• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MBT Admits Tampines Is Very Dirty

aurvandil

Why dun you ask GMS list out what ACTIONABLE things that he can do for the voters so that the voters will vote him?

If he dun have, for fuck they vote him for?

Dun do a PAP minister, get high pay, sit there do nothing, asking public for opinions/solutions and boasting its your ideas.

He has already been doing this. Some of the main areas he has been fighting on are:

1) HDB housing policy
2) FT policy
3) Public transport policy
4) Social problems of casino

If elected, he promises to repeatedly raise these issues in Parliament.

He wants to table policy changes which, if implemented, will give a better life for Singaporeans.

In doing so, he hopes to force the PAP to do a better job of running Singapore.

If the PAP does not do a better job, they will lose votes.

If the PAP loses enough votes and and falls power, then he will take over and implement these policies.

This is what he is promising voters. He is banking on the fact that many Singaporeans have been badly affected by bad PAP policies (e.g. FT) and will vote him in to change the policies

aurvandil

Why dun you ask GMS list out what ACTIONABLE things that he can do for the voters so that the voters will vote him?

The follwoing is from an blog posting of what Goh Meng Seng is planning to do for people who vote for him.

The Role of Opposition - putting spurs into PAP's thick hides

http://singaporealternatives.blogspot.com/2010/02/role-of-opposition-putting-spurs-into.html

Firstly, I would like to wish all my readers and Singaporeans at large a very Happy and Prosperous Lunar New Year ahead.

Recently I have given an exclusive interview as the Secretary General of NSP to TOC. I have talked about the vision of Singapore's Political development for the next decade or so, especially during the Post-LKY era.

Recently someone asked me about what have I done for the voters of Tampines and what is my game plan for winning the Tampines battle in time to come. I have responded about the need to take a bigger role than just Tampines itself.

In both instances, I have touched on the uncharted waters that I am sailing through; a path that has never been taken before by any opposition parties.

I have put forward a totally REVAMPED strategy which was loosely used in opposition parties in the past. A Minister-Policy-Specific strategy. There are a few dimensions to this strategy and motivations of using such strategy. We have long heard about how PAP is not held accountable to their policy or management failures. Applying such policy will address the need of extracting accountability from the ruling party.

Secondly, it will make the PAP and its ministers work harder to review some of the absurdity in their policies and do it right. Last but not least, it will raise the standards of political engagement from personality attacks to one that is geared towards open, matured and rational policy debates to work for the betterment of Singaporeans.

All in all, I would say that the whole idea of being opposition members, to lend MM Lee's famous words, is to PUT THE SPURS DEEPER into PAP's HIDES, to make them worker harder and faster for the people's interests.

Many people are anxious about having opposition parties to win more seats but have little idea about what that actually means. Winning seats is just a means to an end. The fundamental basis of power, is the people, for the people, by the people.

Many people always demand opposition parties to come up with "solutions". But one should know that policy solutions need rigorously examination. While we could give a generation direction, policy specifics need to be examined very closely with data analysis. Opposition parties do not possess the necessary data sets to do such work, neither do they have a whole army of civil servants and think tank employed by the government to do the necessary policy research. Policy ideas could be mentioned but whether these ideas are feasible or not would need much in depth research by civil servants and think tank who are equipped with the necessary tools and data sets.

The role of the opposition, thus, should not be entrenched in providing all nitty gritty specific solutions but rather, to act as an agent that keep the government in checks with good articulation of the flaws and ills of the policies put up by the ruling party. Opposition's fundamental role is to use the competitive mechanism provided by the electoral system as a leverage to extract a better deal for the citizens.

My vision for Singapore's political sphere for the next decade is for it to develop into a multi-party proportional representative system. The citizens will be provided with the opportunity to make INFORMED CHOICES by open, matured public political discourses and debates. The political system is more about policy specific debates rather than personalities. A healthy and fair competitive environment for all political players to express their ideas and ideals.

Opposition parties should not conduct themselves in such a "quiet" way. The media should make sure that it provides a balanced treatment and exposures for opposition parties.

Many people asked about "what have you done for the voters". Most people think that only the incumbents could "do something" for the voters by writing letters for them, meet them to talk about their woes, run their town councils and such. But we must always remember that the FIRST PRIMARY ROLE of a MP is to debate policies in parliament, making sure that such policies are in the best interests of the people.

I believe that opposition members who are yet to be voted into parliament have a role to play in "doing things for the voters". I have experimented it with the announcement of my intended contest in Tampines and providing my views on what went wrong with our HDB policies. Campaigning it on the grounds to explain the problems that Mah Bow Tan's HDB policies will bring to our younger and future generations.

