• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ponggol nasi lemak tok chai tao to recover casino losses...

jixiaolan

If he tink hawkering is a lucrative biz, he should consider become one. No point wearing nice shirt and tie earning that little money to the extent of going on blog to lament abt how expensive normal hawker food is. 60sen rice also he tink is expensive and expected to be given free, how pathetic is that.

BusNo64

Another tok chai tow place is Marine parade central hawker centre corner economical rice. This stall is not economical at all. One of the most expensive chap chye perng stall in a hawker centre and the price can rival many of those teochew porridge stalls in geylang.

talk abt expensive chap chye png....scissor curry rice beach rd also veri ex....hainanese rice at upper serangoon also chop carrot....

near my aunt place in tampines blk 477 got dis little known kopitiam got dis chap chye png quite good...always got long Q..best is dat they give u big portion....somemore dis kopitiam sell the cheapest drinks around the area...ten cents cheaper than other kopitiam..like kopi-o they still sell for 60cts...in glass, not those small little cup like some other places. soft drinks is $1.....and in the morning their wanton noodle is only $2 whcih often sold out by 11pm....when i visit my aunty place, i usually eat there....problem is dat dis kopitiam has limited sitting so often veri crowded...got to tapao back...:biggrin:...i doubt GMS know dis place becos he neber do ground work in dat part of Tampines...his fav place is the Tampines round mkt area becos it has good food there...dat why he always loiter around there pretending to do his public outreach, but actually he just wanto eat there....LOL

coolguy

Ahem.
I see sinkies using more than 1/2 of their monthly income to service HDB loan for more than 30 years also never make noise. Now come to buy this Punggol Nasi Lemak once in a very blue moon also kpkb.
If I dun like the Nasi Lemak, one time is enough. Rest assured the seller will never see me again. But if I like the Nasi Lemak but find the food too ex, well maybe I will go, but once in a blue moon.
I always have a choice. Unless I kanna their kong tau liao, then you will see me queueing up there every week.:biggrin:
Another thing is herd mentality, which sinkies are famous for.

hossey

Noticed they deliberately wait for queue to form before they start to sell , so those people passing by , think it must be good and join the queue too . Smart but tricky strategy of owner , asked the staff why not serve since they are already ready , they said must follow boss instruction , if queue not up to 20 persons , dont start business. So queue continues all the time , and consumers are fooled into joining in !

Buy $1.20 per packet nasi lemak at most mamak stores or where they sell otak otak , you will still get quality nasi lemak at good price less chicken wing and otak but still first class in taste.

another article 2 weeks ago
Only recently , this unit was put up for sale , asking price , as high as their nasi lemak ! Shop was purchased few years ago at around $1.3million now asking for astronomical $3.2million?? Agent wasted his time and money advertising , no suckers in Singapore , all well informed and educated.

Now that report in papers highlighted son of Nasi lemak chain lost 1.8million and sued for $240k for non-payment , I can understand why price so high . Nasi lemak got good strategy , heard their supervisor telling staff not to sell until there is a long queue . Yet people so naive join queue to buy at exorbitant price of at least $4.50 for ordinary nasi lemak .

I always go hawker centre buy $1.20 per packet without otah and chicken wing, yet it is so much better than the oily Tg katong version which is so over-rated and pricey. Are their loyal clients paying for the casino losses incurred by the bodoh son? Why are these clients still patronising when there are good alternatives at a cheaper price? Beats me.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Cheapest Kopi ( not Kopi-Ore ), standard glass cup 0.60 cts at Bedok South Blk 16 hawker Centre - back row.

Cheapest Chap Chye Png is at Old Airport Road Market Hawker Centre, not the giant food centre ( serve till lunch only ). Plenty of choices too.

Veg 0.50 cts
Meat $1.00
SeaFood $1.50
Fish ( Batang ) $2.00
Rice - Free of charge

So, 1 meat 3 veg dishes cost $2.50.

I usually eat Batang Fish and 2 veg, cost me $3 only.

talk abt expensive chap chye png....scissor curry rice beach rd also veri ex....hainanese rice at upper serangoon also chop carrot....

near my aunt place in tampines blk 477 got dis little known kopitiam got dis chap chye png quite good...always got long Q..best is dat they give u big portion....somemore dis kopitiam sell the cheapest drinks around the area...ten cents cheaper than other kopitiam..like kopi-o they still sell for 60cts...in glass, not those small little cup like some other places. soft drinks is $1.....and in the morning their wanton noodle is only $2 whcih often sold out by 11pm....when i visit my aunty place, i usually eat there....problem is dat dis kopitiam has limited sitting so often veri crowded...got to tapao back...:LOL

BusNo64

Cheapest Kopi ( not Kopi-Ore ), standard glass cup 0.60 cts at Bedok South Blk 16 hawker Centre - back row.

Cheapest Chap Chye Png is at Old Airport Road Market Hawker Centre, not the giant food centre ( serve till lunch only ). Plenty of choices too.

Veg 0.50 cts
Meat $1.00
SeaFood $1.50
Fish ( Batang ) $2.00
Rice - Free of charge

tks...will try the kopi when i go for my hillstreet char kuay teow there...ususally when i eat there, i drink the soyabean drink...

old airport rd hawker - that is cheap....okay i got two more kangtao:

1. chap chye png ... 1 meat 2 vege only sell for $2....2 meat 1 vege sell for $2.5...coffieehop is near Tampines library blk 503 or 505....

2. near my place chicken rice...i dare say the cheapest in singapore now...$1.30...Tampines Street 81 BLK 823A Foodpark Food Court.....but portion is okay for ladies but not for me...i usually order $2.00 and the portion is big....lots of temasek poly student go there to eat....

