Coast Rd, ,nearer to Joo Chiat Rd ...as we walked almost all the shop keepers greeted her...was curious ,was she that famous ?

than she told me that stretch of almost 60 shop houses belonged to her ...the story is her parents bought those ..left to 2 children ...the other was her brother, also a bachelor and a lawyer who died ...and left the entire property to her

at that point of time rent control act was in effect .
and rents for a whole shop house can be little as 50 bucks ...so she said in a dilema ,neither can sell the property nor gain from rent income

rover2sg

Yes! One school-mate at RI used to stay next to the Shaws. Then uncle went to the top for night-clubbing. Now stay at a condo there for sometime!
Front of Lucky Heights.
Time flies.

Baimi

That was long long time ago, when I passed by Chan's house, in front of the house was a very big field, don't know if the house still there or redeveloped, either at Boardrick or Crescent Rd not sure.

Porfirio Rubirosa

No so. I have seen Gurkha in front of Nathan's house in Ceylon Road.
I frequent there to buy good Eurasian food opposite.
Yes, when Nathan was President he had a Gurkha guarding him. Think Gurkha guards for President, PM, Speaker and CJ. Ministers not sure if just a regular police post only at their place of residence.

Btw think Nathan bought up a sizeable amount of property on that road with his obscene President's salary. Very good legacy for his family.

Oh and I am big fan of Quentin's devil curry, shepherd's pie and sugee cake. Saw Nathan's Mrs at Quentin's on a couple of occasions but never Nathan himself.