• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

OuR ChiLdReN WilL NEVER KnoW tHe LinK BeTwEeN tHe TwO .

Last time can smoke More cig see pay can liao. Yes, I recall buying individual sticks from mamak stalls. Last time I tried all brands - Abdullah, 555, Winston, Craven A, Benson, Dunhill, Consulate, Marlboro, Salem, Winfield, Goldleaf, Camel, Lucky etc.
Yes those were the times to try everything...during new brands launch you can get pre opened free promo packs being distributed in discos....

Remember a brand 'accord' or something that even had a adjustable filter to control the level of menthol...

Some new brands you can exchange 4 empty packs for a new pack...

There was a shop in centerpoint that sold 'exotic' brands...tried brands like Cartier, Saratoga, Eve etc....taking about More and Pall Mall type of brown cigs...they also sold those Henri Winterman's half cig half cigar in a flat tin box....

middaydog

Good question. Now I also wonder 6 or 7 coz was almost 40 years ago.
Dunhill+basic+red2+filters+of+all+sizes.jpg

the description says 7 stick pack on the right, if look closely it's 7 leh

Yes those were the times to try everything...during new brands launch you can get pre opened free promo packs being distributed in discos....

Remember a brand 'accord' or something that even had a adjustable filter to control the level of menthol...

There was a shop in centerpoint that sold 'exotic' brands...tried brands like Cartier, Saratoga, Eve etc....taking about More and Pall Mall type of brown cigs...they also sold those Henri Winterman's half cig half cigar in a flat tin box....

Yes, now I recall - Pall Mall, Rothmans, Eve. Don't recall Cartier and Saratoga though. I used to walk to Temasek Beer Gdn (hope I got the place right) where William Scorpion was based. Near the old STPB bldg. Also frequented Marco Polo and Tanglin Shopping Centre where Tania performed. Lots of free cig.

Yes, remember accord brand.

4 empty packs change new pack should be Newport and Lucky Strike

My time, a packet of 10 sticks Marlboro and Salem cost SGD 1.10 and 20 sticks soft pack is SGD 2.00. Any update on cigarette prices in SG?

Today 4D, buy 6767 - loke chart loke chart. Huat ah!
Dunhill did produce the 7 stick flip top pack whereas Consolate 7 stick is pull out box. Later both stop the 7 stick packs and only Dunhill sell the 6 stick pack. There was a time, Marlboro and Salem even have the middle pack 14 sticks.

My time, a packet of 10 sticks Marlboro and Salem cost SGD 1.10 and 20 sticks soft pack is SGD 2.00. Any update on cigarette prices in SG?

Yes, now I remember Newport. Was supposed to rival Salem but didn't last long in the market. No more 10 sticks cigs here for quite awhile already. 20 sticks cost $11.80 for premium brands like Salem and marlboro.

Talking about the casette and pencil. Pencil is used to insert into one of the holes of the cassette and use it to spin the cassette (rewind the tape). So can save battery energy.

Fook Seng

Those were the times when you went to the market (no hawker centre yet, just a roadside stall or a shop) with your mother to buy BBQ pork, the butcher would stick the crispiest and juiciest piece into your mouth. And how about buying ice-balls from the itinerary hawker who shaved ice using the hand shaver: one hand on a piece of ice which he moved back and forth over the blade. For 5 cents, you got a plain ice-ball with syrup and for 5 cents more, you could get one with red beans buried inside.

During the early 80s, there are still pasar malam (Diam Lam Huay) with games stalls (12 numbers dart, 5 color ping poing, 2 color ping pong) where you can change cash for chips. The prizes also have cigarettes, usually Marlboro and Salem. The adults will drink beer and listen songs at the Ge Tai while the kids go and try their luck at the games.

Dunhill came in 7s pack as there were the 14s packs as well

Yes Newport....starting to recall a few brands now....lucky strike and camels without filters were the matrocker favorites along with Winston.

Later progressed to kretek like gudang garam (also no filter version)....then came others like Samporna....remembered all the girlfriends cannot tahan kretek smell....