All such actions have put SPURS into PAP's thick hides. Within a short span of a few months, HDB has done a few somersault U Turns on its policies. One of the most dramatic U turns come from the fact that they are planning to build more rental flats after drastically reducing the numbers for last few years, even when MM Lee has openly expressed objection to have rental flats for Singaporeans.

This is just a little "out-of-the-box" experimental political engagement that I have embarked on. It has proven its effectiveness in making the ruling party to do it right for Singaporeans.

This is the kind of leverage that the competitive elements provided by the electoral mechanism could give us. Opposition members should walk out of their old conservative ways of conducting political engagement and start to utilize such leverage to try and get the better deals for our people.

Walking or working the ground is no longer about knocking the doors and saying Hi and Bye. It could and should be more than that. We should be talking about politics and policies to our citizens, making comments on complex issues in the simplest terms as possible. Issues that are close to the hearts and minds of the citizens.

To win the seats, you have to win the confidence of the voters that you can and will be an EFFECTIVE OPPOSITION MP in parliament who will always safe guard the interests of the people.

Running a Town Council is important but just a distraction that PAP wants to put into opposition and voters' minds. To run a Town Council properly, we will need to employ professional Building and Estate managers. You simply cannot expect a doctor or a lawyer to run the Town Council all by themselves. Their more important primary role is to voice the concerns of the people in parliament to keep the ruling party in check.

Utilizing the Minister-Policy-Specific strategy will be a good way in trying to refocus the voters' minds to the MOST IMPORTANT aspect of voting for their MPs. When they are considering whether to vote for opposition candidates, their primarily concern should be whether these candidates could help to safe guard their overall interests in parliament. Whether they have the ability and capacity to put up good policy debates in parliament.

Of course, fundamentally, whether they could really "PUT THE SPURS DEEPER INTO THE RULING PARTY'S HIDES" to make them work harder and better safe guard their interests.

rodent2005

He has already been doing this. Some of the main areas he has been fighting on are:

1) HDB housing policy
2) FT policy

He have to do all these things but WHY ON EARTH MUST HE SHOOT HIMSELF IN THE FOOT AND SAYS HE WILL NOT TAKE CARE OF HIS WARD????

Many voters will interpret this to mean he will let the ward rot. Is he going to spend all his time in election rallies expounding the nuance between "look after" and "take care"???

Can he just keep his mouth shut on this??? No one forces him to say this thing, so must he give PAP the ammo to shoot him????!!!!!!

Please, please, don't repeat this stupid thing in public.

Let me issue a CHALLENGE here to everyone who has been saying that Goh Meng Seng is silly and does not know what he is doing politically.

Imagine that you are running for elections against the PAP.

List down what are the ACTIONABLE things that you would promise voters that you would do to “look after” the ward.

I bet that no one here can come up with a single ACTIONABLE thing that you can promise voters that would make them vote for you.

Um, why dun u read my post above and than tell me how many actionable things I have proposed he do, or are u one of those talk alot but dun listen?

1) HDB housing policy
2) FT policy

If elected, he promises to repeatedly raise these issues in Parliament.

He wants to table policy changes which, if implemented, will give a better life for Singaporeans.

In doing so, he hopes to force the PAP to do a better job of running Singapore.

If the PAP does not do a better job, they will lose votes.

If the PAP loses enough votes and and falls power, then he will take over and implement these policies.

This is what he is promising voters. He is banking on the fact that many Singaporeans have been badly affected by bad PAP policies (e.g. FT) and will vote him in to change the policies

Numbers 1 to 4 are all nice and fine. He can raise those issues in Parliament until his hair turns white. U still have not explain to me and everyone here how those 4 issues can impact the immediate welfare of his potential constituents in the areas of cleaniless of their estates, crime, transparency of their finances, etc. lf u seriously think that any policy changes he tables in PArliament will be implemented by a PAP majority govt., I think you are smoking funny grass. As I have said before he can raise any issue he wants in Parliament but he needs to at the same time look after the people who got him elected. Is this too difficult to understand? If he does both he is already ahead of most PAP MPs, who only care about showing their face in Parliament and dun give a shit about their constituency.

aurvandil

I am having some difficulty finding the actionable items so help me out here if I miss anything.

