• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Manchester United Season 2009-10

shOUTloud

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/dav...og/2010/jan/06/manchester-united-glazers-debt

One thing at Manchester United isn't going downhill: their debt
Manchester City, rather than United, are entering the new decade with the cocksure strut of a financial powerhouse

Apart from the snowfall which smothered the Carling Cup semi‑final between Manchester's two clubs, 2010 has dawned to wildly contrasting fortunes for City and United. Sunday's 1-0 FA Cup humbling by Leeds was accompanied by reports that United's owners, the Florida‑based Glazer family, are trying again to refinance the £700m debts which their 2005 takeover has imposed on the club. For City, Saturday's 1-0 Cup victory at Middlesbrough has been followed by the solid news that Sheikh Mansour, City's Abu Dhabi owner, has personally invested £395m in the club since he took over 17 months ago, converting all of it into shares, not loans.

In simple terms, the lottery of English football clubs being companies up for sale on the open market has delivered a winning ticket to the Blues, not the Reds. Mansour has made an enormous financial investment in City, while the Glazers, since they bought United in their bitterly contested takeover, have given the club not one penny to spend. Quite the opposite; their ownership has drained the club of huge sums of money. In only three years up to 30 June 2008, the closing date of their most recent published accounts, United became liable to pay a staggering £263m in interest alone. Despite that, the capital lump sum which United owe to banks and hedge funds has actually snowballed by £159m, from £540m in 2005, to £699m in 2008.

That increase is accounted for partly by the very high interest charged on the £275m the Glazers borrowed from three hedge funds to buy United. When the entire debt was refinanced only 15 months later in August 2006, the hedge fund debt had risen by £79.1m, which included £13.2m for "early redemption". The refinancing paid that off, leaving United with £525m owed to banks and £138m owed to hedge funds. An estimated £29m was paid in professional fees then, principally to bankers, lawyers and accountants. Reports that the Glazers have appointed two banks,JP Morgan and Deutsche Bank, to seek refinancing again with bank bonds should be understood in that context: huge fees will be charged, there are likely to be early repayment premiums again on the £175m hedge fund debt United now owe, and the refinancing is likely to increase the total debt owed.

The Glazer family's spokesman refused to comment this week on those reports, and both JP Morgan and Deutsche Bank issued no comments. However, City sources indicated the reports are correct, and the refinancing is thought to be concentrating on the hedge fund debt, which is accumulating interest at 14.25%. The interest is rolling up: £38m interest was payable to the hedge funds in 2006-07; £23m in the year to June 2008; £25m to June 2009. By the time the capital is due for repayment, in August 2017, if it has not been refinanced and already paid off, the accumulated capital will have risen from an initial £138m borrowed from hedge funds, when the Glazers refinanced in August 2006, to £580m. That is in addition to the £524m of bank and other borrowings which United owed at June 2008.

The club and the Glazer family's spokesman have insisted that despite the interest payable, £69m in the year to 30 June 2008, which helped push United from an operating profit of £80m to a £43m loss, Sir Alex Ferguson has money to spend. Ferguson has maintained since the summer that he has not done so because United-calibre players are not available, and there is not "value in the market". He argues that players are overpriced, partly because of Mansour's intervention.

After United lost the Champions League final in May, Ferguson might have been expected to substantially strengthen his squad, but instead, Cristiano Ronaldo was sold to Real Madrid for £81m, and the manager signed only Antonio Valencia, for £17.5m from Wigan, Michael Owen, on a free transfer, and Gabriel Obertan, for £3m from Bordeaux. Whatever their protestations that money remains available, United's weakening through injury, occasional underperformance and Ferguson's dismissive approach to buying players means United are simply not carrying themselves as proud, cash-rich, Premier League champions with the Ronaldo money still in the bank. Time is surely running out for the argument that the debts – now, with interest, certainly more than £700m, vastly more than any other English club – are not financially constraining.

The Glazers have overseen a period of sustained success at Old Trafford, winning three Premier League titles and the Champions League in 2008, and Ferguson has always spoken supportively of their regime, which he finds easier to deal with than the regulated stock market-listed entity United were before. United insiders credit the Glazers with bringing in some of the roster of sponsors whose lucrative deals reflect the club's global presence and popularity. However, by far the largest proportion of United's record £257m turnover was still earned in the UK in 2007-08, and the largest proportion, £101.5m, came from match days at Old Trafford.

There, ticket prices have been increased significantly since the Glazers took over, a policy presented as a commercial virtue when they sought the refinancing in August 2006. Although United still boast awesome near-76,000 full houses for Premier League matches, and 74,526 witnessed the Leeds crash on Sunday, tickets do now remain on sale for most matches. United's spokesman, Phil Townsend, confirmed this week that bookings of corporate hospitality packages are down in the recession, and a third-round FA Cup exit will not have been in Ferguson's plan for the season or the Glazers' financial projections.

