• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Singapore over-populated by foreigners ?

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>There is no denying that every 1st world country needs foreigners to supplement its citizens to help drive its economy. BUT, is Singapore over-doing it?

Here are some stats of 1st world countries that I have dug up. You decide for yourself:

Ireland (2008) 4.4M - 88.9% Citizens, 11.1% Non-Citizens
Norway (2008) 4.8M - 93.7% Citizens, 6.3% Non-Citizens
Finland (2008) 5.3M - 97.3% Citizens, 2.7% Non-Citizens
Denmark (mid-2007) 5.5M - 94.8% Citizens, 5.2% Non-Citizens

Singapore (2006) 4.0M - 74.0% Citizens, 26.0% Non-Citizens
Singapore (2008) 4.8M - 65.4% Citizens, 34.6% Non-Citizens

* Singapore (2006) : 2973091 citizens, 754524 Foreigners, 290118 PRs
* Singapore (2008) : 3164400 citizens, 1196700 Foreigners, 478200 PRs
[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_the_Republic_of_Ireland"]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_the_Republic_of_Ireland[/URL]
[URL="http://www.ssb.no/utlstat_en"]http://www.ssb.no/utlstat_en/[/URL]
[URL="http://www.stat.fi/til/vaerak/2008/vaerak_2008_2009-03-27_tie_001_en.html"]http://www.stat.fi/til/vaerak/2008/vaerak_2008_2009-03-27_tie_001_en.html[/URL]
[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danish_people"]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danish_people[/URL]
[URL="http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/people/popinbrief2008.pdf"]http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/people/popinbrief2008.pdf[/URL]
[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_Singapore"]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_Singapore

[/URL]
Huge population of foreigners also serves to help depress the salaries of Singaporean workers. One wonders what is PAP thinking?

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Maverick01

wow..i knew there were alot..i didnt noe this much...going to be half of the population soon i guess..sighzzz..

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>There is no denying that every 1st world country needs foreigners to supplement its citizens to help drive its economy. BUT, is Singapore over-doing it?

Here are some stats of 1st world countries that I have dug up. You decide for yourself:

Ireland (2008) 4.4M - 88.9% Citizens, 11.1% Non-Citizens
Norway (2008) 4.8M - 93.7% Citizens, 6.3% Non-Citizens
Finland (2008) 5.3M - 97.3% Citizens, 2.7% Non-Citizens
Denmark (mid-2007) 5.5M - 94.8% Citizens, 5.2% Non-Citizens

Singapore (2006) 4.0M - 74.0% Citizens, 26.0% Non-Citizens
Singapore (2008) 4.8M - 65.4% Citizens, 34.6% Non-Citizens

* Singapore (2006) : 2973091 citizens, 754524 Foreigners, 290118 PRs
* Singapore (2008) : 3164400 citizens, 1196700 Foreigners, 478200 PRs
[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_the_Republic_of_Ireland"]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_the_Republic_of_Ireland[/URL]
[URL="http://www.ssb.no/utlstat_en"]http://www.ssb.no/utlstat_en/[/URL]
[URL="http://www.stat.fi/til/vaerak/2008/vaerak_2008_2009-03-27_tie_001_en.html"]http://www.stat.fi/til/vaerak/2008/vaerak_2008_2009-03-27_tie_001_en.html[/URL]
[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danish_people"]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danish_people[/URL]
[URL="http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/people/popinbrief2008.pdf"]http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/people/popinbrief2008.pdf[/URL]
[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_Singapore"]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_Singapore

[/URL]
Huge population of foreigners also serves to help depress the salaries of Singaporean workers. One wonders what is PAP thinking?

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

angie II

<table class="wikitable"> <caption>

Age structure
</caption> <tbody><tr> <th>Age</th> <th>percentage</th> <th>male</th> <th>female</th> </tr> <tr> <td>
0-14 years
</td> <td>15.6%</td> <td>362,329</td> <td>337,964</td> </tr> <tr> <td>15-64 years</td> <td>76.1%</td> <td>1,666,709</td> <td>1,750,736</td> </tr> <tr> <td>65 years and over</td> <td>8.3%</td> <td>165,823</td> <td>208,589</td> </tr> </tbody></table> (2006 est.)

