• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Jamus Lim plays the idiotic minimum wage card

nayr69sg

Staff member
Like what Dr Mangale says. The minimum wage is part of the reforms...however the other reforms never happen because big businesses always get the corporate welfare. SmEs etc suffer more. Becuse they get squeezed by the oligarchs. And labour and both suffer together to the benefit of the oligarchs

yes hopefully the other reforms (what are they?) do happen in future to help the poor. Forget minimum age. It is a distraction. Only fools want minimum wage. I understand now. Thank you for enlightening me Mr Sanderson.

Hypocrite-The

Bangla would be very happy though. But more likely he will be out of a job so he will say please don't have minimum wage! Yes I agree. Minimum wage is bad.
I hope the rise of the robots happens soon. So the dirty n dangerous and low class work can be farmed out to the machines. There are no singkies available to do such jobs anyway.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I hope the rise of the robots happens soon. So the dirty n dangerous and low class work can be farmed out to the machines. There are no singkies available to do such jobs anyway.

Actually as a business owner myself, if I could hire staff for $2.70/hr instead of the $15/hr min wage, I will be able to make a pretty good profit from my shop.

So you are totally right. Minimum wage is bad. I hope Canada does away with minimum wage too. My pockets will be fatter if they do.

And why spend money on expensive robots for dirty and dangerous and low class work when you can hire people for $2.70/hr to do it? Don't be nuts. Let the market decide.

Hypocrite-The

Actually as a business owner myself, if I could hire staff for $2.70/hr instead of the $15/hr min wage, I will be able to make a pretty good profit from my shop.

So you are totally right. Minimum wage is bad. I hope Canada does away with minimum wage too. My pockets will be fatter if they do.
I knew u would say that. And that also means less spending power of the working class which means less customers for u...n u have to cut price to meet the lack of demand. Because not all things will remain equal

nayr69sg

Staff member
I knew u would say that. And that also means less spending power of the working class which means less customers for u...n u have to cut price to meet the lack of demand. Because not all things will remain equal

Aiyah! So cannot work lah. Ok better keep the $15/hr minimum wage and not allow me to hire cheap Bangla workers also.

Actually you are getting me confused liao. One moment say A then say B. Blur liao.

i just found out yesterday there's one huge hole in the minimum wage law in sillycon valley. both private and pubic sector workers are not paid the minimum wage if they don't fulfill the definition of a full-time employee (full-time in californicate means at least 40 hours of work a week). these are part timers who fill the void and holes in county and city jobs such as in social services, home care for the elderly, food pantries, school helpers, etc. they are not exactly "volunteers" but they volunteer for low pay or a few dollars below minimum wage. for pubic sector part timers, they receive health, disability, and insurance benefits though from the local govs. in the private sector, zilch and good luck! double standard? or a better question is "what is the true motive of the minimum wage?" it doesn't apply to millions of union workers (seiu in particular) in the state, counties, and cities as they are paid well above the minimum wage with full benefits and sextra allowances for overtime. it doesn't apply to the millions of tech workers. it doesn't apply to millions of part timers and contractors making ends meet. who are left? full timers at self-proprietorships, sme's, retail, non-unionized workers in nursing homes, hotels, event centers, cafeterias, landscape companies, etc. what is transpiring is that these already stressed businesses are not only laying off full-time workers, reducing hours in order to skirt the minimum wage rule, but also closing down altogether. what has the minimum wage law done in sillycon valley? almost every business, contractor, state, county, and city gov departments are hiring part timers or converting full time workers to part timers to avoid minimum wage rules from kicking in and stay within their respective (tight) budgets. who becomes the (new) victim of the law? the poor, out-of-date, non-unionized worker without the skills, education, training, and intellect to find a more rewarding job. they end up working less and earning less.

nayr69sg

Staff member
i just found out yesterday there's one huge hole in the minimum wage law in sillycon valley. both private and pubic sector workers are not paid the minimum wage if they don't fulfill the definition of a full-time employee (full-time in californicate means at least 40 hours of work a week). these are part timers who fill the void and holes in county and city jobs such as in social services, home care for the elderly, food pantries, school helpers, etc. they are not exactly "volunteers" but they volunteer for low pay or a few dollars below minimum wage. for pubic sector part timers, they receive health, disability, and insurance benefits though from the local govs. in the private sector, zilch and good luck! double standard? or a better question is "what is the true motive of the minimum wage?" it doesn't apply to millions of union workers (seiu in particular) in the state, counties, and cities as they are paid well above the minimum wage with full benefits and sextra allowances for overtime. it doesn't apply to the millions of tech workers. it doesn't apply to millions of part timers and contractors making ends meet. who are left? full timers at self-proprietorships, sme's, retail, non-unionized workers in nursing homes, hotels, event centers, cafeterias, landscape companies, etc. what is transpiring is that these already stressed businesses are not only laying off full-time workers, reducing hours in order to skirt the minimum wage rule, but also closing down altogether. what has the minimum wage law done in sillycon valley? almost every business, contractor, state, county, and city gov departments are hiring part timers or converting full time workers to part timers to avoid minimum wage rules from kicking in and stay within their respective (tight) budgets. who becomes the (new) victim of the law? the poor, out-of-date, non-unionized worker without the skills, education, training, and intellect to find a more rewarding job. they end up working less and earning less.

Best is no need work lah.

Just give handouts! lagi best!

Universal income!

nayr69sg

Staff member
that's what oakland city council is proposing for 2021. i need to find a home in oakland now.

Canada gonna have snap elections if they give Trudeau no confidence vote.

I think Trudeau will win again and give universal income.

The world is gonna change! No need to work liao!

Woo hoo!

Hypocrite-The

Basically the gahmen is protecting itself n gone in to rent seeking behaviour. As usual the working class get screwed. The mayors n councillors are just parasites

it sounds politically correct, altruistic, and seems fair at first but like any socialist ideal, it falls flat and fails badly when all the consequences and loopholes are discovered during implementation. even the city councils and govs that champion it find ways to circumvent it when they are short of funds.

Hypocrite-The

it sounds politically correct, altruistic, and seems fair at first but like any socialist ideal, it falls flat and fails badly when all the consequences and loopholes are discovered during implementation. even the city councils and govs that champion it find ways to circumvent it when they are short of funds.
They are short of funds because of mismanagement..n incompetence. N rent seeking behaviour..n it's always the working class that suffer