Watchman

tks...will try the kopi when i go for my hillstreet char kuay teow there...ususally when i eat there, i drink the soyabean drink...

old airport rd hawker - that is cheap....okay i got two more kangtao:

1. chap chye png ... 1 meat 2 vege only sell for $2....2 meat 1 vege sell for $2.5...coffieehop is near Tampines library blk 503 or 505....

2. near my place chicken rice...i dare say the cheapest in singapore now...$1.30...Tampines Street 81 BLK 823A Foodpark Food Court.....but portion is okay for ladies but not for me...i usually order $2.00 and the portion is big....lots of temasek poly student go there to eat....

The chicken feed on a special diet of lizards and ants .
That is why you can have $1.30 children rice .

Rimururu

albert centre hawker centre @ blk 270 also got great nasi lemak...always long Q...and somemore cheap...$2...come with piping hot chicken wing + egg/luncheon + ikan bilis.....and the chili veri good also......

i always hav lunch there when i go SLS or sungei rd....:wink:

I order Set 5. Yum Yum.

mako65

Fucktard stall, had asked for more cucumber slices n tat fucktard ladyboss told me there're more customers bhind! Real pissed so rather eat at the hainanese beef noodle stall or the teochew fishball noodle! There was a Chong pang Nasi lemak stall few years ago along the "5 foot way" but closed liao!

KuanTi01

It's hard for these tokchaitow food stalls to be humble when there are so many idiots willing to queue long long and pay and pay for such humble staples like nasi lemak, chapchye png or what not. Just give them the thumbs down and stop patronising them. When they have no business, then perhaps they may wake up and remember their humble roots. Btw, what's so nice or special about Punggol nasi lemak! The only thing remarkable is the high prices!:rolleyes:
Every time I eat nasi lemak it doesn't cost me more than $3.00 and I get the usual spread and extra cucumber too! :biggrin:

Veg 0.50 cts
Meat $1.00
SeaFood $1.50
Fish ( Batang ) $2.00
Rice - Free of charge

Interesting & useful info, but unless you live in those areas it's not much use:(

Nowadays with bus fare, petrol, parking fees so expensive, it doesn't make sense to make a special trip to save $ while end up paying $$ :rolleyes:

$6.60 is quite a resaonable price because from the photo there are quite a number of ingredients in there. If you compare this meal price to fast food cheap meal that cost more than $7.00, I will certainly go for the nasi lemak.

hairylee

If he tink hawkering is a lucrative biz, he should consider become one. No point wearing nice shirt and tie earning that little money to the extent of going on blog to lament abt how expensive normal hawker food is. 60sen rice also he tink is expensive and expected to be given free, how pathetic is that.

A lot of people do not understand how tough life is as a hawker.
Sometimes we should be thankful to them.

aurvandil

Hawkers have been some of the most habitual gamblers since illegal gambling den days. Good cooking and hawking may be lucrative but it's a tough and dirty job, and many hawkers harboring dreams of easier way to make more money are naturally attracted to gambling. But from then, they developed habit and addiction.

You seem to be describing silverfox - wannabe hawker tycoon cum self proclaimed gambling genius.

alvin36

Hawkers have been some of the most habitual gamblers since illegal gambling den days. Good cooking and hawking may be lucrative but it's a tough and dirty job, and many hawkers harboring dreams of easier way to make more money are naturally attracted to gambling. But from then, they developed habit and addiction.

Instead of the initial idea of gambling to win so much money that they could quit their hawking business, it became slogging more on the business to feed their gambling habit. They were ideal customers for illegal gambling dens, bookies and loansharks, since hawking is a daily cash-flow business with lower risk of default.

Now with legalised casinos, the hawkers have a better place to go without worrying about police raids. The better established hawkers are now modern upscaled businesses, some even corporatised. They can qualify for bank and casino credit lines. They're not really cooks and hawkers anymore. They hire other people to do the works. They've become business owners and overseers with lots of money, casual and discretionary time about what they do. The casinos are natural attractions.

As for Ponggol Nasi Lemak, from food quality point of view, I think it has already gone the way of past illuminaries like the once-famous Scissors Cut Curry Rice, Eng Wah Beef Noodle etc. Nothing to shout about compared to common fares from unknown hawkers. But this is Singapore; many Singaporeans have funny sense of taste.

"Hawkers have been some of the most habitual gamblers since illegal gambling den days."

this is very true, because they deal with cash money every day. they are also easy to get "cash loans". When ah long see them have a store or shop, and doing biz daily, ah long will not hesitate to lend them money, because they know that it is easy to collect interest from them.

Windsor

The best Nasi Lemak (Malay) is at Adam Road, 2nd Stall (not 1st one). The other is Chong Pang Nasi Lemak (Chinese) along Sembawang Road near to Chong Pang wet market and only sold after midnight. The one in Changi Village (Malay) is over-rated plus the sellers are snobbish. Another problem at Changi is the hawker centre is crammed, and hard to move during peak mealtimes and seating arrangement is horrible as it is stuffy and warm.

Equalisation

"Hawkers have been some of the most habitual gamblers since illegal gambling den days."

this is very true, because they deal with cash money every day. they are also easy to get "cash loans". When ah long see them have a store or shop, and doing biz daily, ah long will not hesitate to lend them money, because they know that it is easy to collect interest from them.

Agree.

When I was selling beef noodles many years ago, I also borrowed from 3 or 4 ah longs. Luckily kena 4 d and pay all of them at once, and never borrowed money from then on !!:o

Windsor

bro...the store start selling much earlier, around dinner time......

Possibly as I don't stay around to know much except sometimes after a midnight get-together we went there for a good hearty meal. Pretty cheap with lots of choices and the sellers are friendly.