• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Marine Parade - Whole block angry at radar installed on top of Block. MP cannot help.

allanlee

Re: Marine Parade - Whole block angry at radar installed on top of Block. MP cannot h

Ok then I don't know any instance which PAP listened to the people.

The taxi fare hike in the 90s...... they reversed their decision after thousands of taxi uncles went on strike and almost turned Changi Airport into a "battleground"...... the taxi uncles were emotionally charged and ready to shed blood and the Ang Chia + Goonduka troopers were outnumbered 20 to 1 prompting the gahmen to give in.

Re: Marine Parade - Whole block angry at radar installed on top of Block. MP cannot h

Lots of soft targets in Spore: MRT, Orchard Rd,.... and now flat in Marine Parade

After you build a radar that flat will be a more attractive target for terrorists, especially since there will be no guards around i.e. a soft target.

Received_by_Kings

From Joefriday of fuckwarezone. He claims to be living in block 14 Marine Terrace:

About 1 year ago my upstairs neighbors alerted the entire block to something that was going on. Apparently dsta and mindef decided to install a radar on our roof and only chose to inform the residents on the 25th floor. they decided that the rest of the block did not need to know about this. the excuse for the installation was that they wanted to monitor illegal immigrants coming in from the beach from indo. Luckily the outraged neighbors upstairs decided to alert the whole block to what was happening and likewise the majority of all my neighbors were all outraged at this decision being made without having to consult us or even inform us. Our main concern was about the possible spike in bg radiation and health concerns. The whole block raised enuff of a ruckus that Mr Lim Biow Chuan had to come and meet with us to explain things.

You outlanders should just accept everything and shut your holes up.

Received_by_Kings

konglampawei is crying like a dog. Useless ugly pauper.

不要喊爸喊妈啦!他们都死了丑八怪

Loofydralb

The taxi fare hike in the 90s...... they reversed their decision after thousands of taxi uncles went on strike and almost turned Changi Airport into a "battleground"...... the taxi uncles were emotionally charged and ready to shed blood and the Ang Chia + Goonduka troopers were outnumbered 20 to 1 prompting the gahmen to give in.

And you know what they did after that? They banned private ownership of taxis.

Now taxi uncles cannot own their taxis. Now must rent it from SMRT, Comfort etc.

So now they earn less plus they cannot demonstrate against unwanted changes in their industry.

From earning and taking ownership of their livelihoods, PAP has now taken that away and the profits now goes to all these Govt linked companies and their ivory tower CEOs.

See how evil they are. Its so easy for them to do this cos 2/3 majority is everytime available to them in Parliament to change any laws.

This is why we need opposition in parliament to block unjust Constitutional changes. For all you know, the next one they will take over will be you, just like teh taxi uncles.

vamjok

Long term exposure to EMF of a active radar is definitely not safe. I have seen for myself how the women in a certain "department" had difficulties conceiving due to weaken wombs. 9 out of 10 of them had threaten abortion and had to be bed ridden for months.

yah i myself have heard of cases of air stewardess having problem conceiving due to this issue as well.

Frankiestine

yah i myself have heard of cases of air stewardess having problem conceiving due to this issue as well.

Considering that those were just passive antennaes, cannot imagine how much worse with those working in a active environment..

Potentially how many voters in this block?
Will MM go down to pacify the residents ala Yishun Ho Peng Kee incident?

Radar Systems
Radar systems cause a considerable amount of concern because of the high peak energy levels used to generate radar pulses. It is not uncommon to hear of power levels from 50,000 Watts to over a 1,000,000 Watts. It is important to understand that these are peak levels, and it is the average power level that is important in terms of body heating. Most radar systems use reflector antennas that form a well-defined beam of energy. Special military radar systems use many active elements to direct the beam of energy. These phased array radars are beyond the scope of this application note.

Determining Average RF Field Levels
Unlike satellite antennas, radar antennas are designed to move constantly. Traditional search radars normally rotate at a constant speed and cover 360 degrees in azimuth. Some military radar systems, such as fire control radars, are designed to move both in azimuth and elevation to track a target. When a search radar is rotating, not only is it transmitting only a small percentage of the time, which is referred to as the duty factor, but it is also only pointed in a given direction part of the time.

The evaluation of a radar system begins with examining the peak power level contained in each pulse and then multiplying the peak level by the duty factor. The duty factor, or duty cycle, is determined by dividing the duration of the pulse—the pulse width—by the total time in one cycle. For example, a typical search radar might send out a one-microsecond (μsec) pulse 1,000 times per second. Therefore, the period is 1,000 μsec (1,000,000 μsec/1,000 pulses). The duty factor is 1/1,000 which is normally expressed as 0.001. Therefore, the average power of a radar system with a peak power level of 1,000,000 Watts that has a maximum duty factor of 0.001 is 1,000 Watts. Most search radars have a horizontal pulse width that ranges from one to three degrees. Therefore, as long as the antenna is rotating and you are far enough away for the beam to be formed, you would be in the beam less than 1 percent of the time. And when you factor in rotation, a radar antenna with an average power of 1,000 Watts results in a time-averaged exposure that is equivalent to less than 10 Watts from a continuous (CW) signal fed into the same size antenna that is stationary. Even if you are close to the antenna, you will be in the beam only about 10 percent of the time, which makes the system equivalent to a constant source of 100 Watts.

This article is for smaller radars in sail boats. Not the same power as these military radars that MINDEF is installing.

In recent years, affordable prices and user-friendly systems have greatly increased the number of radar units in use on sailboats. But this surge in radar use has come with some risk of exposure to microwave radiation. Given the size of these sailboats, radar scanners are often mounted in close proximity to crew, or even to people on nearby docks or other boats. It is possible, although not probable, that these persons can be exposed to levels of microwave radiation that can exceed the recommended safe limits.

