• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mdm Kwa given posthumous title of 'Mother of S'pore

S

suicidalpap

Singaporeans are saddened to learn of Mrs Lee Kuan Yew's death. From the man in the street to ministers, many have paid a glowing tribute to the late Madam Kwa Geok Choo.

Many spoke highly of her as a pillar of strength for her husband, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew. "The wife of a great leader," said a member of the public.

"She's like the mother of Singapore. She's the quiet one, but she's always present in Lee Kuan Yew's appearance," said another.
"What I know about her is that our Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, he really loves her very much," said a third. "Her passing is a great loss to Singapore," said a fourth.

Remembering Madam Kwa, many also shared their personal memories of her.

Madam Noor Aishah, the wife of Singapore's first President Yusof Ishak, met Mrs Lee Kuan Yew in 1958. The two have been good friends since.

Madam Aishah said Mrs Lee could never bear to see anyone in difficulty. She said: "Even though she doesn't appear in the limelight, she is concerned about everything. Always concerned. We have lost a mother of the nation. No one can replace her."

Former Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Social Affairs Chan Chee Seng recalled how Mrs Lee lent him a book years ago when she learnt he had enrolled in a course.

"Till now the book is still with me. She said, 'read this book, it will help you in your exams'. This showed that she cared for her husband's friends," said Mr Chan.

Ms Fu's father, Mr James Fu, had served as Mr Lee Kuan Yew's press secretary when Mr Lee was Prime Minister.

She said: "For example, we could be having dinner till very late, and actually we were quite tired. Minister Mentor (Lee) would be engrossed in conversation, and she would say, 'Harry (Minister Mentor Lee's English name), they are all tired, let them rest'. It's moment like this that we really appreciate her care for all of us around her."

"She wasn't just a wife and a mother, she was a confidante, she was a critic, she was a very strong influence on his own thinking and his own doing. And Singapore was changed by MM (Lee), so that's the reality of it," said Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam.

Mr Shanmugaratnam also said: "She's someone who bothered to talk to everyone. I came in as a young politician, but she made the effort to talk to those of us who were younger and newer....always going and chatting with us, which we really appreciated. And it said something about the person."

Many also said Mrs Lee was someone who paid great attention to details and who made her imprint in the shaping of modern Singapore.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
When LKY dies, he and his wife will be the parents of Singapore. LOL

[COLOR="_______"]The ministers are just wayang only. They afraid kena demoted if never say something nice. If that woman is prata's wife, nobody give two hoots about it. Now you know why whole msm were being mobilised to pay such high tribute to her. Besides, what she did nobody knows, everything told was simply one-sided view, just like pap always self-pat and self-credit giving themselves such high worth they don't deserve.

Let's move on, and care for the livings instead of moaning over the dead because the one who is left behind is going to do some nasty thing to Singaporeans before the lid closed on him. I believe in his words this time, the walking dead never lie.
[/COLOR]

Hazama

Mother of Singapore just by being a wife of a Prime Minister?
Gosh, I better find a capable female politician to marry. I might end up being the 'Father of Singapore'.

Please la don't ever put mother/father of Singapore. If like that Raffles more qualify.
Just RIP don't put any tittle.

silliporean

All wives, mothers and grandmothers have a big role in a family regardless of how successful that family is. The poorer the family, the bigger the burden...all of them are recognised by their contribution and we have a special day dedicated to them - Its called mothers day.

cheowyonglee

knn, read history leh!!! Who founded Singapore???
Read history leh!!! Who were the first to implement CPF here!!!

Heh, who invented Majula Singapura?Who design our flag?

who designed the changi airport???
who is the one fighting for singapore if there is a war???
whose cpf they are using to invest and then all the profit ... where?
and last but not least, who was the one giving our island the name 'Singapore' ???

Then, who is the real father of Singapore???No one but all of us!!!

Please la don't ever put mother/father of Singapore. If like that Raffles more qualify.
Just RIP don't put any tittle.

singaporean love to give themself title ...including "prime minister mentor " :biggrin:

no, there's no such title as "prime minister mentor". a "prime minister mentor" will be in charge of mentoring the prime minister, which is too limited and focused. a "minister mentor" can mentor any minister, including but not limited to the senior minister and prime minister. he is the go-to-guy, the one and only who can cover all their arses, and continue to earn a pay higher than the senior minister. the next promotion for a minister mentor is not prime minister mentor but minister mentor's mentor - the ultimate mentorturer.