Those were the times when you went to the market (no hawker centre yet, just a roadside stall or a shop) with your mother to buy BBQ pork, the butcher would stick the crispiest and juiciest piece into your mouth. And how about buying ice-balls from the itinerary hawker who shaved ice using the hand shaver: one hand on a piece of ice which he moved back and forth over the blade. For 5 cents, you got a plain ice-ball with syrup and for 5 cents more, you could get one with red beans buried inside.

Yeah & drip the ice-ball with coloured syrup, whom we suck till dry & go to the hawker & ask for free refill of syrup. By the way, he scratches his nose or dig dunno where with his fingers, the same he used to shave the ice & form the ice ball and the sugarly syrup is awfully unhealthy. But who cares, it tasted good & we lasted till now!

Dunhill came in 7s pack as there were the 14s packs as well

Yes Newport....starting to recall a few brands now....lucky strike and camels without filters were the matrocker favorites along with Winston.

Later progressed to kretek like gudang garam (also no filter version)....then came others like Samporna....remembered all the girlfriends cannot tahan kretek smell....
Yes, remember the cracking sound of gudang garam. Gudang garam also last longer than the normal cigarettes. But not used to the sweet taste of gudang garam.
Winston is the favorites among the Malays.

Yes, remember the cracking sound of gudang garam. Gudang garam also last longer than the normal cigarettes. But not used to the sweet taste of gudang garam.
Winston is the favorites among the Malays.

NO SMOKING in SBF ... ha ha ha ha ha , go to your smoking corner!! from the link between the pencil & the cassette, it has now lead to cigarettes, soon it will be the 'choorut' the Indians used to smoke, the cigars & pipes, my uncle used to smoke & the 'ang hoon' with self rolled paper, my mom smoked, I never took up smoking; and not to mention, the ganga the boys used to smoke in National Slavery..

Yes, now I recall - Pall Mall, Rothmans, Eve. Don't recall Cartier and Saratoga though. I used to walk to Temasek Beer Gdn (hope I got the place right) where William Scorpion was based. Near the old STPB bldg. Also frequented Marco Polo and Tanglin Shopping Centre where Tania performed. Lots of free cig.

Confirm you older than me....cannot recall a temasek beer garden....was it Atlantis by Dennis Wee?
Remember the hawker centre there rasa sayang...

Marco Polo had a very exclusive nightclub....around the area behind tanglin police station was another hotel Sheraton with a nightspot Peyton Place....and later came Ridley's

Further up there was Tudor Court next to it was a small building that housed Stuugart Motors selling Porsches....above the showroom there was a pub that was opened by a friend of mine.

Tania owns anywhere in tanglin shopping....think closed down...now there are 2 thai discos in the building.

Confirm you older than me....cannot recall a temasek beer garden....was it Atlantis by Dennis Wee?

Marco Polo had a very exclusive nightclub....around the area behind tanglin police station was another hotel Sheraton with a nightspot Peyton Place....and later came Ridley's

Further up there was Tudor Court next to it was a small building that housed Stuugart Motors selling Porsches....above the showroom there was a pub that was opened by a friend of mine.

Tania owns anywhere in tanglin shopping....think closed down...now there are 2 thai discos in the building.

There was a disco at the back of Tangling Police Station was in on Nassin Road?, at ANA hotel....what was the name, now I had forgotten? The ones I remember would be Chatter box I & II, & The Library, Chinoserie.. there were a few beer gardens along orchard road back then.

Raya Sayang, with the Indian Rojak from near to old SJI, Lau Goh Carrot cake ( one of the brothers, was murdered), the kueh pati, was it the first, chee cheong fun with the prawns & mushrooms fillings?. A cheap source of food, before one go & play around Orchard Rd, eat first at Rasa Sayang or at Newton Hawker Centre, or Taman Serasi...then go, 'boom chit chit & mo mo cha cha' Orchard Rd...whichever water hole you want to choose.:biggrin:

Confirm you older than me. :biggrin:

Doubblur

Cannot fight with original vinyl record music, 33 and 45 RPM, needle must be solid and polished.