U know that there are many concerns that people have in their own wards. U have to show that u care for them and want to help them. Deep inside, u may not feel that way, and u may feel that your real role is in Parliament and not "taking care of the ward". If that is so, fine, but you cannot articulate thatin public because the optics come out making u look very bad. U can hire people to work for you in the TCs that are really good at this sort of thing, and they will make u look good with the "taking care of the ward" aspect while u are in Parliament. But to voice it out loud is just stupid.

Yes, taking care of the cleanliness is the estate manager's job. But as the chairman of the TC, u are his boss. U cannot simply say that is his job, and not yours, and if u wait for him to fuck up, and than simply fire him, its already toolate. U have already looked bad. People do not blame the estate manager for the filtiness in their estate, they blame the MP, and chairman of the TC. If you want to be re-elected, u better remember this.

So bascially this involves calling a tender, selecting the best vendor and monitoring the vendor closely. Goh Meng Seng can promise he will do it full time and thus exercise greater oversight. It is however hard to see how this can be made into an issue that wins an election.

Yes, writing the letters and what not on behalf of your electorate might not help at all with solving their problems when the civil service or other govt. bureaucracy is as intransigent as u say. But that is not the point. Even if u write all the letters and nothing happens, the constituent at least can see that u have tried hard on their behalf. The result may not be there, but I guarantee u they will remember your efforts at the next elections, even if u did not produce the result for them. If you write articulate and strong letters or emails to the relevant authorities to help them, and copy them on all the correspondence u send and receive, they will appreciate it even if the outcome is not what they want. I am surprised u do not see this.

This seems to suggest making empty promises. Before hand, we know that the best, most hard hitting letter/email will not do anything. Goh Meng Seng is supposed to follow the PAP wayang and bluff the voters. This PAP con is old that many voters have wised up to it having received no help at MPS when they were in trouble.

Other things people are concerned with is the financial situations in their TC and the lack of financial transparencies. If you are their MP, u can make the whole financial situation much more transparent. People can see where the money went, how the contracts were given, etc. No doubt, u will be able to expose many dubious practices when the ward was under the PAP if you chose to audit the statements. U can set the groundwork with expose after expose and make the PAP look so bad that it will be hard for them to win the ward back. If you communicate with your constituents, and tell them what u will do for them, its much better than telling them what u will not do for them. U can reveiw any management and maintenance contracts, and terminate people and contractors who are not doing the job. There are certainly things that u can do to help the ward. ANd u need to do it.

Unless you have definite proof of corruption, this will invite a defamation law suit. And if you had definite proof, you would not release it on SBF. You would hold this as your trump card and deploy this only during the election campaign.

aurvandil

lf u seriously think that any policy changes he tables in PArliament will be implemented by a PAP majority govt., I think you are smoking funny grass.

Actually Goh Meng Seng has had some measure of success getting the PAP to change policy even before he has been elected.

In his blog posting, he mentioned the building of rental flats and how his work got HDB to change their rental flat policy.

If you remember the Minsiter Man's policy position in the earlier part of the year, he was saying that there was no bubble and it was a good thing that HDB flats are marching steadily to S$1 mil. Now he sings Goh Meng Seng's tune and is constantly introducing new policies to try and bring down the price of HDB flats. Minister Mah even admitted that his change in policy is "all because of the elections".

If you look at the FT policy, Goh Meng Seng and other opposition politicians have been on the PAP's case for months. As a result of this, the numbers have been cut from 150k to 100k to 80k. If Goh Meng Seng and other opposition polticans get elected, I am fairly sure the FT numbers will drop even more.

On public transport, Goh Meng Seng did a series of articles in early March which highlighted the crowding issues on our MRT, buses and even our roads. When the PAP saw this was winning political support, they have changed policy to try and address these issues. On the MRT alone, they have pledged to invest an amazing $50 bil to upgrade the MRT system.

aurvandil

So you are using GMS account or this account to study?:confused::confused:

We spent the longest amount of time together in the football thread in WC2010. In all the time you have been on SBF, have you ever known Goh Meng Seng to talk about football, bookies, card counting and casino gambling?

Z

Zombie

Now he sings Goh Meng Seng's tune and is constantly introducing new policies to try and bring down the price of HDB flats.

Expensive HDB flats is everybody's tune.. don't anyhow take credit for it.

Selling HDB flat at cost is GMS's tune (also yours and that "bluelobster" iirc), you can only take credit when HDB really sell flats at cost.

3_M

There is no such thing as confidence without concrete experience involved. And I will say it again, taking of the ward's cleanliness is the Town Council estate manager's responsibility. A MP at best, is the custodian of the Town Council, deciding who to hire and fire for the job to be done.

