• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Many small hawkers uplorry

You are a not a hawker lah. You are a towkay of a huge catering business who's well connected. I won't be surprised if you have either a PBM, BBM, or BBM (Bar). Or even all of them!:biggrin:

All F&B businesses started small, including McDonald's. We've survived recession and inflation.

True Believer

The main reason is inflation but they cannot simply up the price because government will go after them and asking them many questions.
Therefore those older hawkers just simply close shops.
Tekan by both inflation and government officers who keep interrogating them about price increase
Tak boleh Tahan
S'pore has become far too expensive to open a small business, own a private residence and a car. Sinkies who are able to should move overseas. Get out of this overcrowded island fast or lose your sanity like farm animals living cheek to jowl.

True Believer

There is a career path for kopitiam staff these days

CEO 2.jpg

Bad New Brown

A hawker who was interviewed by CNA claimed that even though he operates his kopitiam stall 6 days per week, he only earns $1K a month after deducting his expenses.

Hmm ... not really true as they bought raw foods and ingredients are the cheapest that they could source. If they sell you a $7 meal, they can at least a $3.50 profit and the rest is depending on the volume (selling quantity). Normally they earn net $2K plus a month anything less than $2K must well go and work for a low salary.

VanDick

A hawker who was interviewed by CNA claimed that even though he operates his kopitiam stall 6 days per week, he only earns $1K a month after deducting his expenses.

Do you have the link to this interview? I want to see how this sinkie loser look like, and what is he selling.