• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ngiam Tong Dow: Opposition who wants to chase out Foreigners are idiots

freedalas

What do we do with the Sinkie idiots? How about deporting the whole lot back to where their ancestors came from. :rolleyes:

Ngiam is asking the wrong questions. He should be asking "why has the situation in our hospitals become one of such that all the medical workers are foreigners. What has led to such a situation?" Then he should go on and ask "what if these foreign workers decide to leave S'pore to go to another country with better pay. What do we do then - close all the hospitals"?

You see no matter what bad he may be saying about PAP policies now, he's still a sycophantic at heart. If not, he wouldn't have been drawing a humongous salary from the PAP then while keeping quiet about all those policies that he now berates. It is not as if such situations only come about after he retired from public service.

The real problem is that the government has too much a commercial stake in these hospitals and it is therefore in its interest to ensure that manpower costs remain as low as possible. So instead of offering higher salaries to attract locals to the medical jobs, they take in people from abroad who cost a fraction of what would be a reasonable pay for a local.

So you get the picture now, you twat!

Ngiam is right. FWs are needed but we need to be more discerning. Let's face it, nursing is not exactly one of the jobs sinkies aspire to do even though its the best bet for the average joe to flee this sinking rock.

That's totally absurb. Nursing is a middle-income job in the developed world. If you don't have doctors around, the next best thing you can have is a nurse. In the US and some other countries, nurse practitioners are diagnosing and writing prescriptions for minor ailments.
In sinkapore, we have these nincompools called ministers who have deemed nursing as a poor-pay vocation. So, they keep the wages of nurses low by bring in loads of foreigners to do the jobs.
PMET, nursing are now designated by the PAP to be for foreigners ...so, what's left for sinkees to do to earn middle-income salaries?

What is wrong with employing Singaporean first? we are not saying dun employ foreigners, just that Singapore should come first.

wMulew

That's totally absurb. Nursing is a middle-income job in the developed world. If you don't have doctors around, the next best thing you can have is a nurse. In the US and some other countries, nurse practitioners are diagnosing and writing prescriptions for minor ailments.
In sinkapore, we have these nincompools called ministers who have deemed nursing as a poor-pay vocation. So, they keep the wages of nurses low by bring in loads of foreigners to do the jobs.
PMET, nursing are now designated by the PAP to be for foreigners ...so, what's left for sinkees to do to earn middle-income salaries?

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retards. Nurses with 1 - 2 years in SG are apid upwards of 3K per month, that is fresh graduates pay. The government have been mass recruiting locals for the job but have always had problems getting any locals to join. That's why we hire FTs. Please check your facts before showing the world what a retard you are

Satyr

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retards. Nurses with 1 - 2 years in SG are apid upwards of 3K per month, that is fresh graduates pay. The government have been mass recruiting locals for the job but have always had problems getting any locals to join. That's why we hire FTs. Please check your facts before showing the world what a retard you are

We should ask ourselves at what price would our daughters or sisters take up nursing as a career?
Seriously I doubt these princesses would be able to take this kind of life. Does anybody have "nurse" in their career aspirations ? Does anyone enjoy seeing humanity at its most depressing. This is one job where we really need foreigners. To them the pay is enough to justify spending a few years of their lives.
Yes the government has been indiscriminate in the past in allowing foreigners in but lets not go to the other extreme.

Dreamer1

Brother wMulew.U are right,NGIAM TONG DOW is always right.God bless Singapore
NGIAM TONG DOW: HIGHLY PAID PAP ELITISTS, DON’T SPEAK UP AND DON’T FEEL FOR THE PEOPLE
http://therealsingapore.com/content...ap-elitists-don’t-speak-and-don’t-feel-people

Ngiam Tong Dow: Entire political arena has become a civil service
http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/10/01/ngiam-entire-political-arena-has-become-a-civil-service/

Ngiam Tong Dow laments 'tamer' civil service; 'elitist' PAP
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/ngiam-tong-dow-laments--tamer--civil-service---elitist--pap-100223359.html

Ngiam Tong Dow: 10 sayings by ex-top civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow that lays the smack down on everyone
http://mothership.sg/2013/10/10-sayings-ex-top-civil-servant-ngiam-tong-dow-lays-smack/

BESTEST OF THE PACK
"I suspect we have started to believe our own propaganda."
May 30, 2010 at 2:12am
"I suspect we have started to believe our own propaganda. There is also a particular brand of Singapore elite arrogance creeping in. Some civil servants behave like they have a mandate from the emperor. We think we are little Lee Kuan Yews."
https://www.facebook.com/notes/theo...ed-to-believe-our-own-propaganda/395224663963

Getloud

We should ask ourselves at what price would our daughters or sisters take up nursing as a career?
Seriously I doubt these princesses would be able to take this kind of life. Does anybody have "nurse" in their career aspirations ? Does anyone enjoy seeing humanity at its most depressing. This is one job where we really need foreigners. To them the pay is enough to justify spending a few years of their lives.
Yes the government has been indiscriminate in the past in allowing foreigners in but lets not go to the other extreme.

If you want an opportunity to move on from here, becoming a nurse is a sure path.
That why you see so many pinoy nurse around.

In ang mor lands. Nursing is a profession. And there are ways for advancement but have to study n upgrade all the time. If willing to work at it can become practitioner nurse or something like tat. Can prescribe drugs n give MC. In rural ozland they play a big part in the community. But now with pinoyland having a huge nursing surplus. They can easily export their nurses on the cheap. There are nursing graduates in pinoyland working for free to gain experience. Pap would bring the whole load over n not bother to train or attempt to improve working conditions for the locals.

Pioneer

If you want an opportunity to move on from here, becoming a nurse is a sure path.
That why you see so many pinoy nurse around.

It is a sure path but can be hard/dirty work too. Some patients are dirty, contagious, sometimes need to collect bodily fluids for investigations etc. If the patient is young and pretty then no problem lah

Getloud

It is a sure path but can be hard/dirty work too. Some patients are dirty, contagious, sometimes need to collect bodily fluids for investigations etc. If the patient is young and pretty then no problem lah

When you achieve your goals, not necessarily to stay on as nurse.

songsongjurong

PAP Whitepaper had stated clearly nursing job are low skill

"Certain low-skilled jobs like personal services, retail, and nursing are hard to offshore. They will still be needed even as the economy upgrades.”

rushifa666

a local nurse will never want to work in a hospital. unless its private. the hours are shit, you have countless duties, the pay is not worth it. your see them in dialysis centres and such, where the work and the hours are less. i'm sure everyone knows what complaining pricks sinkies are