There will be Town Councilors to be appointed to give feedback on the Town. The MP will have to walk around the Town, meeting the people on the ground. He may give direct instructions if he sees something wrong with the place. But ultimately, the instructions will be given to the estate managers to get problems solved.

You try asking any PAP MPs who are lawyers, doctors or directors of companies or the Ministers to take care of the town... They may not even know what is happening down there!

For opposition MPs, it is just too exaggerated to say that they "take care" of the ward. They may be full time MPs but their priority is to attend parliament to debate on policies. Running of Town Councils are done by employing estate managers. Most probably opposition MPs spend more time going around the estate to meet the people, talk to them etc. Opposition MPs could do a better job if they go on full time MP, spending more time interacting with the voters. Taking care of them? How? Write letters for them? How many cases could you really solve with the civil service bureaucratic system in place? Put it simply, even PAP MPs or Ministers could not solve the problems of many of their constituents by writing letters!

Don't delude ourselves to think that there are superman powers to "take care" of the wards. Simply put, don't try fool voters just to get their votes. Most Singaporeans are not stupid.

Goh Meng Seng

Now MBT's arse is rip right there for you to screw and why you have to handicap yourself by inferring that he isn't responsible for this mess? Going by your logic the Tc manager can also claim it wasn't his responsibility to ensure the streets are clean but the cleaners job to do so. MBT can also claim he wasn't responsible for HDB since it his Perm sec to carry out the work. Imagine what will happen if he makes such a statement? Likewise it will be game-over if what you said here ever get publish in the press.

Forget about westminster parliamentary system. Our system have long departed from that. There is no GRC in westminster parliamentary system, why are you contesting in GRC? Whether is "taking care" or "looking after", MP have a responsibility towards the maintenance of their respective ward and that something you can't push aside.

I am having some difficulty finding the actionable items so help me out here if I miss anything.

So bascially this involves calling a tender, selecting the best vendor and monitoring the vendor closely. Goh Meng Seng can promise he will do it full time and thus exercise greater oversight. It is however hard to see how this can be made into an issue that wins an election.

If people living in the estates are dissatisfied with the existing management and maintenance company (and there appears to be some of that), GMS can promise to hold these companies accountable. He can look at ways to penalise them for failure to perform according to the contract. He can hold tenders again, and sack the exisiting company. IF HE TELLS THE VOTERS THAT THESE ARE THE ACTIONS HE WILL TAKE TO HELP THEM HAVE A CLEANER ESTATE, AND THAT IF THEY ARE NOT SATISFIED WITH THE STATUS HE IS ALSO NOT SATISFIED, he would win their votes. This is not a case of making something into an issue, it already is an issue. A smart politician would exploit it. A smart politician will point at this and that and say that if u vote me in, I will take care of it, not like the exisiting PAP run TC.

This seems to suggest making empty promises. Before hand, we know that the best, most hard hitting letter/email will not do anything. Goh Meng Seng is supposed to follow the PAP wayang and bluff the voters. This PAP con is old that many voters have wised up to it having received no help at MPS when they were in trouble.
U still don't get it. Whether the letter will do anything or not is not the point. The point is that he is seen doing something. He is seen as a person of action. If the letters do nothing, the constituents will not blame him, they will blame the govt. bureaucracy. But they will appreciate that he TRIED to help them. If he picks up the phone in front of the voter and makes the call to the relevant agency on his behalf and argues the point for the voter, even if the agency says no, he looks like a hero. May I suggest he invests in a speaker phone so that the voter can see his effort. I can guarantee u that this is far and above what the previous PAP MP ever did for the voter. It is not a wayang when u genuinely try to help the voter. The PAP MPs are in the same bed as the govt. agency they send the letters to, and once they get a refusal, they just go back to the voter and say too bad so sad. They do not want to rock the boat of the same govt they are members off. GMS does not have this problem. If his initial letter is rebuffed, he can go up to the supervisor, and than above the supervisor. He can keep in touch with the voter by forwarding every correspondence he receives and sends. The voter will see that he is trying to go up the chain and escalate it to a higher level. What PAP MP will do this?

Unless you have definite proof of corruption, this will invite a defamation law suit. And if you had definite proof, you would not release it on SBF. You would hold this as your trump card and not deploy this only during the election campaign.

Again u are missing the point. If and only if GMS gets elected, he has to promise the voters more transparency over their money. Voters want to know why their TCs lost money in investments, why their conservancy fees were invested in Minibonds, how and why some of these useless contractors won they contracts, why their fees are being increasingly raised, whythey cannot examine the books of their own TC, etc. This starts with an immediate independent audit of the accounts when he takes office. If there are any wrongdoings, he must use the auditors report and reveal the errors to the voters. He must show them where their money when under the PAP MPs, and he must tell them what he will do with their money. How he will try and lower their conservancy rates thru a more competitive bidding process. I can tell u right now with a high percentage of certainty that if the books of all the TCs were independently audited, u will find many cases of conflict of interest, not following tender procedures, questionable payments for questionable work, etc. But u will not know if u don't win. This is not defamation or slander if you have a report showing the wrongdoings.

He can also start implementing aspects of the issues that he wants to raise at the parliament. For example, he wants to question the PAP about the FT policy. Is it so wrong to say openly to the people that are voting for him that if all the bids and tenders are equal, for work done in his constituency, he will favour contractors that hire the largest percentage of singaporen citizens?

I am juts saying the way he runs his ward will indicate to the people how he and other members of the oppo can potentially run singapore.

silverfox@

Now MBT's arse is rip right there for you to screw and why you have to handicap yourself by inferring that he isn't responsible for this mess? Going by your logic the Tc manager can also claim it wasn't his responsibility to ensure the streets are clean but the cleaners job to do so. MBT can also claim he wasn't responsible for HDB since it his Perm sec to carry out the work. Imagine what will happen if he makes such a statement? Likewise it will be game-over if what you said here ever get publish in the press.

Honestly, I really don't like MBT. There is no better chance to remove him other than now. So I hope Worker's Party can send someone there and wrestle it away.

Green Light

Josephine L M Teo twitted that she is joining volunteers to clean house at fire-affected units at Toa Payoh Blk 31, wanyang but who will win the votes? The one who said MP jobs is not about taking care of the estate and sit behind the key board or the one who says less in the internet and know how to wayang by going to the ground? Voters will decide.

178546141.jpg

181955646.jpg

Thick Face Black Heart

Act 1 Scene 2

Another month passes. The rat problem has not been solved. The resident goes back to Mr Goh. This time, he is more careful with his choice of words.

Resident: Mr Goh, there are still rats at my block. How do you plan to look after the issue?

GMS: Oh really? Huh I will just fire the TC manager lor.

Resident: But what are you going to do besides that? I mean concrete actions like pest exterminators, area cleaning regiments, etc.

GMS: As I said, if anything goes wrong, just fire the TC manager if he cannot get the job done! Simple as that!

Resident (BEWILDERED): Mr Goh, surely as MP, you've more responsibility than just hiring and firing TC managers! I'm asking you the concrete actions that will be taken, not your manpower policy!

GMS: Get this clear in your head. I've told you before. My primary job is to take care of the whole of Singapore. I'm only a custodian of the ward, deciding who to hire and fire.

Resident: No MP, not even MBT, has ever said this kind of things to me before. Why do we need MPs like you here, if that's all you're going to do?

GMS: Ha ha! That's what the PAP wants you to think, that when you're elected, you're supposed to take care of the ward. This is so that they could add on what constitute as "taking care" of the ward, like HDB upgrading.

Resident (VERY ANGRY): I'm not talking about HDB upgrading! I'm just talking about a rat infestation, God Damn It! It's not a national policy issue, its just a rat issue! Getting elected MP of Tampines, this comes as part of your job!!!

GMS: Mr Resident, to put it simply, my job is to deal with legislation. Don't get distracted by the PAP's pork barrel politics. Get this clear in your mind. As a resident of an opposition ward (my ward), you are supposed to be more politically aware person and should not fall so easily into such mind traps.

Resident (EXTREMELY ANGRY): You're still evading the issue, Mr GOH MENG SENG! Your job is not just to debate in parliament, you also have a responsibility to residents, which include helping us deal with local issues! WHy can't you do your bloody job?!!?

GMS: Well, Mr Resident, please calm down. I'm indeed doing my job as MP. I have to walk around and meet people on the ground. If I see anything wrong, I may give specific instruction. But ultimately, the instructions will be given to the estate managers to get problems solved. They are the ones supposed to take care of the estate, not me. I'm only a custodian.

Resident: Don't deny that as the overall in charge, the ultimate responsibility lies with you! So I'm asking you now to take responsibility for the rat problem at my block and answer me why it has not been resolved after so long.

GMS: Ha ha ha!! You try asking any PAP MPs who are lawyers, doctors or directors of companies or the Ministers to take care of the town... They may not even know what is happening down there!

Resident: APPARENTLY, NEITHER DO YOU. (STORMS OUT OF GMS OFFICE)