• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kiwi teenager forced to do Singaporean NS or risk jail time and fines

Charlie99

The shit was born in sinki land, gone to school in sinki land, enjoyed all the perks, benefits and privileges of a local born sinki and then scooted from sinki land at age 8 (or is it really 8?).

Dumb pappies, not so dumb this time, demanded that the shit should return to do NS. After NS, he can FO to New Zealand and give up shitizenship. Pappies do not allow dual shitizenship except in certain special cases as claimed by forumers here.

I believe that if an individual leaves SG before age 11, it should be OK (not deemed to have enjoyed SG citizenship, other than the SG passport).
I believe that the SG Constitution does not prohibit dual citizenship, but as a matter of principle, the SG government only "allows" minors to hold dual citizenship until age 21.

Charlie99

there's no automatic sg citizenship for a kid born to a foreign man and sinkie woman 19 years ago. the woman might have registered the kid, obtained an sg passport for the kid, and renewed subsequently. renewal of passport after age 6 will seal the fate. silly parents. could have obtained a kiwi passport for the kid when they left sg and returned to nz when the kid was 8 years old.

I know that there is no "automatic" right to claim SG citizenship.
It looks like his mother probably applied for SG citizenship for him.
I believe that age 11 appears to be the "age" to be considered whether or not he enjoyed SG citizenship.
For a child born outside SG, whose parent (one parent) is a SG citizenship, the said parent may apply within one year of the child's birth, for SG citizenship by descent (only for one generation).

Malaysia? You serious? A lady just got gang rape by foreign Burmese in Puchong. Sinki land still safe even though pappies are dumb and foreigners are still allowed to swarm the island like house flies.

Of course jiu hu kia Tonychat will praise his own country online. What do you expect?

In real life, he already fucked off from matland and living here. He is a fucking foreign trash himself.

then you stay in your own freaking sinkieland..a govt that screwed his own people, i bet you are addicted to ass screwing.

Malaysia can be a great place to stay if you know how to.

Thailand is the best in my opinion.

Know how to open chee bye and let UMNO screw.

Your family in matland boleh!!

No big deal for this kiwi traitor. His whole family has already uprooted and returned to NZ. He just cannot meet his sinkie relatives in Singapore. But they can always fly to NZ, or they all meet again in jiuhu. Of course, if we know that he is in ASEAN, we may ask the friendly ASEAN police force to arrest him and extradite him back to Singapore in chains to face justice!

kiwibird7

The small minded PAP govt may win this battle to get one NZ teen to serve NS in their cartoon army known as SAF but the repercussions of cold relations over this could end up with the SAF losing their NZ training areas in Waiouru, NZ and Australia might tell SAF in OZ to balek kampung too. Likewise with Taiwan kicking out the SAF there over the PAP's one CHINA policy.

No more safe training areas overseas left for SAF to train except in areas like Thailand with Islamic insurgents running around with real guns and ammo sending green horn 18 yr old NS men back in body-bags.

steffychun

If a person is not interested in becoming a SG citizen, should he come back to do NS?

A New Zealand teenager born in Singapore has been threatened with jail time and hefty fines unless he returns to the Asian nation to complete two years of national service in the army.

Brandon Smith,19, moved to Dunedin with his family when he was eight years old and holds dual citizenship with New Zealand and Singapore.

But Singaporean authorities are demanding he report for a pre-service medical or face two years in jail, or a S$10,000 (NZ$10,780) fine.

Brandon with his mother Cindy, who was born in Singapore, and his NZ-born father Shane.

Brandon said spending two years doing national service would be difficult and pointless.

"I don't see the point of it, really. It's sort of a waste of time to go there and just come back anyway," he said.

Brandon said he does not speak Chinese, and as a New Zealand citizen he would be treated as an outsider.

After an initial three-month training period in which service personnel are housed and fed, they are then expected to find their own accommodation.

Although they receive a small monthly payment, it would not be enough to cover rent and food, and he would not want to impose on family, he said.

Under Singaporean law, Brandon cannot relinquish his citizenship until he is 21 years old.

An application to defer his national service until the age of 21 has been declined on numerous occasions, despite the Singaporean authorities granting his younger brother Kristen a deferment.

His father, Shane Smith, said after a long battle with bureaucrats in Singapore they have run out of options.

"Obviously for Brandon, it's not what we want. If he doesn't go back to Singapore to serve his NS, then he can never enter Singapore because he runs the risk of being arrested," said Shane.

Shane, a New Zealand-born Kiwi, served in the New Zealand Air Force and married Brandon's mother Cindy , who was born in Singapore but is a permanent resident in New Zealand.

Shane has been corresponding with Singaporean MPs and bureaucrats for years in a desperate bid to help his son avoid conscription.

"Absolutely no one would accommodate us. It was always the same answer; 'we regret to inform you that Brandon has to serve National Service'," he said.

Dunedin South MP Clare Curran said in September last year she appealed to Minister for Foreign Affairs Murray McCully in a letter to help the family.

"We have a 19-year-old who has left school with his life in front of him, he considers himself a New Zealand citizen and has no identification with Singapore and yet he is expected to do a national service," she said.

"I think it's a really good case for New Zealand to be sticking up for its citizens."

In a statement released on Saturday, McCully apologised for the late response to Curran's letter and said he had received it shortly before he took time off work to have major surgery to remove a tumour.

He said that he intended to take the matter up.

"While the Singapore Government is responsible for determining their own citizenship policies, I have considerable sympathy for the situation this family has found themselves in," he said.

Loser. NZ should cut of defence and political ties with Singapore.

steffychun

No big deal for this kiwi traitor. His whole family has already uprooted and returned to NZ. He just cannot meet his sinkie relatives in Singapore. But they can always fly to NZ, or they all meet again in jiuhu. Of course, if we know that he is in ASEAN, we may ask the friendly ASEAN police force to arrest him and extradite him back to Singapore in chains to face justice!

no such police force you motherfucker.

PTADER

"Obviously for Brandon, it's not what we want. If he doesn't go back to Singapore to serve his NS, then he can never enter Singapore because he runs the risk of being arrested," said Shane.

The parents are obviously not telling the whole truth. If he had indeed left at 8, in all likelihood he must have returned fairly often and spent time in Singapore for holidays and visits to his Singaporean relatives. The frequency of visits and cumulative time you spend in Singapore determines whether you have enjoyed the benefits of Singapore citizenship. It is not just about age. Also, he must have travelled on a Singapore passport.

The clown and the idiotic parents want the best of everything by playing victims. The reality is that these fuckers were milking the Singapore system. Enjoy the benefits of Singapore citizenship but don't want to serve NS. But then, still want the privilege of being able to visit Singapore for the rest of his life.

The white trash politicians in that sheep infested country think that they are some sort of colonial overlords who can determine the laws of Singapore. Just as we don't tell these trash how to run their country, they should not tell us how to run ours.

Our country, our rules. Don't like it, too bad. Please fuck off for good. You don't have to visit Singapore for the rest of your life. Jail term avoided and problem solved.

PTADER

The small minded PAP govt may win this battle to get one NZ teen to serve NS in their cartoon army known as SAF but the repercussions of cold relations over this could end up with the SAF losing their NZ training areas in Waiouru, NZ and Australia might tell SAF in OZ to balek kampung too. Likewise with Taiwan kicking out the SAF there over the PAP's one CHINA policy.

No more safe training areas overseas left for SAF to train except in areas like Thailand with Islamic insurgents running around with real guns and ammo sending green horn 18 yr old NS men back in body-bags.

Nothing small minded about it but simply an application of the rules. Why should the rule be bent for this clown when it applies to the rest?

Forget about NZ/Aust kicking Singapore out. Singaporean losers with deep rooted inferiority complex and worshippers of the white man always try to sell their own country short, especially those who have emigrated. Singapore is not such a pathetic country that you people like to make it out to be.

PTADER

I speculate that one of the possible reasons and considerations is that the said individual was born in Singapore.
If he was born in NZ, and his mother applied for him to be a SG citizen, I believe that the Sg government and/or MINDEF would be more likely to grant him a deferment from NS until he is age 21,
which at that time, he will probably renounce his SG citizenship.

He is 19 and would have been born before 15 May 2004. Hence, he would not have qualified for Singapore citizenship as citizenship is granted only to children of Singaporean fathers but not mothers. That would have been a solution for this clown and his parents if NS is such an issue for them. No Singapore citizenship, no NS. Problem solved.

Wunderfool

It is not like he is going for 2 years imprisonment....

If he is not going to come back to Singapore, then he should just renounce his SG citizenship with parental consent.

Afterall, for most part of his life, he is away from Singapore.

PTADER

Fairness is desired,
but in this particular situation, the adverse publicity is worse.

The adverse publicity will be a whole lot worse if a country's policies can be simply changed over a 19 year old clown not wanting to serve NS. His parents must be fucking clowns to think that they can get the NZ government intervention, political and media pressure in NZ to bear on Singapore. They obviously don't know Singapore very well. Many of these white trash still think that we live in colonial times where the white man call the shots. As the great LKY once said, if you don't like our rules, don't come to our country. Problem solved.

He purposely want to give your PAP govt some trouble and issue to play with.. you not happy? Enjoy the show while they give problems to your master.

PTADER

He purposely want to give your PAP govt some trouble and issue to play with.. you not happy? Enjoy the show while they give problems to your master.

Never could understand losers like you. Claimed to have moved to Australia but still want to cling on to Singapore. Once you fuck off, please try to make something off your life in your new country. Try to be a winner in that new country. No point whingeing constantly about the past country you lived in. The constant nonsense and unintelligent rubbish you spout in this forum is not going to result in heaven and earth moving to accommodate your grievances.

Please try to get on with your new life and try to be a winner. I wish you the best.