• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Netizen arrested by Singapore police for posting anti-YOG remarks on Facebook

Leckmichamarsch

If you follow the I-hate-YOG FB, it looks like he was singled out because he crossed some kind of invisible line. My speculation is that he went to engage MPs on their personal FB page in an aggressive manner. They seem to want to send the message that this kind of direct online confrontation of MPs is not tolerated.

MP FBs are in public domain...... Y cannot be challenged? Police State???

cheekenpie

From the way this was handled, I don't this was ordered or even approved by the PAP top leadership. If it was, the ST would have been the first to break the news with all reasons/arguements for the arrest nicely laid out. More importantly, SPF would not have been so shy about making comments to the press if they were simply implementing orders from the top.

My feeling is that the PAP elsers were probably as shocked when the read the Newpaper headline.

Now that the dust has settled, this looks more and more like the work of some mid-level elements hoping to make a name for themselves and score some brownie pts. Given who was involved, you can probably guess the organisation that these mid-level elements are in. You then only need corss reference invovlement with the CDC to some up with a shortlist.

Then police commander jiak sai lilao.

poore

saw today ST.

this guy used to work as insurance agent,misappropriated ard 10k of clients'money.jailed for a year.....

hmmmmm

MarrickG

This is a cock fellow.

1st - he tries to politicise YOG by making use of all the negative happenings during the games and turning it against MIW (wrong move).

2nd - he uses the word 'burn' when MIW are still uptight about what happened to SHT? (stupid choice of words)

3rd - He tries to make himself known by using his own photo in FB.

abdulmalik.jpg

SINGAPORE - A Singaporean man who attacked the ruling party on Facebook and urge people to "burn" a cabinet minister has been arrested on charges of inciting violence, police said Wednesday.

In a statement, police said they had arrested a "man in his late 20s" on Tuesday "in connection with investigations into offences related to incitement of violence".

The statement did not name the man or give details of the offence, but said that he was released on bail pending further investigation.

Local media identified him as Abdul Malik Ghazali, 27, who posted a series of comments on the social networking site critical of how Singapore is hosting the inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG).

The August 14-26 event, held for competitors aged from 14 to 18, has generated limited public interest, with many events blighted by empty seats and the host country's athletes faring badly.

Vivian Balakrishnan, the minister for community development, youth and sports, has come under particular fire from online critics over the games.

Abdul Malik's postings on his own Facebook page and on a separate group account called "I hate the Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee" are also critical of Singapore's ruling People's Action Party (PAP).

Abdul Malik, who works for a company specialising in wood and flooring, said on his Facebook page that he was arrested "due to my involvement in anti-YOG and anti-PAP Facebook pages".

One of his postings highlighted recent floods in Singapore, the escape of detained terror suspect Mas Selamat Kastari, the amount of money spent to host the games and reports of the poor standard of food served for games volunteers.

He said it was time to "burn" the sports minister and the PAP. "Rally together and vote them out!!!" he wrote.

Abdul Malik said in comments published Wednesday by The New Paper that "the comment is a metaphor".

"I did not intend for it to be taken literally. I did not mean for someone to actually burn," he said.
--AFP

soIsee

saw today ST.

this guy used to work as insurance agent,misappropriated ard 10k of clients'money.jailed for a year.....

hmmmmm

As again, if you want to 'fix' a guy, first call him up at 4 a.m and then use the media to discredit him!

Always works for Sinkies!:biggrin:

tookara

finally the young (usually younger!) potential voters on the internet have brought their case mainstream. Ironically all thanks to SPH publicizing this innocuous post being blown out of proportion

Careful with your words hor.... crucify got Christian metaphor. hehe

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=71776

Please lah!....the Christians in the world are much tolerant..

Christ you know it ain't easy,
You know how hard it can be.
The way things are going
They're gonna crucify me
( Ballad of John & Yoko, The Beatles, adbridge)

When I find myself in times of trouble
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be
(Let It Be, The Beatles, Abridged)

Don't think the Christians back then went bersek over these?:p

sherrry

the NS poodles must've felt like complete idiots having being required to take the ranting mutt in for kopi session, when they too agreed with the cause. surely, they must've identified with the "volunteer" issue.

Green Light

This guy is just a victim indoctrinated by Temasek Review, he is just like Yong vui Kong and TR is the 'big boss' behind all these instigation