• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mr.Sim Wong Hoo..Pls Write Book On What Exactly Happened to Creative

Yah.. selling hardware alone can never beat owning content channels as well. No way Sim could have pulled this off for MP3.

One of the problems was that he did not believe in marketing at all. To him, marketing was all bs. He believed that if he built the best mousetrap in the world, the customers will come. Truth be told, he DID produce the best mouse trap in the world...

Visiting his service centre (in some wayout ulu place) was most uninspiring - one would have thought that one was in a Chinatown audio shop.

It was only in his later years that he recognised his mistake.

Falling out with that Serial guy (Derrick?) was another mistake. That guy is now big time, and devoting his money to good causes.

tioliaohuat

[h=1]Apple, Samsung sued by ZiiLABS over alleged infringement of graphics patents[/h] By Mikey Campbell
Tuesday, March 11, 2014, 10:07 pm PT (01:07 am ET)
In a lawsuit filed against Apple and Samsung on Monday, ZiiLABS, a subsidiary of A/V solutions giant Creative Technology, claims the companies infringed on ten U.S. patents, many of which deal with graphics processing.
1x1-white.jpg
14.03.12-ZiiLABS.jpg

The suit was lodged in the patent holder-friendly Eastern District of Texas and asserts ten patents-in-suit against a number of Apple and Samsung devices. More specifically, the litigation targets system-on-chip designs manufactured by Samsung and used in both companies' devices.

Not only is ZiiLABS going after mobile devices, but Macs as well. Claimed infringing computers include MacBooks, iMacs and Mac Pros, as well as what appears to be nearly every Samsung device made in the past couple years.

As the company, formerly known as 3DLabs, Inc, deals mainly with graphics processing hardware and software, most of the patents asserted are within this realm of expertise. Currently, ZiiLABS is marketing the "StemCell" ARM-based applications processor lineup, a version of which has recently seen use in 3M's mobile projector. The chips are also used in parent company Creative's various products.

ZiiLABS is asserting the following patents:

• Patent No. 5,831,637 for "Video stream data mixing for 3D graphics systems"
  • Patent No. 5,835,096 for a "Rendering system using 3D texture-processing hardware for accelerated 2D rendering"
  • Patent 6,111,584 for a "Rendering system with mini-patch retrieval from local texture storage"
  • Patent No. 6,650,333 for "Multi-pool texture memory management"
  • Patent No. 6,683,615 for "Doubly-virtualized texture memory"
  • Patent No. 6,977,649 for "3D graphics rendering with selective read suspend"
  • Patent No. 7,050,061 for "Autonomous address translation in graphic subsystem"
  • Patent No. 7,187,383 for "Yield enhancement of complex chips"
  • Patent No. 7,710,425 for "Graphic memory management with invisible hardware-managed page faulting"
  • Patent No. 8,144,156 for "Sequencer with async SIMD array"

The validity of ZiiLabs' accusations are unclear, however, as Apple has custom-designed its A-series chips since the iPhone 5's A6 SoC. Prior to that, the company used highly modified versions of existing architectures, though all have been manufactured at Samsung's foundries in Austin, Texas.

ZiiLABS is seeking past and future damages, as well as injunctions against Apple and Samsung. A hearing date has yet to be announced.
http://appleinsider.com/articles/14...over-alleged-infringement-of-graphics-patents

knn, 1 year have past liao, still no news??

One of the problems was that he did not believe in marketing at all. To him, marketing was all bs. He believed that if he built the best mousetrap in the world, the customers will come. Truth be told, he DID produce the best mouse trap in the world......

I received a Creative Music product as part of a gift when I bought some other product,. Wasn't too impressed with the quality. It was a flimsy product that soon stopped working . At the same time I got an iPod & the quality of the iPod was stupendous.

Got the iPod around Xmas of 2001 & today it is still working. The only repairs I've done was to replace the battery.

Tech companies who can't compete in the market always use patent infringement lawsuits to try and grab some extra pocket money. :wink:

rotiprata

we all can learn from SWH some valuable points...
1. you dun need to be a porlumpar in order succeed in life
2. why be a billionare when you cant take all $$$ with you when one up lorry
3. he may not rich but he doesn't need to worry about $$$

he became a billionaire at age 45, so he should be extremely well off, unless he blew his billions at the casino and his cpf savings on tiong bu's. :p

Yes he could have just sold out and become like Steve Wozniak and enjoy life but he chose to be a Steve Jobs and failed.
Another route he could have taken was to partner apple instead of going against apple. But I guess he wanted creative to be more than an OEM manufacturer. You could say he was ambitious but misread the market.

Since when did Steve Wozniak sell out?he work literally for free for apple for years and he only got 110m out of it.but money has never been a object of interest to him only science and teaching and 110m was already way too much for him.besides his on a different level than Sim Wong hoo or anyone,he's a real genius.

there's a woz way named after him in san jose. in fact, i just drove through it today. it's between san carlos street and san antonio. as for jobs, most likely there will be a street named after him in cupertino.

for sim wong hoo, an appropriate street name in sg would be "simi si wong who?" :p

ahleebabasingaporethief

http://therealsingapore.com/content...ot-supportive-local-talents-and-entrepreneurs

SINGAPORE GOVERNMENT NOT SUPPORTIVE OF LOCAL TALENTS AND ENTREPRENEURS

Post date: 27 May 2013 - 9:23pmDear The Real Singapore,I would like to share with you this story that I have come across.The Creative and EDB story.The post below is what I got from Creative's CEO Sim Wong Hoo's encounter with the EDB/NCB.This poster echoes my opinion about govt participation in entrepreneurship. They are a hindrance and barrier to ordinary people like us.Lee Kuan Yew can keep his illusions about a citizenry brutalized by a police state in a bankrupt system turning out to be entrprenuers. Just for the record he openly denigrated Singapore's most successful entreprenuer, Sim Wong Woo when Sim's Creative hit a bad patch about 4 years ago.Lee believed that his "top talent" could do better.I will give u a more interesting story about Sim Wong Woo and the scholars and the government.When Sim Wong Hoo (Founder of Creative and the sound blaster card) had developed the 8 bit sound card, he came to NCB (National Computer Board, now known as iDA)to explain what he has done and why he needed $ 250K to market this at Comdex ( trade show in the U.S.) The CEO of NCB was Lim Swee Say (current Minister) and the Chairman was Tan Chin Nam (now Perm Sec of MoM).Both of them ended up ridiculing him, saying that no one would every want to hear a sound from the PC. And moreover also mentioned that he was just a poly dip holder and thet he needs to develop something for the local market for which NCB would give him assistance. They also shunted him to TDB, which finally ended up giving him a $15K grant to participate.SWW went to Walden's office who ended up giving him $800k immediately for an undisclosed stake and the rest as they say is history.In 1994 and 1995, after Creative's success, the CEO of NCB ( Ko Keng Hwa, now CEO of EDB) and various other officials tried very hard inviting him to sit on committes, Boards and others. He didnt even return calls.In one year when the nomination committee nominated him for the Entreprenuer of the year award (1994, I think) he declined. That year it was given to the Thakral group. Subsequent year, needed a personal persuation from the PM.He has considerably mellowed down but I dont think he has forgotton the insult and embarassment.In late 1993, Aztech wanted to do the sound cards and actually hired 2 engineers from Creative. ITI (information Technology Institute) which has now become KRDL and Aztech signed a joint MOU to develop multimedia products. But, their real agenda was to try and reverse engineer Sound Blaster and make a better chip. After 5 months they did come up with a prototype, but was highly unreliable. Aztech pursued other initiatives and tried to clone the SoundBlaster. They infringed several copyrights and lost their case both in singapore and U.S.All, I am saying is that if at all there was roadblocks, it was the Government.Hence I respect SWH for having been steadfast in his approach. I take my hats of for himFYI, Aztech is a GLC now.The Singapore government is only interested in bringing established and successful companies from overseas and claim that Singapore is a home for successful businesses and start-ups. They are not willing to help Singaporeans with their proud and elite mindset. This is what I call 狗眼看人低. PUI!Our PAP ministers are all stuck in a certain and rigid mindset and they can't think outside the box. They are not entrepreneurs and so it is difficult for them to think like an entrepreneur. How can we promote more creativity in our country this way?Anonymous TRS reader*The views and opinions expressed by author(s) within the website are solely that of the contributors and in no way reflects the views of TheRealSingapore.com.

