• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Police Commissioner wants 1,000 more policeman, only sprinters need apply

Charlie99

39,000 police man in the SPF not enough for this small island. Compare this with NYPD who has only 34,000 personnel and responsible for an area twice as big (1214 sq km) and much larger population (over 8 million, many armed with guns), and who do real police work like go after drug gangs and terrorist. Ng Chai Jiu He here has the audacity to ask for 1000 more men using the Little India riots as an excuse. Fucker should have his manpower cut seeing as how useless they are. The SPF is already fat and bloated and evidently useless and he wants to make it fatter. Anyway, I am sure there will be a 100m sprint as part of the physical test for the 1000 new policemen. Must run run very fast meh.

Police Commissioner Ng Joo Hee has asked for 1,000 more police officers to give the force "much needed strategic depth".

Also on his wishlist, stated on Tuesday at the hearing into the riot that broke out in Little India on Dec 8 last year: an extra Police Tactical Troop to be placed on standby at any time, thereby raising the number of available troops from two to three. He also hopes to ramp up the number of boots in Little India and Geylang, saying that 150 more officers are required in each location to bolster police visibility.

"(This is) so that we can police Little India and Geylang better, so that we can reinforce our thin lines in the neighbourhoods and communities in the rest of the country, so that we may continue to keep Singapore safe," he told the Committee of Inquiry, adding that there is "some truth" in the refrain that one hardly sees police officers roaming the streets of Singapore.

"We frequently have to rob Peter to pay Paul, as was the case when we keep reducing the size of our anti-riot troopers to fund other capabilities," he said, of the constraints in headcount and budget. "I have never been satisfied with the situation in Geylang or Little India, but I accept the fact that we can do little more with the resources that we currently can muster."

The Toronto Police is about 5,500 sworn members, plus about 2,500 unsworn members (civilian, non uniformed, admin type). Although, the numbers may not be current, I believe that the Toronto Police force is much smaller than the SPF.

I believe that there is more armed individuals, coloured people who are doing proportionately more drugs and all sorts of things, compared to their population as a percentage of the total population in Toronto.

Charlie99

Let me tell CP that for every illegal gambling den/stall in Geylang, there are at least 50 premises to game legally. Illegal dens in Geylang died 1-2 years before RWS and MBS started. In the words of an illegal gambling den operator, ' mata bien lai long, wa nang ka ke toh.' So for fuck sake, get your facts and intel right. Dont get misled. People who move around in Geylang have better intel than police intel.

Shit, the SPF Intel Dept has a SAC (Tan Chye Hee), an AC (Lim Chin Tiak), a DAC (Cheng Khee Boon) and three Superintendents, plus other non senior officers.
What the hell? a waste of $$

Shit, the SPF Intel Dept has a SAC (Tan Chye Hee), an AC (Lim Chin Tiak), a DAC (Cheng Khee Boon) and three Superintendents, plus other non senior officers.
What the hell? a waste of $$

Chin Tiak LMS. Married a police officer. Like Chye Hee. Low profile and humble. Khee Boon is a glory seeker. Knows nuts about i tel. Involve in surveillance and technical products. Hahaha!

It's no use even if the Poodle Force increased their present manpower strength. They are still hopeless and useless in eradicating the massive loan shark problems plaguing the country.. More officers are needed to protect not the HDB dwelling Sinkie peasants but the elites staying in good class bungalows off Bukit Timah, East Coast and the PAP' favorite foreign trash..

Is Ah Hee pushing the blame to Ah Hui? By saying not enough manpower to cope with increase in population, looks like a tai chi move to blame his ex-boss.

Singapore is definitely a 'police state'.

The SPF poodles aren't interested in solving problems... they're only attempting to cover their own backsides, paper over cracks and preserve their careers.

What happened to the ideas of hiring cheap policemen from the Philippines:confused:

We already have PRC bus drivers
Construction worker from India
Indonesian maids.

Charlie99

What happened to the ideas of hiring cheap policemen from the Philippines:confused:

Indonesian maids.

Why do we need "cheap FT police officers"

I believe that SG need Police Officers who are familiar with the culture and the ground.

Indonesian maids.

Definitely no weapon misfiring risk from Pinoy policemen.

cb567bbba8f925544843da595d53e152d61e5a93.jpeg

In trying to impress the COI and protect the image of the SPF, I opine NJH made many wrong calls. Need extra 1000 men to cope with population increase? He is tai chi-ing to KBH? Why wait till this riot to ask for more men? Didnt anticipate this potential problem earlier?

In the past whenever we asked for more manpower, we were told to make do with whatever we have. To better deploy and maximise our resources. Was told manpower would always be a problem. And these requests were made even before our own bombs exploded!

NJH said focus was on Geylang and less on Little India for reasons stated. Reality turned out differently. Was there a major cock up in intel analysis? I think so. Failure on the part of intel.

Why Little India more prone to violence than Geylang. Not because no gambling dens and drug trade in Little India. The answer is clear. It is visible. No need to have access to Top Secret files. Look at the number of people in both places. One far far exceeds the other. One has more drinkers than the other. But the most impt difference is this - you have unlicensed policemen in Geylang. These are the SS chaps who protect theirr turf.

When an incident is about to escalate in their territory, these 'policemen' would intervene to prevent a breach of public peace. They act as peacemakers. Why? Any incident which attracts police attention wont be beneficial for tbeir business. These are facts not wild intel imagination.

HellAngel

The simplest reason why SPF failed is because it has always favour staff officers instead of operational officers. Almost all their key operational officers are staff officers in disguise. Even if SPF increase its staff by another 5000 also pointless.

They dun see the basic problem, paperwork do not solve the problem on the ground. SPF has come to a point where it expects its officers to be angels. Going home immediately after work. Anyone found to be with bad company will be condemned but it is these people who will give information and keep the ground closely monitored.

These sort of "decent" officers do not and cannot solve problem on the street. The indian riot is the failure of everyday policing where basic police work on the street was not done well. It was made worst when SPF outsource its work to private companies like ATOS and CISCO.

When you have a police force who thinks that basic police work like crowd control is not its job, you know they are 'tai-chi' master it to the max.