Stories have seeped out of United this season about rounds of quite meagre cuts, and Townsend acknowledged that the club has indeed been looking to cut costs. Twelve staff have been made redundant recently, he said, although he pointed out that this was from around 550 people employed in various departments.

"Like all other businesses in the current financial climate we have been looking to keep costs down," he said. "The demand for match-by-match corporate hospitality packages has gone down, depending on the fixture, but our 55,000 season tickets are sold out. We present a stable business model, the interest payments are serviced from the operating profit, and the club has said there is money for the manager to spend."

It is difficult to decipher how far the Glazers' own fortunes have been affected by the economic downturn, because they operate principally as private investors in the US. The family's charitable foundation says of Malcolm Glazer on its website that he "owns, has owned or has been the largest shareholder" of companies including Harley Davidson, Formica, Tonka, and Omega Protein, but some of those interests were sold off several years ago. The US property industry, in which the Glazers are significant investors, particularly in shopping malls, via their First Allied Corporation, is one of the sectors most pulverised by the economic typhoon.

The family's NFL franchise, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, enjoyed sustained success under the Glazers, winning the 2003 Super Bowl, yet have just concluded a miserable season, finishing bottom of their division with three wins from 16 games. Media reports, never denied, consistently said the Bucs were spending $30m (£19m) less than the permitted $100m under the NFL salary cap; the system allows franchise owners to take surplus money out for themselves. In January last year, the Glazers replaced the veteran, Super Bowl-winning coach Jon Gruden with Raheem Morris, who at 32 was the youngest coach in the NFL. The Glazers are still hailing that as a "bold decision", but the series of defeats have led to profound disillusionment among Bucs fans, who have also endured ticket price rises, and crowds at the Tampa Bay stadium have declined.

With a United squad looking suddenly threadbare, and a vintage manager due for retirement himself before too long, United supporters cannot help but see parallels between Stretford and Florida. Duncan Drasdo, chair of the Manchester United Supporters Trust, said this week: "We warned from the beginning that the Glazer takeover would saddle the club with huge debts and now we can see them biting. If it were a race, then United are dragging their owners behind them like a tractor, while City's owners are providing rocket fuel."

Before the Glazers arrived in 2005, nobody could have foreseen this bizarre reversal in Manchester. United, then the world's richest club, are lurching into the new decade with punishing debts, while City, of all clubs, are being roundly criticised after the sacking of their manager for being too ruthless, driven and improbably rich.

When you talk about English Internationals, its got to be taken with a grain of salt. They're suffering from a talent deficiency in British football.
Fergie played a similar defensive line up against CSKA with Evans, Brown and Gary, made a host of comical errors and fortunately conceded only 3.
Put it simply the old fart underestimated Leeds, thinking that any team he puts up can win the game.Truth be told rotation only works if the whole squad is playing with confidence and that I'm afraid is missing.

If I had known about the players Fergie selected to start the game, I would have bet the house on Leeds winning. I am looking for odds that they will end up with a barren season.
Are you currently watching football on starhub cable tv, and do you plan to subscribe to singtel for the 2010/11 season?

I find the ownership situation in the EPL quite appalling, particularly for Portsmouth.
Weren't the new owners supposed to bring in fresh capital, as in their own cash injected into the football club?
Instead it appears that the clubs are still laden with debts, interest payments, late payments to players and staff and look shaky.
Frankly, the only club where foreign ownership seems to have benefitted the club has been Chelsea, but in their case, the rich owner rules the club with an iron fist. Man City remains to be seen, god help them if the owners decide to pull out one day, leaving them with huge debts and wages.

shOUTloud

I find the ownership situation in the EPL quite appalling, particularly for Portsmouth.
Weren't the new owners supposed to bring in fresh capital, as in their own cash injected into the football club?
Instead it appears that the clubs are still laden with debts, interest payments, late payments to players and staff and look shaky.
Frankly, the only club where foreign ownership seems to have benefitted the club has been Chelsea, but in their case, the rich owner rules the club with an iron fist. Man City remains to be seen, god help them if the owners decide to pull out one day, leaving them with huge debts and wages.

Not true. I read another blog which analysed the so called "debt write-off" for Chelsea. The debt write-off looks very good but what it essentially means is that Abravomich converted his loans into shares in the company (ie Chelsea). Instead of asking for money back through loan repayment, he can get his money back by selling his shares(although who would want these shares).

In addition, if Abravomich has to inject more cash, it would mean more debt loaded onto Chelsea, making Chelsea debt-ridden again. Abravomich can do the same thing again by writing off debt or issue more shares.

As long as the club is not making profits, this financial game is just that, a game. The Abu Dhabi owners tried that same nonsense with Man City as well now.

Gallego99

Are you currently watching football on starhub cable tv, and do you plan to subscribe to singtel for the 2010/11 season?

Bro, I gave up that bloody box after they raise fees for the European Championship. Now its free.
Singtel is no different from Starhub and they will squeeze the viewing public for good at the right time.

Gallego99

Not true. I read another blog which analysed the so called "debt write-off" for Chelsea. The debt write-off looks very good but what it essentially means is that Abravomich converted his loans into shares in the company (ie Chelsea). Instead of asking for money back through loan repayment, he can get his money back by selling his shares(although who would want these shares).

In addition, if Abravomich has to inject more cash, it would mean more debt loaded onto Chelsea, making Chelsea debt-ridden again. Abravomich can do the same thing again by writing off debt or issue more shares.

As long as the club is not making profits, this financial game is just that, a game. The Abu Dhabi owners tried that same nonsense with Man City as well now.

Just look at Citibank and you'll understand how it works. It's really not as bad. The difference is the spending will continue at a more measured pace and if the owners decide to cash out, they can take the club public.

I understand your point. But at least in Chelsea's cases, the conversion to shares for Roman means that he is committed. Ok, if he can sell the shares at a bundle and at a profit, he stands to gain. But if he can't? He has to hold on.
In the other cases, they simply "take over the debt" as owners. But if they decide not to be owners anymore?
In Portsmouth's case, it's even worse when the "shareholder" is late in funding the operating expenses or may not even do so. What type of owner and management is that?

Bro, I gave up that bloody box after they raise fees for the European Championship. Now its free.
Singtel is no different from Starhub and they will squeeze the viewing public for good at the right time.
Bro, how do you watch epl for free now? Are you subscribing to starhub currently or do you watch over the internet?

BlueCat

even the Red Devils is not spared for the debts issue.
but at least their youth policy is one of the best,so not much problem for SAF.

G

Ginchiyo Tachibana

Man U, Birmingham draw

Sport
Home > Breaking News > Sport > Story
Jan 10, 2010

Man U, Birmingham draw

<!-- by line --> <!-- end by line --> BIRMINGHAM - ALEX McLeish came desperately close to inflicting a defeat upon former manager Sir Alex Ferguson as Birmingham City drew 1-1 at home to English champions Manchester United here on Saturday. Victory would have seen United go top of the Premier League, with leaders Chelsea not in action this weekend after their match against Hull was one of several fixtures to fall victim to the freezing conditions affecting Britain. The result was made worse for United by the sight of Scotland midfielder Darren Fletcher being sent-off late on at St Andrews. Cameron Jerome put Birmingham, now a club record 12 top-flight games unbeaten, ahead in the 39th minute before Scott Dann's second-half own-goal prevented the Blues from beating United for the first time in 31 years. McLeish, who played in the trophy-winning Aberdeen side of the early 1980s managed by Ferguson, claimed before kick-off his former boss had mellowed with age and no longer threw too many tea-cups. But it would have been no surprise if the floor of the visitors' dressing room had been covered in shards of pottery at half-time after what must have been the worst 45 minutes produced by a United side in several years. -- AFP

Gallego99

Manchester United Set For £80 Million Summer Clear-Out – Report
Sir Alex Ferguson is reportedly ready for a busy summer, with the Sunday Mirror claiming that Manchester United are set for an end of season clear-out as they seek to rebuild their squad.

The Red Devils are enduring an inconsistent season, having lost five times in the Premier League already and having been dumped out of the FA Cup in the third round by League One side Leeds United.

This may prompt Ferguson into something of a fire-sale at the end of the season with the Sunday Mirror claiming Dimitar Berbatov, Anderson, Nani and Zoran Tosic will all be sold, along with Nemanja Vidic.

The tabloid quotes a “United insider” as insisting that Berbatov’s future at the club, in particular, was in jeopardy: “The four midfield players got a lot of criticism after the Leeds [United] game, but the biggest underperformer was [Dimitar] Berbatov.

“People say he’s got a great touch, and that isn’t in doubt, but this game is also about hunger and workrate.

“To put it bluntly, Berbatov doesn’t run around enough for this United team - and it hasn’t gone unnoticed by the people that matter most.”

SAF should sell Ferdinand and not Vidic. Please send Berba away asap.

All of Fergie's acquisition-Nani,Berba,Tosic, Hargreaves and Anderson were major 'flops' in one form or another. It adds up to 78-88 million pounds of shit. Wasteful old fart!

yinyang

Fixtures

Interesting fixtures rest Jan. Mouth watering end month away to Gooners. Never mind this sat's attempt to rid Burnley stigma:p:o

Fixtures

Saturday, 16 January 2010
Barclays Premier League
Man Utd v Burnley, 15:00
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tuesday, 19 January 2010
Carling Cup
Man City v Man Utd, SF, L1, 20:05
Saturday, 23 January 2010
Barclays Premier League
Man Utd v Hull, 15:00
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wednesday, 27 January 2010
Carling Cup
Man Utd v Man City, SF, L2, 20:00
Sunday, 31 January 2010
Barclays Premier League
Arsenal v Man Utd, 16:00

-----------------------------------------------
Saturday, 6 February 2010
Barclays Premier League
Man Utd v Portsmouth, 15:00

As much as i hate to say this, we shouldnt let Tevez go in the 1st place... what a great player..... :(:(:(:(

If what Fergie said was true, they did offer him a contract.
If he was not happy about the amount or that it was offered too late, the club couldn't really help that.

Ferguson is not always right, i think Tevez was not appreciated by Ferguson last season because the team have Rooney and Peacock, by the time Man U offer Tevez a contract, it was too late lah....

Gallego99

Tevez was assessed over 2 seasons which cost the club close to 10 million pounds. His performance in the first season was dismal which led the club to exercise their option to extend the 'rent' for another year.
While it is true that he did score very important goals for the club, the player did not perform consistently enough to warrant a mind boggling 25 million pounds on top of the 10 million United had already paid.

Second, you cannot judge Tevez on a handful of games. I think he's the sort of player who would do well in 'poorer' company, your tier two players if you like. I suppose he will join a long list of players who were not 'right' for the club-Forlan,Veron.

Third. opponents approach their game differently when they play the two clubs. In Man U's case, they often park the proverbial bus in front of goal. Tevez thrives when given space and its little wonder why he's 'currently' doing well at City. Let's not forget that credit be given to Mancini and Brian Kidd for giving City the shape and balance that was missing in previous games.

i don't think tevez is that good. usually when u play against ur old team, u are more "inspired" and tend to perform better.

he was once taunted as the next maradona after his performance at the world cup (together with maescrano) but during his time in Man U, I don't remember that he played significantly well - well perhaps becos Ronaldo outshone him. but if you look at him and ronaldo, both have speed, both have skills but ronaldo can head and he can score free kicks. tevez cannot head - he is too short.

he is not like messi - whose skill is at another level. tevez is hardworking yes, he runs alot yes but no skills - oso like housefly like that. another one like him run around no result is park ji sung. sooner or later, he will be gone as well.

i cannot help but think fergie seems to be ord mood liao. Or perhaps, really the bank is empty & he cannot afford another player. but given exisiting state of affairs...winning the league is impossible. champions league when it resume again this month will be a short affair, if they can scrape past AC milan, they will suffer against likes of barca or another spanish team.

in my opinion, they need to clear out some deadwood. gary neville has a lan jiao face, slow and shld be sold. scholes is passe pls sell. buy another striker pls, a dynamic proven one. get a new defender pls - rio ferdinand is morphing into a clown soon. and yes, a new goalie. both pretenders are well, pretenders, embarassingly exposed during match against fulham.

i am a Man U fan, and I am writing this season off. I mean in soccer, there are ups and downs...this is a down for me. Hopefully if fergie is really ord mood, name a replacement soon...:o

Gallego99

i don't think tevez is that good. usually when u play against ur old team, u are more "inspired" and tend to perform better.

he was once taunted as the next maradona after his performance at the world cup (together with maescrano) but during his time in Man U, I don't remember that he played significantly well - well perhaps becos Ronaldo outshone him. but if you look at him and ronaldo, both have speed, both have skills but ronaldo can head and he can score free kicks. tevez cannot head - he is too short.

he is not like messi - whose skill is at another level. tevez is hardworking yes, he runs alot yes but no skills - oso like housefly like that. another one like him run around no result is park ji sung. sooner or later, he will be gone as well.

i cannot help but think fergie seems to be ord mood liao. Or perhaps, really the bank is empty & he cannot afford another player. but given exisiting state of affairs...winning the league is impossible. champions league when it resume again this month will be a short affair, if they can scrape past AC milan, they will suffer against likes of barca or another spanish team.

I concur with your opinion and a barren season it will probably be. What is of real concern is the mountain of debt the irresponsible Jews have heaped on the club. Its a ticking time bomb which could only mean Utd may have to sell their 'prized assets' to avoid default as the cost of capital is likely to go up.

Bankruptcy can only be avoided if they can find a consortium with deep pockets to bail the Glazers out. Can count the Arabs out of this one.