• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

money doesn't buy happiness..

Char_Azn

I so totally agree !!! If I have the money to redeem my housing loan completely, I will definitely be super happy and I have one less matter to worry about.
Tee Kee....you may end up in heaven eventually (and i hope there is one !!! ) and try not to value that much about $$$. I am sure most of us would rather have a happy life in our mortal years rather than hope for something which relies totally on faith.

Religious pple value $$$ as much if not more then us. Church wanna build shopping mall, pastor get 1/2 million a year salary, monk with pet horse and drives merc, etc.

TeeKee

'Money is like manure. It should be spread around.'

Brooke Astor. Her name even sounds rich. And she was. She donated nearly $200 million over a 38-year period, and it was that generosity, more than her social status among New York's elite, that earned her international headlines when she died recently at 105.

She liked to quote playwright Thorton Wilder, who wrote, "Money is like manure. It should be spread around." Her real estate mogul husband left her in charge of a new $60 million foundation "for the alleviation of human suffering" and told her, "You'll have fun, Pookie." And she did.

Her gifts helped build the beautiful Metropolitan Museum of Art and help the Coalition for the Homeless deal with ugly realities some people face.

But Mrs. Astor didn't just sign checks. It was her mission to visit any place she gifted. Her donation was considered a seal of approval for other big guns to open their wallets.

Here at the BPP we got to wondering, who could be the 21st century's Brooke Astor?

There are the obvious contenders: Bill and Melinda Gates (through their foundation) and Oprah Winfrey (through her Leadership Academy for girls).

But here are some lesser-known but equally as generous folks, according to 2006 giving tracked by Philanthropy.com:

- The founder of eBay, 39-year-old Pierre Omidyar, and his wife Pam, gave $66.7 million to HopeLab in California, which searches for technology to help chronically ill children.

- In Texas, 78-year-old oil man T. Boone Pickens, founder of Mesa Petroleum and BP Capital Management, put up $135 million last year to start a foundation to help health and medical research and to promote conservation and wildlife management.

- Ted and Vada Stanley have pledged $72 million for research of schizophrenia and bipolarity. The money will go to the Stanley Medical Research Institute in Chevy Chase, MD. Mr. Stanley founded a company called MBI that markets collectibles.

- Finally, the guy in charge of America's cash has some cash of his own. Henry Paulson, the current Secretary of the Treasury, used to run Goldman Sachs. He gave $100 million to the Goldman Sachs Philanthropy Fund and Bobolink, a foundation he started to
to make grants to educational, environmental, and conservation groups.

Feeling a little out of your league? Don't have enough "manure" to spread around your yard, let alone your hometown? Check back tomorrow for a much less expensive way to make the world a little bit better.

Alison Stewart

Muthukali

Dear Teekee, how much asset u have now? If u really think money is so evil, pls transfer whatever u have to me NOW. :oIo:

amk573

Dear Teekee, how much asset u have now? If u really think money is so evil, pls transfer whatever u have to me NOW. :oIo:

He is either filthy rich until can talk cock sing song or he is totally detached from reality and just waiting for heaven's gate to open.:biggrin:

amk573

what he is trying to say is money cannot buy you happiness, but Jesus can. Look the list below, these christians appointed by Jesus himself, has found happiness in the christian way. At least they died happy ,,,,, i hope :

* James the Great (Son of Zebedee) was beheaded in 44 A.D.
* Philip the Apostle was crucified in 54 A.D.
* Matthew the Evangelist killed with a halberd in 60 A.D.
* James the Just, beaten to death with a club after being crucified and stoned.
* Matthias was stoned and beheaded.
* Saint Andrew, St. Peter's brother, was crucified.
* Saint Mark was dragged in the streets until his death
* Saint Peter, crucified upside-down.
* Apostle Paul, beheaded in Rome.
* Saint Jude was crucified.
* Saint Bartholomew flayed alive and crucified.
* Thomas the Apostle was killed with a spear.
* Luke the Evangelist was hanged.
* Simon the Zealot was crucified in 74 A.D.

(Note: John the Evangelist according to legend was cooked in boiling hot oil but survived. He was the only one of the original twelve Apostles who was not martyred).

Aiya... of cos we all know what he is trying to preach lah. His purpose have no relevance to the present issues we all are facing. If he is dying tomorrow then by all means go and connect with Jesus but the rest of us are still alive and we need to get on with life. Jesus cannot redeem your housing loan and neither can he bring food to the table. Wake up !!!

TeeKee

Jesus love animals , why do you eat meat that creates the demand for more killings?? I thought killing is a sin. You eat something that Jesus love? That is very cruel and a hypocrite.

1 Timothy 4
Instructions to Timothy
1The Spirit clearly says that in later times some will abandon the faith and follow deceiving spirits and things taught by demons. 2Such teachings come through hypocritical liars, whose consciences have been seared as with a hot iron. 3They forbid people to marry and order them to abstain from certain foods, which God created to be received with thanksgiving by those who believe and who know the truth. 4For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, 5because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer.

SotongMee

We come into this world with nothing, and away from this world we go bringing nothing except the KARMA we commit in this life.

after you get those things and use it for sometime, do you feel happy after that? :biggrin:

any rich people here to comment? because if you still want something, that means you are not rich to buy it yet..

dun believe ask this SK model...she got everything and rich too...what did she do after that...hang herself...in her apartment in Paris.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=43977

TeeKee

We come into this world with nothing, and away from this world we go bringing nothing except the KARMA we commit in this life.

Jesus can free you from your 'Karma'....

All your sins are already paid in full by Him....who died at the cross and shed blood for your sins.....

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zBsgWKMxdmE&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zBsgWKMxdmE&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

commoner

haha,,,,,,,, imagine TeeKee murders someone and ask his son to die for his crimes,,,, even the kangaroo courts will not accept that

TeeKee

haha,,,,,,,, imagine TeeKee murders someone and ask his son to die for his crimes,,,, even the kangaroo courts will not accept that

What does Paul, in Romans,
mean by “law” and “grace”?

An Essay by Renee D Mattila

After the death of Jesus many of his apostles carried on spreading the new teachings. The transition from a religion centred on God and his “people”, the Hebrews, to a religion that accepts men whether they are born Jew or Gentile, was understandably difficult. Many issues arose that needed to be discussed and addressed. Apostles, such as Paul, communicated their encouragement and guidance through letters to various Christian communities. In his letter to the Romans, Paul separates and defines both law and grace. Paul defines the law as traditional Jewish rules that help humankind in living a good and righteous life while God’s grace saves all humankind from their inevitably sinful nature and the punishment of death.

The law that Paul discusses in Romans is the law of the Hebrew God and is comprised of rules of conduct communicated by God to Moses and Abraham in the Old Testament. Paul is not discussing the laws of the Roman Empire or any other human civilization. Paul focuses on God’s law as it is presented in Genesis, Exodus and other books of the Old Testament. These laws have a wide scope and include regulations regarding actions, clothing, food, worship and emotions. A man who is obedient to God’s law would be seen as a righteous man. Abraham was seen as a righteous man under God’s law because of his faithful obedience to the law. The law is very stringent and inevitably every person falls short of the expectations of God’s law. For instance, it is nearly impossible to refrain from ever having angry thoughts or from ever uttering a profanity. The law considers humankind’s imperfection and prescribes only one punishment for sin – death. Death is the original punishment for Adam and Eve’s transgression in the Garden of Eden. The law prescribes prayer and blood sacrifices for the righteous man to atone for his personal sins but he has already been condemned by original sin. According to Paul, and Jesus before him, God arranged for an everlasting sacrifice that would alleviate the need for strict adherence to God’s law and atone for original sin.

Paul acknowledges the inability of men to ever earn salvation and relies on God’s grace for forgiveness. The key to the grace of God is that it is given from His divine love and has no relation to what fate sinful men deserve. In God’s wisdom he saw that all people are imperfect and incapable of following all of His laws so he provided another path to salvation. Paul says that the new path to salvation came through the sacrifice of God’s living son, Jesus the Christ. “For if by one man’s offence death reigned by one; much more they which receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness shall reign in life by one, Jesus Christ” (Romans 5:17). Adam brought death to the world through his sin and Jesus brought eternal life to humankind through his sacrifice. The man Jesus was not only an example of righteousness and faith, but also a blood sacrifice for the atonement of all humankind’s sins throughout time. This ultimate sacrifice and the teachings of Christ shifted the focus away from the law and towards faith. Through the sacrifice of Christ “we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God” (Romans 5:2). Thus, salvation is available to everyone and it is not necessary to either be or become Jewish. According to Paul, faith in Jesus leads to salvation through God’s grace. Strict adherence to the law is no longer a prerequisite to forgiveness and salvation.

Paul does not suggest that the laws of God should be abandoned simply because salvation can be received through faith and God’s grace. Instead Paul says that the law is meant to provide guidance, not to facilitate judgement. The reasons the law cannot be used as the sole tool of judgement is multi-faceted. Firstly, knowledge of the law is not the only way to learn how to lead a good life. Paul states that many men can be moral by abiding by their own conscience (Romans 2:14-15). Secondly, the law was available previously only to Jews. Because many people were not aware of the law or the law was not available to them it would not be reasonable judge them by the standards of the law. Furthermore, the law cannot be used as the sole tool of judgement because knowledge of the law does not guarantee that an individual will choose to live a good life. Some people act sinfully despite their knowledge of the law while others commit righteous acts as their conscience dictates. The one man cannot be considered righteous while he studies the law but does not practice it and the man who acts righteously cannot be condemned for lack of religious learning. Paul focuses on the importance of faith and the acceptance of God’s grace over religious learning. He explains that strict adherence to the law is less important than faith and gratitude for God’s gracious gift.

This belief is illustrated in Paul’s response to the growing controversy surrounding the necessity of circumcision. Previously, all Jewish men were circumcised in accordance with Abraham’s covenant with God. God Proclaims to Abraham “And ye shall circumcise the flesh of your foreskin; and it shall be a token of the covenant betwixt me and you” (Genesis 17:11). God’s law dictates that all male children who are eight days old, whether they are Jewish offspring or simply living within a Jewish household, be circumcised to symbolise God’s covenant with Abraham. When Christ brings salvation to all people through the grace of God, the necessity of circumcision is called into question. Many Jews who followed the teachings of Christ believed that Gentiles who also followed Jesus should be circumcised as God’s law required. Although Paul upholds the law as a guide to righteousness he points out that faith and good acts are more important than physical circumcision. “And shall not uncircumcision which is by nature, if it fulfil the law, judge thee, who by the letter and circumcision doth transgress the law?” (Romans 2:27). Paul suggests that outward acts, such as circumcision, are of less importance than the faith that each person fosters in their own heart.

In his letter to the Romans Paul upholds the value of God’s law while emphasizing the amazing gift that humankind has received in the form of God’s grace. Paul elucidates the meaning of both law and grace in his letter to the Romans. The law that Paul refers to is the traditional set of Jewish rules of conduct, as laid out in the Old Testament, that help humankind in living a good and righteous life. Paul defines grace as God’s forgiveness, which is given through unconditional love and saves all humankind from their inevitably sinful nature and the punishment of death. In his epistle to the Romans, St. Paul effectively illuminates the importance of faith and love in accepting God’s grace and incorporating the law into the altruistic lifestyle encouraged by Christ’s teachings. By shifting the focus away from restrictive laws and towards love and grace, Paul spreads the message of salvation for all people, Gentile or Jew.

http://www.reneemattila.com/Law and Grace.htm
Works Cited

Holy Bible. King James Version. London: Thomas Nelson Publishing, 1977

Dmode101

ppl like teekee begs to be quesioned. who knows where is he from. the church worldwide network so big plus no way of tracing their money. Best business is the story of JC who actually never fulfill hes coming back yet! you call that the truth? I call that robbing the jews of their beautiful law to leave a life. NO wonder worldwar 2 target them only. eh, now internet era...very hard to con the commoner la. even if u want to take 50c also hard la. HDB take everything already. lol

But anyway, some ppl are being paid to troll around here and try to neutralise with false information.