• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Puteri Harbour Community

sgcount

Hmm...all these professions have a huge pay scale. Depends on experience, age, speciality, etc. Can't generalise like that.

Are you positive lawyers, docs earn $7-10k only? You have to state their age. At 30 years old, yes, it is possible. But that's decent enough salary. It can go up exponentially as they become more experienced and also depends on what they do.

I have many doctor friends and I know some lawyers. Definitely that kind of salary is too low for a seasoned lawyer and doctor. A junior "small fry" specialist doc in his early to mid 30's working in a public hospital should be earning about $9-10k already. Mid 30's to 40 in private practice can easily command on average $30k a month.

Some lawyers charge by the hour. Senior or good ones can ask for $800-1000 an hour.

A good medical doctor in private practice has no problem earning about $100k a month. Surgeons can earn more than that. But a "normal" 40-year old doctor working for someone or for a public hospital should be earning at least $15k a month. Quite decent though nothing to shout about considering how much sweat, intelligence and hard work he or she has put in. A property agent in good times can earn many times that.

So don't have to worry for those professions. They are earning well. :smile:

I fear for those normal lawyers, doctors or teachers. Many of them are earning S$7000-S$10k a month and is only barely there. Last week I met up with my personal surgeon and he was lamenting how bad his business will be as the global slowdown has hit him and many Indonesian Chinese cilents ( easily 60% of his cilents are Indo Chinese ) are bypassing him for "another hospital near Singapore slowly. Its that hard to earn Singapore dollars now.

IF you are a lawyer, you better buck up and make sure you are in the league of Subhas or Edmund Pereria etc. If you are a school teacher you better make sure you become one of those Clusters Superintendents. A normal principal post wont get you anywhere.

sgcount

The points you raised are interesting food for thought. But I'm not sure if it can be called a "bubble". For sure, the government will not allow say HDB flat prices to suddenly tumble 20-30% because of the bubble. Rather, I think it's a challenge on the government now to balance between the high cost of living here and make sure the common man in the street can still survive well.

The government probably got too greedy in 2005-2011. You see them over-selling land to developers and they admitted too many new immigrants without ensuring the infrastructure could take it. That likely explains why property prices shot up so much in the last few years. All the rich foreign buggers who became Singaporeans snapped up our limited quantity HDB flats and condos.

Lee Hsien Loong's balls probably shrank after that when he realised he lost many votes in 2011. That's why till now, the cooling measures are not going to be removed soon and intake of new foreign labour policy remains tight. You can be assured that if all these restrictions are removed, you'll see property prices shooting up again. There are just too many rich people in Singapore. There won't be a bubble. The high middle income earners and the rich will always support our property market here. I'm quite sure some of you belong to this category. Don't be shy to admit you own 2 or more properties here.

Singapore is a very attractive place to live and work despite its small land size. It's been repeatedly said many times about the country: It's super clean, safe and everything is in black and white, well-documented and with strict laws. All these make the rich want to come here. The excellent education track record and bilingualism is attracting lot of ang mohs, Indonesian Chinese and even the mainland Chinese to want to live here.

You can't use money to buy all the above and they can't be taken for granted. That explains why no matter how cheap Iskandar properties are, how big they are, the common man in the street or typical Singaporean family will never uproot themselves to go there.

Property size may be so may times expensive and smaller in SG but they would rather make adjustments to their expectations while enjoying all the perks. I don't think Iskandar will be an alternative place for many people of our generation to move over to. It's still very raw and many things are not in place which could take several decades to plan and build. Doubt we will all live to see that happening. Maybe in our grandchildren's time? Really don't know....

I was just surprised by your poor comprehension, that's all.

SG is a great place to live, if increasingly expensive for many. I don't think it’s in any way condescending to mark the country out as being unique. It IS very much a bubble: if you can’t see that, you’re blind. The GDP per person is 5 times greater than the next biggest ASEAN country, higher than in any of the 5 biggest world economies.
The government does a huge amount of work to ‘nudge’ people into making good decisions (CPF, subsidized public housing, globally competitive low taxation, providing a world-class military, world class education). It’s an absolute marvel and an Asian ‘miracle’ – why else do you think governments around the world study the Singapore system?
I just think you’ve got a big chip on your shoulder…which is why you leapt to making the wrong assumptions about a perfectly reasonable comment. The same as you leap rabidly onto anyone making a positive comment about Iskandar.

I can’t claim the lagoon illustration, it was his.

Long may the bubble continue – to be honest, it fills me with hope that people can continue to create order amid chaos. When I look around the world at the fractious squabbling of nations, the threats that most live under every day from the low level (crime, corruption, poor healthcare, poor governance) to the worse (malnutrition, military adventurism, religious-led violence), SG stands out as a true bright spot. Or bubble, if you will.

xebay11

The points you raised are interesting food for thought. But I'm not sure if it can be called a "bubble". For sure, the government will not allow say HDB flat prices to suddenly tumble 20-30% because of the bubble. Rather, I think it's a challenge on the government now to balance between the high cost of living here and make sure the common man in the street can still survive well.

The government probably got too greedy in 2005-2011. You see them over-selling land to developers and they admitted too many new immigrants without ensuring the infrastructure could take it. That likely explains why property prices shot up so much in the last few years. All the rich foreign buggers who became Singaporeans snapped up our limited quantity HDB flats and condos.

Lee Hsien Loong's balls probably shrank after that when he realised he lost many votes in 2011. That's why till now, the cooling measures are not going to be removed soon and intake of new foreign labour policy remains tight. You can be assured that if all these restrictions are removed, you'll see property prices shooting up again. There are just too many rich people in Singapore. There won't be a bubble. The high middle income earners and the rich will always support our property market here. I'm quite sure some of you belong to this category. Don't be shy to admit you own 2 or more properties here.

Singapore is a very attractive place to live and work despite its small land size. It's been repeatedly said many times about the country: It's super clean, safe and everything is in black and white, well-documented and with strict laws. All these make the rich want to come here. The excellent education track record and bilingualism is attracting lot of ang mohs, Indonesian Chinese and even the mainland Chinese to want to live here.

You can't use money to buy all the above and they can't be taken for granted. That explains why no matter how cheap Iskandar properties are, how big they are, the common man in the street or typical Singaporean family will never uproot themselves to go there.

Property size may be so may times expensive and smaller in SG but they would rather make adjustments to their expectations while enjoying all the perks. I don't think Iskandar will be an alternative place for many people of our generation to move over to. It's still very raw and many things are not in place which could take several decades to plan and build. Doubt we will all live to see that happening. Maybe in our grandchildren's time? Really don't know....

Excellent post, yi fen chian, yi fen hou, that's all. Puteri Harbour property looks cheap but the costs are hidden elsewhere. Don't shoot me, my post is still on PH and not off topic.

Frodo

In my view the inertia to make that move to JB could be attributed to the unique Singaporean traits the govt has so successfully drilled into us. And I am referring to the KPIs such as Kiasi, Kiasu, and in terms of crossing the causway bridge...Kiajam! Esp the jam which is the most cited reason. I really think that if the jam issue is largely addressed we could well see an exodus.....ok exodus a bit too far fetched but there might be a significant number of Singaporeans who would do that.

xebay11

In my view the inertia to make that move to JB could be attributed to the unique Singaporean traits the govt has so successfully drilled into us. And I am referring to the KPIs such as Kiasi, Kiasu, and in terms of crossing the causway bridge...Kiajam! Esp the jam which is the most cited reason. I really think that if the jam issue is largely addressed we could well see an exodus.....ok exodus a bit too far fetched but there might be a significant number of Singaporeans who would do that.

There would be an exodus if the both links had no jam, Puteri Harbour would be very attractive for Singaporeans to move there. Alas this a as good as wishing you could stay in the moon.

Frodo

There would be an exodus if the both links had no jam, Puteri Harbour would be very attractive for Singaporeans to move there. Alas this a as good as wishing you could stay in the moon.

No jam during peak hours or vacation periods is impossible...but if somehow things can be drastically improved such that max time spent is 20min to cross over, do you think that will be attractive enough for many Singaporeans?

sgcount

Actually, the jam is a valid reason to not want to move to Iskandar.

It would be more attractive if we had an LRT system that could conveniently take commuters from the checkpoints to the various parts of Iskandar. But this is a giant move which I don't see happening even in 50 or 60 years time. The difficulties faced in the ditched RTS is nothing compared to this one. There are too many stumbling blocks.

No matter how much close relationship Singapore enjoys with its immediate neighbour, Malaysia, it is still a different country. Security has to be tightened all the time. In fact, I see the situation getting worse in the years to come. You can't go in and out freely.

Then there's language and racial issues to consider. Politically we are also different.

Who is also going to bear the costs of building the multi-million dollar LRT system? How should profits be divided? It's messy and tough.

Even if Singaporeans can close an eye to the scary stories of robberies and murders in JB, the transport system is a big stumbling block for Iskandar to take off as an attractive place for the common Singaporean. At best, it's probably open to retirees, and even then, they constitute a very small handful of the Singapore population.