Population by residential status</caption> <tbody><tr> <th>Residential Status</th> <th>Number</th> <th>Percentage</th> </tr> <tr> <td>
Total Population
</td> <td>4,017,733</td> <td>100.0%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Citizens</td> <td>2,973,091</td> <td>74.0%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Permanent Residents</td> <td>290,118</td> <td>7.2%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Non-resident Population</td> <td>754,524</td> <td>18.8%</td> </tr> </tbody></table> (2000 est.)
<table class="wikitable"> <tbody><tr> <td>Population growth rate</td> <td>1.42% (2006)</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Birth rate</td> <td>9.34 births/1,000 population</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Death rate</td> <td>4.28 deaths/1,000 population</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Net migration rate</td> <td>9.12 migrants/1,000 population</td> </tr> </tbody></table> (2006 est.)
<table class="wikitable"><caption>

Sex ratio
</caption> <tbody><tr> <th>Age</th> <th>males/female</th> </tr> <tr> <td>
at birth
</td> <td>1.08</td> </tr> <tr> <td>under 15 years</td> <td>1.07</td> </tr> <tr> <td>15-64 years</td> <td>0.95</td> </tr> <tr> <td>65 years and over</td> <td>0.80</td> </tr> <tr> <td>total population</td> <td>0.96</td></tr></tbody></table>

angie II

Gahmen : Why you all dun produce more retards?

Peasants : CCB! You make the costs of living so high, how about u bringing up our kids for us?

banova888

Look on the bright side. Singapore is still better than Malaysia according to Jah_Rastafar_1

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=23304

SG is the richest country in the region or SEA, 2nd richest country in asia.

OKay i won't deny it's location is very good for entrepot trading. The development by the British also aided to its status of a developed country yet the same can be said of matland.

So what do you guys think if sg was under malay rule? It would probably be under the sultan of johor's juristristion and i think all those johor criminals would be running rampant in SG.

What do u guys think?

Also SG has a majority pop of 75% chinese whom made the country what it is today. If the % were changed say more malays would SG be better or worse?

Minus off those who are abroad and left semi-permanently and the ratio is about 55% citizens and 45% FTrash! Just listen to strange tongues around you on the street and there's little doubt how fcuked up the Familee has turned this cuntry into!

banova888

Minus off those who are abroad and left semi-permanently and the ratio is about 55% citizens and 45% FTrash! Just listen to strange tongues around you on the street and there's little doubt how fcuked up the Familee has turned this cuntry into!

Where were you when the speak mandarin campaign was started? Don't you know Mandarin?

besotted

Yeah too many Singaporeans are Pinkertons and open for the angmohs who can't make it in their own country to come here and waste time and take up space

Any angmoh below 30 who comes to my restaurant, I make sure they pay first before ordering, or else they like to play punk and try to pay less or run away. And make sure no alcohol served to these hooligans

I am thinking now to put camera above two or three of my tables where I will sit any angmoh youngsters who come in. If they do anything funny I will shame them

Really no upbringing. Damn teruk. Sad thing is that our local youth all tainted by dubious Western values thinking they are cool when they are damn cock

kojakbt

>Also SG has a majority pop of 75% chinese whom made the country what it is today. If the % were changed say more malays would SG be better or worse?

Very soon, this doesn't matter anymore. Foreigners are going to be the majority pop of Singapore...

Devil Within

Population by residential status
</caption> <tbody><tr> <th>Residential Status</th> <th>Number</th> <th>Percentage</th> </tr> <tr> <td>
Total Population
</td> <td>4,017,733</td> <td>100.0%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Citizens</td> <td>2,973,091</td> <td>74.0%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Permanent Residents</td> <td>290,118</td> <td>7.2%</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Non-resident Population</td> <td>754,524</td> <td>18.8%</td> </tr> </tbody></table> (2000 est.)
<table class="wikitable"> <tbody><tr> <td>Population growth rate</td> <td>1.42% (2006)</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Birth rate</td> <td>9.34 births/1,000 population</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Death rate</td> <td>4.28 deaths/1,000 population</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Net migration rate</td> <td>9.12 migrants/1,000 population</td> </tr> </tbody></table> (2006 est.)
<table class="wikitable"><caption>

For citizens portion, I think if you break it down to new citizen ( took up citizenship less than 10 years) versus citizen, I think you will have a clearer picture of how many foreigners here.

JohnTT

Obviously when you walk on the streets. I heard its 1 out of every 3 people. In near future, I think it will be 1.5 out of every 3.......:biggrin:

Lee Hsien Tau

If you look at citizens by birth vs non-citizens + converted citizens......... we have been outnumbered 45% vs 55% :(

These news already highlighted by Dr Chee 10 years back.

Sinkies choose to vote PAP so, accept or ship out or kill yourselves in protest.

jim007jimmyboy

it is their plan to cleanse sinkapoor of original sinkies ccb

Conan the Barbarian

Singapore is not populated with FT.
It is because Singapore was under-populated with Locals..

How can a country with highest population-density in the world
be classified as underpopulated. I think we are fine with about
2.5 million population. At least there is some room to breath
and some places to have flowers to smell.

Katana

How can a country with highest population-density in the world
be classified as underpopulated. I think we are fine with about
2.5 million population. At least there is some room to breath
and some places to have flowers to smell.

You are replying to a PAP doggy who has a nick iamelite =>i am elite but i think he or she is either a civil clerk or the offspring of some PAP doggy so how can u take his rubbish seriously? :biggrin: