• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Morally deplorable to ask old people to sell flats to fund medical needs

TS title misleading. The social worker didn't tell the 84yo ah pek to sell flat to pay for hospital bill but advise him to downgrade to a smaller flat, ie one room flat to qualify the meaning testing for medical subsidy. The old couple already in their 80s so confirm pioneer generation. Since they living alone with no income and it their flat that DQ them from medical subsidy then it good advise to downgrade.

Govt use flat size to determine mean testing so it good to exploit the loophole. I know of ppl having household income of $11k per month getting the blue Chas card by getting his elderly parents IC change to his address despite they live with his sister. The farker live in a 5room with 3 kids and a Beemer 5 series. Then there another guy household income ard $20k, mom stay with him but address still at her own 3 room flat. So technically his mom consider by govt as stay alone old folk and qualify for all sort of subsidies.

That son in the article shd educate his old man instead of kpkb. Since he said he can afford, then he shd just top up his old man medisave to pay for hospital bill. Topping up parents medisave can get tax relief.

Deplorable is one who eat and don't pay up. If you eat, you gotta pay. Simple as that. No cash can use flat mortgage. After all, the PAP made you rich through your flats without you lifting a finger. It is undeserved wealth you did not work for. Stop complaining about the government taking a little bit back from you.

greedy and cunning

It is more deplorable to spend lots of tax payer's money over a long term to subsidize an unhealthy person with lots of chronic illnesses.

no lah.

u don't need to use the tax money for this
i am velly sure the collections from COE and TOTO are more than suffice.

don't forget to perform your genuflection to the dead creature today :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

TS title misleading. The social worker didn't tell the 84yo ah pek to sell flat to pay for hospital bill but advise him to downgrade to a smaller flat, ie one room flat to qualify the meaning testing for medical subsidy. The old couple already in their 80s so confirm pioneer generation. Since they living alone with no income and it their flat that DQ them from medical subsidy then it good advise to downgrade.

by yr definition pinkie alrdy 70. so old alrdy, no need so many deputies and ministers, he should sack them. and he should also downgrade and move out of istana just like all govt agencies being chased out city centers.

On the contrary, he needs more of them to strengthen his empire, in fact, they should each be given an office building to call their own. :biggrin:

yahoo55

Many interesting comments on Chris Kuan FB post:

https://www.facebook.com/chris.kuan.94/posts/473112286212198?pnref=story

Comments

Susan Kelly
I can emphatize with that. Both my parents suffered major health problems for a long time. On top of that, dad was on dialysis for 4 years, the expenses ran into thousands each month. I remember overhearing a nurse telling another kidney patient, 'you can't afford this medication, sell your HDB.' It was heartless. That is why when I see the billions spent on fancy architectural developments instead of medicare aid, it pisses me off. Then again the Singapore government has always been cold that way. It is the price we pay to be noticed on the map

Stephen Yeo
What happen to the govt PG medical plan? Dont they provide coverage for all

Chris Kuan
Actually 3 types of medication cost him $300. PG don't cover this. He pays another $100 for another set of drugs - that's after PG. Talk to the old folks many of them can tell you PG not such a big deal.

Adrian Tan
What the PG package is good for non complicated illness. Any "fancy" illness, and the costs pile up.

Geraldine Tan-Wee
I would like not to migrate from the country I call home... I don't even know if it possible for us to do so... But whenever I read of such accounts, I feel so disheartened.

Hong Ht
PAP say we can afford it, Always!

R.m. Isa
Dis garment damn fucking too much really treating sgp ppl second class they only give attention to foriegner

James Cruiser
12984005_1167161786668968_3572472531789312822_o.jpg

Sin Rak Sin
Which party did u n your family voted in GE2015?????

Baba Rich
And 70% of the population still continue to vote & be screwed by them!
Wait till they become old & desolate. Too late! Chilaka!

Chris Kuan
To ask who I voted in 2015 (for opposition) or to keep calling the 70% all sort of names like dafts, traitors, whatever. This is not helpful and downright self-defeating. Changes need to come via democratic means - so changes must depend on many of those 70% to change their voting preference. Condemning them will not do.

Baba Rich
They deserve what they vote for. But ironically, too blind to see what they are getting. Just happily pay and pay. We can't condemn people who can't seem to see through the bare truth. They need to change. Not us.

Chris Kuan
I think many especially the older generation are conditioned to expect nothing from the govt. So it does not take much for the government to be on their "good" side.

Baba Rich
REGRET! is the condition they are now in (and this includes my aging sick parents in their 80's) for voting these MIWs over the last 40 years.

Tommy Chua Hung Siang
Yes they votes for peanut they will get all the monkeys.

Alvin Maximus Oreilieus Tan
Not just any monkey hor its the special monkey flipping e bird

Daniel Tan Boon Huat
How about lease buy back? 3 and 4 rooms can be converted to studio apts by shortening he lease to 30 years.

If you or your bro are not around to support them, medical will be covered, nobody will be denied essential medical care.

My dad went through it as well, I have seen clients and friends through it as well

Chris Kuan
I paid for their HDB flat

Daniel Tan Boon Huat
Fully paid up flat is suitable for lease buy back scheme bro.

Do you need the hotline no?

Chris Kuan
no need, I pay for his expenses. I just didn't want my dad to get humiliated again, this is the 2nd time it happened to him

陈 秋燕
The family also has a role to play in supporting their aged parents.

Chris Kuan
sounds good in theory but there is an issue of intergenerational poverty and inequality that is flying under the radar becos of the insistence on the family to support aged parents. As I wrote if can afford like me, it is fine but what if you cannot afford or can barely afford. Your own savings including your cpf will be depleted, then you will become dependent on your own children but in the meantime your children will be lacking in opportunities because u cannot afford to. Guess why social mobility has been falling in recent years. Asian values of familial piety is all well good but there are consequences.

陈 秋燕
There is Medifund. A total of $130m was paid out in Medifund in 2014. And we are still a fluid society. It is something that the government is working at to keep society fluid.

Chris Kuan
Again it sounds good in theory but the amount is too small. Worst it failed to address the primary cause which is too little government expenditures on healthcare at source leaving individuals to take the major portion of the burdens. Do remember that the govt budget surplus runs at average of 10% of GDP per year which is 40b in today's money.

Chris Kuan
that's well and good but why until absolutely no means. There are 100s of 1000s with not much CPF have to support their parent's medical expenses while the govt keep running enormous budget surplus.

Louis Liew
That's how they solve problem sell your flat and downgrade to smaller unit.

I wonder how about those who rent flat. Are they told quit the flat sleep on public area save the rental money for medical fees.

KH Koh
80+ years old... to sell house and move to 1 room flat. Who will help them to move if they do not have children?

Benny Boo
The government (or rather commonly mistaken as the Cheng Hu ) will never chase people out of their homes even if they can't afford to pay the rent or house instalments.

Mark Roche
Bullshit!
My friend and her two kids -just got evicted fm their bto because they couldn't meet the monthly installments- as the husband had to stop working due heart issues.
If you want I'll introduce you to them and you can eat your words.

Andrew Lau
The issue is most Singaporeans don't believe it will happen to them and Medishield Life will pay everything like the advertisement that keeps playing on TV.

Vernon Tay
Really very sad. Cannot believe such inhumane governing

Zixu Augustin Lee
Need to wait 3 years to rent an HDB flat after selling.

Desmond Bartholomeusz
As long as PAP is in power they will scrape you dry before helping you.

Francis Gan
Those people that claimed that no money for hospital bills...medifund will comes in to assist...no money to pay hdb installment...hdb will not evict them...bla..bla..bla...cpf can be fully withdrawn....sad to say...these people are still living in fantasy island...dreaming day n night..

Yusof Bin Mohsin
70%%% sheep dafters are too daft to understand the real life predicament.WtFools fear the Dogs

Smith Adrian Jude
qiD22.jpg

yahoo55

For those who don't know who Chris Kuan is. He's pro-opposition and very knowledgeable on the Singapore national reserves, and he writes interesting articles.

Below is his very interesting presentation on the Singapore national reserves, PAP have been sucking massive amounts of money from Sinkies every year and hoarding massive surpluses, but PAP gives very little back to Sinkies .....

shittypore

Deplorable is one who eat and don't pay up. If you eat, you gotta pay. Simple as that. No cash can use flat mortgage. After all, the PAP made you rich through your flats without you lifting a finger. It is undeserved wealth you did not work for. Stop complaining about the government taking a little bit back from you.

PAP so good mah! How cum so many still renting pigeon hole and not able to get rich.

So old already...they should downgrade further to a "NICHE"...no need to sell house & down grade to a smaller unit...they need the consultancy service of "Roland Tan"...ha ha ha ha

It a matter of choice lor. I find it useless to kpkb about govt policies. This govt is not going to change because the 70% too stupid to vote for change. So best is to look into policies loopholes to gain an advantage.

As for medicine being expensive, so it not subsidize by the PG card, there no harm asking the doctor for cheaper replacement. My mom was on a $8 a pill medicine so I ask the doctor in charge why need such an expensive medicine? He too was shock it so expensive and prescribed a much cheaper alternative.

Myself also encountered this problem. Go ttsh see specialist, was prescribed painkillers price ranging from less than $10 for 26 weeks supply to $80 plus for 20 pieces. Different doctor prescribed different painkillers for the same problem. As my main aim is to downgrade, most of the time I didn't take medicine.

enterprise2

Govt use flat size to determine mean testing so it good to exploit the loophole. I know of ppl having household income of $11k per month getting the blue Chas card by getting his elderly parents IC change to his address despite they live with his sister. The farker live in a 5room with 3 kids and a Beemer 5 series. Then there another guy household income ard $20k, mom stay with him but address still at her own 3 room flat. So technically his mom consider by govt as stay alone old folk and qualify for all sort of subsidies.

That son in the article shd educate his old man instead of kpkb. Since he said he can afford, then he shd just top up his old man medisave to pay for hospital bill. Topping up parents medisave can get tax relief.

Thanks for clearing away the fog of misinformation here. Lets get the facts right before we comment!

For those who don't know who Chris Kuan is. He's pro-opposition and very knowledgeable on the Singapore national reserves, and he writes interesting articles.

Below is his very interesting presentation on the Singapore national reserves, PAP have been sucking massive amounts of money from Sinkies every year and hoarding massive surpluses, but PAP gives very little back to Sinkies .....

huat ah!!!!!singapore is long jong huat ah!!!!!!!!!!!!!