Tekkun

It would be more attractive if we had an LRT system that could conveniently take commuters from the checkpoints to the various parts of Iskandar. But this is a giant move which I don't see happening even in 50 or 60 years time. The difficulties faced in the ditched RTS is nothing compared to this one. There are too many stumbling blocks.

No matter how much close relationship Singapore enjoys with its immediate neighbour, Malaysia, it is still a different country. Security has to be tightened all the time. In fact, I see the situation getting worse in the years to come. You can't go in and out freely.

Then there's language and racial issues to consider. Politically we are also different.

Who is also going to bear the costs of building the multi-million dollar LRT system? How should profits be divided? It's messy and tough.

Even if Singaporeans can close an eye to the scary stories of robberies and murders in JB, the transport system is a big stumbling block for Iskandar to take off as an attractive place for the common Singaporean. At best, it's probably open to retirees, and even then, they constitute a very small handful of the Singapore population.

Whatever the issues are, and no matter how Singaporeans complained and whined, Iskandar remained to be the next best alternative for them if they decide to set up a 2nd home. It is not that they like or dislike, it is not the security or the lower cost but simply they do not have any other choice. Just like the Government on both side of the Straits, there is no 2nd choice. So it is either stay put and live to the fullest you can or move out. Today, I cannot see any other alternatives for the masses except Australia which is more for the elites.

Frodo

Actually so far in my experience after living in JB for more than 2 years already...I don't feel it is *that* unsafe though certainly not as safe as SSingapore. I also do not really feel the political or racial issues, or maybe I just boh chup. So far we are just enjoying the life here, and pushing a few boundaries as well. LOL! Anyway there should be a lot of Singaporeans reaching retirement these few years?

xebay11

Whatever the issues are, and no matter how Singaporeans complained and whined, Iskandar remained to be the next best alternative for them if they decide to set up a 2nd home. It is not that they like or dislike, it is not the security or the lower cost but simply they do not have any other choice. Just like the Government on both side of the Straits, there is no 2nd choice. So it is either stay put and live to the fullest you can or move out. Today, I cannot see any other alternatives for the masses except Australia which is more for the elites.

It really depends on the RTS, if it materializes, many can afford to stay in Singapore and commute by train system to enjoy the cheaper lifestyle and goods Iskandar and Puteri Harbor offers, I am watching HDB flats near Woodlands MRT station very closely.

freekazoid

Another perspective on people move in to Iskandar. And this group has far greater impact to Iskandar in every facets than Singapore residences.

They are Malaysian from many other states.

xebay11

Another perspective on people move in to Iskandar. And this group has far greater impact to Iskandar in every facets than Singapore residences.

They are Malaysian from many other states.

They would find property rental or sales very expensive in Puteri Harbor and probably concentrate on lower cost areas.

sgcount

But those sentiments are how you feel. Unfortunately, in the larger SG population, not many think this way. And that matters.

I also agree it's not dangerous to the point of being paranoid. But yes, certainly it is not as safe as SG of course.

Racial and political differences are definitely there. We can't escape that. Yes, most likely cos you bo chup. :smile:

A friend of mine once reminded me, no matter what, remember that Malaysia has a high Malay population. You're Chinese, a minority there. Worse still, you're a Singaporean, always a foreigner. It's not unheard of also that the Msia government gives priority to their own race. That's an uncontested fact. My Malaysian Chinese friends told me universities in Malaysia admit more Malays with much poorer grades and reject the academically smarter Chinese and Indians. This is the downfall of Malaysia as far as "brain drain" is concerned. Many of the good Malaysians have left the country to study and work elsewhere.

Politics-wise, we have seen too many stuffs happening to ignore.

But actually, all the above we can put aside and endure if we only wish to stay in Iskandar for the cheaper and bigger housing. I still think the biggest stumbling block is the transport system. I will always want to work in Singapore. I won't want to work in Malaysia cos I'm a minority and it makes no sense I will earn so much less. So if there is no excellent transport system to move in and out within less than an hour, the attraction to stay in Iskandar is no longer there. Also, those with families and kids, this is all the more important.

The bottom line is, if they want more Singaporeans to move over, they need to come up with some kind of LRT or train system to connect SG to the various key locations in Iskandar. Without that, it will only remain a slow-moving new city which attracts mainly businesses and high-risk investors to go into. The retirees and daily commute Singaporeans like yourself form a very insignificant minority of the population.

Actually so far in my experience after living in JB for more than 2 years already...I don't feel it is *that* unsafe though certainly not as safe as SSingapore. I also do not really feel the political or racial issues, or maybe I just boh chup. So far we are just enjoying the life here, and pushing a few boundaries as well. LOL! Anyway there should be a lot of Singaporeans reaching retirement these few years?

