• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Manchester United Season 2011-12

yinyang

Europa League - last 32
Venue: Old TraffordDate: Thursday, 23 February Kick-off: 2005 GMT

Match Preview
Striker Wayne Rooney will miss Thursday's Europa League second leg tie with Ajax due to a throat infection.

Rooney turned up for Wednesday's training session with the club, but was sent home due to the illness.

United manager Sir Alex Ferguson said he was resting the 26-year-old in the hope he will be available for Sunday's Premier League game at Norwich.

Tom Cleverley is expected to be fit to play 90 minutes after recovering from an ankle injury.

"He has a really bad throat. There were traces of it in Amsterdam and we gave him some medication but it got worse," Ferguson said of Rooney.

"He has been in bed over the weekend and came in today for the first time and we are trying hard to get him right for Sunday."

United go into the game defending a two-goal goal lead over the Amsterdam club from the first leg.

But Ferguson, who watched his side blow a two-goal advantage against Basel at Old Trafford in their doomed Champions League campaign, has refused to take anything for granted.

He said: "The experience we had against Basel, where we were 2-0 up at half-time, that's in our memories.

"I don't think we'll be casual or careless about what we're trying to achieve tomorrow but it's a good lead. You can't dispute that."

yinyang

What do you think of this morning's return leg at OT? Outside the Berbatov's exquisite pass to Chicharito in early minutes, cannot be proud of dissapointing performance (and losing out at home some more kns):(

yinyang

2 old boys did good. Credit to Norwich, feel for Lambert fellow (who took them 2 divisions in 2 years, yet so humble to refuse honor in Norwich hall of fame). Orgasmic left footed goal by giggsy in dying minutes.

Gallego99

What do you think of this morning's return leg at OT? Outside the Berbatov's exquisite pass to Chicharito in early minutes, cannot be proud of dissapointing performance (and losing out at home some more kns):(

Fergie has sights only on the premier league. Whatever he said about making a mistake fielding young defenders,etc,etc is just an excuse to placate UEFA. Most of the players that he fielded were coming back from injuries or have not seen much competitive football. The choice of players he replaced and moved around after the break further suggest that he was out to hold on to the 2 goal advantage and hopefully catch Ajax on the break.Phil Jones was moved from central defence to midfield after the break and Evans was brought on for the part.

I fully agree with you that the performance was disappointing especially with home advantage but then again do we really want to see out this competition on winning note and risk losing the premier league chase? The Europa league is a second class competition with ABSOLUTELY NO CLASS. We should just reserve the resources for the title run in by winning all remaining games including the one away to City.

As far as the players performance were concerned, Berba's body language suggest that he'd be better off being forced out of the club. To be honest none of the players who played on Euro night look to be in any form for the title chase. This must be worrying times for Fergie and company.

2 old boys did good. Credit to Norwich, feel for Lambert fellow (who took them 2 divisions in 2 years, yet so humble to refuse honor in Norwich hall of fame). Orgasmic left footed goal by giggsy in dying minutes.

tks to De Gea, else we would have lost the match.

fuck Singtel, have to reset the fucking MIO not once, not twice but thrice in order to watch - by that time, goal scored by Scholes.

Man U having a bad habit, they become sloppy after the first goal...toothless in attack. weak shots all over, passing a bit disarray.

Evans just inched closer to the exit door with his performance last night. Luckily De Gea seemed to have woken up from his shaky performance. Nxt Sun to WHL will be a litmus.

Welbeck did not have a good game. While u feel happy that we won, but why do we always have to leave it till late?

and goodness gracious, 2 ORDed personnel (total age nearly 80) scored for Man U...where are the young lads?

Gallego99

I still cannot see anyone stepping into their boots. Scholes have a wonderful instinct of a striker and let's hope his form persist right to the very end. What can I say about Giggs-he's done it all-create and score goals on and off the field.:biggrin:

thats Fergie's problem. His decision pre-season will come back and haunt him.

2 points behind Man C, inferior goal difference. What is he gonna do to overhaul Man C? The run in is tougher for Man U than Man C. Yet to play away to Man C, Tottenham - who will be sore after yesterday's 5-2 reversal.

Paul Lambert was in the Dortmund team which knocked out Man Utd in the champions league many years ago. :biggrin:

yinyang

..2 points behind Man C, inferior goal difference. What is he gonna do to overhaul Man C? The run in is tougher for Man U than Man C. Yet to play away to Man C, Tottenham - who will be sore after yesterday's 5-2 reversal.
tks to De Gea, else we would have lost the match. sloppy after the first goal...toothless in attack. weak shots all over, passing a bit disarray.
Nxt Sun to WHL will be a litmus. Welbeck did not have a good game.
and goodness gracious, 2 ORDed personnel (total age nearly 80) scored for Man U...where are the young lads?
RA, you kena MioTv woes? Maybe helpful if you do not leave it on 24/7 when idling loooong periods (mine's wireless). And test run before game (if you on the other cabling provider Starhub).

Yo, DG saved our skin with acrobatic save (still worry with his doubtful handling of crosses, and deflecting shots).

And Giggsy at 38, 900th appearance with his left foot end game in dying minutes!

Welback didn't earn his wages yesterday. Hernandez was off, but think better bet than lanky fellow with poor centre of gravity (tend to fall). Rooney with his never say die attitude, sorely missed (England's friendly too vs Holland wed).

Next sun is away to dreaded Spurs

yinyang

Too bad, wasted my beauty sleep this morning:( Our euro hangover in OT continues, with only 1 won (of 5 outings).

Truly beaten by a superior A Bilbao's youthful team (average age 24). De Gea's acrobatic saves between posts avoided more red faces. And Roon's penalty flattered the scoreline. Loose balls, koyak defence continue to plague team.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17216738

Home to WBA sun had better be good

juicylucy

cheebye kia showing his provoking abilities again. Just because he got support. Kam lan kia. Fake storyteller. Star cocksucker.

