• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg video] - Paralympic swimmer Sophie Soon in stand-off over guide dog at Rocky Master outlet in Hougang

Just avoid Halal Establishment altogether ... problem solved
some folks are allergic to dog fur or hair. thus based on medical reasons these customers also deserve their opinions heard and eateries catering to their wishes. when it cums to makan joints humans first dogs second. only when there are no (existing) customer complaints then the handicap with her guide dog can be seated. once seated a new customer who has allergy issues with dogs cannot kpkb. must wait or go to another eatery. that’s the rule operating among sillycon valley eateries. and yes, some very high end restaurants don’t allow guide dogs and children.
Most restaurants bar any animsls from entering their premise for hygienic reasons. And reduce possible conflucts and incidents.

LexLuthor

sophie-soon.png
She resembles a particular Minister whom many Singaporeans love.

Agree or not? Kee Chiew ?

Cottonmouth

The other cunt with the big tits Cassandra Chiu has been quiet for quite sometime after her dog died.
The dog can't stand her as well.

Loofydralb

She already is blind but cannot get privileges to her satisfaction.
Hopefully she gets deaf and dumb too so that it will help her with her entitlement.

realDonaldTrump

She must be a rich girl. Her handicap didn't teach her to be a kinder soul. The female staff was just doing her job and yet she played victim to shame the staff.

By law, children are not restricted into restaurants but many restaurants don't allow minors in.

gutpunch

In law(in this case governing service dogs), the key word is not 'permit' but 'may' and 'shall'. This is to prevent ambiguity but can still cause confusion specially to lay persons.
You can go argue in court and with MUIS.
The law (Environmental Public Health (Food Hygiene) Regulations, Chapter 95, Section 113, Regulation 29(3), (4), (13)) states: "the licensee of a food establishment or private market may permit any Guide Dog accompanying a blind or visually impaired person to be brought into the dining or refreshment area or any toilet of the licensed premises".

It does not say "shall" or "must" and there is no ambiguity here. You can therefore shut the fuck up and stop acting like an expert because you are the only idiot who is more confused than any lay person.

UltimaOnline

I empathise with those who have a disability. Being blind is certainly most unfortunate and very hard on the person. But aren't they trained to use a walking cane/stick? Why burden a dog? They are more suited for the military, police, and the civilian/property protection sector.

But in this video, the guide dog says it loves its job of guiding Sophie Soon!

orh mee suah

The law (Environmental Public Health (Food Hygiene) Regulations, Chapter 95, Section 113, Regulation 29(3), (4), (13)) states: "the licensee of a food establishment or private market may permit any Guide Dog accompanying a blind or visually impaired person to be brought into the dining or refreshment area or any toilet of the licensed premises".

It does not say "shall" or "must" and there is no ambiguity here. You can therefore shut the fuck up and stop acting like an expert because you are the only idiot who is more confused than any lay person.
You've only quoted part of the regulations. Read them all in context. The F&B establishment can keep the guide dog out of its premises if the conditions specified in para 3, 4 and 13 of the regulation 29 have not been met.
Your fucking reply shows that you don't understand what a regulation is.
You better stick to the word 'permit'. It means 'allow'. No confusion for lay persons.
If you are still not convinced that you are the bigger idiot, go seek clarification from the people who made the regulations and MUIS.

birdie69

I have no objection to allow dogs or any animals are brought into a restaurant.
But please indicate it outside the restaurant, so I would stop patronise this restaurant for the reason of hygienic issue.

birdie69

She must be a rich girl. Her handicap didn't teach her to be a kinder soul. The female staff was just doing her job and yet she played victim to shame the staff.

By law, children are not restricted into restaurants but many restaurants don't allow minors in.
She is visually handicapped, hopefully her brain not handicapped too.

maxsanic

65689255_2381757555248218_4482677626195935232_n.jpg
aisophie0903_2.jpg

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...r-guide-dog-at-rocky-master-outlet-in-hougang

SINGAPORE – Paralympic swimmer Sophie Soon was involved in a confrontation with a Rocky Master employee when she patronised the cafe at the Hougang 1 mall on Wednesday night, accompanied by her guide dog and her mother.

In a video taken by Ms Soon and posted on Facebook, the female employee was seen speaking on the phone before telling Ms Soon – who is visually impaired – and her mother to sit outside its premises with the guide dog.

Ms Soon’s mother then asked the woman why they were being discriminated against, adding that guide dogs are allowed in restaurants by Muis, or the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore, and the Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment.

Asked what would happen if Ms Soon posted the video, the woman in the clip said: “Police report.”

“This happens practically every time I visit a new restaurant, which is a few times a week,” the 25-year-old told The Straits Times. Her guide dog, Orinda, has been with her since January 2022.

“It’s always the same when I go to a restaurant I haven’t been to before, where the staff on the ground have to check with management, and then I have to end up waiting 10 to 15 minutes.”

But this time, there was a half-hour delay before Ms Soon and her mother were seated.

Ms Soon claimed they were given three conditions by the employee in the video for remaining in the restaurant: the dog must be leashed, it must not be fed, and customers must not complain about the dog.
“As said many times before, guide dogs are allowed by law into all restaurant establishments, including halal establishments, as supported by Muis,” Ms Soon wrote in the caption accompanying the video.
In Singapore, guide dogs wear a yellow harness with text indicating that they are working dogs.

Guide dogs are approved and allowed in halal-certified premises, according to a Muis advisory.

The Housing Board and the National Parks Board’s Animal and Veterinary Service allow guide dogs to live in HDB flats. The National Environment Agency and the Singapore Food Agency also allow guide dogs in restaurants, foodcourts and cafes.