Frodo

But those sentiments are how you feel. Unfortunately, in the larger SG population, not many think this way. And that matters.

I also agree it's not dangerous to the point of being paranoid. But yes, certainly it is not as safe as SG of course.

Racial and political differences are definitely there. We can't escape that. Yes, most likely cos you bo chup. :smile:

A friend of mine once reminded me, no matter what, remember that Malaysia has a high Malay population. You're Chinese, a minority there. Worse still, you're a Singaporean, always a foreigner. It's not unheard of also that the Msia government gives priority to their own race. That's an uncontested fact. My Malaysian Chinese friends told me universities in Malaysia admit more Malays with much poorer grades and reject the academically smarter Chinese and Indians. This is the downfall of Malaysia as far as "brain drain" is concerned. Many of the good Malaysians have left the country to study and work elsewhere.

Politics-wise, we have seen too many stuffs happening to ignore.

But actually, all the above we can put aside and endure if we only wish to stay in Iskandar for the cheaper and bigger housing. I still think the biggest stumbling block is the transport system. I will always want to work in Singapore. I won't want to work in Malaysia cos I'm a minority and it makes no sense I will earn so much less. So if there is no excellent transport system to move in and out within less than an hour, the attraction to stay in Iskandar is no longer there. Also, those with families and kids, this is all the more important.

The bottom line is, if they want more Singaporeans to move over, they need to come up with some kind of LRT or train system to connect SG to the various key locations in Iskandar. Without that, it will only remain a slow-moving new city which attracts mainly businesses and high-risk investors to go into. The retirees and daily commute Singaporeans like yourself form a very insignificant minority of the population.

Thus it seems that the deal breaker is really the traffic jam issue. And as you rightly pointed out, those naggy political and racial grouses can be set aside, ignored, boh chupped in view of the overriding economic advantages of cheaper housing, cheaper cars, cheaper food, cheaper shopping, cheaper massaeuges, cheaper parking...cheaper..cheaper..cheaper...LOL!

tstar

It seems that some people are afraid of everything. if really so worried, i doubt if the company asks you to go to US, what shall you do? so many guns there.

if you stay in HH and go to shopping centres nearby once in a while, what does the political issue of who gets admitted into universities do with you?

nowadays you can do almost everthing online. you do not have to go to TM or Saj to pay bills. all you have to venture out into a dangerous mudland is shopping. In broad daylight, what is the possibility of being mugged in BI? and in a tightly secured taman like Hh or east ledang, is it frequent to be broken in?

btw, is there any other place in sg where you can put a snooker table in your house for a salaried employee? not even likely in sg for those rich people.

Several colleagues from china in our company also bought houses in Jb. They enjoy life and have little to worry about. i think actually they look forward to retiring in jb. probably being brought up in a vast and chaotic country and looking at how china cities are being developed from nowhere makes one's nerve much stronger.
The house price in Jb is indeed dirt cheap.

Thus it seems that the deal breaker is really the traffic jam issue. And as you rightly pointed out, those naggy political and racial grouses can be set aside, ignored, boh chupped in view of the overriding economic advantages of cheaper housing, cheaper cars, cheaper food, cheaper shopping, cheaper massaeuges, cheaper parking...cheaper..cheaper..cheaper...LOL!

Tekkun

It seems that some people are afraid of everything. if really so worried, i doubt if the company asks you to go to US, what shall you do? so many guns there.

if you stay in HH and go to shopping centres nearby once in a while, what does the political issue of who gets admitted into universities do with you?

nowadays you can do almost everthing online. you do not have to go to TM or Saj to pay bills. all you have to venture out into a dangerous mudland is shopping. In broad daylight, what is the possibility of being mugged in BI? and in a tightly secured taman like Hh or east ledang, is it frequent to be broken in?

btw, is there any other place in sg where you can put a snooker table in your house for a salaried employee? not even likely in sg for those rich people.

Several colleagues from china in our company also bought houses in Jb. They enjoy life and have little to worry about. i think actually they look forward to retiring in jb. probably being brought up in a vast and chaotic country and looking at how china cities are being developed from nowhere makes one's nerve much stronger.
The house price in Jb is indeed dirt cheap.

If you decided not to come, you would find a million excuse why it is not good from lack of schoolbus to robbers with parang lurking around. But if you decided to come over, you also have many justifications why you made the right choice.
No right or wrong, it is a matter of choice what you want in life, sometimes it is no choice. :smile: