• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP’s Communication Problem

aurvandil

Recently I was having lunch with a good friend of mine. As the topic of conversation veered towards politics, we talked about the recent 6.9 million White Paper.

A staunch PAP supporter, my friend argued passionately that the problem that the PAP was having is mainly communication. He was of the view that most Singaporeans do not understand the policy issues behind immigration. As such, they were therefore so opposed to the policy to bring in so many immigrants. Given that the problem was communication, his solution was that the PAP needs to desperately improve its communication efforts. This applied to not only the FT policy but to also other policies as well. If the PAP could do this, then they could win back the ground.

My view was that it was not a communication problem. Instead of not understanding the issues, the problem is that the issues are now too well understood by Singaporeans. This understanding occurred because of the political awakening that started in GE 2011. Things have gotten to the stage where even secondary school children can ask the Minister sensitive “mature” questions. Because of the understanding of how PAP policies are negatively affecting them, no amount of “improved communications” is going to stop the erosion of support.

Which do you think is the correct answer? If it is a communication problem, then the problem is solvable and the PAP could reverse their fortunes. If however the problem is because the issues are now well understood by too many Singaporeans, then the outcomes for 2015 and 2021 seem fixed beyond redemption.

communication problems? certainly! the MIW are too high up in their ivory tower to hear ground sentiments :eek::eek::eek:

Bigfuck

It is a brain problem They believe only they can read and they are the only ones who can think. No true, and their thinking and knowledge is substandard. I do not need to have the exact figures to count. I can benchmark from other countries, benchmark from physical sciences. The is the real world of variables and digits which change in more than 2 dimensions.

What a way to lose seats then ! All because of communications problems? It is a series of mishaps over 15 years or so. Even if the PAP fail to explain or communicate any of their policies and if these policies are good, people would recognise that and they would not lose a GRC.

PAP problem is not communications but having followers and members who are insincere and out to make what they can and have no idea what is going on.

What a way to lose seats then ! All because of communications problems? It is a series of mishaps over 15 years or so. Even if the PAP fail to explain or communicate any of their policies and if these policies are good, people would recognise that and they would not lose a GRC.

PAP problem is not communications but having followers and members who are insincere and out to make what they can and have no idea what is going on.

That's true, including those discarded ones who play both sides, while out to make what they can.

He claims to be a defender of the common man but that is pure bullshit
Just mention anything about those elites and he’s chomping at the bit
scroobal's anger with the men in white may sometimes confuse us
Most likely he was discarded by them and thrown under the bus

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
PAP propaganda machine is now half broken. While the social media is now well oil, the people voice are finally heard by the masses.

Not surprising. PAP policy has always been half baked.

metalmickey

There is no communication problem. 10-15 years ago, the PAP was able to push through their policies because the full effects of their policies had not yet been felt, and because the dissenting voices were not that strong. Some people might have thought things were going downhill, but they were not powerful enough to be heard, or maybe there was too much crackdown on dissent.

Now these policies are creating a widening gap between the rich and the poor, which didn't use to be a problem but it became a real problem when the middle class was affected. It is still true that the poor can be lifted into the middle class, but they're also finding that the middle class existence is almost as bad as being poor.

The problem with the PAP is that for a long time they had been talking about "unpopular but necessary" policies until they got this idea that anything that makes the people suffer is good for them. Then they managed to convince themselves, either that what they're still doing is good but misunderstood, or that the system has to continue no matter what. Thing is, they're still doing a lot of the things they used to do in the past, so it doesn't really hit them that it's time to change direction. Or this "communication problem" thing is a defence mechanism both to continue hoodwinking the gullible people who bought into their direction a long time ago, and to convince themselves that it's business as usual.

The sad part is that this is a problem that is faced the world over. All over the world there are three big problems: depletion of the earth's resources (serious but not that serious), growing inequality (getting serious) and climate change (potentially catastrophic). There are not that many models out there to show us how to solve that problem. There aren't that many models that we can follow to solve the inequality problem, except maybe to look back on our own past, to an era (70s / 80s) where this problem was successfully managed in Singapore and figure out how we can go back to that point. I assure you that there will be a lot of stiff resistance to this. There are plenty of people who will point fingers towards the PAP not managing the inequality issue properly, but if they have to be faced with a big drop in property prices, will start howling with rage.

Logic

Yes they have a communication problem, they can speak but cannot hear. Or they spout rubbish and clogs your ear drums.

How can children who are born on a golden platter understand the common folks? Spend so much to make Singapore 1st, Airport, Seaport, Nice builings the 7 wonders of Singapore Government buildings (they should include in tourist tours) BUT sadly, the people are treated last and lease important

Hawkeye1819

Not only well understood because of the internet and alternative media, but also the tangible effects of the population increase are felt at all levels of society from the poor aged, to the first-time home buying couple, to the commuter who suffers from overcrowded trains, to the road user who suffers from perpetual jams on the highway, to the student who has difficulty finding a place in university in which quota is set for FT students, to middle aged Singaporeans suffering from chronic structural unemployment due to displacement by FTs.

All levels of society except the elite rich are feeling the effects, and every time someone loses a job, gets stuck in traffic, suffers train breakdown, endures overcrowding, etc, etc, it becomes a constant reminder of policies gone wrong.

Recently I was having lunch with a good friend of mine. As the topic of conversation veered towards politics, we talked about the recent 6.9 million White Paper.

A staunch PAP supporter, my friend argued passionately that the problem that the PAP was having is mainly communication. He was of the view that most Singaporeans do not understand the policy issues behind immigration. As such, they were therefore so opposed to the policy to bring in so many immigrants. Given that the problem was communication, his solution was that the PAP needs to desperately improve its communication efforts. This applied to not only the FT policy but to also other policies as well. If the PAP could do this, then they could win back the ground.

My view was that it was not a communication problem. Instead of not understanding the issues, the problem is that the issues are now too well understood by Singaporeans. This understanding occurred because of the political awakening that started in GE 2011. Things have gotten to the stage where even secondary school children can ask the Minister sensitive “mature” questions. Because of the understanding of how PAP policies are negatively affecting them, no amount of “improved communications” is going to stop the erosion of support.

Which do you think is the correct answer? If it is a communication problem, then the problem is solvable and the PAP could reverse their fortunes. If however the problem is because the issues are now well understood by too many Singaporeans, then the outcomes for 2015 and 2021 seem fixed beyond redemption.

Its not a question of understanding but they have been used to pushing things down our throats for so long that it has become an operating model. The fact that in early 90 when they decided to hide the population statistics, the civil service payscales etc says a lot. It is only when George Yeo's pension became an issue that Singaporeans began to wonder what was going on.

How can children who are born on a golden platter understand the common folks? Spend so much to make Singapore 1st, Airport, Seaport, Nice builings the 7 wonders of Singapore Government buildings (they should include in tourist tours) BUT sadly, the people are treated last and lease important

A staunch PAP supporter, my friend argued passionately that the problem that the PAP was having is mainly communication. .

You should have asked your friend this question: Why did LHL admitted he didn't have 20/20 foresight? (with or without communications). How did Mah Bow Tan screwed up the housing policy? (with or without communications)

and than you watch how your friend react to these questions without needing further debate.

Its not a question of understanding but they have been used to pushing things down our throats for so long that it has become an operating model. The fact that in early 90 when they decided to hide the population statistics, the civil service payscales etc says a lot. It is only when George Yeo's pension became an issue that Singaporeans began to wonder what was going on.

Cunning snake scroobal again pretending to be a defender of the common people.
One month before the next GE, you will again try to derail the opposition's chances.
Your children should not be allowed to procreate, because they will have your disgusting manipulative and cunning genes.

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?89550-The-Chen-Show-Mao-Affair

kingrant

The PAP may have heard your voice but it does not listen well, esp with its heart. Effective communication is not about language skills, it is about being able to listen carefully to what the other guy is saying, verbal or non-verbal clues. Effective comm cannot happen when one party is proud to admit they are deaf frogs and you are daft. That is why comm failed big time. The PAP has lost the art of bonding with the people. This is because all of them are not sincere about wanting to communicate, in the real sense. Their father knows best attitude is far too ingrained. Leopard cannot change its spots.

metalmickey

Cunning snake scroobal again pretending to be a defender of the common people.

Personally I don't really care if he really is playing both sides. For all you know, you might be absolutely right. He could be a double agent. But if he really wants to burnish his credentials with the anti-PAP crowd, why does he not reveal his true identity? What's the point of currying favour with a bunch of guys when you're going to be anonymous?

I'm more interested in what information he's bringing to this forum. Like most other people in this forum, I'm not really interested in whether he's a good or bad person.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Only morons will think that the PAPzis have a problem communicating. Their entire mode of operation is about miscommunication. Communicating is one of the last things on their mind.

You are talking about a fascist political party and not some first world political party that believes in democracy. There are too many idiots that just don't get it and that is the problem with sinkies. THey get robbed of $200K and all their feeble minds can think of is the $50K that they are overpaying. Typical idiots deserving another 150 years rule by a fascist political party.

But if he really wants to burnish his credentials with the anti-PAP crowd, why does he not reveal his true identity? What's the point of currying favour with a bunch of guys when you're going to be anonymous?

The answer to your first question is that there is a real risk that he and/or his family may get it from both sides.

The answer to your second question is even more obvious. He thinks that he has to curry favour to increase the "credibility' of his internet moniker. Sounds ridiculous? Perhaps to most of us but not to this cunning, manipulative and egoistic fucker. He believes that he has to build up some kind of reputation, so that when his snaky body twists the other way, people will believe him.

Lying and boasting are second nature to this fucker, so your interest in the "information" it brings is misplaced.
But don't worry too much, it's only the internet.

metalmickey

Yeh yeh yeh. It's only the internet. And therefore he "thinks that he has to curry favour to increase the "credibility' of his internet moniker".

It's only the internet and that's why you've spilled so much (virtual) ink into discrediting him.

kukubird58

hahaha...what you post on the net is in posterity.....
u can act dumb and put your head in a hole....but the bullshit will not be erased and will come back to haunt you 1 day when you least expected....shiok sendiri lah.

neddy

HK politicians have better communication skills and better communication channels with the HK people.

互動新聞台《講清講楚》
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/1t9k1xLJHUI?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>