“How many more times do guide dog users have to be discriminated (against) before businesses finally educate themselves on the guide dog laws in Singapore?” Ms Soon wrote in the video caption.

We thank you for choosing to patronize Rocky Master, and for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family.

Rocky Master is a homegrown brand which has been Halal-certified since 2017. We aspire to be a great company of happy, healthy and successful people, where we will support one another to succeed and contribute positively towards the community. We strive to serve diners from all walks of life with our quick and casual dining concept. We do not discriminate any diner who chooses to patronize Rocky Master. However, we are mindful to be considerate towards other diners who might not be comfortable with certain dining environments. Hence, we ask that guide dogs be leashed (according to SFA and MUIS advisory) and preferably be seated at outdoor seating area where possible.

We endeavour to show respect and care for all our customers and make them feel welcome at our outlets. At the same time, we also care for the well-being of our staff member. In this incident, our staff may not be very experienced in handling such situations, but we are extremely grateful that she took a cautious approach to verify with her superior before making any commitment. Even under the circumstances of being filmed, she and the rest of the team maintained their composure and did their best to accommodate and fulfil your requests. We understand from our outlet manager that our poor staff was traumatized due to the incident. We have since reached out to our staff member to express our care and concern.

Let us work together to build a kinder society.
I don’t really understand what’s the issue here. If the restaurant does not allow her dog to enter, then just move on to the next one. If she wants to shame the restaurant after that for not being sensitive on social media, then by all means go ahead. Is there really a need to behave belligerently and purposely film a video and engage in all sorts of theatrics to gain viewership?

From the video, the staff looks like a typical retail staff without much training and experience but otherwise remained relatively composed and polite. Sophia & co. acted like entitled and spoilt customers who threaten people with social media uploads and cyberbullying the moment things don’t go their way.

While guide dogs are certainly permitted by various regulatory bodies for entry to many public places, a restaurant is a private establishment and the owner ultimately gets to decide what sort of customers they are willing to entertain.

LexLuthor

I don’t really understand what’s the issue here. If the restaurant does not allow her dog to enter, then just move on to the next one. If she wants to shame the restaurant after that for not being sensitive on social media, then by all means go ahead. Is there really a need to behave belligerently and purposely film a video and engage in all sorts of theatrics to gain viewership?

From the video, the staff looks like a typical retail staff without much training and experience but otherwise remained relatively composed and polite. Sophia & co. acted like entitled and spoilt customers who threaten people with social media uploads and cyberbullying the moment things don’t go their way.

While guide dogs are certainly permitted by various regulatory bodies for entry to many public places, a restaurant is a private establishment and the owner ultimately gets to decide what sort of customers they are willing to entertain.
Maybe it's not about the guide dog; it's about being an Olympian. :rolleyes:

maxsanic

Maybe it's not about the guide dog; it's about being an Olympian. :rolleyes:
If that's the case she better quickly wake up her idea.

Singaporeans can turn around and attack a true Olympian like Joseph Schooling the moment he couldn't win anything, much less a Paralympian who hardly anyone even knows.

While I hope our society can move to a more civic-minded and be more gracious towards disabled people, I am firmly opposed to this sort of western bad behavior of constantly creating drama to emphasize one's "weakness/disability/minority" to extract tangible and intangible benefits.

gutpunch

You've only quoted part of the regulations. Read them all in context. The F&B establishment can keep the guide dog out of its premises if the conditions specified in para 3, 4 and 13 of the regulation 29 have not been met.
Your fucking reply shows that you don't understand what a regulation is.
You better stick to the word 'permit'. It means 'allow'. No confusion for lay persons.
If you are still not convinced that you are the bigger idiot, go seek clarification from the people who made the regulations and MUIS.
OMFG yes open your bloody eyes and LEARN HOW TO READ you blooming moron, it is NOT "if the conditions...have not been met" - it is MAY PERMIT (the guide dog) if the conditions ARE MET!! Here, I shall paste AGAIN and also give you a free English comprehension lesson just out of pity for your retarded parents who had no brains for you to inherit:

==================
Extract of the Environmental Public Health (Food Hygiene) Regulations, Chapter 95, Section 113, Regulation 29(3), (4), (13)
(3) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), the licensee of a food establishment or private market may permit any Guide Dog accompanying a blind or visually impaired person to be brought into the dining or refreshment area or any toilet of the licensed premises if the Guide Dog is:
  • Kept under proper control.
  • Restrained from straying or causing annoyance or nuisance to any person or animal, or damage to any property.
  • Held in a leash.
[translation for morons like you: IF the 3 conditions are met, THEN the f&b establishment MAY PERMIT/ CAN ALLOW guide dogs]
(4) Where the licensee of a food establishment or private market permits guide dogs accompanying blind or visually impaired persons to be brought into his licensed premises under paragraph (3), the notice referred to in paragraph (2) shall specify that guide dogs are permitted within the licensed premises.

[translation for morons like you: IF the f&b establishment PERMITS/ ALLOWS guide dogs, THEN their notice SHALL/ MUST say so.]

(13) In this regulation “Guide Dog” means a Dog that is specially trained to aid a particular blind or visually impaired person.
==================

Get it? Or still confused?? Indeed (and again), "permit" means "allow", so "may permit" means "may allow". And as already mentioned, you are the idiot, not me. So the only bigger idiot would be your mother for giving birth to a piece of shit like you. You can make a fool of yourself by asking the authorities and MUIS instead and show me. I will even make the question easier for you, go ask them "MUST F&B establishments allow guide dogs? Are they REQUIRED to do so?" and come back with their answer.