Man U fans should be ashamed of having a cheebye kia like you on the same side. cheebye kia.

yippeee....death to all city fans!

the ball is round...Man U is prone to banana skins. Away to Wolves & Man C a big ??? ...

and i think Fergie has thrown in the towel for Europa league...he already said its a waste of his time LOL...then forced to swallow his words when the bigwigs start complaining.

Gallego99

It's not nice to curse @ those that we dun even know. After all, its just a game-you win some and you lose some. Anyway, here are the remaining games for United:

1. Wolves (a)
2.Fulham (h)
3. Blackburn (a)
4. QPR (h)
5. Wigan (a)
6. Villa (h)
7. Everton (h)
8. Man. City (a)
9. Swansea (h)
10. Sunderland (a)

They have to be real careful at Molineux and Ewood Park. If they win these two, I think they will have a good chance of retaining the title.

Hurray to the chiobu Sian Massey.
She saw Micah's big butt sticking out and flagged for offside! :biggrin:

Jonny Evans and De Gea seems to be getting better.
Evra seems to be getting worse, perhaps it's time to look for a new left back.

The way to play Man City is to keep it tight in defence and midfield, while passing the ball around.
Cannot play helter skelter attacking style.

It's not nice to curse @ those that we dun even know. After all, its just a game-you win some and you lose some. Anyway, here are the remaining games for United:

1. Wolves (a)
2.Fulham (h)
3. Blackburn (a)
4. QPR (h)
5. Wigan (a)
6. Villa (h)
7. Everton (h)
8. Man. City (a)
9. Swansea (h)
10. Sunderland (a)

They have to be real careful at Molineux and Ewood Park. If they win these two, I think they will have a good chance of retaining the title.

wait...compare Man C schedule first...

1. chelsea home - draw (1)
2. stoke away - win (3)
3. sunderland home - win (3)
4. arsenal away - draw (1)
5. west brom home - win (3)
6. norwich away - draw (1)
7. wolves away - draw (1)
8. man u home - win (3)
9. newcastle away - draw (1)

total points earn = 17 + 66 = 83.

Man U

1. Wolves (a) - draw (1)
2.Fulham (h) - win (3)
3. Blackburn (a) - lose (0)
4. QPR (h) - win (3)
5. Wigan (a) - win (3)
6. Villa (h) - win (3)
7. Everton (h) - draw (1)
8. Man. City (a) - lose (0)
9. Swansea (h) - win (3)
10. Sunderland (a) - draw (1)

total points = 18 + 67 = 85

Potentially can pip Man C to title by 2 points. Provided Man C slip & fail with Chelsea & Arsenal. They shld play Arsenal now instead of Chelsea LOL..

Wayne Piew

Potentially can pip Man C to title by 2 points. Provided Man C slip & fail with Chelsea & Arsenal. They shld play Arsenal now instead of Chelsea LOL..

No need to over-analyse the remaining fixtures.
Any schoolkid looking at the remaining matches will tell you
Sir Alex's team got a much easier run in now,
City have got Arsenal away, Chelsea at home.
Record-breaking title 20th will resting in the Theatre of Dreams by the end of April
after the game against Man Shitty on April 28th.
The momentum from the victory yesterday should carry over,
provided Sir Alex keep everyone fit and firing till the end of April.

Gallego99

wait...compare Man C schedule first...

1. chelsea home - draw (1)
2. stoke away - win (3)
3. sunderland home - win (3)
4. arsenal away - draw (1)
5. west brom home - win (3)
6. norwich away - draw (1)
7. wolves away - draw (1)
8. man u home - win (3)
9. newcastle away - draw (1)

total points earn = 17 + 66 = 83.

Man U

1. Wolves (a) - draw (1)
2.Fulham (h) - win (3)
3. Blackburn (a) - lose (0)
4. QPR (h) - win (3)
5. Wigan (a) - win (3)
6. Villa (h) - win (3)
7. Everton (h) - draw (1)
8. Man. City (a) - lose (0)
9. Swansea (h) - win (3)
10. Sunderland (a) - draw (1)

total points = 18 + 67 = 85

They should not expect favors from the London clubs. Just chip away on the remaining games one at a time. Field our strongest starting eleven for the penultimate dash to the finish line. Somehow I have a funny suspicion that the old fart will fark up with the first team selection going into the final stretch.
Mancini screwed up big time last night. Seriously, our best chance of winning the title is for Man City to implode. Read about Balotelli's bust up with Toure from the tabloid. It's music to my ears. They are definitely feeling the heat.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4187848/Mario-Balotelli-and-Yaya-Toure-feud-as-Man-City-fall-off-top.html

Gallego99

Hurray to the chiobu Sian Massey.
She saw Micah's big butt sticking out and flagged for offside! :biggrin:

Jonny Evans and De Gea seems to be getting better.
Evra seems to be getting worse, perhaps it's time to look for a new left back.

The way to play Man City is to keep it tight in defence and midfield, while passing the ball around.
Cannot play helter skelter attacking style.

Seriously Evans is farked. The only reason why he looked good last night was becos the opposition didn't really test the back 4. Agree on De Gea. He seems to have come out of his slumber. Evra has been playing poorly defensively for the past two seasons but I think old fart kept him as first choice becos of the support and option he gives on the left flank. I read Paul Parker's article on the New Paper n I couldn't agree with him more.

When we play Man City away, we should just sit back and counter. Just eke out a draw and that should be enough. Play Scholes and Carrick as the latter cannot shoulder the defensive as well as distribution responsibilities.

BTW, Pogba is staying after all.