Microwaves (RF energy at radar frequencies) can be hazardous if the intensity is sufficiently high. Microwaves are absorbed by the water in living tissue and their energy is converted to heat that may easily damage some organs, particularly the eyes, which may develop cataracts. For safety, always avoid looking directly into a scanner whether the radar is transmitting or not. It is well known that microwaves will interfere with cardiac pacemakers and it is common place to see the warning signs in public areas where microwave ovens are in use.

It has also been shown that long-term exposure to low levels of microwave radiation can induce a variety of physiological effects in small laboratory animals. The importance of these effects and their relevance to humans are not yet fully understood. Again for safety reasons, you should avoid long-term exposure and radar units should be operated only when needed for navigation or safety. When the radar is not needed, it should either be in standby mode (not transmitting) or turned off.

Obviously, the radiation levels associated with marine radar units will vary according to the particular make and model. A radar unit of three kilowatts up to approximately 0.5 watts per centimeter squared, operating in the X-band at 3-1/2 feet from and at the same height as the scanner, can be encountered. OSHA has determined that the recommended maximum safe level of exposure to microwaves is 0.2 milliwatts per centimeter squared. The average intensity can be as high as 0.8 (milliwatts per centimeter squared) when the scanner is stationary. At a distance of 7 to 10 feet from the scanner, the average intensity drops to safe levels (i.e. below 0.2 mW/cm2).

At points above or below the scanner's horizontal plane, the radiation level is lower than that measured at a corresponding point on that plane. However, it must be noted that the average radar has a rather large vertical beam width (20 to 25 degrees) and microwave radiation is beamed about 10 to 12 degrees above and below the horizontal plane. At 5 feet from the scanner and 1-1/2 foot below the scanner, the average intensity can still be in excess of the OSHA safety limit.

For these reasons, the scanner should be mounted as high as possible. You should also ensure that the radar is not transmitting when crewmembers are aloft or working in the area of the scanner. Crewmembers should be briefed about the hazards of RF energy and instructed to avoid the scanner by a minimum horizontal distance of 6 feet and a vertical distance of 2 feet when the radar is operating. Crewmembers should be briefed to not remain within the hazardous area for prolonged periods.

During normal radar operation, the average exposure is reduced, because the scanner rotates and a person is exposed only when the beam sweeps past. For example, a person standing three feet away from a four-foot rotating scanner is exposed to less than 20 percent of the average radiation level of a stationary beam. Exposures to microwave radiation above the recommended safe limits are most likely to occur in the immediate vicinity of a transmitting scanner when it is stationary. When the scanner is rotating for normal radar operation, average exposure is below the recommended safe limits; even at points as close as 3 feet.

Some radar units are designed to prevent emission unless the scanner is rotating. Other models, however, lack this safety feature. In these cases some care is required on the part of the operator to prevent unnecessary exposure of crewmembers. Operating procedures should be adopted which ensure that no microwave radiation is emitted except when the scanner is rotating.

A good rule of thumb for all small marine radar units is that the equipment should be turned off when not required, particularly in areas of high population density (e.g. at dockside and when moored in the area of other boats).

What the PAP and DSTA assholes don't understand is the following:

!) By building a military radar on top of a block of flats, do you think this will increase or lower the resale value of the flat? ALl those who think that the flat value will increase in value, well u have shit for brains. Who wants to buy a flat with a honking big radar on its top? This is one of the issues here.

2) Can someone tell the DSTA that if you put a multi ton radar on top of a building, how do you know the roof will hold? These flats are not exactly new. I can't imagine structurallythat every thing will be ok when u put so much weight on top of the building.

3) This DSTA engineer that guarantee its safe, will he allow the residents to hunt him down and cut his cock off went they get cancer?

4)When u put a military radar on top of a civilian building, that civilian building is now a military target. These assholes have not factored that in, but I sure as hell would prefer my building not be targeted in an enemy first strike by a 2000 lb smart bomb.

What the PAP and DSTA assholes don't understand is the following:.....

Why should the PAP care :confused: The citizens are toothless.

What can Sporeans do if they are unhappy. Complain to CASE or STOMP:rolleyes:

Why should the PAP care :confused: The citizens are toothless.

What can Sporeans do if they are unhappy. Complain to CASE or STOMP:rolleyes:

Please lah, use some imagination. Radar set needs electricity to power it. How hard is it for a group of block resident to exercise their SAF training and sneak up there one night to disconnect the power?

What the PAP and DSTA assholes don't understand is the following:

!) By building a military radar on top of a block of flats, do you think this will increase or lower the resale value of the flat? ALl those who think that the flat value will increase in value, well u have shit for brains. Who wants to buy a flat with a honking big radar on its top? This is one of the issues here.

2) Can someone tell the DSTA that if you put a multi ton radar on top of a building, how do you know the roof will hold? These flats are not exactly new. I can't imagine structurallythat every thing will be ok when u put so much weight on top of the building.

3) This DSTA engineer that guarantee its safe, will he allow the residents to hunt him down and cut his cock off went they get cancer?

4)When u put a military radar on top of a civilian building, that civilian building is now a military target. These assholes have not factored that in, but I sure as hell would prefer my building not be targeted in an enemy first strike by a 2000 lb smart bomb.

Here's the pt. PAP wants to build the radar on top of the residents flats.

They don't like it they can go to hell.

Sure somoene catches cancer try and sue the govt. Most likely they would lose.

ivebert

Chao Sinkies

As if Opposition MP or NCMP can do anything about this

Anyone who has half a brain knows how important defense/military structures are in Sinkapore