One of the problems was that he did not believe in marketing at all. To him, marketing was all bs. He believed that if he built the best mousetrap in the world, the customers will come. Truth be told, he DID produce the best mouse trap in the world...

Visiting his service centre (in some wayout ulu place) was most uninspiring - one would have thought that one was in a Chinatown audio shop.

It was only in his later years that he recognised his mistake.

Falling out with that Serial guy (Derrick?) was another mistake. That guy is now big time, and devoting his money to good causes.

I remembered SWH declaring a $100 million 'war chest' for marketing to fight apple.
Apple's marketing budget is in the billions now.....even back than it was still many times creative's $100 million budget.
Another case of too little too late.

enterprise2

http://therealsingapore.com/content...ot-supportive-local-talents-and-entrepreneurs

SINGAPORE GOVERNMENT NOT SUPPORTIVE OF LOCAL TALENTS AND ENTREPRENEURS

Post date: 27 May 2013 - 9:23pmDear The Real Singapore,I would like to share with you this story that I have come across.The Creative and EDB story.The post below is what I got from Creative's CEO Sim Wong Hoo's encounter with the EDB/NCB.This poster echoes my opinion about govt participation in entrepreneurship. They are a hindrance and barrier to ordinary people like us.Lee Kuan Yew can keep his illusions about a citizenry brutalized by a police state in a bankrupt system turning out to be entrprenuers. Just for the record he openly denigrated Singapore's most successful entreprenuer, Sim Wong Woo when Sim's Creative hit a bad patch about 4 years ago.Lee believed that his "top talent" could do better.I will give u a more interesting story about Sim Wong Woo and the scholars and the government.When Sim Wong Hoo (Founder of Creative and the sound blaster card) had developed the 8 bit sound card, he came to NCB (National Computer Board, now known as iDA)to explain what he has done and why he needed $ 250K to market this at Comdex ( trade show in the U.S.) The CEO of NCB was Lim Swee Say (current Minister) and the Chairman was Tan Chin Nam (now Perm Sec of MoM).Both of them ended up ridiculing him, saying that no one would every want to hear a sound from the PC. And moreover also mentioned that he was just a poly dip holder and thet he needs to develop something for the local market for which NCB would give him assistance. They also shunted him to TDB, which finally ended up giving him a $15K grant to participate.SWW went to Walden's office who ended up giving him $800k immediately for an undisclosed stake and the rest as they say is history.In 1994 and 1995, after Creative's success, the CEO of NCB ( Ko Keng Hwa, now CEO of EDB) and various other officials tried very hard inviting him to sit on committes, Boards and others. He didnt even return calls.In one year when the nomination committee nominated him for the Entreprenuer of the year award (1994, I think) he declined. That year it was given to the Thakral group. Subsequent year, needed a personal persuation from the PM.He has considerably mellowed down but I dont think he has forgotton the insult and embarassment.In late 1993, Aztech wanted to do the sound cards and actually hired 2 engineers from Creative. ITI (information Technology Institute) which has now become KRDL and Aztech signed a joint MOU to develop multimedia products. But, their real agenda was to try and reverse engineer Sound Blaster and make a better chip. After 5 months they did come up with a prototype, but was highly unreliable. Aztech pursued other initiatives and tried to clone the SoundBlaster. They infringed several copyrights and lost their case both in singapore and U.S.All, I am saying is that if at all there was roadblocks, it was the Government.Hence I respect SWH for having been steadfast in his approach. I take my hats of for himFYI, Aztech is a GLC now.The Singapore government is only interested in bringing established and successful companies from overseas and claim that Singapore is a home for successful businesses and start-ups. They are not willing to help Singaporeans with their proud and elite mindset. This is what I call 狗眼看人低. PUI!Our PAP ministers are all stuck in a certain and rigid mindset and they can't think outside the box. They are not entrepreneurs and so it is difficult for them to think like an entrepreneur. How can we promote more creativity in our country this way?Anonymous TRS reader*The views and opinions expressed by author(s) within the website are solely that of the contributors and in no way reflects the views of TheRealSingapore.com.

Both r in the wrong and act like kids. The gahment for snubbing him because he's only a poly grad and SWW for bearing a grudge later on. So the gahment made a mistake but later tried to reconcile but Sim was too proud. In biz, u must realise there r no permanent friends or enemies, u need to work with anyone to realise your objectives.