• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pasir Ris One's narrow corridors meet SCDF minimum 1.2 m corridor guidelines

Paying premium prices to only meet minimum guidelines. Acceptable? In preparation for 6.9 mil population and beyond?

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/pasir-ris-ones-narrow-corridors-meet-guidelines-20150625

MY_20150625_STWIDE25_P_1445339.jpg
[h=3][/h]QUESTION OF SPACE: A worker walks along the common corridor of an apartment block at the DBSS project. The corridors are 1.2m wide; SCDF guidelines state that there must be a clear passage of at least 1.2m along corridors.

ST PHOTO: MARK CHEONG

[h=2]Video[/h]

Published on Jun 25, 2015
[h=2]Pasir Ris One's narrow corridors meet guidelines[/h]

AMOS LEE and JANICE HENG

THE narrow corridors of premium Housing Board project Pasir Ris One are making some residents feel squeezed.

The 1.2m-wide corridors of the Design, Build and Sell Scheme development are technically within regulations. Yet they put a crimp on everyday life, said residents such as Shaun Chew, 51.

"My neighbour and I cannot even open our doors at the same time," said the supervisor, who lives in a five-room flat on the ground floor.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force's (SCDF's) guidelines state that there must be a clear passage of at least 1.2m along corridors.

The same width was specified in the Building and Construction Authority's Accessibility Code until a 2013 revision.

Since 1.2m is exactly the width provided, the development sits on the margins of the rule. New residential projects submitted for approval from April 1 last year must have a 1.5m minimum width instead.

The Pasir Ris One corridors run up against another restriction.

Most town councils have by-laws against obstructions in common corridors, which typically follow SCDF's guidelines.

If residents put items outside their flat, they must leave a passage of at least 1.2m.

In HDB corridors which are 1.4m wide, for instance, this is not a problem. For Pasir Ris One, this means that no one can place items outside their homes.

When The Straits Times visited yesterday, the corridors were bare except for one or two pairs of shoes outside some units.

"The designs and plans for this development have been approved and fall within all guidelines stipulated by the BCA, which were established with safety and comfort of residents in mind," said manager and project administrator Dennis Lam from SingHaiyi Group, which jointly developed Pasir Ris One with Kay Lim Holdings.

"That said, we take the residents' views seriously and will take all feedback on board for review," he added.

But these technicalities do not change the reality for residents. Said Mr Chew: "There is a childcare centre nearby. With the narrow corridor, if we happen to open our doors, (they) may hit the children."

Not being able to place items outside is not a big issue for some residents, though. Their units have balconies for potted plants and an entry area for shoes.

"It is okay if there are no obstructions," said Lin Jun Yao, 29, who lives in a five-roomer with his family of five.

For Mr Lin, workmanship was more of a concern. "The tiling was uneven, cabinet joints loose and materials were cheap."

Other home owners noted scratched tiles, leaking pipes and noisy doors.

Said Mr Lam: "We are in touch with owners who have provided us with feedback and are currently working with them to address their respective concerns."
[email protected]

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/heng-to-lead-taskforce-to/1938162.html?cid=TWTCNA

Singapore
[h=1]Heng to lead taskforce to look into complaints over Centrale 8 DBSS estate[/h][h=2]The taskforce, overseen by Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, comes after a group of residents had sent a petition to Members of Parliament from Tampines GRC about the recurring defects found in their homes.[/h]
  • By Faris Mokhtar
  • POSTED: 24 Jun 2015 22:08
  • UPDATED: 25 Jun 2015 09:30

[h=1][/h]

00:00

00:00

LIVE

jyApsyseLFjBs7fgw5suTJlCtbvow5s ZlBQAAOw==
acvqn cSRFZBJ4qsgk4UWQWdKJKQoP8NrFFCcKSAWlsAAAAASUVORK5CYII=
XwEGAJfWKyY6 KB2AAAAAElFTkSuQmCC

<div>Please enable Javascript to watch this video</div>

dbss-tampines-centrale-8.jpg
Artist's impression of Centrale 8. (Photo: Central 8 website)

• Email
  • More Sharing Services More

• A
    • A

SINGAPORE: Education Minister Heng Swee Keat will oversee a special taskforce formed to look into the complaints of residents living in the Centrale 8 Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS) estate in Tampines.

The move comes after a group of residents had sent a petition to Members of Parliament (MPs) from Tampines GRC about the recurring defects found in their homes.
ADVERTISING

In an email to the residents by the chairman of the Tampines Town Council Baey Yam Keng, which was obtained by Channel NewsAsia, Mr Baey said the taskforce will comprise representatives from relevant Government agencies, the developer Sim Lian and the Tampines Town Council.

"It will be led by a small group of experienced grassroots leaders, supervised by Minister Heng himself personally," said Mr Baey, who is also an MP in Tampines GRC, in the email.

He added that Mr Heng is taking a "personal interest in the matter" and they are confident that the matter can be amicably resolved through a collective effort.

Residents from 400 out of the total 708 units at Centrale 8 who signed the petition are calling for compensation and the extension of the one-year warranty period for the developer to rectify the defects. They had complained that "inferior quality of materials" had been used in the construction of the units.

The DBSS scheme was suspended in 2011, but has been under the spotlight in recent months after recent complaints by residents over defects found in new DBSS flats.

- CNA/ms

sirus

pap die die also must say it has complied with the requirements.
It's all about the cost of rectification and face saving lah.

They're going to squeeze as many people as they possibly can into this little island, and one of the ways to do so is to shrink the residential units and related facilities. :wink:

Don't take my word for it: go to a flat built in the 1970s or 1980s and compare it with one of the units from the new cookie-cutter boxy design high-rise HDB projects sprouting up all over the island. Don't forget the stupid bomb shelter eating up a good chunk of the living room (Ah Q mentality: "Aiyah, use it as a storeroom lah!" :rolleyes:)

Even the newer condo units induce claustrophobia compared to the older ones. Buy hey, the value of the land has been maximised, so the property developers are happy. That's all that matters, right? :rolleyes:

NanoSpeed

The design of DBSS is plucked from some existing condo developments, but because it's DBSS and the development is not fenced up like condo, they can't use ceiling board to cover the piping and ducts on the corridor, as any Raj and Beng can just walk into the development and set fire on the ceiling board.

Likewise the balconies where condensers are located. The design is not meant for development that is not fenced up. You pick any condo development in Singapore and you will notice that if the perimeter is not secured, anybody can just climb into the units.

$680,000 for a 5-room that is smaller than an old HDB 4-room. No privacy just like any HDB flats.

soIsee

The design of DBSS is plucked from some existing condo developments, but because it's DBSS and the development is not fenced up like condo, they can't use ceiling board to cover the piping and ducts on the corridor, as any Raj and Beng can just walk into the development and set fire on the ceiling board.

Likewise the balconies where condensers are located. The design is not meant for development that is not fenced up. You pick any condo development in Singapore and you will notice that if the perimeter is not secured, anybody can just climb into the units.

$680,000 for a 5-room that is smaller than an old HDB 4-room. No privacy just like any HDB flats.

Exposed piping and ducts?

These are your least worries, you Sinkie ( like you of course) are so carried away with 'false facade interior decorations' that you missed the entire point.

You are literally placed in a 4 by 2 cell but need to shell out premium dollars, as though you are buying the entire prison yard!LOLOLOLOLOLoLoLoLoLoL

Hey, that's living the Singapore Dream, 'home ownership' according to Mah Bow Tan. :wink:

lifeafter41

Exposed piping and ducts?

These are your least worries, you Sinkie ( like you of course) are so carried away with 'false facade interior decorations' that you missed the entire point.

One thing for sure, the ceiling is definitely lower, same as your regular hdb. Unlike those private condo where it's 3 meters and above, no false ceiling for sure.
Why do you think the resale levy is waived for these dbss, caused its is already built into the prices.
Might as well get a regular condo unit then getting these dbss.

This is just like pap govt.
you pay premium for them to promise you first world and Swiss standard.
They in turn get maximum for themselves but give you minimum of minimum standards. When it's not even minimum they lie in your face.
Man so call premium flats the corridor narrower than the old dingy one room flats. Haha gong cheebyes this is what you voted for

This is just like pap govt.
you pay premium for them to promise you first world and Swiss standard.
They in turn get maximum for themselves but give you minimum of minimum standards. When it's not even minimum they lie in your face.
Man so call premium flats the corridor narrower than the old dingy one room flats. Haha gong cheebyes this is what you voted for

I am getting Swiss standard type of salary and am enjoying Swiss living standards. ESM Goh had delivered his promise. Nobody can call him a liar. PAP delivers whatever it promises. That's how PAP has been winning GE after GE all these decades.

soIsee

One thing for sure, the ceiling is definitely lower, same as your regular hdb. Unlike those private condo where it's 3 meters and above, no false ceiling for sure.
Why do you think the resale levy is waived for these dbss, caused its is already built into the prices.
Might as well get a regular condo unit then getting these dbss.

Anyone put a gun to your head to buy those DBsssssss?

Look, you Sinkie are not only daft but have a huge ego problem as well.

You could have shell roughly the same amount for a unit with ONE less room or slightly more for the same number of rooms for a older more matured estate with a definitely larger space inside and out and you will only live in this hell hole for less than 50 years.

You are only renting the hole, idiots and you are always thinking you have 'brought it' !

Daft is definitely a word too polite to used to describe Sinkie!

NoNewsGood

Pay more for less.

This is like taking a flight, paying for business class but get a seat worse than budget airline.

Fat lumps of turd Maori have asses 1.3 metres wide. Those apartments are way off limits.

maori_tribe_3_BM_Ba_597445g.jpg

dancingshoes

HDB and MCA have all our interests at heart, in this closed up flats, neighbours will be brought closer and community spirit will thrive.