• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Air thread: Huat ah!

aerobwala

Thanks to Wechat and QQ messenger, now this news even reach inner China city like Changsha, Hunan.

越南工人赴新加坡买苹果6遇黑店 跪地求退款​

国际在线专稿 据英国《镜报》11月7日报道, 近日,一名越南籍工人在新加坡一家电子商店购买iPhone6手机时遭遇店家“霸王条款”,要求支付730英镑购买保修服务,否则不让离店。该工人哭诉并下跪的视频被上传至网络,引起很多新加坡人的同情和对店主的愤慨。

这名工人姓范,今年28岁,他想为女朋友买一部新出的iPhone6手机当作生日礼物。为此,他辛苦攒起每月仅82英镑(约合人民币795元)的微薄工资,远赴新加坡,在森林广场(Sim lim Square)的Mobile Air电子商店花费460英镑,购买了一部iPhone6手机,不料却被店家讹诈,要求他支付额外的730英镑的保修包,否则不让走。

无支付能力的范先生面对霸王条款手足无措,甚至跪地哭求店家退款,却遭受店家嘲讽。警察赶来调停时,这位范先生只要回194英镑,其购买的iPhone6手机则被店家收回。

一位名叫Gabriel Kang的青年将此事拍成视频并上传至网络,号召网友们帮助遭受不公正待遇的范先生,目前已筹集近7000英镑。Gabriel Kang表示,将用这笔钱为范先生购买128GB容量的iPhone6手机,并附赠当地小吃以示友好,他希望以此弥补范先生,并指责那家商店给国家丢脸。

据悉,Mobile Air电子商店在今年的头10个月里已接到18起投诉。此前,这家店还曾因用硬币退还消费者800英镑而受到抨击。此次事件发生后,店主Jover Chew已经躲起来以避风头,而他的妻子表示他已经几天没回家了。

http://news.sohu.com/20141109/n405904155.shtml

uglyloser

Officers from Central Police Division have been responding to similar scams at SLS for many years. And all they do is to advise consumers to approach CASE, small claims tribunal, etc. They can't do anything else.

Therefore, I believe these police officers have been conditioned to think of every SLS call as an opportunity to get out of the station to do some window shopping. :biggrin:

looneytan

why I cannot open this thread!!:mad::mad:

Why are we paying $16K to an MP who can’t even stand?
Started by bakkuttay, Today 02:37 PM

looneytan

why this thread suddenly disappeared :confused:

Why are we paying $16K to an MP who can’t even stand?
Started by bakkuttay, Today 02:37 PM

Guerriero

Re: sim lim shop refunds customer 1k in 5 and 10 cents

In the first place, why would someone buy a iPhone for $3000/-??? :confused:

Officers from Central Police Division have been responding to similar scams at SLS for many years. And all they do is to advise consumers to approach CASE, small claims tribunal, etc. They can't do anything else.

Therefore, I believe these police officers have been conditioned to think of every SLS call as an opportunity to get out of the station to do some window shopping. :biggrin:

If you goto any housing estate. You will see these signs placed by the farktards for witnesses. And all signs hv a padlock. So you can imagine police also find the signs r not safe and the cannot take full care of it. What makes ypu think they can take care of you.

bigboss

...What makes ypu think they can take care of you....

The mata mata could not even handle that small time scumbag shop owner, how do you expect them to protect sinkies from bigger trouble?

It goes to show that without the netizens, or the internet army, to wallop scumbag, he would not have shut down and gone into hiding.

bigboss

Officers from Central Police Division have been responding to similar scams at SLS for many years. And all they do is to advise consumers to approach CASE, small claims tribunal, etc. They can't do anything else...

First time mata mata came after customer complained and then nothing happened. The tail of that skunk shop owner grew an inch longer. Second time mata mata came after another customer complained and still nothing happened again. His tail grew one feet longer.

After so many visits by mata mata to his shop, he realised the police could do nothing to him and he was emboldened to make it his main business to scam and cheat until that Vietnamese tourist came along to reveal his crime to the world.

If the policed had looked further into his modus operandi after that first complaint, the skunk would not have had the chance to scam and cheat the 2nd customer. As usual when the top man who is paid handsomely to maintain law and order is blur as a sotong, his patrol men on the ground is super blur.

Ralders

This chee bye kia jerk chew see policeman more than he see his mother.
police go to his store machiam daily affair n part of his protocol .
How can this been happening for a decade.

numero uno

This chee bye kia jerk chew see policeman more than he see his mother.
police go to his store machiam daily affair n part of his protocol .
How can this been happening for a decade.

who knows, he maybe sell iphone to the policemen with a real discount, that's why policeman bochap. anyway, sinkieland is gonna get a bad reputation, no diffferent from china or pinoyland or bangkok. years of reputation down the drain. when the casinos opened I knew alot of cheating cases would start to surface. and i mean not in the casinos. casinos are a means of moneylaundering, cleaning scam or dirty money. the MIW basically tells everyone it is OK to scam .

Jover's wife files police report against harassers

Apparently, there’s a whole new lingo for the unsuspecting people who get conned in Sim Lim Square. You’re an “ayam’’ if you got tricked into paying more, for example. (For the blur, “ayam’’ is chicken in Malay). That’s according to TNP, which reported a variety of ways in which unscrupulous retailers and their henchmen extract more than their due, like adding an extra zero to credit card bills, putting prices in code, placing a finger over dubious clauses, extracting an in-house warranty after the consumer has put his signature on a contract, not allowing refunds because the fine print in the contracts say so, and ominously announcing that the place is “monitored’’ by cameras.

I think that as a local, I would try to face down such rogue merchants. But I would be intimidated if I was a foreigner in a strange land and would probably “give in’’ to save any trouble. It seems that these rogues are on the lookout for tourists, especially those intending to leave the country soon. Then no time to complain mah…

All I can say is that Mr Jover Chew comes across as a thug, so much so that even his wife has distanced herself from him, if you believe her. She runs a mobile shop too and she’s now the owner of the infamous Mobile Air that Mr Chew runs. So quick change name liao! When he was interviewed by TNP, Jover Chew painted himself as a victim of sorts, suffering because of demanding and unreasonable customers. The gall!

So what did Mr Chew do to make himself such a pariah?

Besides the fact that his Sim Lim shop chalked up the most number of customer complaints – 25 – to Case between August and October, his claim to fame is paying an unhappy customer more than $1,000 in coins after the Small Claims court directed him to, and making a Vietnamese kneel and beg for a refund (while laughter was heard all round).

He is now a persona non grata and has been incommunicado since news of his shenanigans broke. In fact, besieged by netizens who CSI-ed him, he transferred his number to that of the TNP journalist, who received more than 200 calls on his line yesterday. He’s a real piece of work, he is.

Netizens are baying for his blood; MPs are asking for tougher laws; the Chinese have sent out an advisory warning its people about buying stuff from Sim Lim Square in Singapore. Sigh. And what is CASE up to? Or even the police? Seems their hands are tied because the thugs didn’t break any law; they just “assaulted our sensibilities’’ as Manpower minister Tan Chuan Jin said in a Facebook post.

You can take them to the Small Claims Tribunal, like the recipient of Mr Chew’s coins did. You can also sue under the Consumer Protection (Fair Trading) Act, except they will simply close down, wind up and emerge under a different name. Then, they use friends and relatives as shadow directors of the company, while they run the show.

Seems there’s a Voluntary Compliance Scheme that CASE wants the shop to sign, so that it can take action if it breaches any undertaking. The key word is “voluntary’’ no? It’s not something that can be “served’’ on the shop yes? What’s the bet that Mr Chew will sign? In any case, only a grand total of EIGHT shops signed it between March 2004 and December 2013. Five have had injunctions taken out against it. Seems three others are still “okay’’. The CASE position is, what else? Caveat emptor…!

In the meantime, while the law looks on limply at Mr Chew, lawyers are saying that it can be used against the vigilantes who “exposed’’ and harassed the man and his wife. The new Protection From Harrassment Act isn’t in force yet, but such vigilantes can be hauled on charges of being a “public nuisance’’, it seems. After all, his wife has filed a police report which means that the police would be bound to investigate.

It would be ironic – and tragic – if it was Mr Jover Chew who ended up having the last laugh.

http://berthahenson.wordpress.com/2014/11/07/chewing-on-the-jover-chew-case/

pointshoar

Re: Jover's wife files police report against harassers

If the law had acted fairly but firmly the this serial scammer would not have been around for such a long time to cheat people.

ryutanahgou

Re: Jover's wife files police report against harassers

Is jover's wife's mobile shop at Far East plaza? Saw one busty lian at one of the mobile shop there look like her.