• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It was Lim Yew Hock & not LKY who paved the way for S'pore's independence

LKY has always wanted to be acknowledged as the Lord and Saviour of Singapore. He wants everything to be attributed to himself - Changi Airport, MRT, clean drinking water, the economy, cleanliness, greenery, bilingual education system... when the fact is he had contributed very little to Singapore.

He's nothing more than an overrated political opportunist who, like all dictators, had hoarded wealth and power for his family and his cronies. Of course, marrying the daughter of a local banking scion had undoubtedly boosted his political career.

Merl Haggard

Thanks for the history lesson. And some joker here wants to worship him !!!!

Nobody is worshipping Tun Lim Yew Hock!

We're pointing out the historical facts which have been deliberately swept under the carpet by the Leegime!

We don't expect any Leegime's dogs and bitches to accept the truth.

chilakak

KNN if LIM never sell Christmas Island to Australis for $5 mil dollars, Sinkies would enjoy chilli crabs for $2 per kg today.:oIo:

Nope! Because the crab supply would have been cornered by some GLCs and their cronies and the price would still have been jacked up!

The crabs on Christmas Island cannot be eaten. Different species from the kind of crabs you find in markets and restaurants.

chilakak

The crabs on Christmas Island cannot be eaten. Different species from the kind of crabs you find in markets and restaurants.

I know, I was being facetious.
Having said that, you are probably thinking of the red crabs. However, they also have robber crabs, also known as coconut crabs in the Philippines, which are delicious!

HTOLAS

First, Christmas Island was a British possession administered through Singapore rather than belonging to Singapore.

Second, given how far away it is, it would have been very costly to run.

More importantly, that it is much closer to Indonesia than Singapore meant that the Indons would have claimed it had it remained in the hands of tiny independent Singapore. They would also probably have taken it by force. I can just imagine all the NSmen cursing about having to serve NS on a faraway island.

So, I think LYH was wise to cede this territory to Australia, a much bigger friend, whom the Indons would not dare to take up arms against.

KNN if LIM never sell Christmas Island to Australis for $5 mil dollars, Sinkies would enjoy chilli crabs for $2 per kg today.:oIo:

Ok thanks for the info,,when I go Pinoyland, I will go for the coconut crabs.

I know, I was being facetious.
Having said that, you are probably thinking of the red crabs. However, they also have robber crabs, also known as coconut crabs in the Philippines, which are delicious!

enterprise2

Imagine the possibilities?? How many IRs we can put there!! Also can make it like a fantasy island resort. Our navy and air force can practise there... maybe use the Indon navy if they try anything for target practise!!

kingrant

And today, we have another motherfucker janadas who will certainly make his father turn in his grave, state in a full page transcript of his speech in the SCM, that the credit for inventing CPF goes to LKY and PAP.

Now how perverse is that? He's now attempting to rewrite history. CPF was already in place sometime around 1955-56 under the Brits and Lim Yew Hock govt. So how can CPF be credited to LKY? Janadas is really a true blue balls licker.

Tun Lim Yew Hock only sold X'mas Island and he died a pauper while the present bunch have sold S'pore by opening the floodgate to foreign trash and I bet they all will die very wealthy.

Lim Yew Hock didn't really die a pauper. The late Tunku took good care of him. He was very close to the old Boy.. And the Tunku was known to be benevolent to friends who were loyal to him..

Force 136

Christmas Island facts:

christmas-map.jpg

The Territory of Christmas Island is a territory of Australia in the Indian Ocean. It has a population of 2,072 residents who live in a number of "Settlement areas" on the northern tip of the island. The majority of the population is Chinese Australian. It is called Christmas Island because it was discovered on Christmas Day.
The island's geographic isolation and history of minimal human disturbance has led to a high level of endemism among its flora and fauna, which is of significant interest to scientists and naturalists.[2] 63% of its 135 square kilometres (52 sq mi) is an Australian national park. There exist large areas of primary monsoonal forest.

Phosphate, deposited originally as guano, has been mined on the island for many years. Phosphate mining began in the 1890s using indentured workers from Singapore, Malaya and China. The island was administered jointly by the British Phosphate Commissioners and District Officers from the United Kingdom Colonial Office through the Straits Settlements, and later the Crown Colony of Singapore.

At Australia's request, the United Kingdom transferred sovereignty to Australia; in 1957, the Government of Australia paid the Government of Singapore £2.9 million in compensation, a figure based mainly on an estimated value of the phosphate forgone by Singapore

As of the 2011 Australian census, the estimated resident population is 2,072. This does not include the highly variable population at the Immigration Detention Centre.
The ethnic composition is 70% Chinese, 30% European/Australian, and 10% Malay. A 2011 report by the Australian government estimated that religions practised on Christmas Island include Buddhism 75%, Christianity 12%, Islam 10%, and other 3%

christmas-island-crab-swarms-migration-explained-bikes_.jpg

Phosphate mining had been the only significant economic activity, but in December 1987 the Australian government closed the mine. In 1991, the mine was reopened by a consortium which included many of the former mine workers as shareholders. With the support of the government, the $34 million Christmas Island Casino and Resort opened in 1993, but was closed in 1998. As of 2011, the resort has re-opened without the casino.

Since January 2013, Christmas Island has had cable television from Australia, Malaysia, Singapore and the United States. There are four weekly flights provided by Virgin Australia into Christmas Island Airport from Perth, Western Australia, and a weekly charter flight from Malaysia by Travel Exchange.
There is a new recreation centre at Phosphate Hill operated by the Shire of Christmas Island. There is also a taxi service. The road network covers most of the island and is generally good quality, although four-wheel drive vehicles are needed to access some of the more distant parts of the rainforest or the more isolated beaches, which are only accessible by rough dirt roads.

Christmas Island District High School, catering to students in grades P-12, is run by the Western Australian Education Department. Students wishing to complete university education must do so on mainland Australia.
The island has one public library

christmas-island-crab-swarms-migration-explained-golf_.jpg

Force 136

christmas-island-old-flats1.jpg

christmas-island-old-flats2.jpg

Flats on Christmas Island, known as the Kampong Flats, are built in accordance to Singapore Housing Board standards in the 1960s/70s. These three- and four-storey blocks are home to the Malay population on the island.

Force 136

"At Australia's request, the United Kingdom transferred sovereignty to Australia; in 1957, the Government of Australia paid the Government of Singapore £2.9 million in compensation, a figure based mainly on an estimated value of the phosphate forgone by Singapore"

How much would it cost to buy back Christmas Island?

rotiprata

History is written by winners not whiners

agree with u; that's why i feel that there's a group out there attempting to re-write our history...just like what the japs did with their schools text books....

That's why it is important to teach your children the correct history, rather than letting them believe the 'winner's history' taught to them in school.

bro u r spot on!...i had also say the same several times, it's our duty to teach our children that the true facts of singapore history are not based on a one man's view

typical SINkees...they think every shell fishes can be eaten...the red crabs on Christmas Island are not edible. I know a person way back from there. There are two Christmas Islands in the world, so when you have to mention Christmas Island, you have to state, Christmas Island Indian Ocean or Christmas Island Kiribati, known as Kirimati..not ,'mati' but, "mass".

Force 136;1654662 Flats on Christmas Island said:
The Malays & Chinese, living there came from SINgapore, though many, years back, were offered was it house grant to settle in Australia...some remained on the island. Interesting part is, many years back, one of my friend, working as airport police in Changi..occasionally was stationed at the airport at Christmas Island, Indian ocean.

Equalisation

typical SINkees...they think every shell fishes can be eaten...the red crabs on Christmas Island are not edible. I know a person way back from there. There are two Christmas Islands in the world, so when you have to mention Christmas Island, you have to state, Christmas Island Indian Ocean or Christmas Island Kiribati, known as Kirimati..not ,'mati' but, "mass".

Very shiny nose ?:confused: