• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ponggol nasi lemak tok chai tao to recover casino losses...

BusNo64

dats why i say sinkies are real pathetic.... they pay skyhigh unhealthy junk food ...then later get heart disease then kpkb dat medical cost is so high...knn willing to pay for expensive fuckup food, but not willing to pay for medical treatement....knn nasi lemak is one of many food dat we have to eat sparingly.....the lemak rice is oredi a killer....then add fried chicken...fried eggs...fried luncheon meat...fried ngoh hiang...everything also fried.....if eat more than once a week, sure kena heart attack in no time liao....knn and sinkie is still queuing to buy such food to poison their body....WTF...sinkies really got no brain sia....:rolleyes:

The best Nasi Lemak (Malay) is at Adam Road, 2nd Stall (not 1st one). The other is Chong Pang Nasi Lemak (Chinese) along Sembawang Road near to Chong Pang wet market and only sold after midnight. The one in Changi Village (Malay) is over-rated plus the sellers are snobbish. Another problem at Changi is the hawker centre is crammed, and hard to move during peak mealtimes and seating arrangement is horrible as it is stuffy and warm.

The Adam Rd Nasi Lemak used Basmati rice. So spoil the original taste. The best nasi lemak is always across the causeway. Nasi lemak rice should be a bit sticky and not dry like those Chinese selling. Anyway, my favourite is at Sin Ming Ind estate, somewhere in the middle, not the one facing NEA.

The best value for money and still retaining original taste nasi lemak is at B.68 Kallang Bahru. Traditional Malay small pack at S$1.20. Two choices only, ikan bilis or ikan kuning. Both come with a slice of egg and cucumber. Family stall, morning 7 to 9 a.m. cook it at the stall, usually sold-out by 12 p.m. They also sell Malay chicken rice, at S$2.50-up, also freshly cooked in-stall and usually sold out by 2 p.m.

Muthukali

Sigh.... ponggol nasi lemak is ponggol nasi lemak.......the fact is, the Q is never ending.......

Windsor

Of course if we talk about Malaysia, they are best and cheapest. Along the beach under coconut trees, piled up high on a tok panjang are packets filled with gravy and sardines, Not the ikan kuning deeply fried and hardly edible type we have here.

The Adam Rd Nasi Lemak used Basmati rice. So spoil the original taste. The best nasi lemak is always across the causeway. Nasi lemak rice should be a bit sticky and not dry like those Chinese selling. Anyway, my favourite is at Sin Ming Ind estate, somewhere in the middle, not the one facing NEA.

maxpark

Actually nobody ever heard of Fong Seng Nasi Lemak, very near to NUS, opposite the road from Varsity Park.
It used to be a fav supper hang-out for hostelites for many years and over the years, the stretch of shops there increased with prata and other kinds of foods.
Anyway, for me, I always go back to have a plate once awhile to reminisce about the good old days, haha... the chicken wing, fish cake (flat fried kind), egg, sotong balls and lots of chilli... actually i find the chilli very good.
Indeed over the years, the prices have gone up but never mind lar... good food got to pay more.

Think I'll make a visit there again one of these days!

sadfcuk

The best Nasi Lemak (Malay) is at Adam Road, 2nd Stall (not 1st one). The other is Chong Pang Nasi Lemak (Chinese) along Sembawang Road near to Chong Pang wet market and only sold after midnight. The one in Changi Village (Malay) is over-rated plus the sellers are snobbish. Another problem at Changi is the hawker centre is crammed, and hard to move during peak mealtimes and seating arrangement is horrible as it is stuffy and warm.

Are you referring to Adam Road Hawker Centre? Is that place still full of touts? Last time I went there, once I entered the seating area, the touts all swarmed up and started asking what I wanted to order.

Not a very nice experience to have a pack of vulture-like touts following you for every step you take...

Windsor

I think you are referring to Newton Circus well-known as a food court mainly for tourist and touts. Adam Road is the road leading to and from MacRitchie Reservoir and I don't think they sell Nasi Lemak at night as they are only frequented by locals.

Are you referring to Adam Road Hawker Centre? Is that place still full of touts? Last time I went there, once I entered the seating area, the touts all swarmed up and started asking what I wanted to order.

Not a very nice experience to have a pack of vulture-like touts following you for every step you take...

Aiya ..kpkb about few dollars ...buy one loaf of bread and drink tap water is cheaper .

I think the touts are from the 2 competing drink/fruit juice stalls. The food stalls shouldn't be so pushy.

In the past, the BBQ stalls were taken to task for touting. Given the high rentals, they had to 'fight' for survival. Not sure what is the situation today. Overcharging is another problem at Newton.

SQguy

If it is expensive just do not eat there....why complain. Because the population is increased so much all the stalls will show crowd most of the times. Welcome to new Singapore!

In the past, the BBQ stalls were taken to task for touting. Given the high rentals, they had to 'fight' for survival. Not sure what is the situation today. Overcharging is another problem at Newton.

Touting is a bad culture particularly among Chinese hawkers and assistants. It's little known, but traditional Chinese hawking practice incorporated commission for assistants centuries ago before insurance and insurance agents were invented. The one who secures the order takes a cut on top of his/her basic salary. It's an annoyance to local customers.

"Overcharging" is a problem for tourists. It's usually not blatant overcharging but over-recommendation of overpriced foods to tourists who're clueless as to what's value for money here.

I think you are referring to Newton Circus well-known as a food court mainly for tourist and touts.

Haven't eaten at Newton for ages. The last time was before the latest renovation. I've been put off by the bad things I've heard :(

Still remember when it was just a quiet corner next to the ACS field.

Touting is a bad culture particularly among Chinese hawkers and assistants. It's little known, but traditional Chinese hawking practice incorporated commission for assistants centuries ago before insurance and insurance agents were invented. The one who secures the order takes a cut on top of his/her basic salary. It's an annoyance to local customers.

From what I know, the touts there don't get daily, weekly or monthly pay. They get paid through their orders. The stall holder sells the tout at one price and how much the tout makes depends on how much he sells to the customer. Being gamblers, touts have lots of debts to settle. They will risk everything to earn $10-$20 more per dish. This was the scenario 5 years ago. No idea what it is today.

Yeah, perhaps not even basic salary, totally commission. I also haven't been to Newton for quite a while. However, when I was there I have no problem with touting or overchanging, from a plate of noodle at S$3 to two plates of seafood at under S$20. With a cutting like mine, who'd think of trying to tout or overcharge me? I look like one of them, except I'm more handsome. :biggrin:

They should pay you for "advertisement' then!! You sure you handsome bo? More 'handsomer' than ex-manhunt winner Zack Zainal bo? He also makan pau but now in Dubai working as security director for an airline based there. We used to makan at Newton.

Zack Zainal? Don't know. Me, no join manhunt, not interested that time since I've got both money and girl. But I did have a police colleague in manhunt, Eurasian Colin M.S. Just finalist, not winner. Later also resigned and become SQ steward. Then I went US and we lost contact. He's taller and more muscular than me. If he couldn't win, lucky I didn't join. :biggrin: