• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Medini (Nusajaya) Community

Investor888

I have heard of my friends near the PTP side telling me how PTP business has boomed and powered so much over the past 5 years. Over at Desaru side, the oil and gas industry and PETRONAS investments are gigantic and going so strong. It makes Singapore looks like a small kid. I am sorry to say this.

When Tuas MEGA Port opens by 2030, at least hundreds of thousands of staff from Directors to oil and gas staff and cleaners ( easily 100K ) will work there and stay either in Jurong or Nusajaya. Sunway Iskandar and the rest of the tamans near 2nd link will be main beneficiary. We are talking about the world's top 3 port ( PSA ) consolidating that storerooms from Pasir Panjang, Telok Blangah, West Coast etc all the way into one @ tuas Mega Port. Its electrifying to even think of it.

2030. Mark this year. If you want to be a multi- millionaire, buy as many properties near 2nd link as possible and hold for 20 years. ( if u got spare cash that is )

I agree with you. Though I have no property in Nusajaya side, the area over at Permas Jaya towards Pasir Gudang has seen a flurry of upcoming projects and those undergoing construction by Tropicana. I think over the next 2 to 3 years should be quite happening lah.....and I am rather pleased with the new developments going on...as it sorts of update the more older areas...:biggrin:

mpan12

I have heard of my friends near the PTP side telling me how PTP business has boomed and powered so much over the past 5 years. Over at Desaru side, the oil and gas industry and PETRONAS investments are gigantic and going so strong. It makes Singapore looks like a small kid. I am sorry to say this.

When Tuas MEGA Port opens by 2030, at least hundreds of thousands of staff from Directors to oil and gas staff and cleaners ( easily 100K ) will work there and stay either in Jurong or Nusajaya. Sunway Iskandar and the rest of the tamans near 2nd link will be main beneficiary. We are talking about the world's top 3 port ( PSA ) consolidating that storerooms from Pasir Panjang, Telok Blangah, West Coast etc all the way into one @ tuas Mega Port. Its electrifying to even think of it.

2030. Mark this year. If you want to be a multi- millionaire, buy as many properties near 2nd link as possible and hold for 20 years. ( if u got spare cash that is )

Calm the excited nerves!!

It's dangerous to go off tangent by the enthusiasm. There will literally be hundreds of thousands of residential properties being built from now till dunno when in Nusajaya and other parts of Iskandar. I personally don't see that boom in property prices within just a decade or so.

In 15 years time, I'd say prices will be stabilised or perhaps increase a little maybe. But if you are a foreign investor, be careful and note the weakening RM currency and other factors. I doubt your returns will be to the effect of being a "multi-millionaire".

There is a lot for Malaysia to do to really boost its economy, including that of Iskandar. Eg: Get rid of most corruption, reduce crimes, a more capable workforce (not lazy workers who "lepak lepak"/relax relax), a strong, intelligent government, fairness (attract your own real talents to remain in your country regardless of race, and not give scholarships to academically worse off citizens just because he or she is a Malay!). All these traits are that of Singapore and that is why we could rise from a poor 3rd world fishing village to a mega 1st world country within 30-40 years or so, attractive for the rich to live and do business in.

Many make the mistake of thinking Iskandar will be like Singapore so they rush in to invest. As long as their government cannot change to incorporate all those factors I listed above, fat hope Iskandar will boom. Maybe move a little in many decades later, but BOOM, I think not. To change, it will take them many decades. Maybe in our great grandchildrens' time say 70-80 years later? Provided the government do something. You look at the state the country has been in, not just recently, but in the past many years, you just shake head. I don't see any positive change happening 10 years ago, 5 years ago, now. Certainly in 15 years time, it's too little time to expect anything different.

Frodo

Calm the excited nerves!!

It's dangerous to go off tangent by the enthusiasm. There will literally be hundreds of thousands of residential properties being built from now till dunno when in Nusajaya and other parts of Iskandar. I personally don't see that boom in property prices within just a decade or so.

In 15 years time, I'd say prices will be stabilised or perhaps increase a little maybe. But if you are a foreign investor, be careful and note the weakening RM currency and other factors. I doubt your returns will be to the effect of being a "multi-millionaire".

There is a lot for Malaysia to do to really boost its economy, including that of Iskandar. Eg: Get rid of most corruption, reduce crimes, a more capable workforce (not lazy workers who "lepak lepak"/relax relax), a strong, intelligent government, fairness (attract your own real talents to remain in your country regardless of race, and not give scholarships to academically worse off citizens just because he or she is a Malay!). All these traits are that of Singapore and that is why we could rise from a poor 3rd world fishing village to a mega 1st world country within 30-40 years or so, attractive for the rich to live and do business in.

Many make the mistake of thinking Iskandar will be like Singapore so they rush in to invest. As long as their government cannot change to incorporate all those factors I listed above, fat hope Iskandar will boom. Maybe move a little in many decades later, but BOOM, I think not. To change, it will take them many decades. Maybe in our great grandchildrens' time say 70-80 years later? Provided the government do something. You look at the state the country has been in, not just recently, but in the past many years, you just shake head. I don't see any positive change happening 10 years ago, 5 years ago, now. Certainly in 15 years time, it's too little time to expect anything different.

I have no delusion that JB will be like Singapore or is like Singapore anytime soon. While I see no big boom, neither do I see gloom and doom which is the other extreme view espoused by the naysayers. I see pockets of activity here and there, so it really depends on the areas. Not everywhere and everything in Iskandar will be good, but there are hot spots or warm spots here and there.

mpan12

I have no delusion that JB will be like Singapore or is like Singapore anytime soon. While I see no big boom, neither do I see gloom and doom which is the other extreme view espoused by the naysayers. I see pockets of activity here and there, so it really depends on the areas. Not everywhere and everything in Iskandar will be good, but there are hot spots or warm spots here and there.

I'm not sure the exact meaning or extent of "doom and gloom". To me, Iskandar is just part of Johor, Johor is part of Malaysia. So whatever perception we have of Malaysia, as a place for living, the good and bad included, it has always been that way.

It is when people start drawing comparisons of Iskandar to Singapore, saying it will be a mega successful place, just like how Singapore became a poor 3rd world country to first, that one should start hearing alarm bells ringing.

Whatever risks or benefits one has faced 5,10 years ago in Johor, they are still there. For eg, JB's condos have always been very cheap compared to Singapore's way back in 2000 or 2010. Why didn't people rush in to buy back then? It's only in 2012/13 that people started to rush in. That's already a clear sign of the herd mentality. They think because Iskandar is a new development with businesses moving in = the whole place will flourish. But wasn't JB once upon a time newly built also? Do we see condos there booming? No.

Looking at businesses to be set up in a city cannot be the only factor to judge if residential property prices will go up. If that is the case, any kid will know how to invest.

Anyway, some argue that the new Iskandar is different from the old JB. It's safer. Most places will be "guarded and gated". Hmmmm... is it? I will still go back to my earlier point above. Iskandar is part of Johor is part of Malaysia. In fact, my guess is that the robbers and thieves are just waiting till more Iskandar residences are completed and finally make their new playground over there. It's a possibility. Read the article below:

http://www.thestar.com.my/Metro/Com...tims-of-crime-want-government-to-take-action/

See also this video of a recent vicious attack on a young woman on her way back to a KL condo:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0c2dpjb15Q

She could have easily been raped or killed. In the end, the robbers took only S$131 and two smartphones. Article can be found here:

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/woman-viciously-attacked-by-two-men-in-kl-lift-robbery

Investor888

Yes if you go to Nusajaya often ( like me ), you will see something exciting going in since 7-8 years ago. Surely not all the areas will boom and this is something I know. Those condos littered across parts of Johor will see no capital appreciation as they are priced too high in the first place without selling point

Investor888

Singapore has got much more lift robberies that I am ashamed to list. But a good thing the SPF has installed much more CCTVs at the expenses of taxpayers monies to do the job for them.

I have read of more grim news from Singapore crimes. A lady coming home was beaten and robbed, dragged outside to the corridor and raped. Left to die

Another lady was waiting for lift at 2am while a man come from behind and hammered her. While she fainted, the man dragged her into the back of the block and rape her. All these captured in CCTVs. But the SPF is kind smart enuff to protect Singapore reputation as a safe hub where everyone sleep with their HDB doors widely open

I'm not sure the exact meaning or extent of "doom and gloom". To me, Iskandar is just part of Johor, Johor is part of Malaysia. So whatever perception we have of Malaysia, as a place for living, the good and bad included, it has always been that way.

It is when people start drawing comparisons of Iskandar to Singapore, saying it will be a mega successful place, just like how Singapore became a poor 3rd world country to first, that one should start hearing alarm bells ringing.

Whatever risks or benefits one has faced 5,10 years ago in Johor, they are still there. For eg, JB's condos have always been very cheap compared to Singapore's way back in 2000 or 2010. Why didn't people rush in to buy back then? It's only in 2012/13 that people started to rush in. That's already a clear sign of the herd mentality. They think because Iskandar is a new development with businesses moving in = the whole place will flourish. But wasn't JB once upon a time newly built also? Do we see condos there booming? No.

Looking at businesses to be set up in a city cannot be the only factor to judge if residential property prices will go up. If that is the case, any kid will know how to invest.

Anyway, some argue that the new Iskandar is different from the old JB. It's safer. Most places will be "guarded and gated". Hmmmm... is it? I will still go back to my earlier point above. Iskandar is part of Johor is part of Malaysia. In fact, my guess is that the robbers and thieves are just waiting till more Iskandar residences are completed and finally make their new playground over there. It's a possibility. Read the article below:

http://www.thestar.com.my/Metro/Com...tims-of-crime-want-government-to-take-action/

See also this video of a recent vicious attack on a young woman on her way back to a KL condo:

She could have easily been raped or killed. In the end, the robbers took only S$131 and two smartphones. Article can be found here:

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/woman-viciously-attacked-by-two-men-in-kl-lift-robbery

Frodo

In my view, JB is now a better place to live in than before, with the guarded and gated developments. There will always be risks, we just have to manage it. Even in Singapore people will install high end security systems. Why? Not too difficult to understand. Low crime does not mean no crime. In fact, with 6.9m people it may be that more crimes will be reported, perhaps even more go unreported. Not to make light of the crime situation in JB, but I heard from a law firm clerk who moved from KL to JB that actually KL even more dangerous than JB. People are spooked when reports of JB crimes get circulated and thus the perception is formed that the place is crime - ridden. It may be exaggerated for all you know.

xebay11

In my view, JB is now a better place to live in than before, with the guarded and gated developments. There will always be risks, we just have to manage it. Even in Singapore people will install high end security systems. Why? Not too difficult to understand. Low crime does not mean no crime. In fact, with 6.9m people it may be that more crimes will be reported, perhaps even more go unreported. Not to make light of the crime situation in JB, but I heard from a law firm clerk who moved from KL to JB that actually KL even more dangerous than JB. People are spooked when reports of JB crimes get circulated and thus the perception is formed that the place is crime - ridden. It may be exaggerated for all you know.

What??? Are you saying LKY is wrong???

Investor888

To be frank, cost alone is not a main factor in companies relocation into Iskandar. I had the benefit of spending 40-50% of my time in JB and Singapore and I feel like being in Jail whenever I hit Singapore custom. Once I go up to JB, I feel relaxed, at peace with myself esp along the 2nd link highway and NS highway. Life is really peaceful up there.

Investor888

I am worrying about Singapore again. The health care services and waiting time in Singapore is 3-8 hours ( simply slow I must say ) because of the shortage of specialists and doctors. The world #1 govt calculated wrongly the number of doctors we would require you see. So now our doctors cant speak English well... cant speak hokkien or chinese or malay and we must communicate with them in THEIR language.

I wory that those Malaysian doctors start gaining experience, show Singapore the middle finger like how any other FT will do and relocate back to Iskandar to set up their own clinics. Singapore waiting time to see a doctor will be 30-80 hours.

Therefore, die must die in JB.

Frodo

I am worrying about Singapore again. The health care services and waiting time in Singapore is 3-8 hours ( simply slow I must say ) because of the shortage of specialists and doctors. The world #1 govt calculated wrongly the number of doctors we would require you see. So now our doctors cant speak English well... cant speak hokkien or chinese or malay and we must communicate with them in THEIR language.

I wory that those Malaysian doctors start gaining experience, show Singapore the middle finger like how any other FT will do and relocate back to Iskandar to set up their own clinics. Singapore waiting time to see a doctor will be 30-80 hours.

Therefore, die must die in JB.

But first must live in JB!!!!:biggrin:

Investor888

Had a good lady friend who is moving into her spanking new banglo with wonderful view Iskandar soon. She bought for S$2m. Small change as the same would have cost S$15m. As a Malaysian who is a SPR and works as a senior director in one of the oil cartels in Singapore, she always tell me how even Singaporeans are showing Singapore the middle finger and the Spore govt cant expect Malaysians to stay in Singapore and squeeze in HDBs with so many more FTs right? Even the Malaysians FTs are being squeezed by the other other FTs from many other wonderful place. Sorry if I irk PAP fans here. I swear I vote for PAP!

Singapore is a very wonderful place to stay in and squeeze. The most pple come in and squeeze, the more the properties prices shoot up.

cybermad

Had a good lady friend who is moving into her spanking new banglo with wonderful view Iskandar soon. She bought for S$2m. Small change as the same would have cost S$15m. As a Malaysian who is a SPR and works as a senior director in one of the oil cartels in Singapore, she always tell me how even Singaporeans are showing Singapore the middle finger and the Spore govt cant expect Malaysians to stay in Singapore and squeeze in HDBs with so many more FTs right? Even the Malaysians FTs are being squeezed by the other other FTs from many other wonderful place. Sorry if I irk PAP fans here. I swear I vote for PAP!

Singapore is a very wonderful place to stay in and squeeze. The most pple come in and squeeze, the more the properties prices shoot up.

So the trick is to let them squeeze the SG prices up, rent out yr SG pty and go relax in JB upon retirement :smile:

xebay11

I swear I vote for PAP!

Please continue to vote for PAP, we need the foreigners as tenants and capital appreciation.